Close Icon
Bunting Sun

With the recent announcement of a 4-day bank holiday in 2022 to celebrate the Queen’s platinum jubilee, you’re probably wondering when the rest of the 2021/2022 UK Bank Holidays fall. Look no further than this handy guide.

From Easter and Patron Saint Days to Christmas and New Year, all UK bank holidays for 2021 and 2022 are covered.

Find below a full list of UK bank holidays in 2020, 2021 and 2022…


When is the next Bank Holiday in the UK in 2020?

  • The next 2020 bank holiday for Scotland is St Andrew’s Day on Monday 30th November
  • The next 2020 bank holiday for England, Wales and Northern Ireland is Christmas Day on Friday 25th December

England and Wales Bank Holidays 2020, 2021 & 2022

2020

  • Christmas Day – Friday 25th December
  • Boxing Day  – Monday 28th December (substitute day)

2021

  • New Year’s Day – Friday 1st January
  • Good Friday – Friday 2nd April
  • Easter Monday – Monday 5th April
  • Early May Bank Holiday – Monday 3rd May
  • Spring Bank Holiday – Monday 31st May
  • August Bank Holiday – Monday 30th August
  • Christmas Day – Monday 27th December (substitute day)
  • Boxing Day – Thursday 28th December (substitute day)

2022

  • New Year’s Day – Monday 3rd January (substitute day)
  • Good Friday – Friday 15th April
  • Easter Monday – Monday 18th April
  • Early May Bank Holiday – Monday 2nd May
  • Queen’s Platinum Jubilee – Thursday 2nd & Friday 3rd June
  • August Bank Holiday – Monday 29th August
  • Christmas Day – Monday 26th December (substitute day)
  • Boxing Day – Thursday 27th December (substitute day)

Bank Holidays Northern Ireland 2020, 2021 & 2022

2020

  • Christmas Day – Friday 25th December
  • Boxing Day  – Monday 28th December (substitute day)

2021

  • New Year’s Day – Friday 1st January
  • St Patrick’s Day – Wednesday 17th March
  • Good Friday – Friday 2nd April
  • Easter Monday – Monday 5th April
  • Early May Bank Holiday – Monday 2nd May
  • Spring Bank Holiday – Monday 31st May
  • Battle of the Boyne – Monday 12th July
  • August Bank Holiday – Monday 30th August
  • Christmas Day – Monday 27th December (substitute day)
  • Boxing Day – Thursday 28th December (substitute day)

2022

  • New Year’s Day – Monday 3rd & Tuesday 4th January (substitute days)
  • St Patrick’s Day – Thursday 17th March
  • Good Friday – Friday 15th April
  • Easter Monday – Monday 18th April
  • Early May Bank Holiday – Monday 3rd May
  • Queen’s Platinum Jubilee – Thursday 2nd & Friday 3rd June
  • Battle of the Boyne – Tuesday 12th July
  • August Bank Holiday – Monday 29th August
  • Christmas Day – Monday 26th December (substitute day)
  • Boxing Day – Thursday 27th December (substitute day)

Bank Holidays Scotland 2020, 2021 & 2022

2020

  • St Andrew’s Day – Monday 30th November
  • Christmas Day – Friday 25th December
  • Boxing Day  – Monday 28th December (substitute day)

2021

  • New Year’s Day – Friday 1st January
  • 2nd January Bank Holiday – Monday 4th January (substitute day)
  • Good Friday – Friday 2nd April
  • Easter Monday – Monday 5th April
  • Early May Bank Holiday – Monday 3rd May
  • Spring Bank Holiday – Monday 31st May
  • Summer Bank Holiday – Monday 2nd August
  • St Andrew’s Day – Tuesday 30th November
  • Christmas Day – Monday 27th December (substitute day)
  • Boxing Day – Thursday 28th December (substitute day)

2022

  • New Year’s Day – Monday 3rd January (substitute day)
  • 2nd January Bank Holiday – Monday 4th January (substitute day)
  • Good Friday – Friday 15th April
  • Early May Bank Holiday – Monday 2nd May
  • Queen’s Platinum Jubilee – Thursday 2nd & Friday 3rd June
  • Summer Bank Holiday – Monday 1st August
  • St Andrew’s Day – Wednesday 30th November
  • Christmas Day – Monday 26th December (substitute day)
  • Boxing Day – Thursday 27th December (substitute day)

Celebrate one of many UK Bank Holidays in 2021 by staying at a holiday cottage perfect for you. Use our carefully crafted Travel Guides to make your UK cottage holiday an experience to remember.

Get involved in the Discussion

Sign up to receive discounts, exclusive offers, travel tips and guides.