In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

  • Ty Capel Saron - (Ref. 956927)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.


1 of 30 View Larger Image
  • Ty Capel Saron - North Wales - 956927 - photo 1

Ty Capel Saron

Bethesda, North Wales & Snowdonia (Ref. 956927)



Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 12

  • Bedrooms 5

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

31 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a lovely week at Ty Capel Saron."

    Whilst we were there we endured a storm and some local lockdowns but the the house was so lovely, cosy and well equipped that didn't matter. It is located perfectly for getting to places further north and over to Anglesey and situated so close to may paths and routes to explore by bike and by foot. Zip world is a massive bonus on the doorstep and the cottage can be seen as you are flying down the wire. Amenities like Tesco Express were close by in the town of Bethesda or slightly further afield to larger stores. The house itself is large and spacious downstairs and fitted the 6 of us plus the dog perfectly. Upstairs is cosy with slightly limited headroom but with plenty of beds. There is the main bathroom upstairs with and additional shower room downstairs. The only things we could have done with were a tumble drier, DVD player and hoover but they are our only negatives of the entire trip. Would definitely book to come again..

    Reviewed by JodieOct 2020

  • "Property was very well located."

    It was clean and comfortable.

    Reviewed by EdwardSep 2020

  • "The cottage was lovely, holiday was only spoiled by the awful weather, the storm ..."

    The cottage was lovely, holiday was only spoiled by the awful weather, the storm brought down a tree which cut off our water supply but the owners got it sorted and back on the same day, very good service, would recommend the place to anybody

    Reviewed by MarkAug 2020

  • "Holiday in Wales was wonderful."

    This accommodation was reasonable. However, we had some issues during our stay. The fridge on arrival was not cold at all. We bought food with us so needed a cold fridge. We contacted the owner, who responded quickly, and said it was fine for the previous guests! By the morning it was as it should be. My son accidentally broke a small table lamp (I sent her a pic and let her know what happened) to which she wanted £20 to replace. Slightly excessive I thought. We then got accused of "graffitiing" a bed frame! (The name Tom was written clearly by a child) and was told it wasn't there before we arrived. Needless to say, this was absolutely not true! Finally, she texts me to say the spare key was not where it should have been. I personally put it in place upon vacating the property. There were 6 adults and 5 children in our party. All close family, respectful people, children included. We had a wonderful stay in Wales and would 100% recommend visiting. I'd like to point out that the owner was very responsive to any questions/queries we had throughout our stay.

    Reviewed by JoanneJul 2020

  • "Absolutely fabulous places to stay and lovely location just a couple of things that would make the place even more fabulous!"

    ... Bigger fridge or second fridge, we would have struggled with 11 of us if we had stayed longer than a weekend. Some of the duvets need replacing bit thin and lumpy Extra chair for dining room table so can have a person on each end New toaster only half toaster works unless you hold it down whole time

    Thank you kindly for your feedback. There is a chair at either end of the dining room table now, each bench seats 5 comfortably and with 2 chairs, that is great for 12 people to eat. Thank you for alerting us to the toaster not working correctly as it is brand new! Property Owner

    Reviewed by SaraNov 2019

  • "Such a beautiful cottage with amazing views !"

    We had our daughters pre wedding preparations there and it was just the perfect venue. We stayed for the week following and it is very conveniently located for exploring lots of lovely areas. The cottage is warm , spacious , very attractive and loved the thoughtful touches like the dog bed and bowls and the Welsh cakes. The log burner was lovely in the evenings. The smart tv also works without using something like a Firestick as you can access all the channels using the apps on it. There is plenty of leaflets and information about local attractions. We had a few minor issues but the owner responded immediately and was extremely friendly and very helpful ! Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by GayeSep 2019

  • "The house was very well equipped for our family holiday."

    The setting was beautiful and it's had everything we needed for our stay. Having a full length mirror in the house would have been helpful. The downstairs bathroom could do with a bit of upgrade. The shower and taps were not quite awkward. Having a cupboard full of games and kids stuff was a pleasant surprise and our kids had a good time.

    Thank you kindly for your feedback. There is a full-length mirror in the main bedroom. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SagorikaAug 2019

  • "My husband and I stayed in a Sykes cottage last year--- it was brilliant- that's why we booked again this year - but Ty Capel Saron was NOT the class we stayed in last year."

    The area is amazing -perfect location- but the accommodation left a lot to be desired. Thank goodness there was only 8 of us staying there - the price reflects 12 guests - but the accommodation doesn't . One VERY small downstairs shower (more of a waterfall than a shower) - the upstairs bathroom is a shower only if you're sat in the bath. The kitchen was less than clean, I Jiffed for a couple of days after we arrived. The bathrooms were 'grubby' None of us that stayed- all family- would recommend this property- and I felt very let down by Sykes- the cost covered 12 people- and if the property had lived up to Sykes standards - I would have been happy to pay the extortionate cost - knowing it was peak season- but I just feel ripped off now- and embarrassed that my family were amazed at what I'd paid.

    Thank you for your feedback. As far as we are aware from other guests the cleanliness of the cottage which is nearly 200 years old. The cleanliness of the cottage is always well above standard. The bathrooms are clearly detailed in the specification. The downstairs shower has been tested and works perfectly, but is not a power shower as it is pumped directly from the mountain stream in the garden. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KathAug 2019

  • "Great house to stay in with the family."

    Good open kitchen dining area and bedrooms we're very comfortable.

    Reviewed by BarryAug 2019

  • "We loved the house, but I'm afraid we were a little disappointed at the cleanliness and some of the repair of the house - ie."

    bathroom floor wasn't totally grouted and some tiles were stuck with tape, no tiles around the bath which meant water went down the back of it and onto the tiles on the floor! (that weren't grouted) The blinds in all the bedrooms were all so light that we had to put sheets at the windows too every night or we would have been up at 4am! We were told there was a TV, but this had been recently replaced (great!)only to find that the owner didn't know how to install it and there was a problem with the aerial, which was a bit of a shame ..... The bedding was clean, but very old and bobbly which just made it feel not as clean as you'd like and when we stripped the beds at the end of our stay 2 of the undersheets had multiple stains on them - not really what you want to find !! We did enjoy our stay and its such a lovely house, but just felt disappointed with these things, that could really easily be put right. many thanks

    Thank you for your feedback. We are making plans to re-grout the bathroom floor so than you for the feedback. None of the blinds are black out blinds but are beautiful coordinated yellow blinds throughout the house. The sound of the stream also can be distracting for guests but this is part of the mountainside and so is the light. The bath is free standing old fashioned style tub it is not meant to be against the wall I’m afraid. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SamanthaJul 2019

  • "Although the owners did try very hard to address the tv issue, and seems really nice people, we had catch up tv only for first few days, so they provided a new tv, but after the first day of this world for a couple of hours, it didn’t work at all."

    So for all the time we stayed we didn’t watch tv really

    Thank you for your feedback. There is no aerial functioning in the cottage now as the storms in the valley make it impossible for it to remain secure. The introductory email after this visit to each gusts now advises there is a smart TV there now with multiple apps instead. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JohnJul 2019

  • "The cottage is quite hard to find from the postcode so would be worth giving some specific instructions to visitors prior to their stay."

    The accommodation itself is charming, comfortable and clean. There is plenty of room for guests to move around with good facilities in the kitchen, towels provided etc. There were a couple of broken things but if needed would have been sorted during our stay. The communication with Sykes cottages was great via mobile/text so any issues could be addressed immediately/ location good for all the of zip world sites and other local attractions. It is a few minutes away from the velocity zip, half an hour max from the other 2 zipworld sites. All in all a great find and would Definitely return and recommend.

    Reviewed by SamanthaJun 2019

  • "Lovely house for a weekend away with friends."

    The house is much bigger than it looks in photos and was spotlessly clean. The views are stunning and would definately stay again. My only comment would be that the listing states sleeps 12 adults, although this is possible there's only one shower which is tricky and some of the sofa beds are a little small. That aside a really lovely place to stay, Thank you for a great weekend!

    Reviewed by AnnaApr 2019

  • "Brilliant house."

    Lots of room and wonderful social space! 2 toilets one shower and a lovely big bath. Comments in the gang that extra shower for mornings would be handy but we managed perfectly. Great location. Beautiful house. Would definitely recommend and how to go again. Lovely touch leaving dog bowls and blankets! We loved that fact that the mobile signal was rubbish. It was everything we wanted in a holiday

    Thank you so much for your feedback. Yes your dogs are properly catered for at Ty Capel Saron. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LizMar 2019

  • "Fantastic stay at the cottage."

    Set in the middle of beautiful scenery. Really enjoyed the open plan living space and plenty of room. Highly recommended! Thank you

    You are very welcome ! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hannah-louiseMar 2019

  • "The house itself was extremely cosy and just what we were looking for."

    The surrounding area is absolutely stunning even in the gloomy weather. There is plenty to do in nearby towns, although it is not within walking distance. The owner of the cottage was very knowledgeable and provided a detailed folder with local amenities and information about the area/house. The booking and preparations prior to the visit were easy and straight forward. Would definitely recommend and hopefully visit again in the future!

    Most welcome, so happy you had a good time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DanielleFeb 2019

  • "It was last second booking and host were not only able to accommodate us but also arrange to on the heating and wood logs for us."

    Place is very close to zip wire and surrounded by beautiful vallyes

    You are most welcome. Glad we could accommodate you and you had a great time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ShubaNov 2018

  • "Had booked Ti Capel Saron to celebrate my sons 30th n daughters 20th, firstly we were all blown away by the position, it is simply stunning."

    We had arranged zip wire experience which was liturally a 5 minute drive away. The cottage was beautifully warm on arrival with a welcome pack of welsh cakes which was a lovely touch. The facilities in the cottage were all there from glasses, knives forks plenty of cooking utensils and towels. Would definitely recommend,and/or come back.

    You are most welcome, so glad you enjoyed Snowdonia and had a lovely holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CindyNov 2018

  • "The cottage itself was lovely."

    Great location for the Zipline. It was however, lacking in "nicities". Things like a decent set of wine glasses & tumblers; crockery & pots were a bit mismatched; you'd struggle to self cater for 10. We were a group of 6 & that was plenty with 2 bathrooms. Bedding & towels are a bit tired & the utility room was untidy. The owner was great & vey helpful. We enjoyed it & would go back. Just expect basic & you won't be disappointed.

    Thank you for your feedback. Yes the cottage is nearly 200 years old and so we do not have contemporary plates and bowls, they are all authentic and ceramic but do not all match. Glad you loved the cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlisonNov 2018

  • "The cottage was beautiful and in a great location."

    We were emailed before the trip with all the details which saved a phone call and the owner was very accommodating.

    You are most welcome and I am glad you found Ty Capel Saron. We will always help guests get there but please bear in mind there is no mobile signal at the cottage, so I advise whats app or the 3 words location app. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NiteenNov 2018

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday."

    Accommodation was good and in an excellent position. The area is stunning. Lots to do for children and adults alike all within 30/40 mins. Very impressed with the selection of activities available. Would visit Noth Wales again.

    Thank you for the feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed North wales, Snowdonia Property Owner

    Reviewed by JaneOct 2018

  • "We had no heating or hot water for the first 24 hours of our break- so cold as it was awful weather outside."

    Also no logs provided for the fire as in the description..A plumber arrived the next day so we had to wait in and waste our holiday and even then we could only get heating upstairs for the duration of the 3 days.The dishes, cups plates had all been put away dirty in the cupboards,no light-shades in the bedrooms.Dated and un cared for nothing matched just surface clean- the cost didn't justify the property's standard. My family had travelled from all over the UK for a birthday celebration,very disappointed and I felt responsible as I booked this.I called the owner to ask for reimbursement but had no reply.Would not recommend this house.

    Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we are very disappointed that one of our properties has seemingly let us down and not provided you with the experienced that we had hoped for. We have contacted the owner of this property regarding the points you have raised. I can see the complaint has been addressed and resolved for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JenniferOct 2018

  • "We recently enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Ty Capel Saron."

    The owner, Miriam, was incredibly helpful and friendly throughout the booking process and was invaluable in assisting me when there was some miscommunication with Sykes about my Paypal payment. The cottage is stunning - well decorated, well equipped and warm and cosy. We all felt immediately at home! Thank you Miriam for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage - I'm hoping to return next year :)

    Thank you kindly for your feedback, greatly appreciated Property Owner

    Reviewed by BOct 2018

  • "Fabulous house with amazing views."

    So much to do in the area. Planning to return already!

    Reviewed by SuzanneSep 2018

  • "Beautiful accommodation with incredible surroundings."

    We thouroughly enjoyed our stay. We had one very slight problem, which the owner sorted out straight away. Could not have been better service. The villa itself was clean, very well kept and we would highly recommend to anyone thinking about booking.

    Reviewed by CarlyJul 2018

  • "Sharp knives need sharpening."

    Could not find a bread cutting knife. Shower is very small. Ladies would appreciate mirrors in the bedrooms. The views are fantastic and a lovely tranquil spot. Lots of room for 10 adults. Thank you for the milk and cake.

    Reviewed by GeorgeJun 2018

  • "Lovely house & location but would be enhanced by the following: One frying pan handle loose Dirty pan in cupboard Broken handle on Pyrex glass dish Taps loose in kitchen For property sleeping up to 12 dishwasher is extremely small Water dispenser in fridge not working hence pool of water in bottom of fridge In the information folder should include Drs contact details/ refuse instructions re recycling & which outside bin to use as it was overflowing when we arrived."

    Informed the owner about state of dead plants in pots & hanging baskets & feel the whole garden needed attention which would enhance the property, apparently the housekeeper should have cared for these. On the whole a bit of TLC would not go amiss.

    Reviewed by BarbaraMay 2018

  • "Great accommodation, great weather."

    ... we were really fortunate that everything came together. The cottage is fantastic and suited our needs perfectly.

    Reviewed by ChrisMay 2018

  • "We enjoyed our stay immensely and wouldn't hesitate to book Ty Chapel Saron again in future."

    The house is very comfortable and fantastically located. Our stay coincided with The Beast from the East/ Storm Emma and the owners were extremely helpful in the face of such exceptional weather conditions.

    Reviewed by DanFeb 2018

  • "Excellent location and Miriam the owner was very informative and a pleasure to deal with."

    Hard place to find in the dark on first arrival, next doors driveway light was out so both properties in total darkness and was easily missed by the rest of the arriving group. Property lovey warm and cosy our groups only gripe was the lack of more toilets and showers but we all coped with it fine Highly recommend to visit this property

    Reviewed by MarkNov 2017

  • "The cottage was simply wonderful and Miriam the owner was amazing."

    It's simply had everything we needed and more. Really hope to use this cottage again.

    Reviewed by MartinOct 2017

Show more


  • Four bedrooms: 1 x double with balcony, 2 x double, 1 x twin, 2 x single futon beds, 1 x double sofa bed
  • Bathroom with roll-top bath, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area (seats 12) with double sofa bed and woodburning stove
  • Utility
  • Snug (seats 4) with two single futon beds.
  • Oil central heating with ground floor underfloor heating and woodburning stove
  • Electric range with gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power inc. in rent
  • Additional fuel for stove available on honesty box basis
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and Cot available
  • Off road parking for 4 cars
  • Garden with lawn and furniture (seats 6)
  • Slate patio with furniture (seats 4) and bench
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1.5 miles
  • Note: Sloped ceilings and limited head room above beds in both double rooms
  • Note: Children need to be supervised due to balcony
  • Note: Although enclosed, there is an open mountain stream in garden, children and dogs to be supervised when outside
  • Note: Surrounding area is open sheep country, dogs to kept on lead when outside
  • Note: Guests are required to supply their own logs
  • Note: There is an additional double sofa bed and two single futons at this property for four extra guests
  • Note: Good Housekeeping bond payable for all new booking from 05th December
  • Note: Please note that due to current government restrictions, all rooms advertised may not be available

The property

Bethesda 2 miles.

This beautifully-renovated, chapel house is situated in the Ogwen Valley, close to the village of Bethesda in North Wales.

Located in Snowdonia National Park, a mile from ZipWorld, Ty Capel Saron is perfect for adrenaline junkies, hikers and outdoors enthusiasts.

The property is only half an hour drive from Surf Snowdonia which is a world-first inland surf lagoon .

This wonderful holiday home is set back from the main road leading into Bethesda, with four parking spaces and a large garden framed by mesmerising mountainous views.

There are four bedrooms upstairs including a bright, spacious master room with a double bed and decked balcony overlooking the garden.

The other three bedrooms are made up of two cosy double rooms and one with twin beds, along with a bathroom with an elegant double-ended claw foot bath.

There is also a shower room on the ground floor and additional sleeping arrangements for extra guests are offered with two single futons and a double sofa bed.

The living area is a fabulous, bright space with oak floors, underfloor heating, exposed beams, high ceilings and patio doors opening onto a slate patio.

The sitting area has comfy seating for nine and a woodburning stove, perfect for staying warm and cosy in the cooler months.

There is a large oak dining table with bench seating and a bespoke, hand-crafted oak kitchen with a large electric range set in an original stone fireplace.

The snug is a wonderful, peaceful room with a decorative woodburner and comfy seating for four, where you can curl up with a new book and enjoy some ‘me’ time.

You can enjoy the sunshine in the garden at two outdoor seating areas, one on the slate patio and one at the back of the lawn.

Ogwen Lake is just over two miles away, the sensational ZipWorld attraction is just a mile from here and the popular town of Betws-y-Coed can be reached in 15 miles.

The house is situated in the center of the Nant Francon valley and Llanberis Pass is just 15 minutes away, both valleys being internationally renowned areas for sport and traditional climbers, as well as perfect for winter/ice climbing.

From the cliffs of the Llyn Peninsula coastline to the height of Eryri (the Welsh word for Snowdonia) the variety of climbing opportunities in the Snowdonia Mountains and Coast region is immense.

Both mountains and coast offer all kinds of climbing opportunities for both beginner and enthusiast.

A truly wonderful holiday destination, in the stunning Ogwen Valley.

View on map

About the location


Bangor 6 miles; Caernarfon 10 miles.

Bethesda is a small town settled beside the River Ogwen in North Wales. Situated on the A5 between Bangor and the Snowdonia National Park, Bethesda was once a busy slate quarrying town and nowadays offers a good selection of shops and other amenities, in particular a number of chapels and pubs. The beautiful mountainous scenery of Snowdonia borders Bethesda, with the Lôn Las Ogwen cycling and walking paths skirting past. For the more adventurous, why not visit Zip World in Bethesda which is known for having Europe’s fastest and longest zip line. Capel Curig, just ten miles away, is a popular centre for walking, climbing and mountain biking, whilst Llanberis is situated at the foot of Mount Snowdon and is home to the Snowdon Mountain Railway and the National Slate Museum. Cwm Idwal is also a wonderful spot to visit, situated in northern Snowdonia – Darwin came to study the area and found tiny fossils of oceanic plant life and sea creatures in the boulders and rocks. The coastal town of Caernarfon is just a short drive away as is the beautiful Isle of Anglesey and the Anglesey Coastal Path. Visitors to the area can also explore the castles of Caernarfon and Beaumaris and the NT stately homes of Penrhyn Castle and Plas Newydd Country House and Gardens. Spend the day at one of the many traditional seaside resorts, or discover the isolated, hidden beaches on Anglesey, much of which is a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. With spectacular scenery on the doorstep, wonderful wildlife with buzzards soaring overhead and the occasional Peregrine Falcon to be seen, and many exciting outdoor adventures to discover nearby, Bethesda is superbly located for enjoying both the coast and the countryside of stunning North Wales.

Region Information

No stag or hen parties.
Note: Please note that due to current government restrictions, all rooms advertised may not be available.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas