4.2★ Good Sykes rating Sleeps 4 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms 1 Pets Yes Show on map Features Open fire Garden / Patio Cot available Highchair available Washing machine Broadband / WiFi Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities 26 Customer Reviews "We loved our stay at Copper Cottage as it is a lovely quaint quirky old fashioned cottage that is very comfortable and really well equipped with a lovely back garden to sit out after a day out or while having a coffee 1st thing in the morning,the only 1 thing that we found was there was abit of dust and after a few days biggish clumps of dust with dog fluff started to come from under the sofa which didn't really bother us as we just swept it up." Copper cottage is situated just up the road from Portreath it's self and Copper cottage is also across from a lovely friendly pub which we enjoyed a pint of cold cider on a couple of occasions,we enjoyed our stay very much and we would very much like to come back in the future. Reviewed by LisaJun 2022 "Cottage was lovely and location good." State of cleanliness and presentation was excellent as was the kitchen which was very well stocked with equipment except for the lack of an ice tray. The back garden was very dog friendly. The only real issues were:- - the very slow shower in an otherwise beautiful bathroom - the tv where the connection was unreliable at best and there was no easy access to standard tv channels. I was on my own with my dog so the TV issue was a bit of a problem. Otherwise, it was a delightful place to stay. Thank you for your feedback we are pleased to hear you had a lovely stay at Copper Cottage and found the presentation to be excellent. We will look into the water pressure in the shower. There are clear instructions on how to operate the TV available in the property. Property Owner Reviewed by SamanthaMay 2022 "An absolutely brilliant place to stay spotlessly clean very comfortable and well equipped." We enjoyed our stay and the cottage is ideally placed to explore Cornwall . Reviewed by RichardMay 2022 "Loved our stay, I frequently stay In Cornwall probably 4 times a year." This is one of the best places I have stopped. The property is fantastic, you couldn’t ask for more. The location is central, making it simple to commute to any of the more advertised resorts. I would highly recommend. Reviewed by LeeApr 2022 "Copper Cottage was an absolute delight." We love the quirkyness of the cottage. The description of the cottage is perfect. Facilities were excellent & comfortable. 20 min walk along the old railway line into Portreath allows you to stay off the main road. We stayed in this cottage to explore the area using the South West Coastal Path, lots of local walks found & breath taking. We completed a circular walk around Porthtowan & back to Portreath along the dis-used RAF base perimeter. We loved The Bridge Pub opposite, we visited it every evening during our stay, it was lovely to talk with Julie & her family about the area, nothing was too much trouble, the Sunday Roast was amazing. Would definitely recommend. Reviewed by HayleyDec 2021 "Parking outside was not an issue at any point over the stay." If anyone has complained in the past - which I know they have - then you need to learn to drive / park as the neighbours have no issues either! It is not a busy road as described either. Neighbour's & the owner of the pub across the road were very friendly. Having seen previous reviews I agree the cottage could do with a good spring clean, hence we took our Dyson with us which after a few hours did the job. There was a lot of debris under the sofa bed - it is heavy so maybe the current cleaner cannot lift in the front room & finger / toe nails found in the carpet in the living room. Dyson to the rescue! The shelves / bases of the kitchen cupboards also required cleaning. Same had to be said in regards to some of plates / cutlery / plates etc. Location, facilities, wifi, freesat TV, back garden etc. were spot on. Very happy. Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you did not have an issue with parking at the property and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for letting us know about the issues you have raised, we take all comments on board and will action accordingly. Property Owner Reviewed by KrissAug 2021 "The cottage was a nice welcoming home to spend the week and great location for us to explore Cornwall." Reviewed by DavidAug 2021 "Brilliant- really lovely cottage, with quite a lot of outside space to eat in and dry wet suits." Easy walk to Portreath via pretty wooded cycle path. Bunk beds comfy, but not quite full length. Phone & TV reception poor. Definitely recommend Reviewed by GillJul 2021 "When we arrived we found the cottage in a grubby state, there was dirt and crumbs all over the living room floor, the cooker was filthy as were all the pots, pans and cutlery." The stair carpet sported fluff from the new carpet that must have been fitted some months ago but never vacuumed up. The bedroom for my daughter had no bedding, we had booked for her and this showed in my sykes booking but had been dropped down to 2 people when passed on to the local housekeepers. When we chased this up the local agent "Pamela" said that someone would be there in half an hour and to call back in 90 mins if no one had been. No one came and when we called back the office was then closed. We tried the owners, sykes and the local cleaners numbers, eventually the lady from the pub over the road got hold of the cleaner who came round with bedding, she swore blind she'd cleaned the place but couldn't quite explain the filth in the kitchen or the un hoovered floors, she described the dirt,hair and dust on the stairs as "just a bit of fluff", no real offer was made to clean just should she put the bedding on.. Reviewed by ChrisJun 2021 "Great location walk into portreath along trail was lovely." Cottage is small but that was expected , not happy with cleanliness in bunk bed room had to clean under beds as there was tissues and skipping rope and rubbish in light of the situation at the moment not a good thing . Reviewed by JulieMay 2021 "Pretty cottage in a nice setting & lovely walk into Portreath, where there was a dog friendly beach & 2 pubs that we would recommend for food - The Portreath Arms & Basset Arms." Also nice cafe close to the beach. Property needs another comfy chair. Also regret to say the cleanliness was poor, cobwebs round the lamps, had to move the bedside unit in the spare bedroom to access the lower bunk for an adult & it was dirty behind. Further under both beds there were items that should not have been there - childs boxers under main bed & skipping rope + rubbish under the bunk beds. This property would benefit from a good spring clean. Reviewed by RogerMay 2021 "A very nice cottage." It is very handy to get to the whole of the South west. Parking in front of the cottage is fine. The kitchen is well equipped and the instruction booklet comprehensive. The stairs to the 2 bedrooms upstairs are steep and narrow. Reviewed by PaulMay 2021 "The location is good as far as access to Portreath is concerned." Parking on the road is worrying as this road is very busy. Having the bathroom next to the kitchen wasn't very nice, but I guess as the building is so old, this may have been the only option. On the surface the property was clean, but when we moved the sofa, it was really dirty underneath (it is not a large sofa). We saw that this had been mentioned previously in the guest book and not tended to. Due to Covid-19 we brought with us the necessary cleaning materials and cleaned literally from the key box to the inside and back again to protect ourselves and others. The sofa was moved and we vacuumed thoroughly underneath as well as lifting the mat in the lounge and vacuuming under there as well. The same procedure was performed in reverse when we left. Also took our own linen. A huge thumbs up to the Nurse next door who came to say hi and make sure we were okay. She had left the lovely flowers inside the house. A lovely gesture :-). Portreath is a lovely place to visit and unwind, loved the bakery and the quiet that went with the area. Our labrador had a marvellous time on the beach racing around and chasing the waves. Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad that the location was good and you found it a lovely place to visit and unwind. We are disappointed however, that you found some issues with cleanliness in the sitting area. We can assure you that had you contacted us at the time, the cleaner would have returned to rectify any issues you found. We do hope that you will return in the future. Property Owner Reviewed by FionaOct 2020 "Perfect place for our family of 3 for a week of surfing (At Gwithian), exploring and chilling out." Very well equipped cottage, and having a bathtub for rinsing out wetsuits was great. Games, books, dvds, and everything we could think of in the kitchen, including coffee plungers :-) Comfortable beds. Worth noting bunks are a little short - big enough for our 5’8”daughter but only just. Sadly the pub across the road was still closed due to lockdown, but we had a really good evening out at the Portreath Arms - VERY good food, and a really enjoyable 20 minute walk using the walking trail above the road (northern side, turn right when leaving cottage then look for walking trail sign on your right 50m after turning left onto road to Portreath). Got fresh bread and pastries from the bakery most mornings. Reviewed by ElisabethAug 2020 "We loved how comfortable the cottage was." It was extremely well equipped. Lovely outside sitting/dining areas. Home away from home. Reviewed by KarenJul 2020 "On arrival at the cottage we were impressed and pleased with our choice." The day we arrived was very cold and felt the heating could have been left on to keep the chill off the property. On the first night we struggled to get the heating working and as a consequence did not have a very pleasant evening. When we went to bed that night the sheets on the bed felt damp. The next morning we started to notice other problems with the building. The front door is not fitted very well and lets in a lot of noise from a busy road (which we had not been warned about) and a very bad draught. It is so bad that the wall just inside the door is starting to show signs of damp. In the kitchen when we sat at the table you could see into the gaps between the washing machine and the cooker. They were full of dust and fluff. In the drawer with the cooking utensils in there was stale bread left at the back. In the living room there were a lot of dusty cobwebs on the beams. One of the main reasons for booking this cottage was the pub across the road which served food, we were planning on eating there most evening. The first time we went in there was a sign saying no food. The barmaid explained that as it was the quiet season they did not serve food. We understand the reason, but feel that if we had been warned in advance we would not have booked this cottage. For the future and trying to be positive we feel that the owners need to invest in this property. It is in need of a deep clean and redecoration. We are not blaming the caretaker as we realise that she most probably only gets paid for a minimum amount of time to clean between guests. This was our first time using Sykes, would we use you again, not sure if this is the standard you have. Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback following your recent stay at Copper Cottage. We've spoken with the owner who has asked us to cover the points mentioned in order to help yourselves and reassure future guests. The thermostat for the heating system was new this year and the instructions can be found in the information folder along with the manual for the thermostat itself. We are sorry you were unable to locate these. A quick call to the housekeeper would have resolved this issue. There was an issue with the front door as you mention, this has now been fixed. We have spoken with the housekeepers regarding the cleanliness issues you raised, again had you contacted them on your arrival they would have been more than happy to try and rectify any issues had. The owner of Copper Cottage endeavours to create as comfortable an environment as possible for their guests and were disappointed to hear your stay was not all together a positive one. The feedback for Copper Cottage is overwhelmingly good and we do hope that despite the points raised you enjoyed your visit. Property Owner Reviewed by DerekFeb 2020 "The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped." The enclosed garden was great for the dog, as was the off-road track to the beach. Location excellent for beaches and coastal walks. Reviewed by AndrewFeb 2020 "Lovely holiday cottage." About 20minutes walk to Portreath and the beach which was a nice walk a long the old railway line. The pub across this road is also very handy. The cottage is well suited for dogs. We had a relaxed, comfortable stay Reviewed by LizSep 2019 "Lovely little cottage- the kind you start feeling affection for." The suntrap back garden makes it. Bikini swam off Portreath beach mid Sept- lovely! Bunk room titchy- had to get creative with sleeping arrangements, but sofa bed downstairs made that easy. Autistic son loved dog walking on Porthkidney and the seal sanctuary at Gweek. St Ives, the Tate and Porthmoer beach gobsmackingly stunning, but very peopley, even at the end of the season. Was a good deal all in all. Reviewed by Sophie ClareSep 2019 "The cottage was really lovely." We had everything we needed. It was quiet but not too far from anywhere. We will definitely be booking with Sykes again. Reviewed by JackieMay 2019 "Nice comfortable cosy cottage in peaceful village location." Lovelly local pub across road. Reviewed by AlanMar 2019 "Copper Cottage is very nice in a good quiet location and on the occasion we contacted the owners about operating the TV they were more than attentive and very helpful." The kitchen is the best equipped we have found in any rental property, except for the lack of an ice compartment in the fridge. We didn't expect a freezer in the property but thought the fridge would have a small freezer compartment to make ice. Whilst we enjoyed our stay at the cottage sadly it did lack some areas of comfort in that there's no comfortable seating in the sitting room. The futon sofa bed serving as a couch is hard and most uncomfortable to sit on for relaxation. Likewise we also found the double bed rather small and the mattress less than comfortable for sleeping. The cottage was warm but the central heating programmer needs replacing as it is not possible to read the settings because the LCD (liquid crystal display) has decayed and cannot be read. Notwithstanding these comments we had a very enjoyable holiday in Cornwall and would consider staying at Copper Cottage again if the comfort issues were addressed. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We're very pleased to hear you had a good time. The owners have asked us to let know they have replaced the futon with a two seater sofa and have installed a smart TV. We look forward to seeing you again. Property Owner Reviewed by TomSep 2018 "Great cottage!" Location: although a mile from beach, it was not walkable so disappointingly we had to take the car everywhere. Great facilities in the cottage, no expense spared on fixtures and fittings. Even a pint of milk waiting for us after our long journey. Friendly helpful staff at the Bridge pub too! Reviewed by SarahAug 2018 "It was a lovely comfortable cottage for myself, my family and our dog." All amenities as mentioned and very clean. The cottage is in a lovely location with friendly local people and the local pub was very welcoming and served fabulous pub food. The beach at Portreath was a short 5 min drive away but was super to visit for surfing and dog friendly after 7pm ideal for beach dog walks after dinner. Reviewed by AngelaAug 2018 "The cottage was very clean and well equipped a lovely weeks holiday." Thank you. Reviewed by MartinApr 2018 "It was a lovely cottage in a lovely location and will be very happy to recommend this cottage to family and friends" Reviewed by William DonaldJun 2017 Show more This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection. Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday. Summary First floor, 2 Bedrooms, 1 double and the second bedroom with restricted ceiling height and a bunk bed Ground floor has a sitting room with 32" smart TV with freesat and DVD and wood burning stove, kitchen/dining room, bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC. Wi-Fi, washer-dryer, wood burning stove Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine Smart TV with Freesat Cot and highchair available Towels, bed linen and electric central heating included Note: Stairs to first floor is steep and narrow, there is a stair gate at the bottom of the stairs Note: There is no freezer or icebox in the fridge Note: One well behaved dog welcome, a second dog by arrangement. The property A traditional Cornish stone cottage located a mile from the tranquil seaside retreat of Portreath where you will find a sandy beach which is located central to Cornwall's surf and bodyboard culture and home to surf shops with equipment available to rent to make the most of your stay.The village offers cafes, pubs and a village store. The beautiful harbour on the north side of the beach provides shelter for a tidal swimming pool. Once inside Copper Cottage you will be greeted with a comfortable sitting room with exposed beams and a wood burning stove. The kitchen is suitable for any occasion, the dining area has everything you will require for your self-catering holiday. Upstairs is the master double bedroom with comfortable bedding and you will also find a small bunk bedroom with a bunk bed.On the ground floor is the family bathroom with a shower cubicle.Outside you are greeted by a calming oasis, the enclosed garden is a suntrap for alfresco dining, you will also find a useful storage area for bikes and surfboards. The rugged beauty of the North cliffs provides an ideal location for coastal walks. Here you can be at peace with the nature that surrounds you and enjoy the distant views of Godrevy lighthouse and St Ives.Tehidy Country Park is closely located, comprising of 250 acres of beautiful woodlands, lakes and miles of cycle paths together with a café and picnic area and an adjoining golf course. View on map About the location PORTREATH Truro 14 miles; St Ives 15 miles. With its sheltered harbour, beautiful Portreath was, in the 1800s, a hive of activity and industry as a major tin-exporting port. Today, the village attracts visitors from around the world with its wild and rugged coastline. High cliffs, secluded coves and sandy, surf-washed beaches typify the area while all around are reminders of the area's rich industrial heritage. Portreath offers a small fishing harbour, shops, a number of pubs, three cafés and a Chinese restaurant, while its safe, sheltered sandy beach is a popular attraction. For a great day out, visit the cathedral city of Truro with its cobbled streets, shopping centre, theatre, museum and great restaurants, just 14 miles away, or travel a few miles along the coast and follow the vast expanse of sandy beach, which leads down to Hayle and on to St Ives. A delightful holiday location. Region Information Cornwall Holiday Cottages Devon Holiday Cottages Dorset Cottage Holidays Somerset Holiday Cottages Note: Steep narrow stairs lead to first floor.Bunk bedroom has restricted ceiling height. Please note there is no freezer or icebox in the fridge.