Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th September '22. Available on breaks arriving 1st January - 30th April '23.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outSave up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

10 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 12 View Larger Image
  • The Art Deco House - Anglesey - 932426 - photo 1
close

The Art Deco House

Menai Bridge near Bangor, Anglesey (Ref. 932426)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

31 Customer Reviews

  • "Art Deco House, We had a great week in this house, it’s in a good position for visiting all of Anglsey."

    weather was good. Stylish house with many period features. With Original window frames. We chose not to lift the blinds up & down so just changed the angle as this was easier. The dining kitchen has everything you need, is light & airy. French windows to a private enclosed decked area with table & chairs, perfect for dinning outside with a glass of wine. Lovely comfortable lounge. Comfortable beds. We didn’t use the shower off the kitchen, we couldn’t work it out ? Take care on the tiles in the bathroom. Lovely house thank you. C Barnes, South Yorkshire

    Reviewed by CherylJul 2022

  • "Our concerns about previous reports that the property was not clean were completely allayed."

    The property is rather quirky, but the bed was very comfortable and the owner has gone to a lot of trouble to provide what he thinks is required. The upstairs bathroom worked well, but my husband said the downstairs wet room didn't work for him (it could be him). The property is ideally situated for strolling locally including right under the suspension bridge or visiting anywhere in Anglesey or North Wales. I would describe the house as more stylish than comfortable, but maybe I am showing my age. The back garden is a nice place to sit in the sun. Car parking was fine, once we got the hang of the situation.

    Reviewed by ChristineJul 2022

  • "Very convenient location, lovely walks to the waterfront, and along the Belgian Promenade to Church Island."

    Also up onto Telford's Bridge. Two great restaurants within 5 mins stroll: Sage Kitchen & Freckled Angel ( we didn't get to Dylans, ran out of time. The acknowledged road noise wasn't intrusive as we had feared. The only thing we missed was a simple charcoal bbq to fully enjoy the secluded back garden. A great base for exploring Anglesey and the nearby mainland.

    Reviewed by BarryJun 2022

  • "This is a lovely property well placed for the amenities of Menai Bridge."

    It is very comfortable and we had everything we needed. There was a problem with the rear doors onto the patio and Sykes cottages contacted the owner about this for us.

    Reviewed by AnneJun 2022

  • "It was a really good house with all the amenities you need."

    It was clean, furniture was good, 3 double rooms were good size and all the bedding was provided. Garden had a furniture to sit down and relax. Everywhere we visited was quite nearby. All together I would love to stay there again if I ever visit snowdonia again.

    Reviewed by RamanjeetApr 2022

  • "The property was not very clean."

    Lots of things didn't work ( Ice machine on fridge, washing machine). Owner turned up to ask us if everything was OK and we told him that the washing machine didn't lock, it was unclean and there were no cooking things. No dishes to cook in no measuring jugs, no mixing bowls.The area is beautiful, but the property needs a lot of things doing to sort it out. Chairs on decking were mouldy. The owner said He had new ones but hadn't put them out as it was the end of the season. He still had bookings and shouldn't have left old mouldy chairs out.Also, no locks on either bathroom door. Filthy at the side of the double bed where the bed had not been pulled out to clean. Cobwebs above fridge freezer. Bathroom fans didn't turn off unless you switched the switch above the door which if your small your not going to reach!!

    Reviewed by GailOct 2021

  • "We stayed here for a week and loved the house."

    The location was absolutely perfect for visiting places on Anglesey but also mainland North Wales. We had a minor issue with one of the appliances but the owner was in touch straight away to arrange for it to be fixed and arranged a solution for us in the meantime. Cannot fault this property and will definitely choose to stay again when we next visit Anglesey.

    Reviewed by KerriSep 2021

  • "Nice spacious house - good standard of fixtures and fittings and in a great ..."

    Nice spacious house - good standard of fixtures and fittings and in a great location VERY comfy bed and well equipped kitchen Few minor issues - blinds and towel radiators very dusty - and not just a week as well as hand prints down the doors - easy fixed but shouldn't be necessary Manual for washer would be nice as took 30 mins to figure how to unlock door and the symbols on the cooker are unreadable making the instructions of not much use Parking a good reverse challenge - especially when chap at bottom of drive sticks his car out Surprised no milk tea coffee in property on arrival - just unusual with sykes - maybe we have been spoilt elsewhere All in all thought we had a great week - but the easy fixes would make a good property great

    Reviewed by AndrewSep 2021

  • "Lovely accomodation with great facilities including an outdoor seating area."

    Art deco theme throughout the house, very comfortable as well as stylish!

    Reviewed by GillianSep 2021

  • "We've stayed in this house a few times when in town to run the Anglesey Half ..."

    We've stayed in this house a few times when in town to run the Anglesey Half Marathon and had a great time, it's comfortable and amazingly located right by the finish line :)

    Reviewed by PollySep 2021

  • "Described as fabulous art deco house."

    Nowhere in the description mentioned tatty, broken blinds that don't even fit the windows. I fully appreciate the windows were antique but blackout blinds can be made to fit. No locks on bathroom doors. Not enough seating for 6 guests in any of the rooms or the garden. The owner did bring us a dining chair on request. The owner pointed out that there was a 'glich' with the downstairs shower, the washing machine and the living room fire. Get them all fixed! The garden chairs were covered in mould.

    Reviewed by DeniseAug 2021

  • "The house was perfect for our holiday."

    It was very clean and comfortable, especially the beds and living room. The kitchen had good storage and bathrooms were excellent. It is a shame that with such a well finished sunny rear garden deck, there was no facility for outdoor eating or drinking just some low chairs and no table. We had one issue with an unexpected electrical failure but Sykes and the owner were excellent and diligent in resolving it even late into the evening. I can highly recommend this accommodation and Sykes.

    Reviewed by RobertJun 2021

  • "Second stay at the Art Deco House this year and just as good."

    Clean, warm and comfortable with the attractions, shops, restaurants and pubs of Menai Bridge, Beaumaris and Llangefni in easy reach. A great base to explore this wonderful island and if you don’t have car Menai bridge is also a hub for local buses.

    Reviewed by NeilSep 2020

  • "Although the house is in a good location, the cleanliness was poor."

    The rugs needed vacuuming & the stairs were full of dust. All the skirting boards needed wiping. The blinds in the bedrooms have seen better days & didn’t close properly so the light came through making it difficult to sleep. The main bedroom didn’t have a bottom sheet although this was rectified on day two. Considering we are in a pandemic we were expecting things to be super clean but even the vacuum was full of dust when we arrived so we had to empty someone else’s dirt out.

    Reviewed by KateAug 2020

  • "A lovely holiday thank you."

    Art Decco house was a perfect location especially as we travelled by train. Shops, bus station and local walks all within five minutes. However, we just felt it lacked a homely feeling with no welcoming pack and we had a few issues which we had to contact Sykes about. This didn't detract from a super holiday.

    Reviewed by MaryAug 2020

  • "The house was surprisingly spacious."

    Beds were comfortable which so often isn't the case.The style of the property was true to it's description as Art Deco which was nice. We were pleased to find a washer dryer also. We did feel on arrival that the property was not clean enough. The kitchen door handles (moulded into the doors) had grease and dirt on them...only the fronts had been wiped. We were then uneasy about the level of cleanliness throughout the property and so went round everything with antibacterial wipes. Overall, we had a lovely, comfortable stay.

    Reviewed by LauriJul 2020

  • "Lovely cottage, surprisingly warm and comfy given the Art Deco finishes, and fantastic shower rooms and comfy beds."

    Felt like a very opulent time away. The front door does need addressing though as the handle is currently loose, but with two entrances this didn’t impact on the pleasure of the stay Ps I left a couple of leads in the dressing table drawer of the main bedroom by mistake - one cable and adaptor for a dell laptop and the other a small white adaptor cable for an iPhone - if these are located please let me know what is the easiest way to organise their return and what the postage costs would be

    Reviewed by NeilMar 2020

  • "The house was lovely but we had problems finding it as the name on the front was not Art Deco we asked a neighbour and she thought it was in a different street as it was dark and we were tired by then having driven since 7am and storm Dennis was due it was not a good start to the holiday, can I also mention that as very regular holiday renters it’s very confusing as to what to expect."

    Last year when we rented through you there was a basket of goodies left for us and although we didn’t expect the same this time there wasn’t even a toilet roll so had to go out. During storm Dennis to get some. .not your faults but I wonder if it’s possible for you to give the owners some guidance on this

    Reviewed by SandraFeb 2020

  • "The house is in a good location, we really enjoyed our stay."

    It was handy having two bathrooms. The downside for us it does need curtains or adequate blinds in the other two bedrooms.

    Reviewed by DeborahAug 2019

  • "Ideal base for exploring the area by foot, bus or car."

    Much easier to get car into the access road if you drive into Chapel St. from the bottom end, not by the most direct route as given in your literature.

    Reviewed by EdwardMay 2019

  • "Lovely well equipped peaceful house, great location allows you to walk to the restaurants."

    Reviewed by IanApr 2019

  • "We enjoyed staying in the house and found our time there very comfortable."

    We found the kitchen to be huge and well equipped. The lounge was comfortable too with a very big telly and access to fibre broadband kept the kids happy. The bed rooms were very comfortable too. My only criticism would be the blinds in two of the bedrooms. They are rubbish and don't even fit the windows (plus people have bent them as they work in a strange way. Get some curtains or proper black out blinds!

    Reviewed by AdamMar 2019

  • "Lovely house, clean and comfortable, and picking up the keys was super easy."

    Reviewed by PollyMar 2019

  • "Everything in this property was exceedingly good quality."

    One or two little quirks with lighting. For the time of year although front windows were not double glazed the heating kept us very warm. The property was also very well positioned in Menai Bridge. We had a brilliant holiday and were very impressed with Art Deco House well done.

    Reviewed by SusanNov 2018

  • "Was warm and cozy on arrival with great layout was an ideal break location ..."

    Was warm and cozy on arrival with great layout was an ideal break location plenty to do with great pubs and restaurants locally thanks to Joyce and Stuart also

    Reviewed by LindaNov 2018

  • "Both the kitchen and bathroom were dirty and had only received a superficial clean."

    In the kitchen there were bits of food down the side of the cooker and the floor was sticky, while the bathroom had large amounts of dust in the corners. Some things about the house were plain odd, like having to stand on the bed in one of the bedrooms to operate the light switch while there was a fair bit of noise from vehicles passing by, not helped by windows that didn't close. Despite having a combination boiler, at some point in the night the power to it was cut off, meaning no hot water, though it came back on in the morning. The location was good.

    Reviewed by LewisOct 2018

  • "The perfect location for exploring this part of Wales and the house was close as in walking distance to a variety of excellent pubs and restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets would recommend the Liverpool Arms, Dylan’s and Bocca restaurants."

    . The house was delightful with a large well equipped kitchen, two huge bathrooms one upstairs one downstairs both with showers and the upstairs has a lovely deep bath. The bedrooms had plenty of wardrobe space and hangers as well as very comfortable beds with memory foam mattresses and plenty of pillows. As previously noted the windows are not double glazed but the heating was left on and so it was very cosy. There was a little traffic noise in the morning and early evening but literally just for an hour or so and nothing major. The only very minor points were that some of the grouting on the floor tiles in the bathroom needs to be fixed as it’s crumbling under foot and as previously mentioned there are no locks on either of the bathrooms but that certainly wouldn’t stop us from staying again!

    Reviewed by CarolineAug 2018

  • "Shower not working for six days."

    No locks on bathroom doors.lights not working in the double bedroom. needs draw curtains in two of the bedrooms the blinds not adequate. needs more cutlery and drinking glasses.

    Reviewed by KathleenJun 2018

  • "It was lovely, really easy to get in and really comfy beds."

    The walk in shower was great too. Thank you!

    Reviewed by PhoebeMay 2018

  • "Some of the light fittings did not work, minimalistic kitchen equipment for 6 people ."

    Nowhere to put wet towels to air. No holiday planning details and no emergency contact details No restaurant recommendations.

    Reviewed by LeslieJun 2017

  • "Lovely house to look at but tiled floors and ill fitting original Windows made the house feel a bit cold."

    A few more pieces of crockery would have been useful. Overall the house was comfortable and in a great position to explore Anglesey. Location for shops, pubs and restaurants was great. Would be a fantastic house during the summer due to lovely outdoor space.

    Reviewed by AdeleOct 2016

Show more

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size 1x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with wet room shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Sitting room (seats 5).
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric range oven with 5-ring electric hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, TV with Freeview and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair on request
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed front patio with decked area and furniture
  • Bike and kayak storage
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shops and pubs 2 mins walk
  • Slipway at end of road
  • Note: Property close to main road, some traffic noise will be heard outside
  • Note: Double bed accessed from one side only.

The property

This wonderfully unique Art Deco home is centrally-located in the town of Menai Bridge, near the coast just over the Telford Bridge on Anglesey.

A semi-detached cottage with original period features and Art Deco-styling throughout, this beautifully-presented cottage provides light, airy and spacious accommodation that the whole family will enjoy.

Approaching the cottage through an enclosed front patio from your private parking, you enter into a marble floored hallway, with the main sitting room to your left, furnished with contemporary Art Deco fixtures and furniture, which continue through the whole property.

The kitchen and dining area are to the rear of the property and have been styled with a mirror tiled splash back, range cooker, and black and white floor tiles to complement the kitchen units.

Patio doors lead out onto decking with subtle LED lighting, offering a superb woodland lit area to chill out with a refreshing drink long into the evening.

A ground floor bathroom has been similarly styled to continue the Art Deco theme and boasts a walk-in wet room shower.

Three stylish bedrooms upstairs offer two king-size bedrooms and a double bedroom, with a further family bathroom with claw foot bath and walk in shower, making this an ideal cottage for a group of adults to enjoy.

Menai offers a wide selection of shops and art galleries, along with an excellent waterfront restaurant and welcoming pubs.

The delights of Snowdonia are only a short drive, ideal for walking, climbing and mountain biking, or join the Anglesey Coastal Path which runs almost past the front door, and follow it along the coast where you can admire and take in outstanding views and scenery.

This superb Art Deco cottage is an excellent destination for Menai town and the delights of Anglesey.

View on map

About the location

MENAI STRAITS

Beaumaris 6 miles; Bangor 4 miles.

The Menai Strait is the stretch of water separating the Isle of Anglesey from the Welsh mainland. Often a brilliant blue, these shallow tidal waters are crossed by two bridges, allowing easy access to the attractions of Anglesey and the mainland. The castle and pier at Beaumaris make a lovely day out, or you can catch a boat to enjoy a trip out to Puffin Island. The Anglesey Coastal Path takes in beautiful scenery, and the island is home to many fine beaches including Rhosneigr, Trearddur Bay and Red Wharf Bay. The NT mansion Plas Newydd is on the island, while on the mainland further NT properties can be found including Penrhyn Castle and Bodnant Gardens. The spectacular mountains and lakes of Snowdonia are just a short drive way, with plenty of castles, beaches and other attractions on offer in this wonderful region. The Menai Straits really does offer the best of both worlds!

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas