In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • Cartrefle Fach - Anglesey - 1050209 - photo 1
close

Cartrefle Fach

(Ref. 1050209)

Llanbedrgoch near Pentraeth, Anglesey Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (17)
  • no (16)
  • lovely (15)
  • clean (12)
  • great (10)
  • cottage (10)

37 Customer Reviews

  • "This property is lovely, with beautiful views."

    Modern & lovely layout. The only problem we had were the rather uncomfortable sofas. We just couldn't get comfortable. Apart from this issue we couldn't fault it.

    Reviewed by Denise4.4May 2024

  • "This is the second time we've stayed and the location is superb for all attractions."

    Reviewed by Julie3.8May 2024

  • "Great modern layout, excellent host,with amazing views, thank you for a lovely stay"

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Feb 2024

  • "The meter box cover needs the lock repairing as it was banging in the wind, we closed it with a couple of plasters"

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Sep 2023

  • "Loved the modern clean lines."

    Yes, the sofas aren't the most comfortable and the bedding is probably ready for replacing but generally very happy with our holiday cottage.

    Reviewed by Susan3.8Sep 2023

  • "The cottage is situated in a lovely area with beautiful views and easy access to the whole of the island."

    Facilities were great, plenty of plates etc and saucepans. The garden area and seating area outside was a plus, unfortunately we didn't have the weather to enjoy it. Previous reviews stated that the sofa was uncomfortable, which we would agree with. The bathroom wasn't very clean, dust on the bin lid, mould on the shower seal and door, tiles dirty. I did have to go and buy bathroom cleaner and clean it all before we used it - which is not what you want to be doing on holiday. On stripping the bedding when we left I was horrified to see yellow staining all over the one duvet. This is not good.

    Thank you for your feedback. Pleased you were able to enjoy the beautiful views that Cartrefle Fach affords. Apologies if the clean wasn't carried out to the expected standard. We have passed on your comments to the cleaners as they normally do a sterling job. If you had let us know at the time we would have been more than happy to rectify during your stay. Hope the weather is kinder the next time you visit Anglesey. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle3.8Aug 2023

  • "Milk and cake waiting for us which was lovely touch."

    Nice house, very modern and garden is lovely. It would be nice to have in the very detailed Instruction email a note to say thst you need to bring or buy all condiments e.g. salt, sugar, vinegar etc

    Reviewed by David3.8Jul 2023

  • "As a family we enjoyed a lovely stay."

    The accommodation was perfect for our families’ needs. The indoor area of the house is on one floor and the open plan kitchen -diner is perfect and has the capacity to host the entire family in one area. The outdoor garden is large and well maintained. The views from the property are idilic and close to amenities and the beach. The property owner was very friendly and went above and beyond to ensure we had all we needed to enjoy our stay.

    Reviewed by Giovanna4.7Jul 2023

  • "Only problem experienced during our stay was the low backed sofas it was ..."

    Only problem experienced during our stay was the low backed sofas it was impossible to sit and watch tv for any length of time There was a small problem with the drain plug on the main wash basin which was resolve immediately after being reported Otherwise the cottage was clean and very well equipped would recommend as long as sofas we’re addressed

    Reviewed by John4.4Jun 2023

  • "Quite disappointed, the property wasn’t as clean as I’d expect it to be , lots of cobwebs every and old dust all on skirting boards and corners of ceiling, the shower cubicle was very grim a lot of black mould , and the filter was very dirty , the seal was discoloured and very dirty , the whole cubicle needed a really good deep clean ."

    There is no where to hang towels in the bathroom The waste plug in the plug in the sink was sticking , to point I didn’t dare use it in case we couldn’t release it . They’re a mirror in bedroom hidden to side of wardrobe that needs hanging surely . There are patio doors to front of property that can’t be opened so I don’t see the point of them and it would be nice to open them as it was very stuffy . Over all we felt the property lacked a thorough clean through out , it didn’t smell fresh at all, very tired decor , even to the point the doors still had original stickers on the glass that hadn’t been properly removed . For saying the details I been sent are still very Covid conscious it does not reflect in the cleanliness of this property .

    Reviewed by Jackie2.2Jun 2023

  • "Ideal location for exploring the island."

