Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Vista Cottage

Dalbeattie, Ayrshire and Dumfries & Galloway (Ref. 1026866)

4.1

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 3

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

13 Customer Reviews

  • "Great value for money well kept great relaxing location"

    Reviewed by DavidNov 2021

  • "The cottage was in a beautiful location quiet and peaceful hot tub was great the cottage was clean but could do with some t."

    L.c some of the furniture could do with replacing but really enjoyable and would recommend it for a great break away

    Reviewed by KarenOct 2021

  • "The property itself was fine but there were a few things lacking eg no mop/mat for the floor when entering the property dripping wet from the hot-tub, no plastic cups for drinks in/around the hot-tub area, there was an ironing table but no iron, lack of pots etc, there was only 2 pots for 4 adults and 2 children."

    No wardrobe in upstairs bedroom only hooks on back of bedroom door, not exactly ideal when staying for a week or more and the bed creaked every time you moved although bedding was immaculate and the bed itself was comfy, lovely big room but felt sink in the upstairs en-suite could have been bigger, was more the size for a spare toilet.

    Reviewed by LindaOct 2021

  • "Everything exceeded our expectations but the cleanliness did let it down."

    Not hoovered or mopped couch was dirty. But apart from that it was brilliant.

    Reviewed by RyanSep 2021

  • "Had a wonderful stay at Vista Cottage with a family group."

    It was lovely and spacious for us all, and we particularly enjoyed the hot tub after a day's biking in the nearby Dalbeattie Forest. The owners were friendly and helpful and we loved the location. I noticed another reviewer complained about having to empty the dishwasher. It was the same for us but we assumed it was a Covid measure and we were happy that all the crockery and cutlery was properly clean on arrival. We were told by other guests that wifi was available at the main farmhouse if we needed it. We weren't given any details of a wifi code for the cottage.

    Reviewed by LesleyAug 2021

  • "1.Arrived 4."

    15 pm and had to empty the Dishwasher and locate where the contents should be put. 2.Insufficient crockery for 6 people( 7cups,6 large and 6 small plates, no serving dishes, insufficient glasses and tumblers). 3.No instruction sheet explaining how the Cooker, Washing Machine and Central Heating worked. 4.No Tumble Dryer, No Airer, six Clothes Pegs, therefore no method of drying wet clothing, towels etc. 5.No Shower Mat in downstairs en-suite. 6.No shelves or units in en-suites, all toiletries etc had to be left on the floor, very unhygienic. 7.Bed upstairs very noisy as previously reported, but nothing done about it. 8. Could not use Hot Tub for twelve hours after time of arrival on the first day and we were unable to use it on our last morning as the owner had started to drain it at 07.00am. I did speak with the owner on Thursday regarding our concerns which were all put down to COVID-19 restrictions imposed upon them by the Scottish Government. Items 1 to 7 I think not and it was just an excuse to cover up their failings which somewhat spoiled our holiday and did not represent “good value for money”. The contract that I had was with Sykes Cottages, not with the owner of the property and therefore it is your responsibility to address any concerns. You can publish my feedback if you feel that it is prudent to do so. I await your comments with interest. Peter Cartwright.

    Reviewed by PeterAug 2021

  • "Had a relaxing break cottage very nice good value for money"

    Reviewed by JulietJun 2021

  • "No holiday was great"

    Reviewed by LindaSep 2020

  • "The cottage was well presented and in a great location for exploring the area."

    The view from the hot tub was fabulous . The beds were a bit noisy as was the heating if it came on overnight (so turn it down). Note that there is an ironing board but no iron. Overall the cottage was good value for money and I would recommend it.

    Reviewed by CaroleSep 2020

  • "Lovely cottage."

    The towels/tea/coffee was really appreciated.

    Reviewed by JenniferSep 2020

  • "The views and the pace and tranquility was amazing"

    Reviewed by PhillippaAug 2020

  • "We enjoyed the location and especially all the different animals on the farm."

    Reviewed by ShonaAug 2020

  • "View from the hot tub was fantastic."

    We had to re clean the cottage when we arrived as it was not clean. This was disappointing. This was in light of the current situation. The facilities were fine but the furniture was dated and could do with updating.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you loved the views! I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of the property as we take this very seriously. We have a team of professional cleaners and have also purchased a fogging machine to ensure the property is clean in light of the current situation. If we had known that you were dissatisfied in any way during your stay we would have been more than happy to resolve any issues for you. The furniture we have is as it is shown on the Sykes website. Thank you again for letting us know your thoughts. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SteveJul 2020

Show more

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x ground-floor double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, and 1 x ground-floor twin
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Biomass wood boiler heating
  • Electric oven and hob, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, washing machine, TV with Freeview and DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchairs available on request
  • Off-road parking
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop within 2.5 miles, pub within 2.3 miles
  • Please note: Due to the rural location the WiFi can be intermittent

The property

A cottage named to pay homage to the incredible scenery of its tranquil and rural setting, Vista Cottage is a two-storey property offering excellent holiday accommodation.

Set on the outskirts of Dalbeattie and near to the coast and next to the beautiful Urr Water Valley, it is wonderfully suited to a family or group who cherish time outdoors and need a snug retreat to return to.

The open-plan living space is where your journey begins, with a seating area for lounging in at the end of a busy day, winding down with the TV and a mug of something warm.

When evening comes, prepare a dish in the kitchen using the good range of appliances and produce from the grocers in Dalbeattie, serve it up at the dining table to finish off a great day.

Find your sleeping quarters within three bedrooms, a twin and a double with an en-suite shower room lie on the ground-floor while the master king-size also with an en-suite shower room is on the first-floor featuring sloping ceilings and velux windows.

For ultimate relaxation hop in the bubbling hot tub within the enclosed garden and sit back.

Vista Cottage is a fantastic property awaiting you to arrive and enjoy a wonderful trip to Scotland.

Note: Note: This property is part of a group and can be booked with Refs. 1018315, 1026862, 1026864, 1026865, 1026867, 1026870, 1026871, 1026872, 1026874, together sleeping 54 guests.

View on map

About the location

DALBEATTIE

Castle Douglas 6 miles; Kirkcudbright 13.5 miles; Dumfries 14 miles.

The attractive country town of Dalbeattie nestles in the south west of Scotland. The town sits within a wooded valley on the River Urr and provides access to the picturesque Solway Coast with its miles of beaches and pretty fishing villages. Dalbeattie is originally known for its granite quarry, which exported stone all over the world, most notably for the Eddystone Lighthouse and Thames Embankment. Today it is renowned for its outdoor activities with the world famous 7stanes mountain biking complex nearby as well as forest walks in Glentrool, where you can follow in the footsteps of Richard Hannay in The Thirty Nine Steps. Dalbeattie and the surrounding area offer panoramic views of the Solway Firth, the Lake District and the Galloway Hills. A great location, which has something for everyone.

Please note: Due to the rural location the WiFi can be intermittent

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it