Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 26 View Image Gallery
  • West View Cottage - Central England - 1027108 - photo 1

West View Cottage

(Ref. 1027108)

Linton, Cambridgeshire, Cambridgeshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 12 Guests

  • 6 Bedrooms

  • 5 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • all (20)
  • garden (17)
  • room (16)
  • our (16)
  • great (16)
  • games (16)

40 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a fantastic weekend, would love to have gone in the summer months."

    The games room was a great bonus with the grandchildren (and the older children). The size of the place is really great so you don't fall over each other all the time. The only down side is some of the facilities are a bit "tired" and in need of some TLC. Otherwise a great way to celebrate my 70th birthday would definitely go back again and recommend to others

    Reviewed by Alan4.7Nov 2023

  • "Overall, it was a good location and the property was well furnished and spacious, but we came across a number of problems during our 2 night stay: - Ensuite bathroom shower was broken (just boling water is coming and the nob to adjust the hot water flow wasnt working at all)."

    - there was not a mirror in several bathrooms - living flow flooring is dangerously loose and our kids fell over a couple of times.

    Reviewed by Gayan3.4Oct 2023

  • "We absolutely loved this house - perfect for our family of 13 and a child."

    In fact we decided the picture and info on the website didn't do it justice (hence my rating on the 'accuracy of listing' above!). The garden was wonderful - a brilliant trampoline (not one of those with the little net around but very safe) and loads of outdoor games. A beautiful long dining table with plenty of room for everyone. A good "games" room with a pool table, poker table (!) and dartboards. What's not to love?

    Thank you for your kind words, it gives us great pleasure to read them, and motivates us! Can’t help but mention the low score for accuracy of listing (even though it was for a positive reason) as it does have a negative impact on our overall score. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa4.4Oct 2023

  • "Plenty of room for us as a family of 11adults, 1child, 1infant and a dog with an age range of 8 months and 73years."

    Table tennis in games room popular, as was the trampoline, for all ages :) Lovely that we were all able to sit at the table for an evening meal. Clean bed linen and towels, comfy beds. Plenty of kitchen utensils and cleaning aids plus a washing machine and dryer. We were lucky with the weather and were able to enjoy sitting on the patio area. We all enjoyed our stay at West View Cottage.

    Lovely review from you, thank you! Positive comments do make us happy! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely weekend."

    Very good facilities. Had everything and more that we needed.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle4.7Aug 2023

  • "We had a pleasant stay here."

    This is a large house in a rural location and is ideal for for an extended family. We had 3 generations staying together, with 13 people using 6 bedrooms. There are a variety of configurations, so this worked well for us. One of our party is disabled, so it was good to have a ground floor bedroom with an en-suite. The location is good for access to Cambridge and the surrounding area. We visited Linton zoo, Cambridge for punting and sightseeing, plus Duxford air museum. All were within 5-20 minutes drive. The house is large enough for this number of people - there is a decent kitchen, with everything we needed. The dining room was big enough for everyone to sit together at mealtimes, which we enjoyed. The living room had a decent amount of seating, with a large TV. The games room was popular with the children, as was the large garden with a trampoline, which we all enjoyed. The owners left detailed instructions, which were useful. It was possible to order takeaways from Haverhill. They also provided towels and bedding plus extras such as soap and dishwasher tablets. The property had been cleaned, although it could do with a deeper clean at some point as the carpets and some other areas could do with some attention. The property probably needs some maintenance in certain areas. The upstairs toilet was out of action as the flush did not work. The annex smells of damp (perhaps the extractor fan is not sufficient). There were other minor issues which need repairs - we provided feedback so I imagine the owners will get to these. The biggest issue was that the beds were not as comfortable as we would have liked. A number of our group commented on this. This is the main reason why I gave the review 4 stars instead of 5, since a lack of restful sleep was one downside of the stay. I suspect that many of the mattresses need to be replaced. Overall, if you are a family looking for a place to stay together, this should fit your requirements.

    Thanks for the positive written feedback. However, 3-Stars does not reflect that. It is disappointing for us & our housekeepers & it lowers morale, especially as we are working through a challenging economic environment where good domestic staff are hard to find. The mattresses are 2.5 years old and medium quality. We have not had this feedback previously. The loo flush was not reported to us during your stay, so not able to correct. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Daniel3.1Aug 2023

  • "We all had a fantastic time at west view cottage this weekend."

    The garden and trampoline were fantastic and the presentation inside was lovely. The kitchen is equipped with everything you may need. We took our own iron but didn’t need to as one is provided. The games room was very well equipped with a pool and tennis table, board games and dart board perfect for the big kids. All beds were configured as we requested and rooms are mostly all spacious. Location was perfect surrounded by fields, so was stunning, quiet and peaceful. Neighbours were helpful and friendly. We would definitely return here. The only thing is we couldn’t find a long broom to sweep with.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback! It is great for us and the housekeeping team to see. It gives us a boost in this challenging environment. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Asma4.7Jun 2023

  • "Wooow woooow woooow!"

    ! Absolutely loved this place. As a geoup of 13 people, not 1 person had a bad thing to say. We planned to rent this cottage and go visit Cambridge but we ended up staying in the cottage the whole time. We hope to come back soon.

    How lovely for us to read! We love to hear such positive comments, thank you! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mustafa5.0Jun 2023

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at West View Cottage, the description was accurate and we had everything we wanted."

    It's not as close to the city as I expected, but wasn't a problem for us. We where a mix of adults and children and there was enough space that we didn't feel on top of each other. I would suggest a bigger fire pit/brazier would be handy, the little one they had is too small to try and sit around in the evening, but otherwise everything is geared to larger groups which is fantastic. Showers run a little hot which they are very clear about, plenty of towels but no soaps. Definitely thinking about going back again!

    Thank you for your kind response. We will look into your suggestions. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Justin4.7Jun 2023

  • "Lovely house & garden."

    This was our 2nd long weekend here. Only negatives, water was too hot & difficult to reduce temperatures. An additional TV would be great. Disappointed with dartboard, which was more suitable for children. We went to Argos & bought a proper dartboard to play on.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed coming back and we hope you will again. We apologise about the hot water… The tank fed hot water showers (2 of the 5 showers in the house) have been looked at several times now by plumbers and we think we may finally have a fix, but are definitely still monitoring it. We understand your disappointment with dart board of course, we’d feel the same. However, we had to change it to soft darts because of the damage that was being caused (far and wide around the property) and needing to replace broken darts weekly. We still have the sharp dart board, so on special request, we could provide this for guests who are happy to just through darts at the board and not elsewhere in the house, and also bring their own darts. Please just give us a couple of weeks notice. Additional TV… yes we are working on that too. Thank you again, it is helpful feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne5.0May 2023

  • "Good contact on the day from the owners helped ensure we had a smooth check in, and allowed for us to contact in case of any issues should they arise."

    Only slight issue was showers running very hot, but better that than the other way round! A great cottage for our party of 13, with easily enough space for all of us. Would rebook without hesitation

    Good to know contact pre-arrival made things smoother for you as this is something we’ve recently introduced. The shower is an ongoing issue, which are addressing. It appears the temperature dial becomes very stiff once the water is turned on, making it difficult to reduce the water temperature. However, it is still possible to reduce the temp. We plan to put up some signage to explain & take another shot at easing it. Thank you for the reminder and apologies for the difficulties. Thank you for the rest of your feedback! We hope you can bring your friends & family back to enjoy another get together. Thank you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matt4.7Apr 2023

  • "We had an amazing holiday and we could not fault the house!"

    It lived up to all our expectations and the trampoline was an added bonus for the children! I would highly recommend this house

    Thank you for such lovely positive feedback! The cottage was left tidy & clean which is very helpful to us; thank you. We hope you can bring your friends & family back to enjoy another get together. Thank you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Abby5.0Apr 2023

  • "This was a fantastic holiday cottage."

    Very well equipped, with several added touches such as milk, tea, coffee, soaps in bathrooms etc. The trampoline was amazing and thoroughly enjoyed by all. A first class cottage and a wonderful place for a family gathering.

    Thank you so much for such nice comments, they give me renewed energy! The cottage was left clean and tidy ( which helps us enormously at change overs, so thank you for this). You would be very welcome to return and we hope you will come again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Feb 2023

  • "We had a great new years getaway relaxing with friends post Xmas."

    We all had children of varying ages from 2-12 and then all had a great time- there was space for them to play in the games room and a huge garden to run around in (yes, even in December!) The space was fantastic with plenty of room for us all to sit and eat together and also in the living room a huge sofa for us to relax on in front of the tv (and a Christmas tree- such a nice touch) The games room equipped with a dart board and poker table turned into the adults hideaway some evenings and it was far enough away from the children asleep upstairs not to disturb them! The location was really good for the local zoo, pub and further afield for a shopping trip to Cambridge! We can’t wait to rebook again for next year!

    Thank you all for a lovely review. We are glad everything went well and the adults and children alike were entertained! You’d be welcome to book again, the spring, Easter and May bank holiday dates are all available now. We’ll be opening up June to Sept at Easter, and the Autumn and Christmas/New dates to follow. Do contact Sykes directly if you need a date that appears blocked out, we may be able to sort it for you. Jane & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Dec 2022

  • "We had a very enjoyable pre Christmas family get together and West View was perfect for it."

    There were a couple of radiators which were not giving out much heat so some parts of the house were quite cold. To be fair it was extremely cold temperatures and there were a few electric heaters which helped. The conservatory in the annexe was too cold to use. I could not find a broom at all that would have been very handy for quick sweep ups. Plenty of cooking equipment and utensils and lovely big dining table. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Lovely house in a lovely setting.

    We are glad you had a nice stay, and we’re able to be warm even in these very cold temperatures. We are very disappointed that you have given low scores for all categories, even the cleaning, which is hard to understand because we usually get top marks for and pride ourselves with. In addition, you even make a comment the house was clean. May be it’s because there wasn’t a broom - a bit strange to mention at all, but especially when there are several dust pans and a good vacuum for your use. For the other categories we are also a bit bemused because you say it was comfortable and there was plenty of equipment. It would be nice if you could reconsider your scores, we are a business after all and reviews these days can significantly affect businesses upwards or downwards. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Donna3.8Dec 2022

  • "Great house for a large group!"

    We went as a family to celebrate our parents 40th Wedding Anniversary and the house was perfect for spending time together. Large living space, large dining room, games room! Would definitely recommend and return to West View Cottage. The photos do not do this property justice!

    Thank you for your kind feedback. It was lovely to read and we are happy you had a great time celebrating your parents 40th Wedding Anniversary. You left the property beautifully tidy and you would be very welcome to return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shelley5.0Nov 2022

  • "Lots of space games room was enjoyable"

    Thank you for your positive feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eric4.4Oct 2022

  • "Great spacious cottage in a lovely quiet location."

    Provided all the essentials stated and required for our stay. Thank you!!

    Thank you for your kind feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Oct 2022

  • "A lovely holiday spent with the family."

    Ages ranged from 13 to 72. Brilliant facilities, lovely house and annex. Met the owners who were lovely too Thank you

    Thank you for such lovely feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. It was nice to meet you too. Also thanks for leaving the house so tidy, we appreciate that. Please do think about us if you fancy another holiday in our area; if you state your previous booking reference and dates, Sykes will contact us to discuss a discount. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Win5.0Aug 2022

  • "We all had a fantastic stay and rated you 5* on Trust Pilot."

    Thank you, so very much! You left the house well looked after a tidy and we appreciate that. You’re welcome to return any time. If you state your previous booking reference and dates, Sykes will contact us to discuss a discount. Enjoy the rest of your sunny summer! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jul 2022

  • "Three generations of family staying together."

    Great to be in same accommodation & all able to sit at the dining table together, plenty of good quality crockery provided. Outdoor furniture was well used by us in the lovely garden. Children enjoyed the games room. Nice quiet village, with footpaths on the doorstep and the local pub very friendly. As a family, 7 adults found the mattress too soft & a little uncomfortable (Think in the main this is perhaps due to people sitting on the edge of the bed, breaking the mattress, leading to ‘roll out’). In the bedrooms we would’ve preferred blackout blinds, especially as it is light so early on summer mornings however that’s our personal choice. We acknowledge many people aren’t bothered by light and sleep with curtains open. One thing we were very disappointed & upset about, is the CCTV & amount of cameras! Moreover, this was not documented anywhere when we booked the property (I found it retrospectively & only by reading through numerous reviews). It needs to be very clearly written in the property statement. As a family we wouldn’t have booked the property, had we known about the position & amount of cameras. We do understand & accept cameras on the driveway however, in the garden is an intrusion of privacy esp. when you go away to ‘get away from it all’. We’re aware of why the owners have so much CCTV, from their extensive list of dos and don’ts in the guest book! It seems that a minority of guests perhaps have spoilt things for the majority. Or, the nearby residents in the village do not like a holiday like there and thus complain.

    The fact we keep you as safe as we can with security CCTV in our 3/4 acre garden surrounded by arable farming land, seemed to over ride any positives you saw about your stay and you consequently have given us the lowest score possible! Is that fair, we don’t think it is? There are large yellow signs on the estate gates onto the drive and also in the gate at the top of the drive for the paddock. They are very clear and in line with laws and regulations. How you missed them is difficult to understand… then you went investigating on web sites and ultimately disclosed private information from our in-house brochure - and you are supposedly worried about privacy! Double standards. We’re surprised Sykes didn’t block your comments but as they did not, these are ours… Voting on the mattress softness… well that’s how you want to be.. it is clearly difficult to please you and members of your group any of the time. Do you do that in hotels? Possibly you were trying to make ‘noise’ to distract from the significant mess you left the house in, including broken darts and dart holes in EVERY wall in the games room which took over an hour to fill and then another hour to paint at the next change over! You could actually supervise your children throwing sharp objects around? If the CCTV keeps you away from our lovely property in the future - ho-Raa! I would not have bothered blocking you on Sykes after we discovered the mess and damage. Holiday Cottage Owner's beware of this family. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen2.8Jun 2022

  • "Great house."

    Very well stocked kitchen even for 14. Beds and bedding excellent. Amazing garden, shame the trampoline hadn’t been fixed as kids would have loved it. Lots of secure parking and completely fenced garden a bonus. Property would benefit from additional TVs. Dishwasher salt and rinse aid should be provided as we always seem to be the ones that need to fill it up. We had a great week and would love to return.

    Thank you for your great feedback and you'd be very welcome to return, the house was left very tidy - thank you, it helps us with the turn around cleaning etc. Sorry about the trampoline, it was damaged by some previous guests and is unsafe. It’s also difficult to replace because it is in-ground (above ground blow away!). We don’t advertise it on the web site for that reason. However, we hope to sort it out soon and also add a climbing frame and swings for the kiddies. Jun2022: new in- ground trampoline is now up and running! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0May 2022

  • "As a family get together for a 60th birthday, the pictures are obviously taken when the house was 1st put up for holiday rental!"

    The location was fabulous, just what we wanted however, many faults within the house, which was a real shame and disappointment but we still enjoyed our time together as a family. 8 adults and 3 children aged between 2 and 5 months. The house is tired and requires some work, kitchen utensils require updating, dishwasher needs cleaning and rinse aid and salt added. Downstairs toilet needs fixing to name a few.

    Web photos are accurate & up to date. All 5 toilets are working. No report made during or after the stay about the ‘many faults’ or the toilet for that matter, so not sure what is being referred to in this review which will be published on the internet. We have been given NO opportunity to correct any ‘supposed’ faults and when we arrived at the end of the stay, nothing appeared to need correcting or mending. Kitchen Utensils and crockery are of a decent standard & well supplied (and other reviews have commented positively on this). Our house keepers keep the Cleanliness and linen to a very high standard so we have no concerns here. See other guest reviews for FAIR comments because this guest has either reviewed the wrong property or is purposefully attempting to be derogatory to cause harm to our business. They also left the house in a great deal of mess, with items broken (beds damaged). We have blocked them from ever returning because of this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen2.8May 2022

  • "Excellent property for large groups."

    The cottage was very spacious, clean and well presented. We loved the large garden and the games room is a great touch. The only problem we had was the shower in the downstairs en suite being too hot too use but as there is plenty of bathrooms this wasn't a major issue, but the owner will need to look at this. We have a great stay and I would recommend it to others.

    Thank you for your kind feedback, we are glad you had a nice time. Apologies about the downstairs shower and thank you for pointing it out. ….An update on both showers in en-suites in the main house - the middle thermostatic tap becomes stiff when the shower is running. It turns easily anti-clockwise but is a bit stiff clock wise to turn the cold up. Sorry for that inconvenience and we hope it doesn’t stop you returning in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Beth4.7May 2022

  • "We loved staying in this property."

    The rooms were very clean and were a good size for a large group meaning everyone could sit together in the living room and dining room, plus there were also plenty of bathrooms for a big group. The garden is spacious and very sunny, and it's gated so feels nicely private too

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. You’re welcome to return any time. If you state your previous booking reference and dates, Sykes will contact us to discuss a discount. Enjoy the rest of your sunny summer! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanna5.0May 2022

  • "We visited in April & I would agree with all the previous positive reviews in that this is a lovely property in an attractive village with all the attractions listed in the description."

    It is spacious & well-equipped & can comfortably accommodate the number of guests listed with plenty of space for family groups to meet up. However, I would also agree that the property feels ‘tired and requires some work’. There were multiple small issues, for example, the kitchen window handles were all loose to the point that I had to tighten them up in case one of them fell off while opening/closing the windows & the oven in the annexe kitchen was not working (I appreciate that things break down, however this information should have been included at time of booking or at least prior to arrival in case the facility was needed). Overall, the property felt in need of a bit of TLC & the level of general maintenance made me feel that I should have brought a toolkit & had a good check over the place. Also, the fact that there is a high chair & travel cot available was not included in the property description, which would have been useful to know this to save our family bringing their own.

    Reviewed by Mark3.8Apr 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, would benefit from larger patio area, fantastic size garden, slight issues with hot water."

    Also would prefer some plastic cups & plates for the young children. We all had a great time.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you had a great time in our lovely cottage! Plastic kids/garden cups is a good idea, and we have added some already. Thank you for the idea. We’ll add plates etc for next year at the latest. Yes we agree a bigger patio would be lovely, but the cost is prohibitive at the moment. Maybe for next summer. We have since realised that the 2 (out of 5 electric showers) are a bit fiddly and once the shower is on the clockwise rotation of the thermostat needs a bit of force to turn the heat down. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Apr 2022

  • "We’ve just returned from a fabulous break at this cottage."

    There were 13 of us celebrating a special birthday and plenty of room for us all to comfortably stay. The garden is huge and I can imagine this being fabulous in the summer as there was plenty of outside seating etc. Both the cottage and annex were really well equipped, extremely clean and we appreciated little touches like tea, coffee and milk which were very welcome until the Tesco shop arrived! We did have an issue with some of the radiators not working but both Sykes and the owner were great and this was quickly dealt with. It’s worth using the phone box opposite the property as guide (especially in the dark) and there was a handy manual to help us navigate the TV etc. I was badly let down at the last minute by another letting company but I cannot recommend Sykes or this property highly enough. Thank you again for a wonderful stay!

    Thank you for a lovely review. We hope you come back soon! If you could like to book again we can offer some discount, please contact Sykes and give your booking reference and dates of stay and they will contact us to apply a discount. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma4.7Jan 2022

  • "We had a fantastic week at this property, with 14 of us plus 2 dogs sharing it for an early family Christmas get together."

    Ages ranged from 20 months to 74 years and everyone was catered for here. The youngsters loved the games room and the dogs loved the large, secure garden. We found everything we needed to cook a full Christmas dinner and were impressed with the range of pots, pans and crockery available. The dining room was perfect and there was a high chair provided for the little one. All the rooms were comfortable and there was plenty of space, seating, bathrooms and showers for everyone. The only room for improvement we found was in terms of the heating, particularly in the annex which had underfloor heating. It would be nice to have a simpler, controllable system which you can adjust more easily. Having said that, it was pretty cold while we were there so we can’t complain we were too hot! All in all, a great place for a large get together and we would certainly stay again.

    Thank you for the great feedback. We agree about the heating, but we are looking into other or additional (simpler) methods in time for the autumn/ winter. If you are interested in returning, we can offer a discount. Just let Sykes know your booking reference and the dates of your stay and they will contact us and apply a discount. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate4.7Dec 2021

  • "West View Cottage."

    Beautiful big house and perfect for a large family or group of friends. We booked for an early birthday celebration and it was ideal. Great kitchen, with a table so you don't feel isolated if you're cooking. Two ovens, but need more shelving racks. Dishwasher but no rinse aid or salt so everything comes out dirty. Tried contacting Sykes twice on the Saturday and got a message on the Sunday day about tablets, which wasn't what I contacted them about. Complimentary milk, sugar, tea, coffee sachets. Plus washing up liquid, 2 tea towels, sponge, cloth and dishwasher tablets. Water pressure is rubbish and we had no hot water from Sunday lunch and still none before we left Monday morning. So trying to wash up using numerous kettles of water when you've made a full on Christmas dinner and no working dishwasher wasn't fun, plus no baths or showers for anyone. 2 huge fridges and small freezer, loads of cupboards. Lots of pots, pans, plates, cutlery etc most utensils but no tin opener. Dining room is huge and great for all eating together. Highchair available too which was perfect for our toddler. Living room is big, sofas need bolting together to stop them separating. Huge TV has sky and netflix. Drawers have jigsaw puzzles. A curtain to 'close' over the hallway/living room would be great as in the evening you get a draft when sitting on the sofa. Blankets would be of been a good touch too. Games room is great for pool, snooker, darts and poker. Plus a basket with a few games. Definitely ideal for older children/teens and adults. Utilty room (we never used) had a washing machine and tumble dryer. Downstairs bedroom with wet room ensuite was great, but tight with a travel cot (our issue not the cottage). Bedrooms upstairs all seemed good sizes. All beds made and come with 2 towels each, a small bath towel and hand towel. Bath sheets would have been better, so you can go to/from if wanting to return to your room without changing. Heating - DO NOT TOUCH IT!!!!!! The Friday night when we arrived was boiling so turned down heating, evening was then chilly, Saturday morning was freezing, turned up heating and took 6 hours to go up 1 degree. But late afternoon it was warm and comfortable. Water - no idea how to work it, there was no instructions, but from Sunday midday we had no hot water at all. So no one could shower or bath. We couldn't wash up properly and had to keep boiling the kettle for hot water. All toilets/bathrooms had 1 toilet roll. Spares would have been good or to be informed to take your own. The annex was lovely, single bed needs to be moved away from wall to sleep otherwise you get a draft. No TV, conservatory area was really cold, but has doors to close off. Underfloor heating was lovely. Garden was huge and also wraps around the house. Book says about garden games but we never found any. The slide was good, but unfortunately the trampoline was out of service due to previous guests in the summer slashing it (according to the book), which was a shame as kids would have loved it, especially as it was ground level. Parking... the gates open towards you, and lots of space once through but tight to turn around. We stayed at the house all weekend and was lovely not driving anywhere, a few went for walks and we went along to the village park (20min walk), which was good to get out for some fresh air even though the park was a little run down the kids loved it. Would be great if there was a radio or similar in the kitchen and dining room for background music. Overall we had a great weekend away and the house was perfect for getting together. Just a shame about the dishwasher and no hot water.

    Thank you for your kind comments, I agree it is a beautiful and spacious home, & we are very proud of it. Also, thank you for acknowledging that we do provide complimentary milk, sugar, tea, coffee, washing up liquid, tea towels, sponge, dish cloth & dishwasher tablets, plus (of course) towels and bedding (with the beds made up). These things are not always provided at self-catering accommodation, so thanks again for mentioning it. If I may, I would like to address your other comments: OVEN RACKS: 2 single ovens with 2 racks each. i.e. 4 racks in total. This is fairly standard but I will see if I can find a third for each oven. DISHWASHER: As mentioned we provide complimentary dishwasher tablets which are classed as ‘All-in-One’ so rinse aid & salt should not be needed. However, we have now added these and put the dishwasher through a clean cycle. We believe it is working ok now. SHOWERS: There are 5 showers in the property & 3 of these are electric showers that would ALWAYS yield hot water. Only 2 out of the 5 would run cold if the tank hot water runs out. HOT WATER: Apologies with regard to this, the hot water is heated twice a day (2pm & 2am) and we acknowledge this may not be sufficient for a group of up to 14. We have now changed the setting to heat on demand, in addition to the 2am/2pm settings. HEATING: Instructions are present next to the thermostat and in the brochure, so unsure why a comment was made that there are no instructions. We have a big sign saying DO NOT TOUCH parts of the thermostat and ONLY to use the up/down buttons if really necessary, this is so it is not accidently turned off. As an Air-Source Heat Pump, the settings are not intuitive and the heating and hot water have been turned off by guests accidently more than once. We provide 6 electric heaters as backup in case guests need a boost of heat. TOWELS: We provide 2 towels per person (28 in total), both are fluffy and soft. The hand towel is white & the bath towel is a colour that coordinates with the bedding & décor of the bedrooms. We have had quite a few positive remarks about the bedding & towels, so it was disappointing to read this. If the bath towels were upgraded to bath sheets it would increase the amount of washing, time between lets and costs. More washing is also not good for the environment. I will ask for a comment to be added to Sykes web site that the larger of the two towels is a standard size bath towel. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Melinda4.4Nov 2021

  • "We loved staying at this cottage it was amazing."

    The only gripes were beds were far too soft so no one slept well couches were too springy needed one more foot rest and to be velcro together. On plus side games room, dining room, kitchen were all amazing. Owners sorted a little issue super fast and were amazingly friendly. We would love to come back

    Thank you for saying our cottage is amazing; it is lovely to read that, and you would be very welcome to return. Thank you also for your kind comments on the games room, dining room & kitchen too! I am sorry you found the beds too soft; they are of mid level support because we are catering for so many different comfort levels, but apologies that this was not the best for you. Ditto with the sofa; some guests enjoy a nice big squashy sofa, but I appreciate it might not be to everyone’s taste. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa4.4Nov 2021

  • "Please be aware of the neighbours who like to complain about everything and anything."

    I note that you gave the cottage 100% in your feedback so It seems the neighbours did not spoil your enjoyment. We apologise if they did. As you will have seen, the cottage & its boundaries are several metres from the neighbouring properties, and the garden extends back well away from the neighbours houses (by approximately 150 metres), so it is hard to believe there could be significant disturbance. We have CCTV for security but it also allows us to keep track of ‘real’ issues verses unreasonable neighbourhood complaints. We have owned and developed the ‘shack’ into a beautiful property over 22 years. We have also lived In it family as our children where growing up. The neighbours have always complained, even when our children played in the garden and, perhaps, made a bit of playful noise. We have always felt it unreasonable and tantamount to bullying, so we now take further neighbourhood complaints with a pinch of salt. Please Just enjoy your stay. Try not to make too much noise after hours or play beep-Bop music in the day, rev’ car engines and remember the neighbours have an unreasonably historic grievance about us developing the house to the beautiful place it is today so It’s not you. Just enjoy, but be good. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jul 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, well presented."

    We loved the big garden, for cricket and water fights! We loved the annex for grandma and granddad to get a lie in! (Although permanently on heating was a bit hard on warmer days and nights) One small thing in these difficult times is maybe to supply hand soap at more of the sinks

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Jul 2021

  • "The garden was wonderful - we had great weather and the children were able to play outside on the trampoline and large grassy area."

    However, it would have been helpful if there had ben at least a couple of dishwasher tablets to get us started, a kitchen roll and more than one dishtowel for 12 people. Alternatively warn visitors that they shield bring such items. There were no instructions for the TV.

    Reviewed by Bryan4.7May 2021

  • "Ideal peaceful setting for a family holiday."

    Loved spending quality time together in beautiful surroundings. Lovely house, lovely garden.

    Thank you Susan, this is a lovely review. If you are interested in returning, we can offer a discount. Just let Sykes know your booking reference and the dates of your stay and they will contact us and apply a discount. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Oct 2020

  • "Even better than description - perfect place and perfect setting - just wow!"

    Thank you Gaynor! If you are interested in returning, we can offer a discount. Just let Sykes know your booking reference and the dates of your stay and they will contact us and apply a discount. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gaynor5.0Sep 2020

  • "Lovely house."

    The owners should promote more the superb gated back garden/field. Children and adults had hours of fun playing sport and generally being outside in a safe environment. One highlight was stargazing spotting numerous shooting stars and satellites.2 minor negatives games room light too low spot light for darts board would be good and a short cue for pools table. Family had a great holiday good weather helped.

    Hi Michael. Yes, we take on board the head Height of the light near the dart board and will alter it as soon as we can. We are currently reviewing the pool table as this has been significantly damaged by some guests. We may change this to another game e.g. ping pong… but all is to be concerned. However, if we keep a pool table we’ll get some short cues. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Aug 2020

  • "As a group of 12 adults the property was ideal and was far better than our expectations."

    It easily accommodated 12 people and looked like it had only recently been renovated. Good quality towels, bedding and toiletries were provided and it was spotlessly clean. The grounds opened up into a large area and this was great for outdoor games. It had an electrically operated gated driveway and ample parking for 6+ cars. Communication with the owner was very good and we have no hesitation in recommending West View Cottage

    Thank you for your kind comments! If you are interested in returning, we can offer a discount. Just let Sykes know your booking reference and the dates of your stay and they will contact us and apply a discount. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Jul 2020

  • "The property was excellent and accommodated us all very well."

    I think the description on the web site could be improved as the property far exceeds the description. No mention of Netflix, sky Q, trampoline, games or football net

    Thank you for your great comments. If you are interested in returning, we can offer a discount. Just let Sykes know your booking reference and the dates of your stay and they will contact us and apply a discount. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maxine5.0Mar 2020

  • "We had a very good time, nice clean house, well worth for the price"

    Thank you. We have now added locks to all bathrooms. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Seyed Mohamed5.0Feb 2020

Show more Hide all


  • Main house: Five bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor super-king-size (zip/link, can be two singles upon request) with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x first-floor room with king-size bed and en-suite shower, basin and WC, 2 x first-floor super-king-size (zip/link, can be singles upon request), 1 x first-floor twin
  • Ground-floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • First-floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner with electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher
  • Utility cupboard with washing machine & tumble dryer
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with flat screen TV, SkyQ, Netflix and complimentary WiFI
  • Games room with pool table, darts board, poker table, cards, dice, chips & board games
  • All ground-floor annexe with one double bed and en-suite shower, basin & WC, kitchen, sitting room & conservatory
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen inc. in rent
  • Towels are not provided
  • Ample off-road parking
  • Large private lawned garden and patio area with furniture
  • Garden games and children's play
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 3.5 miles and pub 0.75 miles
  • Please note: There is external CCTV for security at the property
  • Please Note: We are unable to accept groups of workmen at this property
  • Please note: Bed configuration requests need to be made a week in advance of your arrival
  • Please note: This property does not allow stag/hen do's or groups all under 30 or similar, unless agreed at the time of booking with the owner
  • Please note: This booking cannot accept booking within 7 days of arrival.

The property

Linton 4.5 miles.

Settled in the charming village of West Wickham, in the Cambridgeshire district, is this wonderful property, West View Cottage.

This heart-warming retreat is perfect for a family seeking a traditional getaway to an area steeped with natural beauty and resting close to the borders of Essex and Suffolk for a wide-range of attractions.

The property is split between the main house and the annexe, both of which have been completely renovated into contemporary base with high-quality fixtures and fittings.

Entering the main house, choose to spend your evenings in the large sitting room which comes with a large corner sofa where all the guests can cosy up and enjoy a family movie night with the benefit of the wall-mounted TV.

If you fancy a game night or a family meal, the dining room has more than enough seating for all guests and makes for the perfect sociable space.

Step into the well-equipped kitchen which has been fitted to a high-standard with plenty of preparation space, as well as a breakfast table and dishwasher.

Also on the ground floor is a games room with a pool table and dart board, board games and poker board, something that is sure to provide enough entertainment for you all.

Central to the hall is a small wood beamed study area with fire place, corner desk unit, charging stations and a small array of books.

The property has five well-presented bedrooms, set up as either super-king-sizes or twins, some of which have zip and link features to accommodate all types of guests wishing to stay here.

Across the lawned garden is the detached annexe property which can sleep two guests with a double bed.

For some quiet time you can use the smart annexe sitting room to enjoy reading a good book, or enjoy the views of the garden from the delightful conservatory.

This annexe also comes with its own well-equipped kitchen, including a dishwasher as an added benefit so you don't have to wash up yourself!

During the summer months, choose to spend an afternoon out in the large garden area soaking up the sun rays and dining alfresco.

While you're in the area, travel into the city centre of Cambridge which comes with a whole host of popular tourist attractions that are a must-see during your visit.

If you're looking for a spot of culture, visit The Fitswilliam Museum, the Sedwick Museum of Earth Sciences or even the University Museum of Zoology.

Enjoy a country walk with your fury companions at Cambridge University Botanic Garden, or the Mathematical Bridge.

West View Cottage is the ultimate choice for a family break to Cambridgeshire.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £500.

View on map

About the location


Saffron Walden 6.2 miles; Cambridge 10.8 miles; Bury St Edmunds 26.7 miles

Linton is a delightful village and civil parish, resting in Cambridgeshire, on the border alongside Essex. The dormitory village of Cambridge has grown rapidly since the 1960s, and now offers a good range of amenities and attractions for its guests. There are a variety of cuisines on offer, varying from indulgent Indian restaurants to quaint cafés alongside pubs, there's something for every taste. If you're wanting to cook for yourself, the village also offers a selection of shops where you can gather produce for your own lovingly-made meal. For a family-fun day out, be sure to visit Linton Zoo where you can find animals of all kinds and even dinosaurs, making a brilliant day trip for all. Explore the village's art gallery, or for a truly cultural experience, venture into the city of Cambridge, famed for its prestige university, there's plenty here to keep all ages entertained with a large selection of art galleries presenting enticing exhibitions, a scatter of museums including The Fitzwilliam Museum, Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology and the Polar Museum. As well as boasting a brilliant cultural experience, you can browse the area by bike and take in the beauty of its architecture up close before ending your day in one of its many eateries. Historic Bury St Edmunds can also be reached via a scenic car journey, with its abbey ruins, Suffolk's only cathedral, a wonderful theatre and plenty of shopping experiences, it's well-worth a visit. Encompassed by a variety of quaint villages and towns to explore, Linton is wonderfully positioned for a trip to Cambridgeshire.

Please note: There is external CCTV for security at the property.
Please Note: We are unable to accept groups of workmen at this property.
Please note: Bed configuration requests need to be made a week in advance of your arrival. Please note: This property does not allow stag/hen do's or groups all under 30 or similar, unless agreed at the time of booking with the owner.
Please note: This booking cannot accept booking within 7 days of arrival.

Towels are not provided at this property

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Christmas