Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

15 people have recently viewed this property

Amberleigh

Cottesmore near Greetham, Rutland, Rutland (Ref. 1015045)

3.9

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 9

  • Bedrooms 5

  • Bathrooms 3

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

21 Customer Reviews

  • "Beautiful place,and so spacious We had a problem with the heating when first arrived,it kept cutting out and cottage was freezing, fortunately my husband is a heating engineer and kept resetting it,mentioned it to the owner and next day she delivered a couple of heaters,other than that was a very relaxing holiday, garden was so spacious so our 2 pooches enjoyed there zoomies round it."

    Reviewed by SharonApr 2022

  • "Very nice property in lovely village."

    Property is a bit shabby in some areas though very clean. The mattress in the downstairs double bedroom is totally unacceptable - it is lumpy and prevents sleep. I have seen this same comment from many previous people who have stayed at Amberleigh, not just over recent dates, but going back many months. I think a new mattress is long overdue!

    Reviewed by DanielleMar 2022

  • "We had a great family holiday, the house is in a great location."

    The lounge was quite dark, another lamp would have been helpful. It was a shame that the en-suite bathroom on topfloor did not has a shower attachment. Loved the wood burner and communication with the house manager Mel was good.

    Reviewed by PaulFeb 2022

  • "Great to see a very well equipped property, with added extras, clean and warm, even when the heating tripped, soon sorted, lots of parking was great."

    On the down side, sleeps 9 but does not seat 9, tired furniture made it difficult for some of our party, maintenance, decor etc needs some attention, quirky floor glass tiles between living room and bedrooms made it awkward for early risers to have lights on disturbing those upstairs, bad lighting in front room, we were crafting so needed light, would not be a problem for most. Problem with needing a delivery of oxygen, as they dont delivery on a weekend but could not get anyone to accept the order apart from the original booking person meaning this could not be done caused quite a problem. Overall happy with property, would recommend to those not needing the extras we needed.

    Reviewed by LornaFeb 2022

  • "Lovely big house with plenty of room for everyone."

    Bathrooms needs some TLC but plenty of hot water and good showers. Lots of space and seating for 9 people. Kitchen well stocked so plenty of plates cutlery and glasses. Welcome tray lovely with biscuits, nuts, sweets and of course tea and coffee etc, really nice touch. Great off street parking, lovely pretty village. Really enjoyed our stay thank you.

    Thank you for your feedback, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by CherylFeb 2022

  • "We felt the property was well below the 4 star rating given by Sykes with a number of faults already reported, like uncomfortable bed in down stairs double bed, lack of hot water in that bedroom and pump system in room very noisy causing discomfort to other guests upstairs, incomplete or unclear instruction of how to use the induction hob."

    Phone numbers given for contacting someone incorrect or they where not available, for other problems already reported with maintenance staff calling 5 days after need also after waiting in one afternoon for them to come and not turning up as advised going away to order parts and supplying electric heater for one bedroom plus parts for others, also to try and rectify other problems, Very disappointed in the condition of the property, with veneer coming of some of the kitchen cupboards, paint flaking of wall outside upstairs shower and wc down stairs not finished properly plus others, Believe that the property well maintained would be ideal for parties like ours who haven't met up for a number of years because we made the best of what we had

    I am sorry you had problems during your stay. We understand you were able to reach Sykes as they were able to call us immediately on the number you had difficulty with. The hob instructions are in the book provided as were the instructions on using the pump and the hot water. We did respond within 24 hours to the radiator issue which unfortunately stopped working in the small bedroom Due to the time of year, we were not able to source a heating plumber, but did supply a portable radiator for that small bedroom to make sure you were comfortable. Thank you for your feedback on the minor maintenance issues, which have been noted and will be addressed as soon as possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RobertDec 2021

  • "There was only two of us staying at the property so we chose the downstairs bedrooms."

    The matresses on the beds were well passed their sell by date, lumpy limp and uncomfortable. The downstairs shower was tepid at best but mainly cold and the pump on the water was very noisy. The property was dark to say the least. The bed upstairs had a velux window above it and as it was windy with heavy showers it felt as if you were sleeping under a tin roof, to add to that you were next door but one to the church with the clock chiming loudly every hour. None of this was mentioned in the property description. In the information pack there was no mention on how to access the wi-fi. Overall the property and furnishings were tired

    Reviewed by JohnSep 2021

  • "Cottage really well placed for getting around to Stamford, Uppingham, Oakham and Barnsdale Gardens."

    We eat in the Sun Inn 4 times - just across the road (recommend it) and the chippy another evening. Also went to 2 of the visitor centres around Rutland Water and the nature reserve. All really near.

    Reviewed by DorothySep 2021

  • "Lovely house, very clean but dark, needed lights on at all times , could do with bigger or extra freezer and larger pans/ fry pans and more glasses."

    Driveway was tricky because of shape and lots of uneven bricks and tree roots, but overall we would come back again as house was good location.

    Reviewed by LisaAug 2021

  • "I had to sleep in a chair due to the beds having a ridge down the middle, I have been in many of your cottages, but this was the worst for sleeping, the cottage was dark and the driveway was dangerous due to trees uprooting the bricks."

    I would not go back again.

    Reviewed by JamesAug 2021

  • "On opening the door we were greeted by a note saying 'If you feel unwell go home' not very welcoming."

    We have booked with Sykes for several years and there has always been an excellent welcoming pack, nothing at the cottage except some packets. Last year in Lincolnshire we had a better welcome when Covid was rife.After a long hot drive we found no ice or facilities to make ice. Covid is no excuse, a bag of ice could be bought or ice bags.The salad tray in the fridge was broken. Outside the dog's water bowl was full of green slime. The door bell was broken. the bottom bedroom was decidedly scruffy, the carpet didn't seem to have been vaccumed. The mattress sagged.A king sized bed upstairs would have been nice. The T.V. was hopeless no reception just pixiling.For the price we paid we felt everything was a bit substandard. The cafetiere should be thrown out. There was enough of everything for us but we felt if 9 people were staying there they would have struggled.The hob on the stove was a bit of a nightmare. The garden needs some attention, it could be planted as a dry garden not needing any maintenance.There was a lack of tourist information.With a bit of love this could be a really special property. Great location, lovely village, good pub.We have always had good cottages with Sykes and given the price we paid we expected better.

    Reviewed by FelicityJul 2021

  • "Brilliant location, large property with plenty of good size bedrooms."

    It has a brilliant garage perfect for dogs or kids games rooms. Would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by LouiseJun 2021

  • "The house was clean and tidy if a little basic, but met our needs."

    The village is well equipped with a good food pub, well stocked shop and a chip shop at the end of the drive.

    Reviewed by GaryMay 2021

  • "Lovely place, we had a great time away."

    Good commuting place to a lot of attractions in the region

    Reviewed by LukaszMay 2021

  • "Mel was always very helpful and we were very happy with cottage."

    Two minor things- the dishwasher didn't get things very clean and the tumble dryer stopped working, which we reported.

    Reviewed by JohnDec 2020

  • "There are a few issues I think that should be addressed."

    The photographs on the website should be updated as there is no longer a spiral staircase. We chose the accommodation with a spiral staircase so that the dogs could not go upstairs to the bedrooms, but obviously they managed a normal staircase. Also the drive on the photographs looks fairly even, however, due to the roots of the trees, it very uneven and difficult to park. The heating was rather random, coming on at the wrong times so that we were often cold (no logs for the fire) and often too hot (especially in the night). The TV reception was intermittent. However, the accommodation was perfect for us ladies, plenty of space and fully equipped and we enjoyed our holiday.

    Reviewed by AmandaOct 2020

  • "This is a great cottage with excellent facility's."

    There is a brilliant local dog friendly pub, post office, chip shop all within 2 minutes walk. Also provided is table & chairs for the garden. A great size side garage for the kids to play or exercise. All rubbish bins are separate for recycling purposes. An excellent place for larger parties.

    Reviewed by Judith-anneSep 2020

  • "The bushes need cutting back on the drive, it was very difficult to get the car past."

    There was a distinct smell downstairs that wasn't very pleasant, we needed to keep all the windows open. The house was clean in main areas however more attention needs to be paid under / behind beds and cupboards etc, found a few dead bugs and lots of cobwebs.

    Reviewed by SamanthaAug 2020

  • "There was no hot water in the kitchen or any of the bathrooms apart from one on the ground floor which had a pump - all of us had to share one bathroom - this is unacceptable."

    There were three out of five lightbulbs out in the main living room, so it was dingy. Only one tablet was left for the dishwasher and no cloth for cleaning up. Would not recommend this place or Sykes after this experience.

    Reviewed by DavidMar 2020

  • "Perfect house and location for 6 of us to celebrate 30 years of friendship."

    Local pub served a fab roast dinner on the Sunday.

    Reviewed by MaryFeb 2020

  • "The Christmas Tree with lights and decorations was very much appreciated."

    The central heating pipes (pipes underfloor, not the radiators) made such a loud regular "knocking" noise in the main bedroom it was difficult to sleep when the central heating boiler was running. Although the noise could be heard elsewhere in the house, it was loudest in the main bedroom and would only stop when the central heating was switched off. That meant the house got cold overnight which was a great discomfort to one of our older party members in the mornings. The freezer in the garage was so moldy inside, it was a health hazard. The fridge section above it was cleaner and usable. There was plenty of cutlery but it was of such poor quality that it was not a pleasure to use. Similarly, all the kitchen/cooking knives were blunt and unusable. The under-bed areas could do with a good clean.

    We are terribly sorry to see that you had some issues during your stay with us. Thank you for advising us of the "knocking" noise, this is going to be looked into right away and hopefully sorted very soon! The fridge/freezer in the garage is unplugged and not in use for our guest, apologies for any confusion as there is a fully working fridge/freezer inside the house. With reference to the knives, we will ensure there is a knife sharpener provided for future use. Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Customer feedback is very important to help us continually improve our standards. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GraemeDec 2019

Show more

Summary

  • Five bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite bath, shower, basin and WC, 1 x ground-floor double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 2 x twin with basin, 1 x ground-floor single
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with woodburning stove
  • Garage/utility
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 4 cars
  • Enclosed lawned garden and patio area with furniture
  • Pets are welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1.8 miles and pub 0.01 miles
  • Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £100.00
  • Note: The spiral staircase has been replaced with a solid wooden one
  • Note: There are low wooden beams in the twin rooms and one double room, please take care

The property

Greetham 1.8 miles.

Situated in the small village of Cottesmore, in the East Midlands, is this delightful property.

This cottage is just as suitable for friends as it is for families, with its superb layout and desirable village location with access to excellent pubs and amenities, making it exceptional.

The cottage provides a light, airy and extremely welcoming accommodation, set across two floors.

Look forward to relaxing and unwinding in the open-plan living space, with plenty of seating to curl up and catch up with your favourite shows, whilst the dining area provides ample space for those family gatherings.

Furnished to a high-standard, this kitchen will inspire you to dust off those cook books and indulge in all the contemporary appliances at hand.

Choose from any one of the five well-presented bedrooms, resting across two floors and comprising of a ground-floor double and single, as well as a first-floor double and two twins, all of which have a range of contemporary and stylish furniture to store your personal items.

Both double bedrooms each enjoy the benefit of an en-suite bathroom, whilst a shower room resting on the first floor provides the guests in the other bedrooms a lovely place to freshen up.

Outside there is a large enclosed lawned garden and patio area, perfect for letting your furry companions loose, whilst you enjoy a spot of alfresco dining in the evening sun.

Greetham itself has a Grade I listed church, dating back to the Norman era, though it was largely rebuilt during the 13-15th centuries.

Discover the beautiful Barnsdale Gardens spanning across 8-acres, Rutland Water, popular for all manners of watersporting activities, but especially fishing and kayaking.

Something your little ones will enjoy is the Aqua Park Rutland, a waterpark full of fun and adventure.

A quirky place to visit is Bugtopia The Zoo, which features over 75 species of reptiles and invertebrates.

You will discover a range of traditional pubs and restaurants nearby if you don't fancy cooking one evening, with a selection of shops and supermarkets for picking up any last-minute essentials, or for treating yourself to some holiday gifts.

Return to Amberleigh for a relaxing evening with your loved ones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

GREETHAM, RUTLAND

Oakham 7.1 miles; Leicester 30.8 miles

This rural village is nestled in the beautiful county of Rutland, some six miles from the historic town of Oakham and very close to Rutland Water, an internationally recognised, man-made nature reserve hosting many outdoors activities and watersports. It has a very active community with a warm and friendly atmosphere, offering two pubs, a village shop and the Greetham Valley Golf Club boasting two championship standard 18-hole golf courses, alongside a 9-hole par 3 Academy course, floodlit driving range and a putting green. Nearby, Oakham has a good range of shops, restaurants and bars to pass your time, along with a local history museum, a 12th century castle and a 14th century church. The Georgian market town of Stamford is also easily reached from here, thought to be one of the finest, stone towns in England, with a weekly market every Friday. The Midlands is packed with fascinating towns and cities that are worth visiting, a marvellous destination for a holiday.

Region Information

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £100.00.
Note: The spiral staircase has been replaced with a solid wooden one.
Note: There are low wooden beams in the twin rooms and one double room, please take care.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it