Secure your Spring 2022 holiday today for just £99

Available on selected breaks taking place between 27th May - 21st July 2022

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Mount Pleasant

Boscastle, Cornwall (Ref. 991586)

5.0

Perfect

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

12 Customer Reviews

  • "Really nice place, lovely and well placed."

    Reviewed by RobertNov 2021

  • "Our group were hugely impressed by Mount Pleasant!"

    Truest, a fabulous accommodation, very clean and had everything we needed. We would definitely go back!

    Reviewed by MichaelOct 2021

  • "Beautiful cottage, had everything that we needed ."

    We would highly recommend it

    Reviewed by PatriciaAug 2021

  • "A brilliant place to stay, great location and everything you need in the cottage for a comfortable stay."

    Reviewed by MichaelAug 2021

  • "Cottage is in a perfect location in Boscastle."

    Plenty of amenities in the village and short day trips in the area. The cottage was well equipped and comfortable. Would recommend it for a family holiday.

    Reviewed by JuneJul 2021

  • "Great location in village close to beautiful clifftops and harbour."

    Nice garden and everything you need was supplied.

    Reviewed by TrevorJun 2021

  • "This was our second stay at Mount Pleasant."

    The cottage is extremely clean and well equipped. Lovey garden and well situated in a quiet lane 5 minutes from the coast path.

    Reviewed by KathyJun 2021

  • "We had a great holiday, the cottage was lovely, clean and well equipped."

    The location was great especially for the dog as there are great coastal walks on your doorstep. We would highly recommend Mount pleasant cottage to our friend and family.

    Reviewed by DeborahAug 2020

  • "As we wrote in the guest book, the house was lovely and well- equipped, with everything we needed for a week's self- catering break."

    The beds were comfortable, the garden well maintained, the living spaces light, airy and spacious: we had no complaints. The last reviewers highlighted the damp, but I would suggest they are adept at making mountains of molehills, since the damp was very minor and to let it run one's holiday one would have to try extremely hard. There was indeed a small patch of damp on the ceiling of the master bedroom, but there was no smell and certainly no chance of water leaking through the roof! (We had enough rain to test this notion). The decor was modern, light and neutral; we really couldn't understand how anyone could be so offended by it as the last reviewers seemed to be. As for the location, it's perfect for exploring boscastle, which is a beautiful and intriguing harbour village which seems to have so far avoided becoming too tourist-dense. It's also striking distance from tintagel, st. Austell, padstow, the Eden project and many other Cornish highlights. All in all, a lovely and highly recommended holiday destination.

    Reviewed by TammyAug 2019

  • "The location of Mount Pleasant was ideal and quiet, away from the main hub of traffic."

    Boscastle is a beautiful place and I would recommend if to anyone for an holiday without hesitation. The locals were very friendly and welcoming. We dined every evening except once at locals, such as The Cobweb, Napoleon Inn and The Wellington and received first class service, and the food was outstanding. There are so many beautiful places to visit in Cornwall and South Devon that a break of at least two weeks should be considered, if not longer. It is our intentions to return as soon as possible.

    Reviewed by AllanAug 2019

  • "Their was clearly a leak in the roof which appeared to have been going on for a while due to the visible damage to the ceiling in the main bedroom (if it had been in the childrens rooms we would have left immediately)."

    It rained on 2 of the nights we were there and we were very concerned. The entire cottage smelled very strongly of damp and there was a lot of mold around - the sofas even felt damp when you sat on them and one of the cushions smelt suspiciously like dog urine. The washing machine was broken when we arrived and wasn't fixed for a few days - the owner was very apologetic about this but is wasn't ideal to not be able to do any washing as there is 5 of us. We very much enjoyed the area but unfortunately due to the issues we left a day early as we didn't want to spend another night in the cottage. I think the owner should seriously consider sorting the issues with the property out. My other half has asma and we probably should have left straight away as the mold is not good for him. On the morning we left I ran the bath water in the upstairs bathroom to find brownish water coming out of the cold water tap. A minor point of taste also but the interior decoration is dreadful and we didn't even unpack as the furniture in the bedrooms looked like it was about to fall apart. Given the amount of money being charged for this property I really expected better than this and am very disappointed. We have 3 children and work hard, we get one holiday a year and feel cheated out of a nice restful break this year!

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback, we have spoken to the owner with regards to the points you raised and they have asked us to pass on the following comments, 'Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback, although we are sorry to hear of your negative experience which is not at all typical of the feedback we have received over the last 5 years. Our housekeeper is scrupulously clean and extremely attentive to any issues arising at the property. Mount Pleasant is a period Cornish Cottage and it is not unusual for there to be a smell of damp in the downstairs paved hall when the house has been shut up. We have not, however, had comments about damp anywhere else in the property, apart from the patch in the main bedroom. A damp specialist company is booked to attend to this in the autumn. There is dehumidifier available in the house which guests are welcome to use, and a quick blast on the heating usually helps also. We were sad to hear about the smell on one of the cushions- again, our housekeeper is extremely vigilant and has since said that this was most likely the sofa in the kitchen-dining area (which dogs are allowed to sit on). This will now be thrown away. It was unfortunate that the water ran brown for a time after some works in the village, although this is not unusual in what is a relatively rural location. We also worked hard to get a replacement washing machine part out on time after it was broken by the previous guests, and it is unfortunate that this overlapped with the start of your stay. We have also noted your points on the furniture and internal décor upstairs- again, you are the first guest in 5 years to make such comments.' Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlainaJul 2019

  • "The cottage we stayed in Mount Pleasant was delightful."

    Very clean and of a high standard. And the garden was great for the dogs. It was situated perfectly for walks and we had a great time exploring North Cornwall. I would highly recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by SheilaJun 2019

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish & Devonshire Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

The property

Mount Pleasant is a beautiful all-white cottage nestled in its own grounds, on the fringes of Boscastle.

Just a 5-mintue walk form the stunning coastal path, this cottage is positioned on a quiet lane, perfect for family and friends seeking a well-earned break in Cornwall.

The traditional flagstone floors sweep through the ground level, and the cosy woodburner warms the lounge with a flickering glow on a cool winter's night.

Head into the red kitchen, which hosts a lovely dining area set for six and integrated fixtures to assist you each day that goes by.

The ground floor shower room is a handy addition to the bathroom on the first floor.

And each of the bedrooms offer lovely furnishings to complement a neutral finish.

Outside the south-facing garden is ideal for afternoon picnics while the children play on the lawn.

It is fully enclosed which means your four-legged friend can enjoy it too!

This seaside village boasts pubs with Cornish real ales, lovely gift shops and walks along the picturesque riverside leading down towards the harbour and Warren Point.

Discover potteries and art galleries along with the Museum of Witchcraft.

Rocky coves, wild surf and open fields to explore, with walking and climbing in abundance overwhelm this fabulous location.

Many beaches around the area offer golden sands in summertime and dramatic scenes in winter.

Tintagel is within easy reach, whose cliffs dominate a small yet popular village, with the legend of King Arthur drifting through the atmosphere.

Discover the castle ruins and stunning landscape, as well as a good choice of places to eat and drink.

A wonderful getaway in an interesting location.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size double, 1 x twin, 1 x single with pull-out stacker bed
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Oil central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, washer/dryer, TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent (Please bring own beach towels)
  • Highchair.Stairgate and cot available (bedding not included) must be requested
  • Ample roadside parking nearby
  • Enclosed front garden with lawn, raised patio, summerhouse and furniture
  • Two well behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 10 mins walk; beach 15 mins walk
  • Note: £100 Good Housekeeping Bond
  • Note: Dogs are welcome downstairs only but not to be left alone in the property unless caged please

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

BOSCASTLE

Tintagel 4 miles; Camelford 6 miles.

A perfect Cornish coastal village, the road through Boscastle runs down to the small harbour at the bottom of the hill. The quaint village shops, local restaurants and pubs offering good food, Cornish real ales and live entertainment by local musicians, make this an ever popular visitor destination. Spectacular cliff tops, rocky coves, wild surf, open fields and rich wildlife characterise this beautiful area. The coastal footpath passes through some of Britain’s most rugged and spectacular coastal scenery. The sandy beaches of Bossiney, Trebarwith Strand and Crackington Haven are all within 5 miles and the surfing beaches at Bude and Polzeath are within easy driving distance. Close at hand lie the delights of Tintagel, swathed in the legends of King Arthur, several stately homes and renowned gardens, or the wide open space of Bodmin Moor, famous for its granite tors and Daphne Du Maurier’s Jamaica Inn.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it