    The accommodation is set in a quiet location with easy access to beaches and amenities. The bungalow is comfortable and functional with no clutter making it easy to keep clean and tidy. The rear garden with furniture is a bonus that many holiday lets don’t have. We visit Anglesey regularly and would not hesitate to stay here again.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0May 2023

  • "Just one niggle , was the two lounge Sofas which were uncomfortable as the ..."

    Just one niggle , was the two lounge Sofas which were uncomfortable as the backrests were too low when attemping to relax for any length of time

    Reviewed by Keith4.4May 2023

  • "A very nice place to stay."

    quiet location not near any main roads.well equipt with every thing you need for your stay. the only thing we would of liked instructions to use the microwave and possibly info on local places to eat and visit.

    Reviewed by Pete4.7Apr 2023

  • "A lovely well presented property within easy reach of amenities and beaches."

    Hooks for robes in bedrooms and bathroom would have been helpful. A few more scatter cushions in the lounge.

    Reviewed by Joy4.1Apr 2023

  • "Super place to stay an ideal base to explore North Wales not to far from anywhere and so peaceful, could do with a coffee table but that is the only criticism ."

    Reviewed by Phillip5.0Feb 2023

  • "This property is outstanding."

    It is one of the best cottages we have stayed in. One small thing; it would be useful to have a small table in the lounge area to put drinks on rather than having to put them on the floor.

    Reviewed by Julia5.0Sep 2022

  • "Well presented and appointed holiday home."

    Quiet and private location. Obliging owners. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Zinnia5.0Jul 2022

  • "A most enjoyable stay Great accomodation which allowed us a very relaxing week away."

    Owners are on hand and if anything is needed new build which is very clean will definitely return

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Jun 2022

  • "Really nice place to stay."

    We used it as a base to explore the island and had a great family break. Lovely sunset view out to the front also.

    Reviewed by Ashley5.0May 2022

  • "Lovely desirable modern property with everything you need for your stay."

    Any problems are quickly sort out by owner who is really helpful. Added bonus milk and Welshcakes on arrival.

    Thank you for your feedback. It was a real pleasure to have you stay. Hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0May 2022

  • "Just returned from a lovely week in Anglesey at this cottage."

    Cottage is great. Exactly as described and the owners were perfect! The log fire was a bonus and loved by our 10 year old. Only had one issue during our stay and the owners resolved it promptly and kindly gave us a cake to say sorry! The location is great for Benllech Beach and Red Wharf Bay. Easy access to everything on the island really. I know that COVID has put a stop to information booklets about the area in cottages, but maybe information about beaches, restaurants and things to do could be displayed as "art" in photo frames? I usually read visitor books on arrival for hints and tips and really missed this in the cottage. Great children's playground in the village and loads of shops and restaurants a very short drive away. Thank you for a lovely week and I would definitely recommend staying here!

    Reviewed by Natasha4.1Apr 2022

  • "Lovely clean cottage in a quiet location."

    Easily accessible to all areas of Anglesey. Despite our stay being in March the living area got very hot when the sun shone. It would be good to have the ability to open the patio doors at the front of the property or the Velux windows. Some small saucepans would be useful and a coffee table.

    Reviewed by Judith3.8Mar 2022

  • "The cottage was warm and welcoming on arrival."

    The owners had left a lovely welcome pack for us which was greatly appreciated. Glad we had prior notice to advise game's etc had been removed due to Covid and I had the insight to take a comforting fleece to snuggle up with at night. The only negative comment I would make is that no tea towels or oven gloves were provided, but this may have been an oversight. Lovely log burning stove which kept my husband busy. Great place to stay, many thanks.

    Thank you for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure to have you stay. Many apologies about the tea towels and oven gloves, they should have been left there for you. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Feb 2022

  • "We did not find the sofas comfortable at all."

    The double mattress needs replacing. Lack of smaller saucepans suitable for two people. Very clean, modern, great tv and a lovely log fire. Enjoyed the welcome pack, and enough logs to last the week. Arrived late in the dark wet windy and cold but the heating had been put on for us and it was warm and welcoming. Enjoyed visit and very quiet beautiful views of distance mountains. Excellent outdoor space with ample furniture.

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We have now ordered a new mattress and provided a smaller saucepan. We agree, the views are beautiful. A snow capped Snowdonia vista is hard to beat. Many thanks and we hope to see you again.. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Valerie4.7Nov 2021

  • "Lovely little place, facing fields and fields, so a great escape!"

    The master bed was not very comfortable but me and my partner are used to having a bigger sturdier bed as standard (so could be the average bed?). The welcome to the cottage was lovely and homely, with plenty wood for the log burner but it wasn't really cold enough to use it much...it really warms the place up! Parking plentiful, clean place (just a bit of detail cleaning needed in the shower). Would recommend

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your positive comments and recommendation. The main bedroom benefits from a standard size double bed with a new "Emma" mattress. We are pleased it proved to be a great escape for you. Thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Melissa3.4Oct 2021

  • "I feel that the photographs of the front of the property are a little misleading."

    One might assume there is space on both sides, but this is a joint drive to 2 other properties and at times there was 3 or 4 cars parked close to the house wall. As previously mentioned a coffee table would be an asset in the lounge area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay which was warm and comfortable. The items left for us on arrival were most welcome.

    Thank you for your feedback. The dedicated parking for the property is on the gravel drive to the front of the property which easily caters for two vehicles. Pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Valerie4.4Oct 2021

  • "It was a beautiful bungalow and very modern, but certainly not as clean as you would expect when they say they do extra cleaning because of covid."

    There where lot's of cobwebs the skirting boards needed cleaning and the internal doors all needed a good clean. Also the dining chairs didn't appear to have been cleaned which I would have thought would be prioritized with covid. Overall it was great but just a bit more attention to detail would have made all the difference.

    Reviewed by Margaret3.8Sep 2021

  • "We would have liked a coffee table but the little bedroom tables worked ok."

    "Lovely quiet property. Easy access to footpaths & beaches. Ever changing views over farm fields to Snowdonia were magical.

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Aug 2021

  • "The accommodation was beautiful, there was everything you could need in a gorgeous area of Anglesey."

    Would definitely love to go back, just a shame we cant take our small dog next time.

    Reviewed by Hilary5.0Aug 2021

  • "The cottage was beautifully presented and had everything we needed for a lovely stay."

    If there were to be any criticism it would be that the cottage is listed as having 2 bathrooms when in fact it only has a shower room and a very small cloakroom. We also missed having a guest book to look through for recommendations from previous guests. We like to know where other guests have visited to get the most out of our stay and also like to be able to advise on places we have tried. Hopefully once covid restrictions are lifted the guest book can be reinstated.

    Reviewed by Beverley5.0Jul 2021

  • "Fantastic holiday couldn't ask for anything more."

    Perfect place and so peaceful. Will be back next year. Thank you

    Reviewed by Anita4.7Jul 2021

  • "The cottage was very clean tidy and very modern we throughly enjoy our stay and will certainly return in the future"

    Reviewed by Cyril5.0Jun 2021

  • "No terrestrial TV."

    Need to take own passwords with to access catch-up TV apps on smart TV. TV screen excellent. Very clean and functional but would have liked a BBQ to make best use of outside space and patio.

    Reviewed by Martin4.4May 2021

  • "Had an amazing stay, was so peaceful and in an excellent location with beautiful view."

    The only one thing was the bed in the main bedroom was awful. Not even a double it was that small, and so uncomfortable it was a 3 quarter size bed for 2 adults so there wasn’t much room. My husbands feet were hanging out the bottom and got very cold in the night and the quilt wasn’t big enough also! There was plenty of room for a bigger size bed also in the room so it’s not that you couldn’t fit anything bigger because you could. Apart from this everything else was amazing.

    Reviewed by Leanne4.4Apr 2021

  • "This cottage has a ‘Wow!"

    ’ factor. Modernised, the owners spared no expense in design and detail. Exceptionally pretty and well equipped, (check the tap faucet design), we loved it. Bright and airy with a lovely large front window, and cathedral ceiling with dormer windows. The location was also great, ten minutes to the beach (or supermarket). We were blessed with stunning weather giving us a great view of the mountains behind Caernarfon. A massive TV and great internet also made for a great stay. A big thank you to the hosts, whom we saw about 3 times. Thank you for the welcome gift of coffee, biscuits etc. Would definitely stay here again. Ps: My son, who had never seen pheasants loved them wandering through the garden. As for a previous review mentioning windy roads. This is Wales, this is what makes Wales charming, this is definitely not the big city.

    Reviewed by Victor5.0Apr 2021

  • "If anything i would mention the narrow lane that cretefle fach is on."

    But other than that a very nice break, thankyou.

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Oct 2020

  • "Exactly as advertised."

    Had everything we needed. Would recommend

    Reviewed by Deborah4.7Sep 2020

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All-ground-floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Bathoom with basin and WC
  • Cloakroom
  • Open-plan living room with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Energy-efficient central heating powered by the woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, Smart TV and WiFi
  • Fuel, power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for two cars
  • Rear garden with patio area with picnic bench and lawn area, as well as outdoor tap
  • Sorry, no pets or smoking allowed
  • Shop 1.8 miles, pub 1.2 miles

The property

Pentraeth 1.7 miles.

Nestled close to the North-East coast of Anglesey, where on a clear day, you can catch glimpses of the Eryri (Snowdonia) National Park, is this detached property, Cartrefle Fach.

This all-ground-floor property is perfect for families seeking a traditional coastal holiday to this part of Anglesey, as well as exploring the surrounding towns and villages, historical landmarks and excellent walking routes.

Enter into the open-plan living room, where the floor-to-ceiling window floods to the room with natural light and offers stunning views as you relax after an action-packed afternoon.

The Scandinavian woodburning stove takes centre stage within the space and provides energy-efficient heating for the whole property.

Look forward to snuggling up on the plush sofa and tuning into the Smart TV, whilst the fire crackles in the background, creating a tranquil ambiance.

Joining the space is the well-equipped kitchen, containing everything you will require to rustle up a tasty treat, which can be enjoyed at the contemporary dining table.

Move down the hallway to find the twin bedroom, which is perfect for younger guests or friends, boasting patio doors opening up to the lawn garden offering a refreshing ambiance to wake up to each morning.

The double bedroom also contains patio doors, which you can look forward to opening up to enjoy your morning coffee during a summer’s day.

Explore your surroundings by taking a scenic drive to the nearby village of Pentraeth, where you will find a 12th century church, accompanied by a selection of small business, a Post Office, a shop for picking up essentials, a takeaway and a pub, catering to all needs.

From here, head to the coastline to find a glorious stretch of sand, located between Llanddona Beach and Red Wharf Bay, offering opportunities for family fun, fishing and miles of gentle strolls.

Alternatively, head to the town of Beaumaris, where you will find a larger selection of amenities, as well as a 13th century moated castle, a plethora of museums, a golf course and pleasure boat and sea fishing trips.

Travel slightly further to the beach of Newborough to visit Ynys Llanddwyn or head to Holyhead to catch a ferry to Dublin for the day.

With so much to see and do, Cartrefle Fach promises a wonderful retreat all year around.

View on map

About the location

PENTRAETH

Red Wharf Bay 2 miles; Benllech 3 miles; Beaumaris 6 miles.

Pentraeth is a small attractive village on the banks of the River Nodwydd on the north-east coast of Anglesey. It has a village church that dates back to the 12th century and is located between Llanddona beach and Red Wharf Bay, which has over 4.5 miles of sandy beach. Red Wharf Bay’s Welsh name is Traeth Coch (Red Beach) and the area is renowned for its glorious sunsets. The bay is very shallow and provides safe bathing, perfect for wonderful family fun, fishing and miles of stunning scenic walks. The large bay attracts a huge number of waterfowl and wading birds, including shell duck, grey plover, purple sandpipers, curlew, oystercatchers and dunlin. Only 6 miles away is the delightful medieval town of Beaumaris which boasts a 13th century moated castle, excellent shops, pubs, restaurants, bistros and museums, as well as a golf course and exciting pleasure boat and sea fishing trips. This is a great location on the east coast of the picturesque Isle of Anglesey, yet only six minutes from the Britannia Bridge to access the mainland.