Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 8 minutes ago

  • Avalon Lodge - (Ref. 964077)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.



Avalon Lodge

Polperro, Cornwall (Ref. 964077)



Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes


  • Icon/Feature/Swimming Pool Swimming pool
  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor accommodation
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

14 Customer Reviews

  • "The lodge was comfortable but disgusting inside it had not been cleaned properly for months the inside of the windows were filthy, the carpets were stained and dirty, tables hadn't been cleaned and dust and cobwebs all over the place."

    I have taken pictures of the lodge and wish to file a complaint with yourselves, it certainly didn't meet your covid cleaning policy we cleaned what we used and left the rest. I have seen on your site that for next summer the lodge is £1450 a week it definitely isn't worth the money and needs a deep clean from top to bottom. In one word DISGUSTING

    I'm so sorry you felt it necessary to climb on and move furniture to find dust, I hope it wasn't to difficult for you to remove the fixed blinds to get photos of cobwebs behind the fittings. We don't usually find holiday makers go out of their way to find dust and cobwebs. If the table that you mentioned was the one you sent the photo off we just need to clarify that is actually the top of a 7ft cabinet, not something you usually eat your meals from and not something that is at eye height. We have inspected the carpets but failed to find any stains, maybe you could provide a photo and location for us to sort it to be cleaned. The locations of the dust and cobwebs you found is the areas that are cleaned at the start of each season. A full season with a small window of 5 hours only allows for a changeover covid clean and not time to move furniture and fittings but we appreciate you finding the time to locate them for when we deep clean at the end of the season. We do supply full contact details if you need to contact us whilst you are staying in our lodge. We are happy to rectify anything whilst you are with us, unfortunately reporting it once your stay has finished doesn't allow us to help you. Other than our disgusting lodge we hope you enjoyed your break. Regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by SimonSep 2021

  • "The Lodge location and facilities were largely as expected."

    The best things:- Being able to park outside. Quiet location. Fairly well equipped and clean lodge. The walk into Polperro was useful and quicker than I anticipated which was a help with two 5 year olds. The worst bits: The lodge had terrible lumpy uncomfortable mattresses on the two double beds and a wrong size duvet on a single bed meant we all found sleeping well a struggle. It had been reported before in the Visitors Book. Cleary nobody takes any notice of it!. Not a 4 star sleeping experience!

    Reviewed by JoanAug 2021

  • "Good location of lodge."

    Not good cleaning before we arrived. Pan left on cooker and saucepan with oil in just left on the side. Lots of owners stuff in wardrobe so couldn’t use shelf. Lots of dust around light fitting and edge of sofas. We found a ball under the sofa which wasn’t ours. A cotton bud left in a tray in the bedroom. Just shows how things not moved for cleaning. Lots of old magazines from March left on table. Bucket with stones left on decking . Didn’t seem to have the deep clean I would have expected. Didn’t leave enough towels. also couldn’t use both showers at the same time, or sink in kitchen as made water cold.

    Reviewed by AnnaAug 2021

  • "Carpets had lots of pet hair on them."

    Double bed mattresses are at end of their life and uncomfortable. One shower had no working temp. control so cold water only. Deep clean needed.

    Thank you very much for leaving a feedback. We are surprised you mentioned pet hairs as we don't allow pets in our property, also we make sure that the property is deep cleaned in between each booking. In regard to the mattresses, we are sorry to hear you didn't find them particulary comfortable, however comfort is a personal preference. Finally, we are extremely sorry that you have been struggling to regulate the shower temperature, we leave numbers to call if you need any help during the holiday, so next time feel free to give us a ring. We hope to see you again back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by FabioMay 2021

  • "The lodge was clean,warm and very well equipped."

    Located on a quiet park ideally positioned to explore the local area by car. Or alternatively to enjoy walking the coast path and footpaths starting a few yards from your door. We would love to return.

    Reviewed by GaynorOct 2020

  • "The Lodge was perfectly placed and lovely however needed a good clean."

    I didn't mind the later check in as promised due to Covid you needed more time to clean...this was obviously an excuse as the lodge was tidy but not clean.

    Property Owner

    Reviewed by KerrieSep 2020

  • "The lodge although nice was not very clean, bed linen, towels, bathrooms and the kitchen was clean, but, windows, door handles, light switches were dirty and carpets looked like they hadn't been vacuumed, in fact, I put my trainers under the dressing table and when I came to put them back on, I found lots of hair stuck to the bottom of them, obviously, it had not seen a vacuum under there."

    I left a comment in the visitors book stating all this and I noticed other people had said the same about the cleanliness, not what I expected after paying so much for it.

    I'm sorry cleanliness wasn't up to your standards, we have never received any comments regarding this issue before in either the visitor book or on sykes. Currently due to covid all surfaces including light switches and door handles are sanitised after every guest has left, these are not polished but wiped with sanitiser. I have passed these comments onto our cleaning team who will ensure that the sanitiser doesn't leave smears in future. We usually have a window cleaner who does external windows however he has been self isolating due to covid. Cobwebs outside is a common issue they can be brushed off and the next day back again, everyone on site has the same problem, sadly we have no control on mother nature. I'm sorry you felt you had to leave a negative review on what most guests feel is a lovely lodge. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen JSep 2020

  • "The lodge was like a home from home."

    Well equipped and comfortable. We had a problem with one shower but this was resolved the next day after we contacted the owner. As there was another shower it did not impact our enjoyment. Was just worried at time it overflowed incase damage caused. The site itself was family friendly with things for children to do. Location ideal for Looe and Polperro and other excursions.

    Reviewed by MicheleAug 2019

  • "Would have been a nice extra if there was WiFi"

    Reviewed by JackieDec 2018

  • "We required wifi in lodge but when we went to main camp site only had it a bit ..."

    We required wifi in lodge but when we went to main camp site only had it a bit Would of been better with WiFi Other than that was a very nice place indeed

    Reviewed by AndrewSep 2018

  • "Fantastic Lodge (very well kept) on a lovely family site."

    Lots of information from owners about the area, very comfortable lodge, good facilities and very clean. Polperro just a short walk away (but a steep climb back!) although there is a reguler bus service to polperro and looe. Site was good with a pool and entertainment each night. Great place to stay for all the family.

    Reviewed by StephenAug 2018

  • "Really beautiful lodge, so easy to access."

    Reviewed by EmilyAug 2018

  • "Holiday was very good, we would return when possible"

    Reviewed by MariaJun 2018

  • "Plenty to see and do in the surrounding area."

    The camp staff were extreamly helpfull and friendly. Both the camp and the lodge was kept clean and well maintained.

    Reviewed by PeterJun 2018

Show more

The property

This beautifully-furnished pine lodge is located in a quiet area of the Killigarth Manor Park in Polperro, with a footpath alongside the lodge leading to a quiet country lane that will take you right into this historic picture-postcard fishing village.

You will feel at home immediately on entering the lodge, and are sure to appreciate the comfortable furnishings in the open plan living room.

There are three bedrooms here as well as two bathrooms.

Outside is a relaxing patio, ideal to enjoy a drink at the end of the day or even to eat alfresco style before the sun goes down on another wonderful day in this magical area of Cornwall.

During the main summer period, Killigarth Manor Park has something to keep all the family occupied, from playgrounds, soft play and a children’s club to tennis, gym and a sauna, whilst everybody can play together in the indoor pool.

Leave the car and walk down to Polperro through traffic-free streets, passing enchanting old cottages, to the small harbour, once a thriving centre for the areas smuggling but now full of colourful boats.

There is a small sandy beach located just in front of a smuggler’s cave, and a tidal sea pool, all worth investigating.

You have a choice of excellent restaurants and pubs in the village including one of Cornwall’s finest historic pubs, the last pub before France!

A public footpath from the park leads down to Talland Bay, a magical cove with great rock pools for the kids to investigate and a beach cafe with Cornish cream teas you’ll never forget.

Also the historical fishing town of Looe, which is a hive of activity with many pubs restaurants and shops, is just a short drive away.

With the coastline here being part of the 80-mile long south Cornwall Heritage Coast, there will never be enough time to see all the lovely villages and coves that are dotted around the area.

With such a great location, holidays here are sure to be enjoyed all year round.


  • All ground floor
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x twin
  • Two shower rooms with shower, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire.
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi available at the Manor clubhouse (8am - 12pm daily), selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Decked area with furniture
  • Use of on-site facilities (open Mar - Oct inclusive) including heated indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, adventure playground, tennis courts, soft play area and amusement arcade
  • Crazy golf and Foxy Club for children (no age restriction but small children should be supervised) open 7 days (Mar – mid Nov)
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • On-site shop, restaurant and club house
  • Shop and pub 1.5 miles
  • Note: Mobile signal can be intermittent
  • Note: Due to the hilly areas at this park, this property may not be suitable for those with limited mobility
  • Note: Cot and highchair only available in place of one single bed, therefore property suitable for 6 adults without the cot or 5 adults and 1 infant with the cot.

View on map

About the location


Looe 4 miles.

Polperro and nearby Looe on the south coast of Cornwall’s coastline is a renowned tourist area giving visitors a unique holiday area to explore. Polperro is a historic fishing village nestling at the head of a long valley leading down to the sea. The sheltered fishing harbour with its surrounding jumble of quaint, whitewashed cottages, draws visitors from around the world. Walk the narrow streets, watch the fishermen land their catch, check the Smugglers Museum, take a leisurely lunch overlooking the harbour and then walk the clifftops for a taste of the spectacular coastal scenery. This is a magical area with much to see and do. The working fishing port of Looe is just 4 miles away and the delights of Cornwall's far west are easily accessible via the nearby Boddinnick ferry to Fowey and beyond with the local area well served with bus and ferry services. The perfect holiday location, a jewel in the Cornish coastline now denoted by Cornwall County Council as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, of historic interest and heritage importance, as well as a conservation area.

Region Information

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it