Don’t miss our Summer Sale

Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outSave up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 of 26 View Larger Image
  • 9 Gwel-yr-Wyddfa - Anglesey - 1037116 - photo 1

9 Gwel-yr-Wyddfa

Llanfaelog, Anglesey (Ref. 1037116)


Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 8

  • Bedrooms 4

  • Bathrooms 3

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

8 Customer Reviews

  • "Great property but hygiene and cleanliness wasn’t the strongest point ."

    Is a walk to the beach but close to the oystercatcher and a few minutes drive to Rhosneigr.

    Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your comments on board and now have a new cleaner at no.9 Property Owner

    Reviewed by NatalieApr 2022

  • "Great location for Trac Mon circuit"

    Reviewed by StuartNov 2021

  • "Well designed new build house, on a small private estate with private garden and great views from the rear, plenty of space for two families."

    Good location and short walk to Rhosneigr and a great beach, Oyster Catcher pub/restaurant also on the way and worth a visit (needs advanced booking as busy). Lots of previous comments about the cleanliness of the house - not perfect (my guess is cleaner paid hourly and rushes) but unless you are a clean freak it’s perfectly ok. Could do with a microwave but other than that had everything we needed. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely use again if in Anglesey.

    thankyou for taking the time to write feedback - we now have a new cleaner - and grass cutter and general maintenance thank you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by JamesOct 2021

  • "After booking holiday, we received an email advising check in and check out times had changed as they needed more time to clean the property."

    We got there at 1 and there was no sign of any cleaners, the property was empty. So I am assuming they had ready been in and again presuming that the previous guests left at 9, they didn't have much time to clean a 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom house. I misplaced my keys so we had to move the sofa to look underneath and there was a lot of dust and dirt together with medicine tablets, which weren't ours. We also took the cushions off the sofa and there were crumbs and food again which weren't ours, so definitely hadn't been cleaned. The sheets on the bed were the wrong size and only flat sheets and kept coming off during sleep. There were also ear buds found under 1 of the single beds, again which weren't ours. The was a bundle of dog poo down the side of the house, all bagged up but not put in bin, just on floor, again not ours. We couldn't turn the radiators ff and it was so hot. They were coming on at 3oclock in the morning and of an evening. There was no book explaining anything. Also the TV was amazon and we couldnt get normal tv. Whilst there are so many positives about this property, I feel that they need to replace their cleaner and put an information book together with the WiFi code in.

    thankyou - we now have a new change over company and we have addressed your points thank you for your feedback there is also instructions for heater now on site Property Owner

    Reviewed by DianeSep 2021

  • "In keeping with previous reviews, the house was very dirty; dirty hard floors, filthy skirting boards and filthy corners in all the bathrooms."

    One of the bedrooms was uninhabitable owing to an ongoing leak from the main bathroom shower coming through the floor soaking an extensive area of the bedroom carpet resulting in a horrible smell and mould. Cleanliness issues had been raised by the two previous tenants but not addressed. There was no contact information for the owner so we contacted Sykes right at the start of our two week stay, the issues were not resolved for us during our stay which affected our holiday, we were no able to use all the accommodation we had paid for. It cost us £4500 to rent for 2 weeks and we will be pursuing this complaint.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are working with the owner and the cleaning company to resolve some of the issues raised in recent feedback. We continue to try and improve processes with owners and guests alike to deliver the best experience. Property Owner

    Jul 2021

  • "Beautiful modern property, covers most of the essentials."

    Located 5 mins from town so very peaceful. Wonderful countryside views. Easily caters for 8 adults in space. Excellent wi-fi. Terrific local Spar which caters for almost everything you may have forgotten to pack. Short walk to excellent restaurant, The Oyster Catcher. Decor is simple but tasteful. Waste bins were emptied midweek so no awkward build up. Plenty of car parking space. Garden very secure for dogs. Property in flight path of morning jets from local RAF base which fly over around 11ish which are noisy for a few seconds but we rather enjoyed. If I were to be picky and suggest improvements to this property, I would suggest an extra fridge in the garage to provide space for water, wine, and cans etc although we did holiday during the Summer heat so needed extra fridge space. And maybe consider a couple of replacement mattresses as appear a little too soft. One negative was the grass had been allowed to grow a little too long which had encouraged a few nettles but as we are all struggling with Covid staff shortages this may have been a temporary oversight. Overall,a very lovely holiday home.

    Reviewed by SarahJul 2021

  • "Definitely not worth £1500 for a weeks stay The property was very dirty."

    We found pubic hair in the bathrooms and dirty toilets. The floors looked dirty we decided to mop the downstairs floor the same evening as arriving and after cleaning the water in the mop bucket was black. It didn't look like it had been cleaned thoroughly or at all from the last guests. We spent our first night cleaning the cottage, which is not acceptable at all given the covid situation we are in and when you pay £1500 for the place. The kitchen wasn't well equipped for cooking, and what was there was very tired and old. The beds are very uncomfortable. We have informed Sykes about our findings and they haven't been helpful at all. The property is definitely not 5* have they have stated. I definitely wouldn't book this property, look for somewhere else in Anglesey.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry you found some issues during your stay. The owner has spoken to the housekeeper about the cleanliness and other issues you raised. She has always found the property to be immaculate when she has visited and has used the same housekeeper for years wthout issue. She also used to use the kitchen herself to cook for a large family so felt it was well equipped but has taken on your comments and will look in to this. I am sorry you were not happy with your experience and we are still in discussion with the owner about your complaint. We do hope you enjoyed your holiday otherwise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidJun 2021

  • "We arrived to a dirty house- dirty floors and bathrooms."

    The first thing we had to do was clean it. No hoover in the property and no mop bucket made this difficult. Ideally there would have been a microwave in the kitchen. The pans were rusty and overall it felt like the house had been supplied with someone’s leftover kitchen items. Poor quality mattresses in the bedrooms. Overall it felt like everything had been done as cheaply as possible.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry you found some issues during your stay. The owner has supplied a new mop and bucket and a vacuum cleaner and has spoken to the housekeeper about the cleanliness. I am sorry you did not contact us at the time as we would have done our best to help if we had known you were not happy. We do hope you enjoyed your holiday otherwise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TinaJun 2021

Show more


  • Four bedrooms: 1 king-size with balcony and en-suite shower room, 2 x kingsize, 1 x twin with en-suite shower room
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Cloakroom
  • Utility
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining and seating area with woodburning stove
  • Sitting room with double sofa bed
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, gas hob, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher
  • 2 x TV and dongle WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 4 cars, additional parking in the garage
  • Front and side lawn
  • Enclosed rear patio and lawn with sun loungers
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 mile, pub 0.8 miles

The property

A newly built property on a new estate, just outside Rhosneigr on the Isle of Anglesey, is 9 Gwel-y-Wyddfa, a detached and contemporary property, ideal for a family or large group wanting to explore Anglesey's coastline.

Park your car on the driveway, passing a lovely lawned garden at the front of this corner property, before taking one step up into the hallway, discovering a bright, welcoming and neutrally-styled property.

The small sitting room boasts a sofa bed, should you require it, as well as a wall mounted TV with an Amazon Firestick, where you can escape for a moment of quiet and enjoy streaming your favourite shows.

The large open-plan living room boasts incredible countryside and mountain views via the tri-fold doors, which are great to throw open in the summer and enjoy spending time on the patio and in the enclosed lawned garden, where you can lay out on one the sun loungers in the sunshine, enjoy watching the sheep grazing in the field just behind and take in the incredible mountainous backdrop.

The sleek kitchen is fully-equipped with a range of integrated appliances and incredible Italian quartz countertops, so you can cook delicious meals and enjoy them together at the large dining table with bench seating for all.

The sitting room boasts an inviting L-shaped sofa, where you can kick back and relax beside the woodburning stove with a good book or a family movie night on the large TV with sound bar.

There is a handy cloakroom with basin and WC, as well as a utility room with a washing machine, should you need to clean any clothes after a beach day.

Upstairs are four good-sized bedrooms, neutrally-styled with grey hues and quirky artwork on the walls, comprising a master king size with an incredible balcony that allows you to enjoy those countryside and mountain views, along with an en-suite shower room, a twin room with an en-suite shower room, plus two further king size bedrooms which share use of the stunning bathroom suite, offering a bath and shower over.

Explore Llanfaelog village and discover a convenience store and supermarket in walking distance, perfect for grabbing any essentials, as well as a handful of pubs and restaurants.

there is a pretty 19th century church, along with a selection of beaches within a mile of the property, including the sand dune-backed, coarse sandy beach of Traeth Llydan, while the pretty lake of Llyn Maelog is ideal for waterside afternoon walks.

Just over a mile away is the popular coastal town of Rhosneigr, boasting two award-winning sandy beaches, popular for watersports such as surfing, wind surfing and paddle boarding, you can even book lessons with the experts to perfect your skills.

The village boasts an extensive history and has been a popular tourist destination for centuries, filled with tales of smugglers and famed for its off-shore shipwrecks, while its church dates back to the 6th century.

Be sure to visit the nearby RAF Valley, famed for being Prince William's Air Sea Rescue training base, while Anglesey Race Circuit is great for car and motorbike racing enthusiasts.

Venture along the Anglesey Coastal Path towards the picturesque Trearddur Bay on Holy Island, with rocky coves, Blue Flag awarded beaches and a fine selection of watersports and sailing opportunities.

Nature lovers will enjoy birdwatching at the South Stack Lighthouse RSPB Reserve, while walkers can look forward to scenic cliff top walks.

Holyhead offers a wide selection of amenities, pubs and restaurants, a wonderful golf course, plus a lovely harbour and marina to stroll along, you can even catch a ferry to Dublin for the day.

Move down the coast and discover Newborough Forest, which you can explore on foot or bicycle, before stopping off for an afternoon at the beach, while the medieval town of Beaumaris boasts an imposing castle and other close by attractions include Anglesey Sea Zoo, Pili Palas Butterfly Farm and the National Trust's Plas Newydd House and Gardens.

Hop on a boat trip out to Puffin Island and get the chance to observe nesting puffins and guillemots in their protected habitat.

Cross the Menai Bridge over to the mainland to explore the university town of Bangor, while the magnificent Snowdonia National Park is also a short drive away.

9 Gwel-y-Wyddfa is a stunning Anglesey base you will want to return to over and over again.

View on map

About the location


Bryn Du 0.3 miles, Rhosneigr 1.5 miles, Trearddur Bay 12.5 miles

Llanfaelog is a small village on the western side of Anglesey, next to Rhosneig and close to the main railway that goes to Holyhead. Llanfaelog offers its own church, St Maelog's, built in 1848, along with a small selection of shops and restaurants. Close by is Traeth Llydan, a coarse sandy beach, backed by sand dunes, as well as Porth Tyn Tywyn beach and the pretty lake of Llyn Maelog, all offering pretty waterside walks. Nearby Rhosneigr is a popular seaside town and winner of the Green Coast Seaside Award for its two sandy beaches and popular centre for all watersports. There is a selection of delicious eateries to choose from, while walkers can join the Anglesey Coast Path, that will take you right around the island, encompassing magnificent coastal views. There is a golf course and RSPB nature reserve close by, while Holyhead is a short drive away, with the stunning Breakwater Country Park, built into a former quarry, a maritime museum and a selection of picturesque beaches at Trearddur Bay.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas