Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Anglesey 45 minutes ago

35 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 26 View Larger Image
  • Penrallt - Anglesey - 1008961 - photo 1


Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, Anglesey (Ref. 1008961)


(14 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

14 Customer Reviews

  • "Dirty overwhelming smell of dogs, utensils and cutlery needed re washing."

    The so called freezer should be listed as an "ICEBOX",not defrosted, loads of other people's used ice cube bags. Cupboards overfull with unnecessary items which means hardly any food storage availability, majority of this stuff needs binning. We are a party of 6 we need good storage space. The boiler in the downstairs bathroom/utility room is spewing out what smells like diesel fumes cannot be good for your health. My hubby cleaned the rooms of spider webs that many we thought it was for Halloween!!! Really not that funny The soft furnishings smell and are heavily stained I noticed a previous review mentioned this but it is obvious no action by the owners has been taken. There is no way this property in this state is 4 star, I feel Sykes are letting their customers down by not ensuring any concerns raised are rectified.

    Over the winter months we have replaced the sofa's, deep cleaned the carpets and repainted throughout. New photos will be published soon. We are now limiting this to only 1 small dog to prevent damage / dog smells so guests will have a great experience at our unique cottage. The cause of damp in the bedroom highlighted has been resolved using a builder that specialises in listed buildings by sealing and capping the chimney. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KathleenOct 2021

  • "The cottage itself was gorgeous and the garden was amazing for the dogs but the couches were vey marked, the bed linen smelt musty and there was no provisions such as tea, coffee, milk etc which have been provided in other cottages."

    So when you couldn’t get in till 5pm we then had to go out to the shops which was disappointing.

    Reviewed by AngelaSep 2021

  • "As described."

    Road noise is quite loud at times but you soon get used to it. Garden and grounds size and areas are great far bigger than the photos. Lots of wildlife, rabbits, birds etc Easy access to get around the island Lots of room for 6 people the rooms are bigger than than photos. You need to be able bodied to get up the spiral staircase with rope to hold onto into the turret bedroom, not a problem for us but some may struggle. The only thing I would say it would have been good to have is some garden seats / loungers. The picnic tables can be quite hard on your back.

    Reviewed by CaronJul 2021

  • "I’ve been going to Penrallt for a few years, it’s very comfortable and has an homely feeling to it."

    Ideal if you have small children or a dog as the garden is lovely

    Reviewed by JuneMay 2021

  • "Lovely house, very homely with everything we needed and really interesting features."

    Most of the house was beautifully clean but there were alot of dog hairs on the carpet and we don't have a dog. Maybe it would be possible to get a more effective hoover? Personally, I would prefer more neutral bedlinen and decor in the upstairs bedroom, then I think it would be perfect! Thank you.

    Reviewed by MarionOct 2020

  • "Spent 3 nights at Penrallt on Anglesey in September."

    The cottage was ideally located not far from the Britannia Bridge crossing quite close to shops, restaurants and takeaways. There are some lovely walks close by, through woods and down to the sea. We were sorry we weren't staying longer so we could have visited the local NT property Plas Newydd House and Gardens. We ventured back over the bridge to Snowdonia visiting Aber Falls, Llanberis and Caernarvon. The scenery is spectacular. The layout of the cottage is 'quirky' with parts dating back over 200 years. The grounds are extensive with plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy the sunshine. Wi-Fi was reliable, TV reception good and a DAB radio in the kitchen useful to follow the cricket! We took our own travel cot and high chair for our 9 month old granddaughter which was fine as there is ample space throughout the cottage. We didn't master the pronunciation of Llanfair PG but had a 'selfie' in front of the station there! All in all, a very enjoyable short break in a comfortable cottage in a great location.

    Reviewed by TrevorSep 2020

  • "Positives Beautiful quirky looking building with a large garden Negatives Damp and cold upon arrival as no heating had been put on Literally right on a very busy, noisy main road Stained soft furnishings throughout Stained mattress in upstairs bedroom with no protector Cheap Primark pillows in bedroom Couldn’t see out if bedroom window it was so dirty Used face masks hanging on radiator in en-suite Turret bedroom was very squashed Pool of water at back of fridge Back garden needed attention as very overgrown One small TV in the entire property-would benefit from at least one other TV in a property of that size Not even washing up liquid, hand soap or loo roll, we had to go out and purchase these."

