In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

10 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 32 View Image Gallery
  • Gate Lodge - Threave Estate - Scottish Lowlands - 1060519 - photo 1

Gate Lodge - Threave Estate

(Ref. 1060519)

Castle Douglas, Ayrshire and Dumfries & Galloway Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (21)
  • comfortable (19)
  • lovely (19)
  • bed (16)
  • stay (15)
  • lodge (15)

43 Customer Reviews

  • "A lovely place to stay and very comfortable and cosy."

    Good location for visiting the surrounding area and the walks around the estate are well worth doing. Overall well equipped. Pity there is no room for a dishwasher. The minor problem I reported with the front door key not working was not followed up, hence low maintenance rating. Would certainly recommend and may well return.

    Good to read that you found the Gate Lodge cosy and comfortable. We are sorry that the problem with the key was not dealt with during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alfred3.8May 2024

  • "Lovely cottage in beautiful location on the Threave estate."

    Beds super comfortable with lovely fresh bedding. Leaflets and maps in the cottage need refreshing with up to date ones. Maybe include a Threave estate guide? Free access to gardens during our stay although that wasn't entirely clear in the cottage info folder. Might be worth clarifying for future guests. The cafe terrace at the visitor centre was brilliant. Walks round the gardens and into the woods perfect. Saw Ospreys at the bird hide on the Threave estate nearby - with parking at Kelham Mains - brilliant! Loved the area and will return.

    Reviewed by Sally5.0May 2024

  • "A wonderful quirky cottage."

    Fabulous furnishings and quality decor. Kitchen was incredibly well equipped. Perfect location - loved watching the deer and bats. Hope to return.

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0May 2024

  • "Gorgeous period property, lovely "period" features and furnishings, but with comfortable modern furniture, in a beautiful location."

    Extremely well equipped. The wildlife around the property was a joy to see and hear.

    Reviewed by George5.0Apr 2024

  • "Beautiful, comfortable cottage with lovely mattresses and everything you need apart from hot water and cleanliness."

    After reading other people’s feedback I went prepared to do a bit of cleaning when we arrived and I’m glad I did. The dust was very thick on the stairs and around the base of the furniture. The fridge was dirty and the kettle etc hadn’t been wiped down nor had the cupboard doors or the general doors. The inside of the main wardrobe shocked me. The bathrooms were clean though!! If I thought volunteers were cleaning I wouldn’t say anything but on leaving Threave we saw it was a private company. Seriously, they are doing you NO justice. It’s such a beautiful cottage but the cleaners are letting you down. There were a couple of pairs of dirty socks behind one of the cushions in the lounge; they weren’t ours. I didn’t touch them and guess they are probably still there. Honestly though, after a wipe down and a bit of a winge all was well. The shower was amazingly powerful but was hot for the first five mins then cold. The cottage sleeps five, there should be enough water for five. Please sort the water out. The heating on the other hand was fab though it would be nice to include a pack of logs and some kindling in the price. There’s usually a little bit provided for guests. The kitchen was beautifully stocked with everything you could need. Loads of glasses, cups, crockery and pots and pans; all Denby. The furnishings are lovely (why did you buy such short beds? My 6’ husbands feet were hanging out of the end) and the location is stunning. We had rain for most of the week but it didn’t matter because the cottage was relaxing and warm. Threave Estate is blissful. The cafe and the staff are fabulous. There are lots of bats and the dark skies go on forever. Go for a walk up the road after dark or lie on the head and look at the sky - wow. Go with a cloth in hand prepared to spend a small amount of time wiping down the surfaces, be selfish and always have the first shower and you will love it. Beautiful. Oh, on arrival there’s are tea bags, coffee and biscuits waiting for you. That was a nice touch!

    Reviewed by Fay3.4Apr 2024

  • "Cottage is lovely and comfortable."

    Good location ideal for walking into Castle Douglas. Circular route around the estate is a wonderful walk and we would highly recommend doing this.

    Reviewed by Elaine4.1Mar 2024

  • "The Gatehouse was a perfect base for a relaxed family holiday."

    The building is stunning inside and out. A great location for local exploration. Very cosy and warm.

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Feb 2024

  • "Beautiful lodge and surroundings we would definitely stay again, however, On arrival I had to clean the inside of the microwave, the toaster as it was full of breadcrumbs and the oven could do with cleaning, I drew the line at cleaning this as after paying over £800 for the holiday I didn't want to spend it cleaning - perhaps you could have a quiet word with the housekeeper about checking things."

    We were unable to sit outside due to a rather large wasp nest in the roof ( not sure if you were aware of this, but it needs looking at particularly if young families come to stay. None of the above spoiled our holiday we had a wonderful time and will be back at Threave some time in the future.

    Many thanks for you feedback and we will reiterate with the cleaners the standards of cleanliness expected in gate Lodge. We have reported the Nest to the local team at Threave for them to attend to it and we have been informed it is a Bees Nest. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Allison4.1Sep 2023

  • "The property is in a gorgeous estate."

    It was comfortable and but cleanliness was poor in many rooms, but especially in the kitchen area. Food had left on pots which we had to scrub. We were very lucky to have met a chap from Solway ecology who was training others to catch and classify bats. He let us see some of the bats. Definitely a highlight.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry that you didn't find the cottage as clean as it should have been. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously and that if we had known as soon as you could have notified us then we could have rectified it. We will reiterate to the cleaner the standards that are expected in the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Husna3.8Aug 2023

  • "Decent house."

    Nicely decorated and furnished. Should really have a dishwasher though Excellent hot powerfull showers Great positioning , very tranquil Second bathroom a little small All in all a very nice comfortable place

    Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Findlay4.4Jul 2023

  • "We loved nearly everything about this property!"

    It was beautifully and comfortably furnished, well equipped and in a great location. The only drawback with the property was the very patchy WiFi, which did not go down well with three teenage boys. On the other hand, the free Netflix account was definitely a hit!

    Reviewed by Gwyneth4.7Jul 2023

  • "Good value in a nice location."

    Not luxury but a nice country house to chill and enjoy the surrounding nature. Beds were a bit hard. Threave Estate was interesting and we toured the house. Castle Douglas is a bit dead but there are some nice restaurants both in town and in the surrounding villages.

    Thank you for your feedback and we have noted your comments about the beds. They were replaced over last winter, it is always difficult to know what type of firmness/softness most of our guests would like. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Noel3.1Jul 2023

  • "Living areas were well appointed, comfortable and relaxing."

    Kitchen was clean and everything worked including the heating and hot water. Bathrooms were the only disappointment. Both on the ground floor, which we knew about when we booked, but the second bathroom was very small and under the stairs. We did love the location and would recommend it for a holiday for two.

    Thank you very much for the positive feedback, as with all older cottages we have tried to provide extra facilities but are limited on where we can provide them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine4.7Jun 2023

  • "Lovely setting !"

    Reviewed by Carol3.8May 2023

  • "What’s not to like?"

    The Gate Lodge is not luxury accommodation but it’s perfectly adequate, comfortable and warm. It has everything you need for a fabulous holiday. The location, scenery and walks from the door more than make up for anything else you feel may be lacking. We had the best sleeps ever, so peaceful and quiet with the only noise coming from the local blackbirds and blackcaps etc. We visited the local Osprey viewing platform and saw the nest with parent birds & young. We had beautiful weather. We had one of the most enjoyable holidays we’ve ever had. 5 stars.

    Thank you so much for your feedback, we are very lucky at NTS to have cottages in such stunning locations. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Coralie4.7May 2023

  • "First time we have stayed in this lovely spacious cottage and hopefully not the last."

    Ideally positioned with just a short stroll up the drive to the gardens and less than half an hours walk to Castle Douglas. A really enjoyable stay and many thanks to Linda in the estate office who quickly sorted out a few minor issues for us.

    Reviewed by Ann4.4Apr 2023

  • "E had a good week with excellent weather but found several issues."

    The heating is a struggle to balance with the bathroom rail getting excessively hot. Cleaning was not good with many cobwebs around. I do object to your requirement to strip beds etc. Is that not what the cleaners should do in their time between lets. We are paying for the Lodge not to carry our maintenance as such. The paperwork was was out of date and still referring to non-existent COVID paperwork. We have used the Gate Lodge several times before and it has a great location. However, more attention to detail is required as we noted a general downgrade in decor and furnishings. However, the manager did respond to our problems, that she could deal with, promptly and that included the lack of the bath's safety mat which was a worry.

    Reviewed by George3.1Apr 2023

  • "We Loved The Gate Lodge The Grand Kids Had A Ball Threave's Estate Is Lovely Walks In It And Round The Outside Of Estate."

    THere Is A Lovely Rot Iron Table And Chairs Round The Back Where Its So Peaceful And Quite Do Not Take Towels There Are Plenty In The Lodge To Go Round As We Did And Didin't Use Them The Heating Is Brilliant Nice And Warm When Arrive And Lodge Was Spotless. They Could Be Doing With A Bigger Fridge Freezer Which Is Situated Under Stairs Next To The Toilet.Other Than That We Will Be Back.

    Reviewed by Thomas5.0Apr 2023

  • "This is a most delightful holiday home."

    Very clean and comfortable. We had much pleasure watching the red squirrels from the lounge window and very nice walks in the surrounding district.

    Reviewed by Theresa5.0Apr 2023

  • "Had a lovely week, cottage was cosy, and had everything we needed apart from maybe an outside firepit, which would have been great for the nights sat outside watching the stars."

    We also were lucky enough to see the northern lights. We didn't see any red squirrels, but we did see some red deer and a baby stag roaming the gardens from the living room window. Would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Sian4.4Mar 2023

  • "Feedback on lodge cottage - lovely little period property in a super setting with a good range of materials for self catering."

    There is a wood burning stove which we didn’t use as it was so mild during our visit and the cottage was plenty warm. Nicely decorated and styled, it needs just a little care over minor things (please see below). We visited in low season so the adjacent gardens had limited visitors and location was pretty quiet with birds and red squirrels popping by. The rooms are nicely decorated to a good standard and in good repair, feeling comfortable and spacious. The cottage would however benefit from the following; 1) needs a much larger teapot (could only find one that held one cup!). 2) advertised as accommodation for 5 but only had 4 place mats and 3 drinks mats - could do with a full set for dining and extra for the sitting room so guests don’t mark tables etc and larger mats to keep hot dishes on (we used magazine and books to keep hot/wet stuff off tables). 3) very limited pantry space. There was only 1 drawer not full of pans etc but not clean enough for food (dead spiders and debris from other visitors) we used window ledges, worktops in kitchen and shopping bags on the floor instead. 4) generally well equipped for self catering but needs a veg/potato peeler (and a teapot - already mentioned). 5) Lodge was super hot on arrival (turned radiators down to 2 from max). 6) the Blind over the single window in one of the upstairs bedrooms needs a proper replacement as what’s there doesn’t work properly or close completely. 7) Pretty clean on arrival although could do with cleaning upholstery on the two sofas (grease-staining on arms) - we always bring spare blankets anyway to sit on anyway. Past guests have obviously swatted large mosquitos or similar in a couple of places on walls which hadn’t been cleaned up. 8) An up-to-date bin schedule in the cottage would be is useful for guests (all the bins were almost full from previous occupants and particularly one with lots of beer cans) especially as bin collections are infrequent. 9) the main bathroom was clean but it was really hard to get out of the bath! Really needs a vertical grab rail to get put out of the bath safely. 7) electrical junction box outside the bathroom frequently made loud sustained buzzing noises. Needs to be looked at or even replaced. 8) we found we used the front door because we could hang coats in the hall over the radiator to dry. A coat hook rail in the kitchen area (or next to the bathroom) would be handy for leaving wet coats on when coming in the back way.

    Many thanks for your feedback and we do take our customers feedback seriously. The property team have purchased a larger teapot, place mats, coasters and a potato peeler. They are also going to print off the bin schedule again for the cottage. We will ask our electrician to check the junction box in the cottage to see if there is a problem. The properties are checked every 5 years for the Electrical Installation Condition Report but we recognise that we also need to do extra checks if there are any issues in between. The property team are also discussing your feedback with the cleaners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bruce4.7Feb 2023

  • "Unfortuantely, the wifi connection did not work, despite the owners replacing the router box during our stay."

    Also, the hairdryer was placed at the back of the wardrobe and not found until the end of our stay. It may be more helpful to store it in a drawer in the bedroom where it might be more easily found.

    Reviewed by William3.8Feb 2023

  • "Threave, Gate Lodge is a beautiful place to Stay, in lovely, peaceful surroundings."

    Being disabled, it is advantageous to have the large, double bedroom downstairs along with two bathrooms. The house is quite large with tall ceilings, is cosy, warm, has the log fire, lovely furnishings and has the quaintness of some original features. Anything you need, the lovely people on the Threave estate will look after you. There are the gardens to explore and visitor centre. Also Threave house, shop and cafe in season. But the lodge is idyllic for a peaceful break. I’ve been before and I’ll go again in the future.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Jan 2023

  • "Cottage in a lovely location and is generally well appointed and comfortable."

    Could do with a little better cleaning - cobwebs were obvious on lampshades, including bedside lights, and dust on some surfaces, especially in upstairs bedrooms. There is no DVD player - this has been covered in previous reviews but it's still included in the listing! There was no Internet access through the WiFi for the week - we reported it but heard nothing further. None of this really affected our enjoyment and we had a great week and would be very happy to return. The Threave estate is lovely and walks from the cottage door are great.

    Thank you very much for your feedback about Gate Lodge which we have passed onto the team at Threave. We are sorry that you didn't find the cottage fully clean on your arrival. This will be highlighted to the cleaners. We have asked Sykes to remove the mention of the DVD player and apologise that this wasn't done sooner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gerald4.1Dec 2022

  • "We loved staying at the Gate Lodge!"

    The location is peaceful and beautiful, and the cottage is comfortable, warm and full of interesting antiques. It had everything we needed, and there were lots of lovely walks nearby. It was also easy to get to plenty of local attractions and we enjoy shopping and a few lovely meals in Castle Douglas.

    Thank you so much for the positive feedback and we would love to welcome you back to the National Trust for Scotland. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vicki4.7Oct 2022

  • "It was one of the best cottages we have stayed in and we staying in about 4 cottages a year on average."

    A few basic items however were missing; peeler, masher and tin opener are the most obvious. Also no visitor book. Apart from that everything was very good.

    Thank you very much for your feedback and lovely to read that you enjoyed yourselves. We will ask the property team to check the kitchen inventory again, sorry these items were missing. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Oct 2022

  • "The gate lodge at Threave is a wonderful place to stay and is an ideal place to use as a base for exploring the gardens and surrounding area."

    The lodge is comfortable and everything about our stay was first class. I would not hesitate to recommend this place for your stay in the south west of Scotland.

    Many thanks for your lovely comments about Gate Lodge and Threave Gardens. We look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by George5.0Sep 2022

  • "The Lodge is well located and easy to find."

    Key instructions were also good. It's location, just on the outskirts of town, is very handy and Castle Douglas has everything you need for a holiday. The Lodge has some beautiful furnishings and the bed and bath linen was of a high quality. The kitchen is fairly new and lovely and clean but lacked some simple equipment like a tin opener. The house was not dirty but would have benefitted from a deep clean (lots of spider webs and dusty places) and the paintwork could do with being refreshed. We also found the beds a bit lumpy and hard.

    Thank you very much for your feedback about Gate Lodge at Threave. It is in a great position for exploring the area and coastline. The cottage did have a new kitchen and bathroom this year, it also had new mattresses so we are bit surprised that you found them lumpy. We have noted your comments about the spider webs and dust and asked our team to ensure these areas are checked at each changeover. The kitchen inventory list has been reissued to ensure that there is enough equipment in the cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Zoe3.1Aug 2022

  • "On arrival at 16."

    50 (only told to arrive no earlier than 17.00) we couldn't access the property as instructed, I rang Sykes, no answer, I proceeded to ring the emergency number given and a lady said she was only the out of hours no. I told her the problem and she said the last guests in the property were supposed to leave the snip off the door and that it's happened a few times before but she would be there within half hour, I did think to myself should that not be the cleaners job to make sure this doesn't happen, and it's a bit annoying when you've had a journey and because of 'covid' now they're pushing access times to properties later in the day because of extra cleaning. Saying that the man arrived after 20 mins and it took him around 10 mins to get in. The property is in a beautiful location and it was plenty big enough for 5 adults, however a couple of issues was the walk in shower didn't have a slip mat In and this was the one my parents in their 80's was using and mum only told me at the end of the week it was very slippy, which if I'd have known I would have bought one myself, also I feel the general cleanliness around the property could be improved, the bed linen and towels where clean and beds very comfy and kitchen implements where clean and everything we needed but nothing to clean the oven or hob apart from a couple of scourers and no bin liner in the big kitchen bin, we like everything lined so it makes the bin easier to keep clean, I realized it says bring your own liners but we forgot till we could go out and buy some. Also only 4 mats and coasters for the table, no cloth or table protector and it was too nice to put hot stuff on it, 1 night we had a mixture of food, buffet style, and we used a towel with a newspaper spread out over the top so as not to damage table or stain the towel, but I fear some people wouldn't bother, one of the dining room chairs had a spring hanging down and it was uncomfortable to sit on, as there are only 5 chairs there was no alternative. The sitting room was ok for 3 of us but sofas too low for mum and dad, we did bring the easy chair out the dining room in for the week but 1 had to sit on the sofa. In the downstairs bedroom when we arrived quite a few bits on the floor and webs and a couple of spiders which I moved them also I noticed quite a lot around the house and upstairs in the bedrooms the windows needed a good clean and brushing down from all the webs, inside and out, saying all that it's a beautiful property and the small issues won't bother everyone, I must admit I'm very keen on cleanliness and a bit fussy, so that's the reason I have not given 5* and I think the property was quite a reasonable price we paid for the week compared to some we've stayed in before. All of us said we would definitely come back it's lovely and quiet and the Threave Estate it's on is stunning.

    Reviewed by Jane3.8Jul 2022

  • "We would have liked more fridge space and less freezer space."

    Thank you for the excellent review scores. Property Owner

    Reviewed by George5.0Jun 2022

  • "Although the location building and surroundings were exceptional there were one two things that may be worth raising with you that could improve the stay."

    1 There is very little usable storage in the kitchen for self catering items 2 There sre no instructions for the microwave and TV (not able to remove subtitles) 3 No additional equipment provided such as CD and/or DVD player 4 No safety mat for the bath or shower 5 Downstairs toilet sink hot tap requires new stop washer 6 Power switches not labelled 7 Rear door yale lock key very tricky to operate Hope the above are of some help

    Thank you for your feedback, this is really important to us. * TV is a smart tv, decision taken that no other equipment would be required, a radios can be got for the property * Safety mat for both bath and shower will be put in situ * Yale lock on back door will be inspected Other issues are in discussion as to best way to resolve. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Edward3.4May 2022

  • "I think the property has been recently decorated and possibly a new kitchen installed but I still found it lacking in a few items and was disappointed to notice stains on carpets."

    Generally, we enjoyed our stay but the hot tap in the shower room was a problem to switch off, the heating was not set as proposed in the Welcome Manual, there was no teapot/tray/tea strainer and the dishwasher was impossible to open. Luckily there is a freezer as it was also impossible to open the integrated freezer compartment of the fridge. Pegs are provided - but no washing line. I would add that we were only two occupants but we could not imagine the property being fully occupied by six adults. When I booked the cottage it was for five but the single bedroom is now twin! In the sitting room there are two two-seater couches. There are two other chairs in other rooms but moving them in would not make a comfortable evening's TV viewing. The duvet on the double bed is not big enough to cover two people, either.

    Many thanks for your feedback about Gate Lodge at Threave. It is important to us to improve what we have on offer. The new kitchen layout has made access to the small freezer box in the fridge difficult. There is a separate freezer located under the stairs. New taps have been installed in the shower room since your visit and a new tea pot and washing line have been ordered. The single room does have a second bed in there but that was temporary and we will remove it to create more space. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barbara3.8Mar 2022

  • "We had an absolutely wonderful, peaceful stay here at Threave Gate Lodge."

    The house was immaculate, modernised in keeping with the type of property it is and everything we needed was there. The property was warm and comfortable. We went there to relax and that’s exactly what we did. The grounds were delightful and we made use of the garden and had picnics since the weather was nice. The daffodils were beautiful as we sat amongst them. We will definitely return in the future as it is one of the nicest properties we have stayed in. Absolute 10 out of 10 for everything!

    Thank you so much for your positive comments. The team at Threave have worked really hard over the past 2 months, we have had a new kitchen and bathroom fitted, new mattresses and soft furnishings. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Mar 2022

  • "This was our 1st stay at the Lodge."

    This is a fantastic place for a family. A lot of spaces insie and outside for the kids to play. The cleanliness and equipment were good. There were only a few issues that we think are easy to fix. The radiators in all the bedrooms are too small and the rooms always fill cold. Dining chairs need replacing. Outside light from the kitchen side will be a massive help too. There is a lack of information on the website about the BATS. Only on the outside of the Lodge. So on two different nights, the kids run down screaming because something was walking and making scratching noises in the attic. However, taking everything into consideration we are recommending this place and we will be back too. Regards Mr Wieczniak

    Thank you very much for your feedback. Gate Lodge has been taken off line for January for some work. We have asked for the radiators to be checked, they may need bleeding and if we can change the dining chairs. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Artur4.4Dec 2021

  • "This was our second stay at the Gate Lodge - we had stopped there last year."

    Some improvements had been made - the log burner is much better than the previous open fire, additional kitchen items had been added and some nice touches to the furnishings like new cushions and lamps. The kitchen and both bathrooms are definitely in need of updating and it would be nice if these could be done to fit in with the traditional feel of the property, as at the moment they feel incongruous with the rest of it. One of the chairs in the dining room is quite uncomfortable and since we’re a family of 5 someone always had to sit on it. The standard of cleaning was OK, and better than last year but there were still some kitchen cupboards that were a bit dirty inside and cobwebs in the corners of some rooms. Overall we had a nice week, the overall feel of the cottage is cosy and it was nice and warm. We kept the bird feeder in the back garden filled and it was lovely to see so many birds. It’s a shame that the one at the front of the cottage has gone now. The location is fantastic and this is what made us come back. The lovely walks from the cottage and the beautiful area made for a relaxing week.

    Thank you very much for your comments. Gate Lodge has been booked off for January 2022 for some work. We have also noted your comment about the dining chairs. It is good to see that you recognised that work had already started in replacing soft furnishings. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise3.8Oct 2021

  • "The accommodation was great, didnt have any issues."

    On arrival we found one of the toilet seats broken but not a problem as there were 2 bathrooms. The only other thing I could think of was perhaps having a tablecloth available so the table doesnt get marked.

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Oct 2021

  • "States washer/dryer and not a dryer."

    No dishwasher although mentioned. Sofa's uncomfortable. But all good except for these points.

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Oct 2021

  • "Had read the mixed reviews that had been left and many of the issues identified had been remedied."

    There were new utensils and kitchen equipment and ample crockery. Although the lodge is a little tired in places, it was comfortable, loads of room and it was great to stay in and the location was amazing and so central for all the places we wanted to go to and family that we were visiting. The setting is beautiful and we were lucky to see deer from the kitchen window and in the grounds of Threave. Would definitely stay there again.

    Thank you so much for your lovely comments. You will be pleased to learn that we plan to fit a new bathroom and kitchen in Gate Lodge in January 2022 and also refresh the décor. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne4.4Jul 2021

  • "The cottage was quirky with very comfortable comfortable beds."

    It was clean but could do with a few new cooking implements. The location was great for exploring the country side and Threave gardens were lovely. Lots of good beaches to visit a varied walks. Castle Douglas itself is a nice town with interesting shops. Could have stayed longer. Our 4 year old grandson had a ball.

    Many thanks for your comments and glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday in Dumfries-shire. Just to let you know following on from your feedback we have replaced kitchen utensils, crockery etc. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kim4.1Jul 2021

  • "There were quite a few problems with the accommodation."

    These have been reported to Sykes & the National Trust for Scotland. The only usable shower bathroom under the stairs is poky & has no shelving to put stuff on. The kitchen is also small, I'll equipped & difficult to use. The hot water being on 24 hours a day was a nuisance, causing a constant noise in the upstairs bedroom and affecting my daughter's sleep. She had to wear earplugs in the end. I suggest someone actually lives in the property for a week to really understand the challenges of staying there. It looks lovely on the outside, the cushions are impressive but that's about all.

    Thank you for your feedback and it is a shame that you did not contact anybody until the day before you left, when a maintenance man was sent to the property. At Sykes Cottages we do everything possible to ensure you have an enjoyable stay, but occasionally things go wrong. If a problem occurs we ask that guests contact the number in the property for the owner or contact Sykes Cottages so that any issues can be quickly rectified. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham2.8Jul 2021

  • "The Gate Lodge is a wonderful place to stay for a holiday in South West Scotland."

    Clean and Tidy and ideally located to visit the beautiful beaches and Woodlands of Dumfries and Galloway. Theres a few things that would improve the comfort of the stay ... some comfortable outside furniture, at least one full length mirror and whisk wouldn't go amiss.

    Glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday in our beautiful part of Scotland. Just to update you, we have replaced kitchen utensils and have new garden furniture on order. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally3.8Jun 2021

  • "If you are expecting a bijou NT house with all mod cons then this ones not for you."

    No working WiFi all week Antiquated cooking facilities and stained utensils Only one set of crockery so you'll be washing up by hand all week- take your own liquid! Tiny outdated TV Dingy bathrooms with not a full length mirror in the house No handbook or visitors book. No recycling facilities until requested No working open fire as advertised The house is in a beautiful spot , is spacious and warmwith comfy beds and a new patio but needs urgent updating to meet my expectations

    Thank you for your feedback, following on from the commenst we received we have put into place plans to refurbish the kitchen and bathtoom in Jan 2022. We have replaced the kitchen utensils, a new TV supplied, the recycling bins had not been delivered before your stay as our local authority have only just rolled out a programme. We have installed a new log burner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nancy2.2Jun 2021

  • "Lovely lodge - homely and quirky - did miss an upstairs toilet as we had to use the twin bedroom."

    Generous central heating with constant hot water and a good shower. Would definitely stay again.

    Many thanks for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sylvia3.8May 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground floor double, first floor 1 x twin, 1 x single
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with wood burner.
  • Oil fired central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer washing machine, TV, radio, and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Ample off road parking
  • Private rear lawn and gravelled area with furniture (not enclosed)
  • Two well behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1.6 miles, pub 1.5 miles
  • Holiday guests have access to the estate grounds outside of the regular opening hours
  • Note: Cot bedding is not provided
  • Note: Should you wish to use the wood burner please buy fuel from a local petrol station
  • Note: Restricted headroom entering the shower room and at the top of the staircase, please mind your head
  • Note: Narrow, winding staircase, please take care
  • Note: As this property rests at the entrance of the estate, some noise is to be expected
  • Note: The opening times, visitor facilities and entry prices of all National Trust for Scotland properties and attractions can be viewed on their website here Please note: Wifi is available and is suitable for general use, but speeds can’t be guaranteed due to the rural location

The property

A 19th-century sandstone lodge, guarding the entrance of the National Trust for Scotland’s Threave Estate, Gate Lodge offers a traditional holiday home for a group of five seeking a scenic base in Scotland.

Boasting views onto the garden that blooms with daffodils in the spring, it makes a spectacular choice for an idyllic escape.

Once home to the housekeeper of the Gordon family, the cottage now provides a superb space to enjoy a piece of baronial splendour.

Enter the property on the ground floor and discover the beautiful social spaces, made up of a sitting room with a wood burner, encompassed by traditional furnishings where you can relax; a kitchen hosting a good range of appliances and utensils; and a formal dining room where you can enjoy quality time together over a homemade meal.

Also, on the ground floor rests a bathroom and a shower room, giving you a choice of either a bath or shower to begin the day, as well as the master double bedroom.

Take the winding staircase to the first floor to find the final two bedrooms, a twin and a single, wonderfully suited to a variety of group needs, with each bedroom offering a unique, traditional interior.

Soak up your surroundings in the mornings in your own private garden, observing the red squirrels and nuthatches that regularly visit, before exploring the wider grounds of the Threave Estate.

The properties sit in an extremely desirable position, amidst natural beauty and wonderful wildlife, with an osprey platform and a bat reserve too, they offer a truly unique experience at any time of the year.

As well as the beautiful Victorian era gardens, you can find a visitor centre, café, shop, and a nature reserve all within walking distance of your front door, so you'll never have to venture far to find excitement.

The centre of the local town of Castle Douglas rests slightly further afield; known as the 'Food Town', it's sure to offer something for all your cuisine needs, with a wide variety of food shops, pubs, and restaurants to choose from, plus a selection of shops to while away the hours in.

Loch Ken is worth a visit for keen birdwatchers, home to the official Red Kite trail, as well as being within easy reach of the Galloway Activity Centre for even more adventure!

Venture towards the beautiful Galloway Hills, or enjoy a day in the riverside town of Kirkcudbright, known locally as the artists’ town, and discover the Stewartry Museum, a picturesque marina and the impressive National Trust for Scotland owned Broughton House & Garden, once the Edwardian home and studio of Scottish artist E A Hornel, you can expect to find a plethora of beautiful paintings accompanied by an equally impressive garden boasting a beautiful blend of Eastern and Western horticulture.

Further afield is the village of Ecclefechan, Thomas Carlyle’s birthplace, where you can visit the home of this prolific writer and social commentator, constructed by Carlyle’s father and uncle, definitely well-worth a visit.

A truly special holiday home, choose Gate Lodge for your escape to Scotland.

EPC Rating: Band F

Short-term Holiday Let Licence No: DG-00554-F

National Trust For Scotland

Whether searching for your next city to explore, or seeking a homely dwelling to relax in with your loved ones in rural surroundings, the wonderful collection of properties from National Trust for Scotland is sure to have something perfect for you. Discover the beauty of Scotland's two national parks and stunning countryside, with lots of properties catering to a wealth of outdoor pursuits to enjoy on your doorstep, with some featuring additional facilities for angling, field sports and cycling, making it easy to enjoy your stay to the fullest. Alternatively, immerse yourself in the lively city scenes of Scotland, with properties in and around Edinburgh, Aberdeen, Inverness and Glasgow, all teeming with historic sites, beautiful architecture and plenty of entertainment. Being Scotland's largest conservation charity, National Trust for Scotland has been able to beautifully preserve and renovate many historic buildings to offer unique holiday locations. With over two-million visitors each year across twenty-seven castles and great houses, forty-six munros, thirty-five major gardens and designed landscapes, and seven national nature reserves, National Trust for Scotland has something for everyone. Each property is equipped with all you need for a self-catered stay, with kitchens complete with essential appliances and more, dining areas to come together for hearty meals, and many sitting rooms boasting open fires or woodburning stoves to settle down in front of, not to mention elegant bedrooms and sparkling bathrooms where you can feel refreshed. Bring your canine companion along with you to some of the properties, and keep up to date with the world via the WiFi connections offered in most cottages. With more and more people discovering the beauty and allure of Scotland every year, ensure your stay is special with a National Trust for Scotland cottage.

View on map

About the location


Dalbeattie 6 miles; Kirkcudbright 9.5 miles; Dumfries 18 miles.

The attractive country town of Castle Douglas is nestled in the southwest of Scotland, in the Dumfries and Galloway region. Castle Douglas is known locally as the 'Food Town', playing host to a large selection of independent food shops, as well as a range of wonderful pubs and restaurants. The town provides access to the picturesque Solway Coast, with its miles of beautiful beaches and scattering of pretty fishing villages. Carlingwark Loch lies just south of the town, a large, freshwater lake, great for coarse fishing and sailing. Enthusiasts of water sports need look no further than Loch Ken and The Galloway Activity Centre. It offers sailing, windsurfing, powerboating, kayaking, canoeing, and a wobbly water park. Less than half an hour’s drive on the A713, it is an ideal place for a family or groups. Hop aboard a boat and venture to Threave Castle, perched on an island in the River Dee, and explore its glorious gardens elsewhere on the estate, open to the public all year round. Dumfries and Galloway is an area renowned for its outdoor activities including bird watching, mountain biking, fishing, star-gazing and golfing. Practise your swing on the 18-hole golf course situated in the grounds of the former 18th Century country mansion, Cally Palace. Pull on your walking boots and go hiking across west Scotland’s inspiring landscape, or sail along its wonderful coastline. Whatever you fancy for your holiday in Scotland, Castle Douglas is the perfect base for experiencing it all!

Please note: Wifi is available and is suitable for general use, but speeds can’t be guaranteed due to the rural location

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas