- Hot tub
- Off road parking
- Ground floor accommodation
- Ground floor bedroom
- Open fire
- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
35 Customer Reviews
"The lodge was just like going into a tree house, prefect placing for a quiet get ..."
The lodge was just like going into a tree house, prefect placing for a quiet get away, it was nice to be in with the wild life, some areas of the Lodge are getting a bit worn now, it just needs some care and attention in places, but say that the beds are well comfy and our stay was just what we needed, thank you so much x
Thank you so much for leaving us your thoughts Sarah, I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing stay at 8 Streamside! Thank you for letting us know that the lodge needs a little attention, I will make sure this suggestion is passed to the appropriate person. I hope despite the signs of wear, you would come back to stay with us again in the future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner
"Had a fabulous stay at stonerush lakes."
This is the second time we have stayed here and was not disappointed. The cabins are beautiful and comfy . Very well equipped. The reception is very helpful, Fiona was great with us. Fabulous location. Already looking into booking again next year.
I am delighted you enjoyed your return visit to Stonerush Lakes and loved staying at 8 Streamside, Lindsay. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and experiences with us. I can't wait to welcome you back again next year. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner
"Brilliant location within the site - end lodge with decking in the trees above stream and good distance from other lodges, giving alot of privacy."
Hot tub superb and maintained daily. On site eatery excellent including good range of vegan options. Will definately return.
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback Ginette, I an truly happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at 8 Streamside and that you were able to visit the restaurant at the Old Mill and make full use of the gorgeous hot tub! Please hurry back! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner
"Relaxing place to call home for a week Everything we needed great places yo visit weather brilliant"
I am delighted to hear that you had a peaceful and relaxing stay at 8 Streamside and you were able to take full advantage of the beautiful weather to explore the surrounding area! I hope you will be back to see us soon! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner
"A lovely location and we will return but again (same last year) the cleanliness of the lodges on this site is not great."
The essentials are fine I.e. bedding and bathroom but the kitchen felt grubby, dust and cobwebs and the floor a bit sticky!
Thank you for leaving us your thoughts Siobhan, we really do appreciate your feedback. I am so sorry you had issues with the cleanliness of your lodge again this year, I have passed all your comments on to our external housekeeping team, so that these problems are rectified. I am really happy to hear that despite your findings, you will come back and stay with us again. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner
"Overall nice lodge, mostly clean and well kept."
En-suite could do with a deep clean though. Secluded position at end of Hedgerows. Everything as it should be but would have appreciated a couple of extra blankets- as it was a chilly Easter. Dishwasher went wonky but site maintenance fixed it very quickly. Spa pool well maintained.
Thank you for leaving us your thoughts Debra, we really do appreciate you taking the time to do so. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing stay, despite the issues you encountered. I'm so sorry that I was not aware that you would have liked a couple of extra blankets, if I had known I would have made sure that some were provided for you. I also apologise once more for the dishwasher problem and the below standard cleaning of your en-suite. I truly hope you will return to visit us again soon. I have passed on your lovely comment about the hot tub to the spa team for you, as I know they will be pleased. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner
"Lovely, cosy, well-equipped lodge in a great location with several lovely places to visit within a few miles."
We were unlucky with the weather and the pub on site being closed was disappointing as it looked lovely, but we very much enjoyed our stay and will be looking to return in the summer months. The facilities team were extremely attentive and quick to respond to our email queries. Thank you for a lovely stay!
I'm so thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay at 8 Streamside despite the appalling weather we had during your visit! Once again I'm so sorry that you were unable to use the facilities at the site. I hope when you come back to stay with us again, you come in to experience our newly refurbished bar and restaurant. We look forward to seeing you! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner
"Really enjoyed our stay in the lodge."
Everything you needed was catered for and the lodge is tucked out the way at the end of the row so privacy was excellent. The beds are really comfy and the hot tub was lovely on an evening. I would definitely recommend staying here, you will not regret it.
Thank you for your feedback and delighted to hear you would recommend staying here Property Owner
"TV screen covered in dust, work surfaces a bit sticky Some of the plates a bit ..."
TV screen covered in dust, work surfaces a bit sticky Some of the plates a bit dirty should be checked before next booking arrives But otherwise clean, showers really powerful enjoyed the use of the hot tub
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback we will pass these across to our cleaning team. We are glad you enjoyed the lodge and hot tub overall. Property Owner
"We had a great time here, the lodge was the one on the end of a row, felt like you were in a treehouse with the trees outside the decking."
We arrived early and decided to have a drink in the bar, sat outside on the decking overlooking the pond, very peaceful and lucky for us the sun was out and we had some ducklings come around the pond to watch. We headed down to the lodge after this, easy access to the lodge and was pleasantly surprised with the size once inside of the lodge.bedrooms were roomy, very soft mattresses. We ordered some food for collection, this was done via email as there is no phone signal at all, WiFi was great though, so phone calls home done via WiFi. Side note, the burger was the best I've had for some time,highly recommend getting this. The menu for the rest of the week wasn't to our liking, alot of fish, but we were out and about anyway. So much to see on the doorstep with walks. The rescue / zoo was a good day out. The lost gardens of heligan is a must see. Back to the lodge. Unfortunately there was quite alot of marks on the floor, walls and cupboards. There was a black mildew around the kitchen sink, not the best design of sink, But must stress this did not detract from our stay, we had a great time. The hot tub was great to relax in after being out all day, a bit too hot on first day but was sorted straight away on asking maintenence the next morning. Will definitely be booking in the future.
Thank you for such a good review we are glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay from arrival at the Old Mill Bar and Restaurant through to visiting some of the places that Cornwall has to offer. We are glad you would definitely book again and look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner
"Firstly we would like to say that the setting and site is absolutely lovely and peaceful and that the lodge generally is very nice and also well equipped."
Sadly however, what could have been a fantastic 4 night break was let down by what appeared to be a total lack of attention to detail. One of the key factors for us in choosing a lodge is a hot tub. Unfortunately we were met with a virtually cold tub and after several visits to reception the matter was finally sorted such that it was just under 24 hours after our arrival that the hot tub became usable meaning that this key facility was absent for 25% of our stay. The cleanliness was not as good as we have seen at other lodge sites we have stayed at. Much of the cutlery was dirty and had to be rewashed, the kitchen surfaces were very sticky and it seemed the cleaners had done very little cleaning - they had even failed to see a pair of socks lying in the middle of the bedroom floor!! The foam cushions on the outside seating had all been left out in the rain and were therefore totally unusable so, in conjunction with the hot tub issue, this meant that our outdoor space was basically unusable for much of the time which was extremely disappointing.This was reported shortly after arrival but we were told nothing could be done. The plug in the ensuite bathroom wash basin wouldn't stay down rendering it useless. It was reported but never fixed. On more subjective matters, which are preferences and observations rather than complaints, we found the mattress on the double bed to be very uncomfortable. We can see from previous feedbacks that this has been mentioned before but seemingly never addressed. The main bedroom also has a skylight with a blind that seemed to be stuck part way across (and beyond reach) that meant that by about 5 am the bedroom was drenched in daylight making sleep very difficult. Finally the site reception never seems to be open at the advertised times - a complaint echoed by several other people queuing outside at the same time as us and when we phoned the number given it remained unanswered which was very frustrating.
We would like to thank you for taking the time in leaving your comments, we will look in to the points raised and will ensure the cleanliness does improve. We will look into the mattress it is always difficult as personal preference is not always the same for all. There is a storage box to the rear of the lodge for the outdoor cushions. We do have regular hours for the Reception but sometimes they may be called away to assist with urgent matters. Thank you once again. Property Owner
"We really enjoyed our stay - so much so that we are now considering buying a lodge at Stonerush lakes."
It was a little disappointing that the takeaway service was not available at the Mill restaurant (but I realise that is temporary and normal service will be resumed soon). I would also recommend that a dust pan and brush and oven gloves are provided at the lodge.
We are glad you really enjoyed your stay and would consider owning your own lodge. The Takeaway is now up and running. Dustpan and oven mitt have also been put in the accommodation. Property Owner
"The property and location is absolutely amazing!"
Waking up every morning to the sound of the stream outside was wonderful. Only thing we would suggest is maybe get some lights put outside for the decking
We agree the location is amazing and thank you for your fantastic comments. It is much appreciated when we receive positive feedback makes everything worthwhile. Thank you Property Owner
"This is the 3 rd time we’ve stayed in 8 Streamside and as always we absolutely loved it."
It’s so cosy, private and just perfect! Utility’s are enough we have everything we need to lock ourselves away for a long weekend! Until the next time (which will be some time soon) Thanks for helping us to create more lovely memories ❤️
We are glad you enjoyed your third stay with us and are creating lovely memories, we hope to welcome you back again soon. Many thanks Property Owner
"We enjoyed our stay a lot."
The place is comfortable and very well equipped with every need considered. A couple of observations: 1. The front door could do with a blind/screen for nighttime privacy 2. The oven appears to struggle with reaching the indicated temperatures - cooking was far slower than expected Also Feedback onn Sykes - the departure warning arrived 26 hours before we planned to leave throwing us into early morning panic about an incorrect booking. the ideal timing would be 16 hours
Thank you for your feedback points. Apologies for the early feedback request, there was a technical error. We hope to see you again. Property Owner
"Lovely lodge in a quiet location, lovely to have the log burner and the hot tub."
There are a couple of things that let the lodge down which is just a bit of upkeep really, some damage to the wood on the veranda and some places within the lodge . The standard of cleanliness was not good enough , we found a clump of hair on the tiles in the bathroom which showed the tiles had not been cleaned before we arrived and the windows had lots of dirty marks on them If these things were rectified I would give it 10 out of 10
Thank you for your feedback we will pass them on to our housekeeping and maintenance team and ensure standards are raised in the future. We hope you would return again. Property Owner
"We did not use the facilities on sight but the cabin was amazing."
The hot tub was lovely. When we arrived it was too hot however this was sorted the next day. The cabin itself was clean and well maintained.
"The location was perfect and the lodge and deck area with hot tub were great."
Beautiful walks and loads of wildlife. Restaurant was first class. Only problem was with the cleaning of the property prior to our arrival. Fingerprints all over the gloss kitchen units so hadn’t been cleaned which considering the current COVID-19 situation was a bit worrying. Sink push plugs were full of sludge which backed up into the sink. There was food dried onto the bedding in all 3 beds too. Reception/restaurant didn’t andswer the phone and were closed at times when it said open. The shower also backed up and over spilled, it hadn’t been cleaned well either. These are however small issues although I did expect higher standard of cleaning.
"We had a really nice holiday and the position of the lodge is amazing with the squirrels and the deer and listening to the owl and watching the bats it was a lovely lovely time."
The only downside is the sofas are extremely uncomfortable and almost unusable as they are so soft and the back of the sofa is so far from the front that we spent the whole week sitting in deck chairs with pillows behind us so really that was very much a negative to both of us.
"We really enjoyed our stay especially the hot tub"
"We had an awesome week in this gorgeous lodge at Stonerush Lakes, we felt very secluded and relaxed and enjoyed being up close with nature."
We particularly liked the fact our outward view was unspoilt and we felt a million miles from anyone else. We were slightly disappointed with the cleanliness in a few places, the oven was in need of a deep clean and the shower head In the ensuite was black with mould. We also feel the cladding around the decking requires some attention as it's rotting and exposes the workings of the hottub, spoiling the overall appearance of the cabin. All this said, in no way did it ruin our experience in anyway, we had a great time and we would definately book to go again.
"It was a really lovely lodge and perfect for a relaxation break."
It was well equipped and clean and nice quality - fluffy towels etc. Only a couple of negatives, the bed really squeaked and there were no options for public transport so had to drive everywhere for the site. Would go again though if needed to completely chill out.
"Beautiful lodge with lovely views and very secluded."
Some of the glasses were a bit mucky on arrive however looked like dishwasher marks. The site itself is lovely and feels safe,although the entrance gate was never locked. The hot tub was fantastic and would book again just for that. The master bedroom pillows and mattress however need replacing as they are shocking to sleep on. However the ones in the spare room are perfect. The shower in the family bathroom is fantastic but the shower does leak as the seal on the glass isn’t firm. The shower in the en-suite just sprayed everywhere. Everything considered however this lodge was lovely and we would return.
"The listing suggests the property has WiFi at one point but then says it doesn’t later on in the listing."
I contacted Sykes to get clarification twice, but received no reply. In comparison to another property I’ve stayed at on the same site (Stonerush Lakes), this one is poorly equipped. A collection of mismatched crockery and glassware, very limited kitchen utensils, which I found still caked with food in the drawer. The dishwasher doesn’t work properly - dishwasher tablets don’t dissolve when you put them in the tablet drawer. It only works when you put the tablet in the cutlery rack. The pillows in the main bedroom are paper thin and the mattress is so soft, I think the springs have gone. It was incredibly uncomfortable. The setting itself is wonderful. Almost nested in the trees, with squirrels, birds and even a resident owl. I’d recommend the site, but not this particular property. It looks like it’s one of the earlier ones and needs some love and investment to freshen it up.
"Lodges very nicely spaced out making them very private."
Ideal base from which to explore. Eatery on site much appreciated.
"We enjoyed the privacy and peacefulness of the location."
Could hear the stream babbling along whilst watching the bats flying around, we enjoyed listening to the frogs and owls. It was like being in the treetops. Will be back.
"The lodge is very private but it's very dark because of the trees if a little of ..."
The lodge is very private but it's very dark because of the trees if a little of the tops could be trimmed to let the sun though it would make it perfect ,you get everything you need ,very much enjoyed our stay
"A perfect and idyllic location."
"Great location and lodge."
I was however disappointed to find that the washing machine still had not been repaired or replaced and is mentioned in earlier reviews. The shower trap in the en-suite vents drain smells into the lodge if the shower is not ran at least once a day. The double mattress needs replacing as there is a lumpy dip on one side. There is no WiFi as advertised. General cleaning shows a lack of attention and would be nice to have a mid week clean and some fresh towels. We did not feel welcomed at the old mill, it felt like she did not want us there. These in my opinion are some minor points that would make this an amazing location and lodge please start reading your reviews!!!!!! All in all we had a great holiday.
"Absolutely stunning location cosey lodge, leaving us feeling relaxed and secluded - just what we needed!"
The lodge itself is perfect for s couple and there are plenty of beautiful beaches within driving distance. The restaurant on site serves delicious food and overlooks a small lake. Staff are really friendly. Only downside is there's no WiFi or phone signal at Streamside as advertised. We had to leave the site for phone signal but could pick up WiFi at the restaurant. It didn't bother us and was s nice change but we were initially expecting a connection as it was advertised. The washing machine wouldn't drain so couldn't wash clothes, this had previously been reported by a guest but it hadn't been fixed. Lodge could do with a few more cooking utensils and equipment. Had such a good time and already looking at when we could come back again!
"Amazing cosy lodge, fabulous food in the restaurant"
"1. Dirty washing up left in dishwasher."
2.Broken washing machine full of stale water. (Reported on day two but not fixed as promised) 3.Dirty chopping board smeared with jam. 4.Dirty/greasy grill pan. 5. Heavily stained mugs. 6.Very dirty, dishevilled patio and patio furniture. 7. No WiFi in lodge as advertised. 8. Broken uplighter. 9. No oven gloves. 10. No instruction books for oven,washing machine or dishwasher. 11.previous three guests feedback forms in accommodation with email details/names etc. 12. Unable to contact Flint management company as only given phone numbers and no mobile signal at site. All the above complaints relayed to reception at Stonerush on second day of holiday as unable to phone management company. General cleanliness ok but an unacceptable lack of attention to detail.
"Had a fabulous weekend will definitely be back Only down side lodge opposite arrived early Saturday morning woke us up, had 3 cars and took our parking space then made lots of noise."
"We didn’t want to leave and will go back at he next available opportunity!"
"Very quiet and relaxing holiday."
No phone signal anywhere, so if you can't live without your mobile this is not the place for you.
There are no reviews featuring this term Show all reviews
- All ground floor, with steps down and up to the lodge
- Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double with TV and en-suite shower, basin, and WC, 1 x twin
- Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
- Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburner.
- Gas central heating with woodburner
- Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 2 x TVs with Freeview, DVD
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Guests need to bring their own woodburner fuel
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Travel cot (no mattress) and highchair available to hire
- Off road parking for 1 car on steep drive next to the lodge
- Decked terrace with table, chairs and private hot tub
- No smoking
- Two well behaved dogs welcome
- Shop 4 miles, on-site restaurant/pub 5-minute walk
- Check-in 4pm, check-out 10am
- Wi-Fi - high speed broad band
- Note: The parking for the property is up a steep driveway
- Note: Whilst the property is all on one floor, there are steps to the property itself
- Note: Due to balcony terrace and as there are lakes and open water on site children must be supervised at all times
- Note: BBQ’s are not to be brought to the site
- Note: Pets to be kept on a lead at all times on site
- Note: The charging of electric vehicles is not permitted
- Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.
8 Streamside is a contemporary lodge, nestled in to the edge of woodland on the 28 acres of Stonerush Lakes and flanked by a stream.
Only two miles from Lanreath in Cornwall, it is a perfect base for couples, friends, and families exploring the region and relaxing in the peaceful countryside.
The cosy lodge opens out on to a secluded decked terrace, with a sunken hot tub, and the floor to ceiling windows carry the woodland idyll inside as well as inviting light in through the open plan living, dining, and kitchen area and the bedrooms of the lodge.
The kitchen is well-equipped for whipping up family meals, and you can gather around the table inside or make use of the outside furniture and eat alfresco on the private terrace.
With enough comfy seating in the living area for everyone, it is easy to get cosy by the woodburner or settle after a long day of exploring the region.
The master bedroom has a touch of luxury with its own Freeview TV, a modern en-suite shower room, and a plush king-size bed.
Along the hall is a comfortable twin bedroom, and a family bathroom with both bath and shower over.
Stonerush Lakes has The Old Mill, its own restaurant and bar, on site serving high quality regional fare, and a pool table and darts available to use there too.
The nearby village of Lanreath has a community run village shop, and there is a wealth of traditional country pubs in the vicinity to take advantage of.
The site has plenty of local walks right from the doorstep and, only a short trip further afield, Looe, Fowey, and Polperro are all archetypal Cornish coastal destinations, with easy access to beautiful heritage coastline and great beaches.
A perfect base for exploring the surrounding area, this stylish lodge is ideal for relaxing together, be it in the hot tub, tucked up in front of the woodburner, or cosied up in bed watching the woodland outside.
Nestled on the outskirts of the pretty rural village of Lanreath, are these beautiful modern lodges. The properties have undergone extensive renovation to provide a wonderful holiday experience for couples, friends and families alike, where you can enjoy a peaceful and tranquil stay in the heart of the Cornish countryside. Each property benefits from homely sitting rooms where you can curl up with your loved ones and spend the evening catching up with your favourite TV shows, cook up delicious home-cooked meals in the well-equipped kitchens and have those family gatherings at the dining table over a well-deserved glass of champagne. Discover a range of well-presented bedrooms, with modern beds so you can get some much needed rest for the day's ahead, whilst also offering plenty of modern furniture for your personal items. Outside, there are private garden areas where you can enjoy a spot of alfresco dining with a refreshing drink of an evening, some of which boast hot tubs for that spot of luxury and views across the lakes. Within walking distance of your property lies the Old Mill lakeside bar and restaurant, the perfect opportunity to grab some lunch or an evening meal and enjoy those stunning views across the lake out towards Miller's Island on the outdoor decking area, or keep warm by the woodburning stove. Stonerush Lakes is also nestled around four lakes which feed a meandering stream and offer some of the most picturesque views only a stone's throw away! You are within driving distance of the bustling seaside town of Looe to access some of its most beautiful views across the seaside and plenty of tourist attractions. East Looe Beach is perfect for spending your afternoons sunbathing on the golden sands, swimming in the shallow waters, or taking the opportunity to get involved with Cornwall's favourite sport of surfing! Discover Looe Valley Vineyard for some wine tasting, Looe Island - hugely popular for its nature reserve and abundance of wildlife. The South West Coastal Path is also within reach and is ideal for those keen walkers and cyclists to enjoy the best of both country and coastal sites. Take a tour of the nearby towns of Looe, Polperro and Fowey for a variety of historical sites and amenities nearby. Stonerush Lakes provides an excellent base for those seeking to tour this wonderful part of the Cornish countryside.
Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.
About the location
Pelynt 2 miles; Looe 5 miles; Polperro 6 miles.
Lanreath is a village in southeast Cornwall, five miles west of Looe. Lanreath is rural in character with a local shop and Post Office as well as a parish church. There are a number of ghost stories associated with Lanreath. The best-known features a ghost in black driving a coach pulled by a headless horse. Nearby Pelynt is home to a parish church, a number of local shops and pubs, especially the Jubilee Inn, which was an original farmhouse dating back to the 16th Century. Looe is Cornwall’s second largest fishing port and hence there is always a lively maritime bustle around the quay area of East Looe, which is connected to the quieter West Looe by a seven arched 19th century bridge over the River Looe. The sandy Looe beach adjoins the pier and is very popular with families because of its safe shallow swimming and vast expanse of sand. Polperro is a little further away and is a historic fishing village nestling at the head of a long valley leading down to the sea. With plenty of areas to visit, Lanreath is a quiet, pleasant place offering easy access to the coast, the moors, National Trust properties and Cornwall's famous gardens.
Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.
This property offers the following short breaks:
- Last minute