Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 of 28 View Larger Image
  • Glasfryn - Anglesey - 1008845 - photo 1


Llanddona, Anglesey (Ref. 1008845)


Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 5

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

11 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a brilliant stay in this cottage."

    It is in a lovely spot- you couldn’t get better views and the gardens are lovely. It helped that we had sun all week. The cottage itself is great. Old in parts with other more modern additions. It’s a little creaky and rustic but that’s accurately described and so we expected it. The bedrooms are all lovely with fantastic views. We took our dog with us and it is very dog friendly. The garden is secure so we were able to leave the doors open and feel safe with him roaming in and out. We didn’t have any of the issues that other reviewers had about not being able to see the garden path or admire the view, though it was all growing quickly even in the week we visited. There were a few things that weren’t what we expected. Firstly, we tried walking down to the beach the first couple of nights but it’s a long way and also a long way down so ended up coming back without reaching it. We did see ponies and horses and giant pigs though! In the end we drove down and parked- I don’t think this is really a walk- you could make a day of it but if like us you want to take the dog down for a run after dinner, it’s a drive. We also didn’t realise that only the Red Wharf Bay beach side is dog friendly and Llanddona Beach itself doesn’t allow dogs- not a problem but if we’d have walked all the way down and then had to walk to the other side AND then walk back home, we’d have been done in. This is all clearly marked on site which is helpful. The cottage itself could do with being a little better equipped. There were some lovely details like a welcome card, biscuits and wine. Also the towels were great- big and fluffy- which is always nice. But the kitchen basics were missing. Kitchen equipment compared to other cottages we have rented in the past weren’t great. The frying pans are old and stuck, We couldn’t find any mixing bowls or salad bowls and even the more basic things like chopping knives and cutting boards seemed past their best. Lastly, we had to buy a hairdryer. I can’t remember the last time we stayed somewhere where there wasn’t a hairdryer. Maybe COVID had meant some of these things were put away but that wasn’t made clear before we visited and we would have packed more if we’d have known. I’m going into detail because the reviews help when you book. Because of what others have said I didn’t expect the kitchen to be brilliantly equipped however I didn’t expect it to be this sparse- especially for such a lovely kitchen. Overall we loved the cottage and would stay again. You don’t get spots much better than this.

    Thankyou for your feedback, we're glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Glasfryn and it's lovely to hear that you would stay again in the future. The path to the beach is regularly used by myself and my dog, the left hand side of the beach is fine for dog walkers and pet friendly. We do not keep a hairdryer in the property but have taken note of your feedback of kitchen utensils which we shall address. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EleanorMay 2021

  • "We had a lovely two weeks and would have loved to stay longer."

    The house was a little chilly at first but we soon got it warmed up. Kitchen has everything you could need and the bedrooms are cosy. Once the fire is going in the living room its a nice space to chill out in. Our dogs loved the different areas and levels of the gardens and spent their time chasing each other around them. Our only complaints are that the hedges at the front of the house and the honeysuckle around the decking area need cutting back at they are blocking the amazing view. The decking near the garage also needs cleaning as it’s very sloppy when wet. We would definitely go back again as it’s so peaceful and has beaches and everything else we could want close by.

    " Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday in our cosy cottage. Your comments are important to us and we will look into having the hedges & honeysuckle trimmed after this current lock down period in order to enjoy the stunning views from the garden. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasfryn in the near future" Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarlSep 2020

  • "We had a fabulous week in this lovely cottage, my husband and I and our 3 spaniels who loved the spacious enclosed garden, the cottage is spacious, comfortable well equipped, loved the large kitchen and comfy bed."

    Have stayed in Anglesey frequently but new to this area, a gem of a beach at the bottom of the lane, we walked across the sands to Red Wharf Bay, the Ship Inn was very welcoming plenty of outside seating and great food, a walk back along the costal path to Llanddona, where we parked in the spacious carpark, is recommended. The views from the cottage are stunning our only criticism if we could pick one would be that they are obscured by overgrown foliage which is such a shame because it is in an amazing position. All in all we had a lovely week ( fabulous weather) thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Glasfryn and would love to return. Storme and Mike and our spaniels, Alf, Bud and Jake, 7th to the 14th August 2020.

    Reviewed by Mike StormeAug 2020

  • "The house was a major disappointment with an all pervasive smell of mould both in the upstairs master bedroom (where the cupboards and chest of draws were unusable, and we had to sleep with the windows open and clothes packed in cases), and in the kitchen where mould smell is present in all the cupboards and draws."

    It hit us every time we entered the house, despite our best attempts to air the property. The kitchen utensils were dirty and required cleaning before use, and only a poor selection of utensils is present compared to most Menai cottages. We stuck to the kitchen table on first use, and it required several washes to get clean. In several rooms the plaster has been removed. This looks rustic, but the mortar is not sealed so that one of the party was woken in the night by mortar falling on them, and did not take a drink with them after the first night as it would contain a residue of mortar dust in the morning. It’s is the same situation in the living room where a veneer of mortar was present on books etc left overnight. In ten years of visiting holiday cottages in North Wales, mainly rented through Menai Cottages, we have never written a poor review before. This house requires significant improvements, it was a relief to leave and we discussed leaving prior to departure date. Upset about this and very disappointed.

    Dear Mr Hunt, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry you did not have the experience you hoped for at the cottage, it is a shame that you did not contact us straight away regarding the condition you felt the house was in as we would have done our utmost to check and remedy any issues. The owner let us know that the house walls are pointed with lime and sand in keeping with the traditional of the houses of the era, this allows the building to breath and reduces the possibility of condensation. Power washing of the outside space on a regular basis is done to make sure no vegetation takes hold which helps with the reduction of the moistness. A note of any items missing or lacking would be very helpful in maintaining the usually well equipped kitchen. With hand-sanitiser in every room, a through clean by an experienced housekeeper between each booking and a bottle of wine to welcome you we hope future stays are more pleasurable. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidJul 2020

  • "The Cottage was fantastic."

    Very spacious. Garden was great. Superb sea views. Nice beach close by.

    Reviewed by PaulJan 2020

  • "Kitchen could have done with equipping a little better."

    We had to buy a potato peeler and thought a few more mugs would have been good . Only small issues though . Cracking place for a holiday !

    Reviewed by PaulOct 2019

  • "We had a lovely holiday in Glasfryn such a gorgeous house full of character."

    The house was clean and welcoming with everything we needed for our holiday. The beach was a long walk down the hill but worth it when we got there and the children loved playing on the sand and in the sea. All together a great weeks holiday will definitely go again.

    Reviewed by SueAug 2019

  • "We had a lovely week in this cottage."

    The views are spectacular and the local beach is stunning. It is a very steep walk down and back, so we ended up driving as we have a 5 month old so it was a bit much. The garden is enclosed so perfect for our dog and the beds are super comfy. Something to note would be there is no WiFi but the reception on O2 and Three networks were really good. The heating was good, although it took us a while to find the NEST device and work out how to use it so we were quite cold the first night. The local pub is fine for a meal and a couple of drinks and very easy to walk to. We drove to Red Wharf Bay which is very nice for food a couple of nights. Overall, really recommend this cottage.

    We are pleased you had a lovely week at Glasfryn. Thank you for your feedback it is very important to us. The owner of Glasfryn has now installed WiFi which is great news. The HIVE is placed on the cabinet at the bottom of the stairs, this is set to come on twice per day, to adjust this, turn the face clockwise. Thank you for your recommendations too! Property Owner

    Reviewed by RebeccaMay 2019

  • "Cottage had loads of space inside and out"

    Matthew DixonJul 2018

  • "What a lovely property with a few treats left for us to enjoy we will definitely book again and recommended to friends all ready."

    David SugdenNov 2017

  • "An excellent base for beach holiday."

    Lovely views

    Sep 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 700 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x single
  • family bathroom with bath with shower over, loo and basin
  • Sitting room with open fire.
  • Central Heating, range oven, fridge freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, open fire, WIFI, Smart TV, DVD and music system, enclosed garden, garden furniture, off road parking
  • 2 well behaved dogs welcome
  • Note: Initial supply of fuel for the fire, further supplies available locally.

The property

Glasfryn is a fabulous holiday cottage in a peaceful location with beautiful views from practically every room in the cottage.

There are even views from the gorgeous garden!

This simple holiday cottage is not for those looking for luxury but if, like us, you appreciate quirky and characterful cottages, then this could be for you. Offering a combination kitchen and dining room, there’s plenty of space The farmhouse style kitchen has a range oven, fridge freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, microwave and toaster.

The lovely dining table and chairs provides the ideal place for family meals. The sitting room has a sofa and chairs, a Smart TV and DVD player, and music system.

The open fire provides a cosy atmosphere and warmth in the cooler evenings.

You’ll even be provided with a bed and feeding bowls for your dog!

There are two double bedrooms and a further single bedroom, all three having lovely views. The bathroom has a bath with shower over, a loo, wash hand basin and heated towel rail. Head outside to find a large non-landscaped garden with seating dotted in little nooks and a lawned area.

There is also an elevated decked area with table and chairs.

Parking is available for three cars. Glasfryn sits on the outskirts of Llanddona village on Anglesey and whilst it might appear rural, you can walk to the pub easily.

There’s also a long sandy beach close by.

This simple holiday cottage makes an ideal base for walkers, cyclists or anyone who loves getting out and about in the great outdoors.

What’s certain is that this part of Anglesey can off a fun-filled break.

You will get to experience some of the best bits about a holiday in North Wales from Glasfryn.

View on map

About the location


Beaumaris 3 miles; Benllech 7 miles; Red Wharf Bay 7 miles.

Llanddona is a small village on the Isle of Anglesey. Famous for its magnificent Blue Flag beach, the village also contains a local pub. The beach stretches across Red Wharf Bay to Benllech. The bay is very shallow and at low tide almost 25 square kilometres (10 sq. mi.) of sand is uncovered and provides safe bathing, perfect for wonderful family fun, fishing and miles of stunning scenic walks. The large bay attracts a huge number of waterfowl and wading birds, including shell duck, grey plover, purple sandpipers, curlew, oystercatchers and dunlin. Only 3 miles away is the delightful medieval town of Beaumaris which boasts a 13th century moated castle, lovely buildings housing excellent shops, "olde worlde" pubs, restaurants, bistros, museums, as well as a golf course and exciting pleasure boat and sea fishing trips. This is a beautiful location on the east coast of the picturesque Isle of Anglesey.

Region Information