    Bath towels were very cheap quality and small We did contact Menai whilst there to register our findings and they did offer to send out a cleaning team to ‘Help’. We were in holiday and were not going to spend it cleaning when this should have been done ahead of our arrival, especially considering the previous occupants had left an hour earlier and we had our arrival time moved back by 2 hours! We would personally not recommend this properly or location if you are looking for a peaceful holiday. NO DEEP CLEAN HAD TAKEN PLACE HERE Our low rating of how likely we are to recommend Menai Holidays is based purely on this property

    We appreciate the time you have taken to feedback to us your experience in the cottage. We will look at the description of the location on the website. Please note that deep cleans are not possible between each booking, the additional time is required in order for the housekeeping team to fog the property between each booking. The unusually warm and wet weather has made taming the garden a task not easily done between changeovers but hopefully enjoyment is found in the extensive garden no matter the time of year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RebekahSep 2020

  • "The cottage was great, but we had an issue with a broken key while we were there, and there was no way to get any help."

    There were no contact details for the owner which we could find, and the Sykes telephone support suggested a wait of at least an hour. So - the cottage was great, but Sykes not so much.

    Reviewed by RobinJul 2020

  • "Lovely cottage in a great area, great for kids and dogs."

    Spotlessly clean, had worries about comments about it being close to a road but this wasn't a problem at all. Thank you for email letting us k ow that cottage was ready early, this meant that we didn't get caught up I storm Dennis as we were able to set off early

    Reviewed by JackieFeb 2020

  • "The location of the cottage was wonderful."

    Just across the road and down a lane was the most marvellous walk along the coast with stunning views. It was located in a good place for exploring Anglesey and north Wales. The cottage was quirky but nice. It had everything that you could need plus a little family of baby rabbits that played in the garden every day. The main road right next to the property was a surprise but did not spoil our visit. Bathrooms, kitchen and sitting room were very good, although the dining room and bedrooms could do with a little updating.We enjoyed our visit very much and felt it was good value for money.

    Reviewed by JaneSep 2019

  • "The cottage is a lovely building and has beautiful gardens ."

    Loads of positive things I loved. The only thing I found was that it was on a very busy road which wasn’t in the reading when I booked.

    Reviewed by GillianJun 2019

  • "Very disappointed with the cleanliness of the cottage, I won't list everything, as there were issues in each room, I'll just say that everywhere is in need of a GOOD deep clean."

    The cottage is dated, outside also needed some TLC & the grass needed cutting, we could live with this but the cleanliness inside was unacceptable. We paid £541.00 for 2 nights (check in from 4pm on the Friday to 10am on the Sunday) this is not the standard that you would expect for this price. It was clear that pets had been on the furniture and there had been an attempt to hoover as there were lines on the carpet from the hoover nozzle which hadn't really done anything. There was a strong smell in the downstairs bedroom. The shower upstairs had to be turned off half way through to allow the water to drain away. I won't go on! It's a shame as there is potential.

    Thanks for the feedback on our unique grade 2 listed cottage, for which we are very proud of, and are disappointed you didn’t enjoy the days you had at our property. I have investigated this thoroughly with our 5* cleaning company who are used for many holiday lets across Anglesey. They recognised the dog smell in the downstairs bedroom during the Friday clean and thought they had removed all the dog hairs from the property and hoovered the carpets twice. This is a dog friendly property, however we are trusting our guests to respect the furniture and fittings. They have also investigated the Shower upstairs and its flowing well now. We have consciously fitted out the cottage with appropriate furniture and décor for such a historic cottage and it would be inappropriate (or even allowed) for us to modernise its unique character out of this building. To aid the pleasure of our guests we even provide deck chairs, outside seats and more recently bird seed so our clients can enjoy the garden and the garden visitors. We now have a regular pair of pheasants visiting. This used to be the gardeners house for the Plas Newydd estate and we attempt to maintain their standards of such a large and extensive garden. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SarahJun 2019

  • "Perfect location for exploring Anglesey and North Wales!"

    !! The cottage was lovely and cosy, the garden was perfect for my toddler who enjoyed playing in it every day!!! Would deffinetly recommend this cottage!!

    Reviewed by ElaineMay 2019

  • "This was my fourth stay at Penrallt, I found it a very comfortable place to stay."

    Reviewed by JuneMay 2019

Show more

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 400 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Three bedrooms: 3 x double
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath ans hand held shower attachment, WC and handwash basin
  • Ensuite with shower cubicle, WC and handwash basin
  • Kitchen with electric oven and hob, fridge / freezer, microwave and toaster and kitchen table with 4 chairs (washing machine is located in the bathroom)
  • Sitting/dining sofa and wood burning stove, seating area and dining table
  • Main sitting room has an open fire, sofas, large flat screen Smart TV, DVD player and a selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Patio doors lead to garden with lawned area, planting and parking for 3-4 cars.
  • 10 minute walk from Llanfairpwll where there are pubs and amenities
  • WiFi, woodburning stove, central heating, Smart TV, DVD player, books games and DVD's, bed linen and towels provided, washing machine, fridge, freezer, microwave, toaster, enclosed garden, garden furniture
  • 1 small dog welcome
  • Given the nature of the turret stairs to access the crog lofts guests need to be mindful they are only suitable for agile adults and older children
  • Fibre broadband at 40mbs download.

The property

Penrallt is a gorgeous Grade II listed cottage.

It has unique small turrets that have been cleverly utilised to provide crog lofts in two of the bedrooms.

The holiday cottage was once part of the Plas Newydd Estate, which is now run by the National Trust.

The well equipped kitchen has an electric oven and hob, fridge / freezer, microwave and toaster and kitchen table with 4 chairs. A sofa and wood burning stove provide a cosy seating area and there is also a round dining table to one side. The main sitting room has an open fire, comfortable sofas, large flat screen Smart TV, DVD player and a selection of books, games and DVDs.

Patio doors from this room lead to the large landscaped garden. The ground floor bathroom has a bath and hand held shower attachment, loo and wash hand basin. There are three bedrooms.

Stairs from the dining area lead to the master ensuite double bedroom.

The other two bedrooms are in the turrets and accessed from the sitting room.

The first has a double bed and a spiral staircase leading to further storage and seating.

The second is accessed through a cosy sitting area with a small wood burning stove and comfy chair with a semi spiral staircase to the crog loft above with double bed.

The large attractive garden has lawned areas, shrubberies, a sheltered terrace and garden furniture.

There is parking for 3 or 4 cars. Given the nature of the turret stairs to access the crog lofts, guests need to be mindful they are only suitable for agile adults and older children. Located on the south east corner of Anglesey, Penrallt is ideally situated for visiting some of Anglesey's best attractions.

It is easy to pick up the coastal footpath and you are just 5 minutes away from the mainland and the magnificent Snowdonia National Park. With full central heating and 3 fires this is a perfect all year round holiday destination.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Menai Bridge 2 miles; Beaumaris 6 miles.

Affectionately known by the locals as Llanfair PG, the Anglesey village of Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrnd robwllllantysiliogogogoch, also known by its shortened name of Llanfairpwllgwyngyll has the longest place name in Europe. It was artificially named back in 1860 as a publicity stunt for the railway station and translates from Welsh as "St Mary's church in the hollow of the white hazel near to the fierce whirlpool and the church of St Tysilio of the red cave". Situated close to the Menai Straits, just off the Britannia Bridge, Llanfair PG has much to offer families. After having your photo taken next to the village nameplate at the railway station, head into the popular visitors centre for local tourist information. A short walk past the octagonal Toll House, towards Menai Bridge, will bring you to the Marquis of Anglesey statue and column which, for a small fee, you can climb the 115 steps to the top for superb views of the countryside and coastline. Nelson’s Monument can be easily reached on the banks of the Menai Straits, passing St Mary’s Church on the way. With several good pubs with restaurants, craft and gift shops and cafes, plus the beautiful Anglesey coastline within walking distance, there is plenty to entertain you all year round.

Region Information

Note: £100 security deposit Note: Given the nature of the turret stairs to access the crog lofts guests need to be mindful they are only suitable for agile adults and older children. Fibre broadband at 40mbs download.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute