Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Scottish Highlands 43 minutes ago

Black Friday

On Winter & Spring holidays over £600.
Offer ends Monday 29th Nov , 23:59 (GMT).
 Full terms apply.

See terms & voucher code

Group 3 Created with Sketch.

6 people have recently viewed this property

Dundonald Landing

Benderloch near Oban, Argyll & The Isles (Ref. 14678)


Sykes rating


  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

30 Customer Reviews

  • "Stunning location."

    Important facilities to us are kitchen and bathroom and within this property these were particularly disappointing. Electric hob was rusty (which wasn’t especially appealing!) whilst the bathroom/toilet was especially cramped. The sitting room space was fine and it is a lovely outlook beside the Loch.

    Reviewed by JohnSep 2021

  • "A truly spectacular peaceful beautiful and atmospheric spot , just the place for some time out"

    Reviewed by IanSep 2021

  • "The property was very dated, we left after the first night because the bed was so small and uncomfortable."

    The decor and alliances were definitely pass their best. When we told the owner why we leaving he said I’ve had that mattress for 20 years without any complaints

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay. When you were leaving, we spoke to you and only found out then the reason for your early departure. We did not say that we have had the mattress for 20 years, as it was renewed in 2017 and we have only been running the property for 8/9 years. We offered you another mattress but you refused and said you had already booked in to a hotel. The bed you refer to is a standard 4'6" wide double bed and some guests have said it was the most comfortable bed they've ever slept in. Indeed, we have guests due soon who are returning for their 4th visit. The microwave was installed a month ago and the TV and couches are new this season so we do not believe they are past their best. A new fridge is also being installed this week and everything is in good working order. We are sorry things were not to your liking and are always happy to accept constructive criticism. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your weekend. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LouiseAug 2021

  • "We had a lovely 5 nights at Dundonald Landing."

    It's situated quite close to a road used by quarry lorries so can be a bit noisy on work days. But if your out and about like we were it wasn't an issue. Depending on what time of year you book, you might want to take an extra blanket as the heater struggles a bit on cold nights. Overall, we had a lovely time. It was good as a base camp while we went out walking most days.

    Reviewed by LisaMay 2021

  • "Brill location ideal for our border collie who loves water."

    We loved the accommodation & the owners were lovely. Will be back.

    Reviewed by PaulOct 2020

  • "The place is a little hidden away gem ."

    Loved it . Probably because i was on my own . Did what a want when i want if i want .. Ha Ha . Fantastic . Will be booking again in the not too distant future ..

    Reviewed by PaulOct 2020

  • "What an amazing place - even the pictures don't do it enough justice."

    You can feel the stress slipping away as soon as you get there. The property is a perfect size for 2 people, clean, cozy and comfy. The views are breath taking - with lots of boat trips available to the Isles. Oban is beautiful. Can't articulate how impressed we were with this break. The owners are lovely - we will definitely be back :-).

    Reviewed by JacquiSep 2020

  • "The chalet was in a great position and was good for a relaxing break."

    The landlord was lovely and offered us the use of the cabin all day Sunday as no one else was going in that day. However the things I was not happy with were: 1. The chalet needed a deep clean. The dust on top of the plugs by the tv was horrendous - didn't look like they had ever had a clean. Not sure who is responsible for housekeeping but they are not doing there job properly. 2. The bed was like sleeping on bricks it was rock hard. We took an extra quilt I would not like to think how hard it would have been had we not had that. 3. The reference to fishing needs to be removed as this is not suitable for anyone looking for a fishing break. I booked this after reading that you could fish from the jetty which was not the case even at high tide as it is shallow water.

    Reviewed by SusanMar 2020

  • "The property is in a wonderful location right on the shore of Loch Etive."

    We were lucky and the sun shone every day allowing us to eat a barbecued dinner on the deck, observe the loch's wildlife and enjoy glorious sunsets. The accommodation is exactly as described, not 5 star but quite adequate, anything more grand would have intruded into the ambience of the beautiful setting. A great place to get away from it all.

    Reviewed by MarkMay 2019

  • "Isn't as secluded as what it makes out, road can b quiet noisy at times, could have done with an extra quilt on the bed as it was a bit cold."

    Reviewed by JoanneFeb 2019

  • "The most amazing experience ."

    Geoffrey was a wealth of knowledge , the whole setting is just so special . Lasting memory will be drinking wine on the decking looking in awe at the unbelievable view over the Loch , truly breathtaking.

    Reviewed by NeilNov 2018

  • "Just came back from Dundonald Landing, the time spent there was great, best holiday i have had in a long time, there were many attractions around the area, Ganavan sands and a boat ride to seal island from Oban being favourites."

    the venue was just as we expected, small clean and well equipped, perfect! The owners lived behind and were very polite in introducing themselves, saying they were in the house behind if we needed anything. Definitely going back.

    Reviewed by PaulineAug 2018

  • "The place had not been cleaned properly, cobwebs and dead flies around windows, bedding clean but very old."

    It was very difficult to get TV to work obviously no instructions. Mop bucket left at front outside. The woodwork outside could certainly do with treatment. The location was fabulous, but certainly can say that it needs a bit more care & upkeep.

    Reviewed by AjJun 2018

  • "The bed was far too small for 2 people, I had to sleep on a 2 seater sofa."

    The shower was too small and water went every where when having a shower. the best thing was the view.

    Reviewed by JohnJun 2018

  • "My husband put his back out and the owners were very helpful."

    Facilities were perfect. One of the comfiest beds ive slept in for a long time. Wakening up to that gorgeous view every morning. Thankyou both .Meg n Jim Muir. 31st march 2018.xx

    Reviewed by JamesMar 2018

  • "Lovely location ideal for couple and pet with enclosed garden."

    Very good for base. Lovely walks in Forestry Commusion areas, great views.

    Reviewed by LindaSep 2017

  • "The cabin was brill nice scenery, peaceful,saw a baby seal rabbits,swans,other wildlife."

    Just right for a base and to go to other places which was our intention.

    Reviewed by PaulAug 2017

  • "Amazing location."

    Accommodation is very small but that was obvious from brochure so not a surprise but felt a bit more like glamping than a holiday cottage rental. Would have felt v claustrophobic if weather hadn't been as good as it was which enabled us to pretty much live on the deck area. We took a couple of kayaks with us but with such a great location right on the loch shore, providing a couple of canoes/kayaks or a small tender for use of guests would be a great additional amenity for which I would gladly have paid extra to avoid hassle of taking our own.

    Reviewed by ChrisAug 2016

  • "The view from the property was stunning all week - we did have amazing weather."

    We loved watching the bird life pass by. Having our own private pontoon for sitting on, and launching the kayak too was an added bonus.The Pink Shop and Cafe both in Benderloch were great and we cycled, or walked, or drove there.Great Break.

    Reviewed by LesleyMay 2016

  • "The setting and overall look was perfect."

    It was a beautiful and relaxing place to stay.

    Reviewed by SarahFeb 2016

  • "Beautiful setting!"

    Cabin was very cosy and although not isolated it gave you the feeling of remoteness which was perfect. The owners were very nice and hospitable. The location is a good base for exploring nearby areas, as well as peace and quiet, really loved it.

    Reviewed by SharonDec 2015

  • "The view from Dundonald was absolutely stunning."

    It was a real hideaway holiday which was peaceful and relaxing.

    Reviewed by AnthonyAug 2015

  • "We particularly liked the overall setting, the chalet, the exclusivity and the general feeling of being away from it all!"

    The chalet is positioned very well at the Loch side and the views are magnificent. As it is the only chalet, one has the feel of being very much alone and undisturbed. This added to the overall feel good factor.

    Reviewed by MarieMay 2015

  • "We loved the location, so private and peaceful, beautiful views from the property."

    It was also great because it was about 10 mins from Oban, we would love to go back.

    Reviewed by ShirleySep 2014

  • "The lodge is perfectly compact and has everything you need."

    Views amazing and location ideal. We had an amazing time and will be going back.

    Reviewed by KerryJul 2013

  • "We went for a very active week of kayaking, cycling and walking."

    The chalet was perfect for this as access to the water was great, with good tracks and scenic walks within easy distances.

    Reviewed by HeatherMay 2013

  • "The location was excellent with beautiful views."

    Very peaceful and relaxing. Easy access to all the surrounding area.

    Reviewed by Stephen & VandaMar 2013

  • "Location was fantastic, quiet and peaceful."

    Great base to see the surrounding area. Pretty good value for money.

    Reviewed by ScottSep 2012

  • "It had a spectacular view, the location made our holiday special."

    Reviewed by IsabelaAug 2012

  • "The surrounding area was very quiet and peaceful."

    It was really nice and we were able to sit at the end of the Jetty and just relax as there was no one around. The owners were very pleasant and happy to help. Oban is one of the nicest places we have visited and the locals were lovely.

    Reviewed by RachaelJun 2012

Show more

The property

Benderloch 2.5 miles.

A delightful detached wooden chalet, in a secluded location on the banks of Loch Etive, near the village of Benderloch on Scotland's dramatic west coast.

All ground floor and with spectacular open views over the loch, this cottage near Benderloch is ideal for those seeking the tranquillity of a lochside retreat.

The accommodation in your Scotland cottage is open plan, featuring a double bed, a fitted kitchen and a shower room.

There is a separate sitting area to the front of the property, with doors opening outside to a decked area with furniture.

A private jetty opening onto Loch Etive is available for your use - ideal to fish from and to keep your boat in the water while you enjoy your Scotland cottage, plus there is a local Marina available to launch and recover.

Imagine relaxing next to the loch on a fine summer's evening with a glass of wine, after a day spent exploring the wonderfully scenic area around your Scotland cottage.

As well as superb fishing, this area to the north of Oban offers excellent walking and cycling.

The village of Benderloch has a general store as well as a bar and a couple of restaurants, while Oban is only 7 miles to the south of your holiday home, boasting a whole host of amenities including the Oban Distillery.

If you're looking for something a bit different on the beautiful west coast of Scotland, this charming holiday retreat is one you'll want to return to, time and again.


  • All ground floor
  • Open plan studio accommodation with double bed, fitted kitchen and sitting/dining area
  • Separate sitting room
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Front doors open onto lawned area and private jetty.
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, TV with Freeview and DVD, selection of books
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Private off road parking area for 2 cars
  • Lockable external storage
  • Decked area to front with furniture
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2.5 miles
  • Note: Property accessed via seven external steps with substantial handrails on each side
  • Note: This property opens out onto a sea loch, young children/pets must be supervised

View on map

About the location


Oban 7 miles.

The village of Benderloch lies on the north side of Loch Etive in the West Highlands of Scotland, and forms part of the Lynn of Lorn National Scenic Area. Next to the coast and surrounded by spectacular scenery and views, Benderloch is served by a general store and two restaurants, a tea room and also boasts a Nature Reserve and forest walks. A short drive north is Castle Stalker, dramatically rising out of the water and well worth a visit, while Ardchattan Priory Garden, dating back to the 13th century, has neutral soil and a temperate climate, which allow many fascinating species to grow. With the busy town of Oban only 7 miles to the south and the Inner Hebrides only a ferry ride away, there is much to see and do in this beautiful part of Scotland.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
close Black Friday. Save £50 on holidays over £600

On Winter & Spring holidays over £600

Offer ends Monday 29th Nov, 23:59 (GMT)

Full terms and conditions


Code has been copied!

Enter your code during checkout

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it