Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 9 View Image Gallery
  • The Chalet - Central England - 956980 - photo 1

The Chalet

(Ref. 956980)

Biggleswade, Cambridgeshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance

29 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely stay in the cabin."

    Exceptionally well equipped, with many thoughtful extras- plenty of towels, throws, fans, even a Ninja air fryer, slow cooker and sandwich maker. Hosts were lovely and friendly but not intrusive. Cabin was spotlessly clean and we really enjoyed our relaxing and peaceful stay. Lovely watching the birds, squirrel and rabbit visitors to the garden.

    Reviewed by Mary4.7Oct 2023

  • "Unfortunately, we were slightly swayed by reading some previous negative feedback and weren't sure what to expect."

    We were pleasantly surprised! Okay, so the chalet is slightly dated (but that adds to the appeal!) and there are a few things that weren't perfect (but we weren't expecting grandeur from a property like this). We found a chalet that was perfectly clean and much more comfortable and equipped than we expected. There were so many touches that were thought about to make us comfortable ie. towels, blankets, throws, fans, maps, books, such a well-equipped kitchen, milk, bread, butter, biscuits, hand wash, bath oil ... I could go on. The garden was significantly larger than we expected and the dogs loved it all! The best thing was the 'feeling' of the chalet. We immediately felt calm, relaxed and comfortable and it was great to be able to explore the local countryside / pubs with our two dogs (and not have to worry too much if they came in with muddy paws). The chalet was reasonably priced and we feel the owners did everything to make sure we were happy.

    We very much appreciate your feedback and we thank you for your kindness and we are so pleased that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Sarah and Glynne Rowlands Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Jul 2023

  • "Disappointed with the standard of accommodation, photos on Sykes site leave a lot to be desired probably taken many years ago Have Sykes ever inspected this property ?"

    ?. The towels, tea towels provided were clean but very old as was the Chalet in general. The hand basin is small and has a cracked in it ideal place for germs to accumulate Next to the outside veranda was a sunken sceptic tank covered with a flagstone during the hot weather it was impossible to sit outside due to the smell. This property is very dated and needs redecorating throughout. I would not recommend this property and I felt as if the owners did not care. they are charging premium rates for a holiday let that is well below what we expected for the price we paid in fact it's the poorest Sykes accommodation we have stayed in and we have stayed in many over the years The directions to find the property leave a lot to be desired as its up a dirt track full of pot holes, the post code listed on the website takes you in the other direction about 1/4 mile away from the property. Overall very disappointed with this property.

    Dear Stewart, I am sorry for my late response to your feedback but I have waited until the property was unoccupied so that I could carry out a personal investigation to your complaints . N0:1. The accommodation provides many towels and tea towels which vary in size and quality. My philosophy is, I do not want to leave my customers with too few towels and tea towels, so I provide more than I should, to be on the safe side and they can pick which ones they prefer to use. Approximately 3 months ago most of the towels and tea towels were replaced but i left some of the larger towels in use as they seemed in ‘too good condition’ to simply throw out. NO:2. The bathroom is very small and simply is not big enough to accommodate a larger sink and the crack is minuscule and is not unsightly and does not harbour germs. It is a cosmetic issue of low proportion and priority. NO:3. The accommodation has a sunken sceptic tank and it is drained weekly. I am sorry that you could not sit outside but it is the nature of the country side that smells do occur. We are located opposite a working farm and we do occasionally smell farm like smells, unfortunately this goes with the location, it being in the country side. NO:4. The property is not modern it is a country chalet which is extremely comfortable, fitted with expensive well-made furniture (Laura’s Ashley and John Lewis) I have tried to provide a clean, comfortable residence which provides a home-from -home environment and I go above and beyond to ensure that my customers enjoy quality and comfort and above all, a very clean environment. NO:5. I was mortified to read that you said “the owners do not care” It has bothered me so much that i have responded to your review. How can you tell? I care very much. I would have responded to your complaints personally as I only live next door if you had raised them directly with me, which I would have appreciated. NO:6. We do not charge premium rates our competitors charge £800 for 4 nights stay for a similar property. Unfortunately I have had to ask for a little more as the energy costs are extremely high due to the property being run solely on electricity alone. Generally the electric meter is approximately £100 per week and granted less in summer but not a great deal. I provide many added items such as cleaning chemical, toilet roll, hand-wash, paper towels and a welcome back etc and I do not make a great deal of profit contrary to what it might seem, especially after agency fees and other utility bills. NO:7 I have asked Sykes to change the directions as this seems to be a commen problem but most people call before arrival and my husband guides them in and we wait in to see our guests arrive safely without stress, phone at the ready, NO:8. We are the first bungalow off the dirt tack. There is approximately a very small percentage of that track which our customers cars drive into. It is a country track which sees a lot of wear and tear but does very little to impact us as we are the immediate property on the left of the track and are not at all affected by pot-holes. The main road called heath rd has recently been resurfaced to a very high standard. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stewart1.6Jun 2023

  • "Generally disappointed with standard of accommodation, photos on Sykes site bear no resemblance to property."

    We don't think Sykes has inspected this property for a while. I did read the reviews prior to booking but took them with a pinch of salt, how wrong was I. The towels, bed linen, tea towels all provided were clean but very dated as was the Chalet in general. The shower head needs a good descale, extractor fan was covered in thick grey dust, the hand basin is small and has been broken at some time with a shoddy repair leaving a sharp edge. We found the tea spoons stained brown and mugs had scum around the inside edges so had to washed up before use. This property is very dated and needs some money spent on it.

    Reviewed by Michael2.2Apr 2023

  • "Accommodation was as we expected,clean well maintained and nice to come back to after our outings in the vicinity ."

    d nice ack to

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Apr 2023

  • "Very disappointed with this property, needs a good makeover."

    Felt as if the owners did not care.

    Reviewed by Soraya1.3Apr 2023

  • "There was no DVD player despite it being listed in the description."

    The directions to find the property were terrible. The post code on the website takes you to about 1/4 mile from the property. The property is actually just outside Gamlingay on the junction of Heath Road and an unmade road called Park Lane. This should be mentioned on the website. Also there is a different post code that takes you to that location exactly.

    Reviewed by Robert3.4Mar 2023

  • "Good little place convenient for Duxford, Bletchley, Cambridge and Ely to see the sights."

    I liked the cupboard space and well equipped kitchen. The pub is a not too far walk and opposite the Co-Op for convenience.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Feb 2023

  • "The Chalet was the perfect location for our hobby of geocaching being situated in 'Ryoland' so we didn't have to travel very far to start finding caches!"

    The accommodation had lots of space & was well laid out with everything that you needed! Being February, it was a bit too cold to sit out in the garden but it was lovely to be able to sit in the warmth & watch the birds flitting about! The bathroom is a bit tired but ample for what we needed! We would not hesitate to return in the future!

    Reviewed by Susanne3.8Feb 2023

  • "The cottage was clean and tidy, with ample facilities and a welcoming host."

    The bath and shower were great, with ample hot water, I would have liked a bigger bathroom sink for shaving; but coped. The kitchen had all the things you needed and more. A short walk access to a play area for the dog. The bird feeders brought in a good range of birds to amuse you when working in the kitchen. Just what we needed for our weeks break

    Reviewed by Peter4.1Nov 2022

  • "Basin in bathroom is too small and shower curtain sometimes sticks to your body due to the space, but otherwise everything ok."

    A big range of household items is available to be used if you ever need them. We found the hosts very friendly, and lovely welcoming touch by providing fresh milk, tea, coffee, sugar and some other items. The place was spotless and we enjoyed our stay there. No hesitation in awarding 5 stars.

    Reviewed by Dennis4.7Oct 2022

  • "The chalet was lovely with a large secure garden for our dog."

    Our only issue was with the minute washbasin in the bathroom.

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Sep 2022

  • "Lo vely cottage, great for the dog with secure garden."

    Owners friendly and welcoming everything you would need is provided. Enjoyable stay

    Reviewed by robert5.0Sep 2022

  • "Lovely getaway and lovely hosts."

    Will deffo visit again. Thankyou

    Reviewed by David5.0Jul 2022

  • "A wonderful chalet in a lovely location."

    The owners were very welcoming and charming. The dog loved the enclosed garden and the walks from the door. Parking is outside the owners property, not outside the chalet. This is not a problem as the chalet is accessed via a gate on the side of the property. Would return in future.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely quaint chalet with wrap around garden."

    Area is peaceful and tranquil Enjoyed going for walks on the heath next to the property, and exploring the new area. Chalet was equipped with everything we needed. Thoughtful host who provided extras such as cereal and orange juice.

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.7Feb 2022

  • "Cosy, warm, thoughtfully resourced holiday cottage."

    Great for the dog. Lovely walk nearby. Delightfully presented rooms. Would certainly return if I could.

    Reviewed by Tiffany4.7Nov 2021

  • "Great place for a short break with or without your pet."

    Would recommend

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Oct 2021

  • "Very relaxing and peaceful week."

    Walks from the front door. Plenty of wildlife in the garden. Nice to have garden that surrounds the property.

    Reviewed by Colin4.7Sep 2021

  • "A very cosy & warm chalet."

    Quiet & off the road. Great for our 2 dogs, with walks from the door.

    Reviewed by Bob4.4Oct 2020

  • "The place was great had everything we needed and catered for the our dogs."

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Dec 2019

  • "We really enjoyed our stay, warm and cosy."

    Lovely enclosed garden for our dogs chalet had everything we needed (and a lot we didnt), hosts were welcoming and left a nice welcome pack. No no dogs signs or amysigns anywhere which made it a home from home. Would stay again.

    Reviewed by David4.7Nov 2019

  • "We have discussed the following with the owner who requested that we leave a list which we have done."

    The owner is aware that the property requires some TLC. The bathroom is VERY small except for the bath which is a good size. The mattress in the RHS bedroom (as you enter The Chalet), although comfortable, requires attention (either replacing or a proper mattress topper - not the sheet of foam which is currently in place). The lighting in the kitchen is very poor and one is constantly working in shadow. No oven gloves were available There is some chipped crockery that should be removed / replaced. A set of dinner plates would be an improvement on the poor assortment of dinner plates currently in place. The cooking equipment needs updating.(There is a huge amount of unnecessary cooking equipment but only one decent frying pan and two saucepans that have a lid). Nevertheless, it is a warm, comfortable and private property. There is a plentiful supply of hot water for relaxing baths, essential after long days walking the many local geocaching circuits. The wifi was excellent. The garden surrounding the property is lovely and although we did not use the outside space it was a pleasure to observe the birds and squirrels from the comfort of the sitting room. The owners are charming and although they live close they are unobtrusive. Would we stay here again? If we could be sure that the TLC had taken place and there were more geocaching circuits to complete in the surrounding area, yes [:)]

    Reviewed by Gerry4.4Oct 2019

  • "Everything was very good with many extra touches to the property to make you feel at home."

    Owners live next door and were very friendly and helpful at all times. Top rate internet connection which helps to keep in touch with everyone back at home. Couldn't fault the facilities in any way and would return in future years if possible.

    Reviewed by Mel5.0Jun 2019

  • "The very warm welcome from the owners ,and the care and consideration they gave to making our break so pleasant."

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Dec 2018

  • "The hosts were very friendly and helpful."

    The chalet was extremely dog friendly, clean, comfortable and very well equipped. The internet was not working when we arrived but the hosts extended their own internet for our use.

    Reviewed by Bryan5.0Nov 2018

  • "The cabin was very comfortable and the local pub The Wheatsheaf did some cracking fish & chips takeaway."

    They were delicious. There is nothing to do in Gamlingay with only 2 shops but we didn't want it for the shops. We were either geo-caching or meeting up with family members who lived close.

    Reviewed by Fred5.0Sep 2018

  • "Very helpful owners and a beautiful lodge."

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Feb 2018

  • "Very friendly welcome and fantastic hospitality by the owners they are a very friendly couple who couldn’t do enough to make our stay pleasurable and comfortable I would highly recommend this place to anyone!"


    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Nov 2017

Show more Hide all


  • All ground floor
  • Two double bedrooms
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room.
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer and washing machine
  • TV with Freeview, DVD player, Xbox, games, books, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed lawned garden with patio
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 10 mins walk.

The property

This is an lovely detached lodge cabin located just outside of the quintessentially English market town of Biggleswade near Cambridge.

Surrounded by extensive rural views, this quaint property provides outstanding accommodation for families or groups of four adults wishing to explore this beautiful area.

The property sleeps four comfortably in two spacious light filled double bedrooms.

Both rooms have plenty of storage and a dresser.

The property has a separate dining room with a table and four chairs for guests to use.

Down the hallway is a modern kitchen, well equipped with everything guests will need during their stay to cater for themselves.

During the evenings guests can relax and unwind in front of the TV together in the cosy separate living room.

The property has lovely a family bathroom with a bath and shower over.

The french doors in the living room open out onto a generous enclosed patio and garden.

There is a table and chairs for guests to indulge in some alfresco dining throughout the warmer months.

This is an ideal space for children to let off some additional holiday energy and for guests to exercise their dogs.

There is ample off road parking behind the property for two cars, perfect for couples or groups of friends travelling in separate cars.

Located just a short drive from the town centre of Biggleswade, guests are not far from all of the local amenities.

Here guests will find plenty of shops, restaurants and pubs to enjoy.

The famous historical city of Cambridge is situated a short drive away from the property.

The nearest beach is a 90 minute drive away.

Guests will never be short of things to do with several picturesque walks and cycle routes surrounding the property and nearby nature reserves.

This is a wonderful rural property, offering families or groups of four the perfect holiday base to explore the spectacular surrounding area in Bedfordshire.

View on map

About the location


Bedford 12 miles; Cambridge 22 miles.

The Bedfordshire market town of Biggleswade is the perfect place to stay when exploring the neighbouring counties of Cambridgeshire, Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire, whilst fast train links allow visitors to arrive in London in 35 minutes. Biggleswade has an assortment of shops, both local and retail, pubs, restaurants and takeaways, plus just three miles away is the Shuttleworth Collection, which is an aeronautical and automotive museum located at the Old Warden airfield. Just 20 miles away is Woburn Abbey with its famous safari park, where you see many different creatures, including elephants, tigers, penguins and sea lions by car or on foot, whilst Woburn Abbey itself has over 400 years of history to share with visitors with some 22 rooms with 250 works of art to enjoy. Biggleswade is ideally situated for sightseeing and visits to the country, towns and cities.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas