Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 20 View Image Gallery
  • Awe View Railway Cottage - Scottish Highlands - 943993 - photo 1
  • Awe View Railway Cottage - (Ref. 943993)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.





Awe View Railway Cottage

(Ref. 943993)

Lochawe, Argyll & The Isles Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (43)
  • great (24)
  • lovely (24)
  • well (21)
  • clean (16)
  • road (14)

60 Customer Reviews

  • "A cosy cottage just off the road to Oban."

    Despite the proximity to the road and the railway line the setting is surprisingly quiet. The surrounding woodland has a variety of birds with chaffinches, woodpeckers and nuthatches regularly flitting back and forth between the deck and the trees. The cottage is small but fine for a family of four and though we didn't do a lot of cooking we found the kitchen had everything we needed and more. The wifi was adequate and as described but the freeview box worked fine. We had a lovely time here and would happily rebook if we decided to visit this part of Scotland again.

    Reviewed by Marilyn4.4May 2024

  • "We encountered a specific problem which we reported on the morning after our arrival which was finally resolved half way through our stay."

    The owners and housekeeping staff knew about this prior to our arrival. Whilst the remote location of the property could be seen as a mitigating factor in the protracted delay in resolving this matter nothing could justify the rude and indifferent attitude of the maintenance worker whose manner on the phone was inexcusable as the owner acknowledged.

    Reviewed by Jane2.5May 2024

  • "Extremely well equipped & comfortable cottage."

    Clear instructions for everything. Beautiful area.

    Reviewed by Joanna5.0Apr 2024

  • "Such a surprise!"

    We were expecting a certain standard but being between a busy road and the railway line we were of course a little concerned before we arrived. However, what greeted us was a delightfully cosy cottage tucked away above the road and surrounded by garden that could be closed off if you had dogs. The cottage itself was so welcoming and the treats left by the owners were such a lovely touch and gratefully received. The kitchen whilst small was very well designed and had everything you could need. The rest of the cottage was quite spacious and very homely and welcoming. We didn't use the log burner as there was no need as the central heating worked brilliantly. The bedrooms were spacious, comfortable and well designed and dressed. The bathroom was a surprise as I didn't expect a full sized bathroom in this property and the design feature of the deep skylight was fantastic. We had read some grumblings on the reviewed about the WiFi but we were on holiday and didn't need it. We had data on our devices and full 5G reception which was a bonus. We managed to watch pre downloaded films etc so it wasn't an issue at all. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if there was anything at all that I would want to change in the future, it could be the addition of secondary glazing for noise reduction. That is only a personal option and it disintegrating impact at all on our stay. This was a new area of Scotland for us to stay and we were so pleased we did. The cottage had all we needed and every detail and eventuality had been thought of. It was terrific! Thank you so much and we can't wait to return.

    Reviewed by Lee5.0Mar 2024

  • "The property exceeded all expectations."

    Everything that you needed was there, even down to paracetamol, batteries and spare ligh bulbs and everything you need to live comfortably for your stay. It was like a home from home and we were very happy with our stay. We read reviews about power cuts and poor WiFi. The power stayed on for the duration of our stay but the WiFi was dreadful and may as well not be there, our signal was also bad. This wasn't a problem for us as we had board games and the TV worked perfectly but it did stop us planning things whilst there or using the Internet to explore places we would like to visit etc. Still a 5 star stay for us. Great location, warm, cozy and comfortable. I would highly recommend this property

    Reviewed by Ben5.0Feb 2024

  • "Had an amazing time , lovely cozy cottage , and treats were very well received:) ..."

    Had an amazing time , lovely cozy cottage , and treats were very well received:) I’m sure we will be back , the doggies enjoyed also and the lovely walks :)

    Reviewed by Jacqueline4.7Dec 2023

  • "Property was comfy and well equipped, however the smell of bleach cleaning products on entering the property was overpowering and very unpleasant…can’t imagine how my dogs noses found it!"

    Bed was comfortable but the bedding itself was pretty old and not very good quality. I had been warned that the internet was poor but it struggled to connect to even one device. Also, I couldn’t let my dogs out in the ‘garden’ without being on a lead. I know that it was wide spread and no one’s fault, but I was without power on the 27th, 7.30am - 9.50pm….fortunately there was a gas cooker and wood burner stove, just had to bring lots in to dry off on the hearth. Sorry if this seems negative, just trying to be helpful…. had a self catering property for 14 years.

    Reviewed by Sheila3.4Dec 2023

  • "The road for me was noisy, as I live in a very quiet village."

    The garden is not dog or child secure. Very ,clean, well appointed, plenty hot water, warm, welcome package. Allowed both my pets. Parking off road but limited turning circle. In winter it could be probmatic with ice, onto main A85, as it is steep. Plenty of bird Life if you fill bird feeders, others ad seen Pine Martin and Red Squirrels.

    Thanks for your feedback! Just to clarify, we don't say in our cottage listing that the garden is dog or child-friendly. We're on the side of a mountain. There is no way to completely fence in a safe area for either animals or children- trust me, we tried. Also, for any potential guests reading this review, we have had to take down the bird feeders. While much-loved, the birdseed was starting to attract small, unwelcome guests (with which we have dealt). Thanks again, Julie Campbell Property Owner

    Reviewed by Virginia4.7Oct 2023

  • "Enjoyable 4 day stay in an area we love."

    Power cut on the Thursday which thankfully was back on as we arrived. Another power cut on the Friday but we were out and within 15 minutes of getting back it was back on (no fault of the owner as these things happen) WiFi was a huge letdown as couldn’t send anything to our son in Michigan. It was literally non existent. I do a lot of cooking at home so when away I love a break from it. Only thing we like to sort is breakfast before we go out. Unfortunately previous occupants obviously have frying pans on too high a heat which ruins pans therefore we had well stuck eggs etc. Lovey gift which was very appreciated. All in all we would not hesitate staying again.

    Reviewed by Linda4.1Oct 2023

  • "Had a very comfortable stay."

    Was impressed by the generosity of the ‘extras’ in what was already a well equipped house.

    Reviewed by Sally4.7Oct 2023

  • "Lovely cottage once we got there bit disappointed that when i emailed the owner nothing came back no reply , bit out the way tbh you need to drive train only goes to a few places but doesn’t always stop on the way back."

    no local pubs in walking distance, cottage very homely lots of extra on problem fire doesn’t have a fan on top so you don’t get much heat from it

    Reviewed by Karen3.1Oct 2023

  • "It was nice property but what would be useful is a picture of the drive to help to find the cottage ."

    The blue bins at the bottom of the slope helped to let you know where to turn

    Thank you for your feedback! I am a bit confused, as I described the drive entrance, and the approach to it, in your "Welcome" email. I also attached 2 pictures to the email. The first one was a picture of the drive entrance, with the blue bins. I apologize if that wasn't sufficient. I would be happy to hear what else might be helpful. Thanks again, Julie Campbell Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maria4.7Sep 2023

  • "A genuinely beautiful little cottage with amazing views and close to beaches, towns and places of interest."

    Clean and tidy with great appliances and the treats on arrival were wonderful. A nice peaceful and well needed spot to relax.

    Reviewed by Judy4.4Jul 2023

  • "This is a nice little house."

    The kitchen is extremely well equipped including basic herbs and spices which was great. The living room furniture is comfortable but we didn’t find the beds particularly comfy. The interior is very well kept but not the garden and outdoor furniture. The gate to the property is held closed with a stone. A little bit of tlc is needed to bring it to the standard of the interior. The WiFi is pretty much non existent. I could only access email occasionally and it took 20 minutes to load one photo to FB. It was a great place to be though apart from this. We can really recommend the Ben Bruachan. The food is very good and they have an excellent range of whisky’s. I recommend the Edradour 10. There is a fantastic dog friendly beach at Ganavan just outside Oban. Beautiful sand and gentle slope into the sea so very safe for children.

    Reviewed by Kate4.1Jun 2023

  • "Great location with fantastic views and all the amenities you need for any length of stay."

    The only downside is that the WiFi is pretty much non existent. If your mobile operator is EE or Vodafone you will have enough signal to make calls and simple browsing.

    Reviewed by Neal4.1Apr 2023

  • "A splendid week in a lovely little cottage."

    We arrived by train which made the property very easy to find. We thoroughly enjoyed the little garden and the local wildlife. The cottage has everything one needs for a relaxing stay, and local bus services link to Oban, Inverary and local villages, so you don't need to bring a car !

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Sep 2022

  • "Railway cottage is a little gem tucked away on the side of Loch Awe."

    The cottage is well appointed, very comfortable and clean. A little difficult to find and careful approach is required to the access off of what is sometimes a fast busy main road but once your’ve mastered this it,s the perfect hideaway to return too after a days sightseeing.

    Reviewed by Barry4.7Sep 2022

  • "The cottage is well equipped and especially the outside rear deck is a great place."

    Interior is very nice and stylish but also cosy. Only the table and space for dining is a bit small for four. The biggest disadvantages are the slow internet connection (we never had so small bandwidth in any holiday cottage) and the surrounding. There is literally no safe way to easily walk the dogs starting at the cottage.

    Reviewed by Jens4.4Aug 2022

  • "Owner sent much better directions to the cottage."

    Very welcoming. The cottage is within walking distance of the Cruachan Visitor Centre (has a nice cafe) and the train station which is also the start of the ascent to the Munros. It is difficult to access anything else on foot. Good walks in the area, Glen Orchy and Dalmally to name two, beaches, kirks and castles within reach.

    Reviewed by Boyd4.7Aug 2022

  • "I was very disappointed with our accommodation."

    It was overpriced for what it was. Small property and semi-detached. We couldn’t use the front area as it was unkept and had mice running around. The advertised Wi-Fi didn’t work and when it did, which was rare, it measured 0.13 MB on a Speedtest! We had to turn it off/on several times as suggested by the Owner, but it made no difference. I think we had x 1 full toilet roll too! The dining table was small with 2 chairs, not practical for my family of 3. It was uncomfortable. To charge over a £1000/week for this property was totally unrealistic. The Owners live in America and they seem to be too detached and unaware of the property and it’s management. We had a disappointing experience. I won’t book again and ‘require compensation’ based on the above and unrealistic assessment of the price of the property. It wasn’t great. Thomas Adams

    Reviewed by Thomas2.8Jul 2022

  • "Shakey start arriving at the property to find the previous guests dirty, wet linen still in the bath and the cottage unclean, called the number given and went straight to voicemail, however after leaving a message and a short wait for a call back, the cleaners called and within an hour and a half the cottage was sparkly clean and ready for us."

    Disappointed that the outdoor space is so overgrown and wild as it could be really pleasant to sit out and enjoy the stunning views, if you could see the view through the undergrowth. A steady abundance of wild birds attend the feeders outside the window with the occasional visit from a pine Martin however with the readily available bird food the mice are also attracted and being right outside the front door we didn’t feel it was wise to leave the door open letting the air in. Also the outdoor furniture needs to be covered as with so many birds on the go it needed scrubbing every time someone wanted to use it, however being a little squeamish about mice, sitting outside to eat didn’t really appeal to us anyway. The interior itself was well appointed with everything we needed and well maintained. It is worth noting it is by a busy road and it’s the railway close by so there is traffic noise. The Cruachan visitor centre with cafe directly opposite is lovely and the staff very friendly, also if you walk across you get a green discount from the your price.

    Reviewed by Mandy3.8Jul 2022

  • "A great location."

    Good place for walkers fishing and getting around.the bird feeders outside give you plenty of amusement...and if your lucky like we were your get visited by the pine marten he likes a bit of ham..would definitely go back..only downside tv and internet reception..but then again your not bothered by parking off the road is a bonus

    Reviewed by Peter4.4May 2022

  • "Exceptionally well kitted out kitchen, we wanted for nothing for the odd bit of cooking we did."

    Very comfortable and peaceful. Although you are only a few yards from the main road the noise is not constant, in fact when traffic ceases, which is quite often, the silence is deafening. The wild birds coming to the bird feeder kept us entertained for hours, boy could they eat. We bought a bag of mixed seed, which they devoured in 3 days. Directions from Sykes could do with updating and be more specific. The e mail from the owner, with photographs, was a real help. The landline telephone number we were given for the agent, is wrong. It should start 018, not 081. A note book for guests to recommend places to eat would be a great help, especially as the broadband was so slow and it took ages for pages to load. All in all a lovely experience.

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Apr 2022

  • "A wonderful place to stay and a delightful welcoming."

    Highly recommended. The Internet was virtually none existent even with several resets, other than that we couldn't find fault and had a happy and memorable stay.

    Reviewed by Carl5.0Mar 2022

  • "This was our 2nd visit."

    The cottage is clean and well equipped. It's a lovely place for a relaxing break.

    Reviewed by Susanne5.0Feb 2022

  • "A fabulous cottage, so so clean, everything you needed, just brilliant, will return"

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Oct 2021

  • "We found certain aspects in the description of location of the cottage were rather misleading and the photos of the outside of the property were obviously not up to date."

    We had other issues including the WiFi which have since been resolved by means of a refund.

    Reviewed by Jenny4.1Aug 2021

  • "Nice cottage, really enjoyed our stay, as always it was over too quickly."

    The only downside is the busy road, can be dodgy getting out of the driveway, great care must be taken as traffic is moving pretty fast at that point

    Reviewed by Jim5.0Jul 2021

  • "Lovely cottage in a great location."

    We spent the entire stay touring the local area. Cleanest cottage we have ever been to, it was immaculate and had high quality fixtures and fittings. The road can be noisy through the day but not a worry overnight.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0May 2021

  • "The cottage exceed our expectations, such a lovely cottage and part of the world had a great time."

    Would love to return at some point. Only negative was road noise which did spoil the tranquility

    Reviewed by Robert5.0May 2021

  • "This beautiful little cottage was impeccable and like home from home."

    It was very clean and well equipped with a welcome pack of treats provided. The beds are very firm with quality mattresses. The location is ideal for visiting this part of Scotland

    Reviewed by Gloria5.0May 2021

  • "Wonderful Cottage spotlessly clean had a great week."

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2020

  • "We had a lovely time here."

    The cottage was very clean and well-equipped and the owners sent an informative email in advance showing us exactly how to find the cottage as we might have driven straight past because the road is quite fast-moving at that point. There was a pleasant inn and a small shop (which had information about fishing as well as basic provisions) in the village and a small supermarket and petrol station a few minutes’ drive away in the other direction. Unfortunately, quite a few things were closed because of the virus and we had really been looking forward to seeing the amazing hydroelectric power station inside Ben Cruachan mountain but, hopefully, we can return to visit that another time. The area is beautiful and the cottage provided a great base for exploring it.

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Sep 2020

  • "Beautiful little house!"

    had a great time and the little welcome package was lovely! in terms of Covid the house was spotless throughout there was alcohol gel provided at the front door and all the cleaning supplies you would need whilst there!

    Reviewed by Holly4.7Sep 2020

  • "Lovely Cottage."

    Lovely Location.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Aug 2020

  • "Very clean and well maintained cottage."

    Good location and was a great holiday

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Aug 2020

  • "Lovely well equipped cottage in a beautiful part of the West Highlands."

    We were especially taken by the use of Falls of Cruachan station next door which seemed like our own private halt! Trains didn't disturb but some of the traffic noise can be heard with the bedroom door open. We will return as soon as we can to explore more of the islands from Oban port

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Aug 2020

  • "Great place to stay for a holiday."

    Seating areas where great on the nights

    Reviewed by Steven5.0Jul 2020

  • "Lovely cottage, spotlessly clean."

    All equipment provided. Welcome treats provided for humans and dogs! Great as a base for exploring. If you take a dog you will have to go in the car to walk as the road is far too busy and fast (I suppose that goes for humans too).

    Reviewed by Christine4.4Jul 2020

  • "It was brilliant like home from home 5star"

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2020

  • "It was a lovely holiday and - what with the weather being awful - it was just great to have a comfy, cosy space to return to after our hiking adventures."

    A great little cottage! The little welcome basket (filled with both human and dog treats) was a really nice addition.

    Reviewed by Nathan5.0Dec 2019

  • "We loved the Railway cottage it was so homely, beautiful weather but cold gave us a chance to enjoy the wood burner, plenty logs, ideal base to visit Oban and Argyll ."

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Nov 2019

  • "A lovely little cottage in a perfect location for exploring the local area."

    It was lovely and cosy with a log burner. A DVD player, TV and board games were provided.Wi-fi didn’t work at all but we had 4g so weren’t too worried. Our welcome pack was long life milk, dog biscuits, Prosecco and shortbread which was great to have on arrival. There is a train track than runs directly behind the cottage and can give some noise but we didn’t find it a problem. Overall a really pleasant cottage

    Reviewed by Kateland4.7Oct 2019

  • "Great cottage, spotlessly clean and very comfortable."

    Wifi was poor but this was flagged up before our visit. Good location for walking and it was very useful to have somewhere secure to keep our bikes. Would be useful to have been provided with information about local recycling arrangements.

    Reviewed by Valerie4.7Oct 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage in a lovely area not far from lots of places to visit, many of them were free to visit."

    The only downside to the holiday was the internet connection.

    Reviewed by Diana4.7Aug 2019

  • "Really beautiful little cottage."

    Great location 17 mile from Oban and 2 miles from lock awe. Great views from the little patio outside. The only thing is the internet I would remove it as it is very intermittent. Owners paying for something they are not getting. Booked again for next year and looking forward to a week in this beautiful location.

    Reviewed by Stewart5.0Aug 2019

  • "Very clean and well-equipped cottage."

    Lots of effort made to make this cottage more homely for guests. Thank you for the provision of the welcome pack which was very much appreciated. Plenty to do within short driving distance. The proximity of the main road enabled easy access to local tourist attractions.

    Reviewed by Tracey4.4Jul 2019

  • "Lovely welcome, best dog friendly place we've stayed in everything and extra provided for our pet."

    spotlessly clean, very comfortable and will definitely return in the future

    Reviewed by Ann5.0Jul 2019

  • "Lovely cosy cottage, spotlessly clean on arrival, comfortable home furnishings and equipped with everything you may need."

    We were even treated to wine, fresh bread and shortbread biscuits on arrival, plus treats for the dog! Really happy we stayed here and would certainly return.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jun 2019

  • "This is a fab, cosy cottage with everything you need for a relaxing holiday."

    The little extras like fresh flowers and wine for us and doggy treats for our lab were a really nice touch and very much appreciated.

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0May 2019

  • "This was a lovely cottage with lots of handy additions to make the stay more enjoyable."

    My children and I had a fantastic week!!

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0May 2019

  • "Wonderfully equipped kitchen."

    It’s so important to me that a self catering cottage has good cooking equipment for rustling up meals and the equipment provided was top notch. Also great areas for dining out. A real treat.

    Reviewed by Jeanette4.7May 2019

  • "A gorgeous cottage with lots of little extras."

    Beautiful surroundings and an amazing view.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Feb 2019

  • "The cottage was exceptional in every way ."

    However we where provided with the combination to a key box which was incorrect . thankfully for us the cleaner was still there and shorted the problem out for us , otherwise with zero phone signal and no mobile internet in the area we could of had a major issue after a 7 hour drive.

    Reviewed by S E5.0Feb 2019

  • "The cottage is excellent, the surrounding area scenic and beautiful."

    However, the cottage is situated right by a very busy main road and there was the constant rush of speeding traffic. It was unfortunately not restful.

    Reviewed by Anne4.1Dec 2018

  • "Very well equipped house all finished to an extremely high standard."

    Good communication from both sykes and owner. Great location. Highly recommended

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Oct 2018

  • "Lovely cottage, comfortable, clean and lot’s of thoughtful gestures"

    Reviewed by Gordon5.0Oct 2018

  • "We loved the cottage, the decor was contemporary but done in such a way as to enhance the experience of being in a highland cottage."

    The rooms were light and spacious with lovely big windows. The bathroom was bright with the added feature of a window in the ceiling, lovely to see the clouds rolling by. The lounge was comfy with a lovely log burning stove. Whilst on holiday there was a terrible storm with gale force winds and torrential rain, it was during this storm that the cottage came into its own , making us feel safe and cocooned with its thick solid walls. To finish, we loved this cottage and the area it was in, and would love a return visit. Many thanks to Julie and Darren

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Sep 2018

  • "Such a lovely cottage in a great location and well equipped."

    The owners left us a lovely selection of gifts for everyone, including the dog! We will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Aug 2018

  • "The Lochawe Railway Cottage was a delightful home from home."

    Arrival was easy and the communication was brilliant. Highly recommendable Service and accommodation.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Aug 2018

Show more Hide all


  • All ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double, 1 x double
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • External utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove and dining area
  • LPG central heating
  • Gas oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freesat, DVD, Wi-Fi (streaming not guaranteed), landline phone for local calls only, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available on request
  • Off-road parking for two cars
  • Lockable bike storage
  • Decked area at front and rear with grill and furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking but there is a outside smoking area available
  • Shop and pub 3 miles
  • Note: Mobile phone reception can be variable at this property, mobile over Wi-Fi is best, and a landline is available for local calls
  • Note: There can be some road noise when at the front of this property
  • Note: The Oban railway line runs near to this property and guests can expect the occasional train (100 yards)

The property

This delightful stone railway cottage, built in 1883, boasts an elevated position at the base of Ben Cruachan overlooking stunning Loch Awe, near the Pass of Brander, 3 miles from the village of Lochawe.

