Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 29 minutes ago

Robins Rest

Boscastle, Cornwall (Ref. 1044855)

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Four-poster Bed Four poster bed
  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews

4 Customer Reviews

  • "We found Robin’s Rest a very clean, comfortable and quirky place to stay."

    Feedback from previous reviews had been taken on board and addressed - no damp smell, cooker worked fine, no issues with hot water etc. We didn’t have issues with parking outside the house but it was a very quiet time of year. Very nice to be greeted with biscuits and milk. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by SamuelApr 2021

  • "Light didn't work in the toilet."

    Buttons don't work on the stove you can't set temperature on the hob. Wasn't enough hot water for 3 people to have a shower. Mattresses in the single and twin rooms were terrible you can feel every spring did not sleep well. Yellow stains on matress protectors. Toilet seat is very loose. On entrance to property it smells strongly of damp. Otherwise the cottage was very pleasant and neighbours were lovely. Very nice to have wood provided for the fire would be nice to have more.

    We are very sorry you have not found Robins Rest to your liking, I can promise we are doing all we can to resolve the matters. Our builder is looking into the source of the damp smell and as soon as the property is available we shall carry out a review to ensure comfort for all guests. We are available on the phone to help during your stay and the cottage information folder provides help with extra hot water and where the log burner fuel is stored. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EmanuelSep 2020

  • "The parking for any property in Boscastle is impossible there is none."

    The key safe was empty when we arrived so we couldn’t immediately access the property which after a 3.5hr journey and then another 30mins trying to find somewhere to park left us feeling irritated. Robins rest was neat and tidy but the cutlery in the drawer was dirty. The sieve was covered in rust as was the plunger for the metal cafetière. So we bought coffee bags so we didn’t have to use it. The kitchen is very dark but the lounge and bedrooms were lovely and comfortable.

    Please accept our apologies for the cleaners who took your key, luckily we were able to resolve the mater in 5 minutes. We are situated in the heart of a very old village which is beautiful, however it was not built with cars in mind and unfortunately parking can be difficult. I’m glad you found our cottage comfortable, the cleaners have given the kitchen an extra clean and they will replace any item that’s not up to standard. I think i’ll take the cafetiere back as its only 6 weeks old! Property Owner

    Reviewed by SharonSep 2020

  • "The cottage is lovely, with everything you need for a good holiday."

    Its position at the top of Boscastle is lovely, although the steep walk back up from the village could be an issue for some. Parking is a bit of a problem as the roads are very narrow and there is insufficient space for all the properties. We frequently ended up a considerable distance away, down the steep hill. However we were able to park so long as we accepted this. The village is pretty and quaint with good Restaurants, pubs and cafes. Again, all you need for an excellent holiday. The cottage is spacious and well equipped, with good seating in the lounge and all bedrooms are a good size. The kitchen is a little dark with only a window on the side and being long, but this did to affect our enjoyment, but would recommend a brighter light! Our only real issue was the mattress on the double bed. This was hard and uncomfortable and did affect our sleep as it was impossible to sleep on your back. That said we had a fabulous break and would definitely recommend the cottage, subject to replacing the mattress!

    Reviewed by NicolaAug 2020

Show more

The property

This quirky traditional old cottage is set in the heart of the historic coastal village of Boscastle, offering a superb base for touring the stunning north coast of Cornwall.

The cottage is set over three floors, a short walk from the famous harbour, pubs and restaurants of this quaint village.

Upon entering this cottage on the ground floor, you are welcomed into the kitchen/diner which like the entire cottage is full of character with original slate flagstones and the oven fitted into the old fireplace.

Next to the sitting room with a range of sofas and chairs has a log burner, so welcome after an exhilarating walk along the coastal path in the cooler months.

On the first floor you have the master four poster bedroom with a beautiful bay window seat and a single bedroom.

The second floor houses a twin bedroom, a play area and bathroom.

After an action-packed day exploring the coast, coves and seaside villages you can choose to indulge with a relaxing soak or enjoy a refreshing shower before heading out into Boscastle to enjoy an evening in one of the excellent character pubs offering superb home cooked food and well- kept local ales For a lively evening visit the Cobweb Inn, again offering superb food which can be enjoyed whilst watching local musicians.

Boscastle really is such a picturesque fishing village steeped in history with a long association with authors and artists inspired by it’s wilderness and natural rugged beauty.

A lovely village to stroll around at your leisure with a number of shops to pick up any essentials alongside souvenirs for your loved ones back home.

For days out, you will find you are spoilt for choice with so much to do and see all within a short drive.

Walkers will delight in the fact that one of the most spectacular stretches of the entire south west coastal path is accessed within a short walk from the cottage.

Brush up on the local history by visiting the National Trust owned points of interest as well as the nearby world famous Tintagel castle where you can immerse yourself in history, myths as well as truly stunning scenery set high on the rugged coastline.

In easy reach of such a range of coastal and countryside attractions, Robins Rest promises a refreshing break for a family heading to this stunning and beautiful area of Cornwall.

Summary

  • Set over 3 floors
  • Three bedrooms; 1 x four poster double, 1 x twin, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner, sitting room.
  • Electric central heating & Multi fuel burner
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge, washing machine
  • TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • On road parking on a first come first served basis and a car park at the end of road, FOC 5pm till 10am
  • Front gravelled area with table and chairs
  • 2 well behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Shop 0.4 miles, pub 0.3 miles
  • Note: Pets allowed on ground floor only
  • Note: Due to narrowing of stair at the top, this property may not be suitable for the elderly or infirm

View on map

About the location

BOSCASTLE

Tintagel 4 miles; Camelford 6 miles.

A perfect Cornish coastal village, the road through Boscastle runs down to the small harbour at the bottom of the hill. The quaint village shops, local restaurants and pubs offering good food, Cornish real ales and live entertainment by local musicians, make this an ever popular visitor destination. Spectacular cliff tops, rocky coves, wild surf, open fields and rich wildlife characterise this beautiful area. The coastal footpath passes through some of Britain’s most rugged and spectacular coastal scenery. The sandy beaches of Bossiney, Trebarwith Strand and Crackington Haven are all within 5 miles and the surfing beaches at Bude and Polzeath are within easy driving distance. Close at hand lie the delights of Tintagel, swathed in the legends of King Arthur, several stately homes and renowned gardens, or the wide open space of Bodmin Moor, famous for its granite tors and Daphne Du Maurier’s Jamaica Inn.

Region Information

Note: Pets allowed on ground floor only.
Note: Due to narrowing of stair at the top, this property may not be suitable for the elderly or infirm

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it