The property has been fully refurbished and is presented to a high standard, making it ideal for couples, families or friends seeking to explore this truly beautiful part of Scotland.

You enter the cottage from the rear and straight into a fitted kitchen, where you can prepare your own meals.

It has been thoughtfully refurbished and equipped, optimising the available space.

A separate building in the rear garden houses a washing machine, tumble dryer, freezer and is also an excellent space for storing bikes.

You pass through from the kitchen into the comfortable sitting room, beautifully decorated and furnished with an elegant leather sofa and arm chairs.

There is a cosy wood-burning stove and Freesat TV with an inbuilt DVD player.

A dining table looks out the front window across the decking and with views on the mountains beyond.

There are two bedrooms at this charming cottage.

The one at the front is a king-size double, and at the rear of the property is a smaller three quarter-size double.

The bathroom has both a bath to relax in after a day in the hills or exploring the countryside, and an invigorating shower to get you ready for the day.

This property has two decked areas, a raised one in the rear garden and also one at the front of the cottage where, beyond the fence, the hill slopes down towards the road.

The views across to Loch Awe and the mountains beyond are simply stunning.

A short walk down the private track is the Ben Cruachan Power Station and the Cruachan Visitor Centre.

This marvel of engineering produces hydro electricity from inside the mountain and, as well as a nice café, you can take the tour inside the mountain itself.

Three miles along the loch side are a small shop and a resaurant/bar at Lochawe village with further amenities at Taynuilt, just five miles away.

This part of Scotland is famous for its scenery and there are many superb walks and cycling opportunities to be enjoyed.

There is a railway request stop (Falls of Cruachan Sta.) on the railway just yards from the rear of the cottage, so you can explore the bustling coastal town of Oban, the seafood capital of Scotland, and leave the car at home.

The steps up to the FOC Station include an entrance to one of the paths up Ben Cruachan.

Another walk begins near Ben Cruachan Inn in Lochawe, and goes by way of Cruachan Dam.

Stop at the inn for a pint after your climb!

Nearby St. Conan's Kirk is a popular attraction.

Within a short drive is the superb Argyll coast as well as spectacular and menacing Glencoe.

Take a ferry to Mull and Iona, or any of the Inner Hebrides or spend the day fishing on Loch Awe.

Inveraray Castle is 19 miles to the south; and the town boasts some great pubs and restaurants, Samphire included.

A charming and well equipped cottage in a beautiful part of Scotland.

EPC Rating: Band G

EPC Rating: Band E

View on map

About the location


Inveraray 16.1 miles; Oban 21.2 miles; Glencoe 45 miles; Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park 55.7 miles

The village of Lochawe lies on the fringes of the spectacular Loch Awe with its wild, dramatic hillside and beautiful scenic landscapes. In addition to the Scottish baronial-style St Conan’s Chapel built in 1883, it has a railway station and steamer pier bordered by picturesque countryside. Discover the marvellous Kilchurn Castle, an ancient ruined structure on a rocky peninsula at the north-eastern end of Loch Awe and one of the most photographed castles in Scotland. To the west of the town lies Cruchan Hydro Power Station hidden deep within the mountain of Ben Cruachan, amongst some of Scotland's most beautiful scenery. Here you can take a guided tour and stop off in the cafe, a great place for a light bite to eat or a refreshing beverage, boasting spectacular views in a light, modern setting. There are many walking and cycling opportunities in the area, if you're feeling adventurous and particularly energetic, why not climb Ben Cruachan? It is a 1126m mountain that is the highest point in Argyll and Bute, offering simply breath-taking views from the top on a clear day. A bit further out, Ben Lui is the nearest mountain (20.4 miles away) at the north-western edge of the Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park, and if you want to make a trip to The Trossachs on the other side of the park, you'll have a breath-taking drive around the north-eastern edge via Bridge o' Turk and past the tips of Lochs Tay and Earn, and Ben Vorlich. How could you miss an opportunity to explore this stunning and tranquil area of Scotland?

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas