In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 5 minutes ago

4 people have recently viewed this property


Carbis Bay, Cornwall (Ref. 1004069)



Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

23 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely modern property, containing all the facilities and comfort that you would want with new sofas and comfy beds."

    Located in an ideal quiet road with the beach a 5/10 min walk away, and fields behind the property ideal for dogs. Only thing we could recommend would be the addition of some outside seating, to make the lovely garden space more usable. Overall the stay was relaxing, enjoyable and would defo book again!

    Thanks so much for your feedback. There is outside seating available which is put away during the winter months, my apologies this was not out for your stay we will rectify this thanks for letting us know. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MitchellApr 2022

  • "Thank you for a lovely cottage"

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time and hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidApr 2022

  • "Lovely place, really nice."

    Very much enjoyed our stay.

    Thanks so much for your feedback we’re thrilled you enjoyed your time at Tremar and hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MattMar 2022

  • "A really nice property in a convenient location but just a few things would stop us coming back in the future and I think a few things that are worth noting for any future visitors."

    Since some reviews on this page mentioning the sofas, these have now been changed and are comfy and lots of sitting space. Master bedroom; the bed is on the small side and the frame needs replacing as every time you move it sounds like it’s going to collapse which makes for a restless night, there is only 1 bedside table and plug sockets only on one side of the bed. Outside: there was no outside light which made taking the dog out in the garden challenging at night, and the garden isn’t overly secure. Finally, I think it would be worth alerting guests that the outside of the property is well covered in CCTV, it didn’t bother us as we weren’t doing anything wrong, but it does make you feel a little ‘watched’ and I think It would of bothered me more if we were visiting in the summer months and sitting in the garden socialising etc.

    Mr Noble, thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time. We're pleased you liked the new sofas. With regards to the bed in the master bedroom, we were not aware of this issue and will get that sorted. The outside light is something that had been scheduled to be fitted but it was sadly not possible before your visit, this has now been done. You mentioned the CCTV which we want to confirm is actually not live. The cameras are from when the property was a personal residence and there is no feed of any kind. We appreciate all the things you have flagged and will endeavor to ensure future stays for guests are as comfortable and relaxed as possible. Mrs Horne. Property Owner

    Reviewed by OliverNov 2021

  • "The property was great and with a few improvements would have been excellent."

    1. Egg cups 2. A light outside at the back. It’s difficult to find the dog in the dark and make sure any mess is cleared away. The torch by the back door doesn't work. 3. The back door doesn’t lock with the key from the outside. This makes it difficult to go out and leave people sleeping as you can only lock the front door from the outside or exit through the bedroom patio door and lock that. A second set of keys would help. 4. Really needs a bedside table in the back bedroom.

    We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We're sorry you didn't locate the egg cups at the property, we have established they were in fact there but there were not enough for all guests and have now rectified this. We're also sorry you couldn't lock the back door from the outside, we've checked this and can confirm it's fully working. We agree entirely about the outside light and this is something we had already planned to do and is scheduled to be fitted. We're very pleased to hear your stay overall was a good one and hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HelenOct 2021

  • "The bungalow was in a perfect position ."

    Just a walk to Carbis Bay beach which is beautiful . Very clean and well kept . Everything you needed on the property . Only thing I personally didn’t find comfy table were the settees . Also our daughter used the room with the bunk beds , there wasn’t enough room to sit up in bottom bunk . Otherwise this properly is excellent

    Reviewed by SamanthaSep 2021

  • "We like the space in the house, garden and location."

    We would stay there again.

    Reviewed by HelenAug 2021

  • "Bottom oven wasn't working, sofas weren't very comfortable, and it wasn't ..."

    Bottom oven wasn't working, sofas weren't very comfortable, and it wasn't cleaned fully for us arriving, especially kitchen area

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We will speak to the housekeeper regarding the cleaning. We do take on board your point regarding the sofas and are in the process of getting them changed. We are sorry to hear the bottom oven wasn't worked, it is a shame that you didn't speak to the management company during your stay who would have been happy to help resolve this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by IanAug 2021

  • "Very nice property in a good location with a good layout perfect for 6 people."

    The house had clearly been renovated to a high standard. Having said that I felt some of the furniture could do with updating, namely the wooden bed in the back room for us was a bit uncomfortable and we felt the crockery was not the best quality. Some of it was dirty when we arrived. We felt the overall cleanliness was ok but not to as a high a standard as we hoped. Prior to our arrival we had liaised with Sykes about concerns around the top bunk bed as the picture gave the impression there was no safety bar. Our interaction was difficult and we ended up buying a temporary one as we were told nothing could be done. When we arrived the bed had the necessary bar in place so that was frustrating and could have been handled better. Overall Carbis bay is a lovely place and the road where the house situated was very quiet and peaceful.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we are sorry to hear that the property wasn't as clean as you would have hoped, we will of course speak to the housekeeper about this. Thank you for letting us know about the bed, we will take a look into this also. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChristopherAug 2021

  • "Just returned from a weeks stay at Tremar."

    The bungalow is gorgeous, everything we could of needed was provided. The property was spotless and the beds so comfortable. There is a very steep hill to the beach which was abit of a problem for my parents, this is listed in the information, didnt cause us any issues as there are so many beaches close by. We would highly recommend this property and location, we had a great stay and will return.

    Reviewed by AliJul 2021

  • "Lovely bungalow."

    Very clean and really comfy beds. Sofas could be abit more comfortable but minor issue! There's no tumble dryer or line prop so if the weather is bad you'll struggle to get clothes dry. This was our only major issue really. It is a self catering bungalow, we thought we might get some cleaning bits and bobs, and we did, but definitely not enough for a week so bear that in mind. Excellent area though. 5 minute walk from the train to st ives and the Carbis Bay beach looks like you're on a foreign holiday! So beautiful. One downside to the beach is there isn't cafes like you get at St Ives and the like, so take a picnic. There is a lovely freshwater stream that comes all the way down the beach to sea that was really popular with toddlers and young children. Ideal beach for families with young children. Overall, for the cost we paid, the bungalow was a bargain. Really clean, really comfortable, quiet area, pub up the road.

    Reviewed by RachaelJul 2021

  • "Really good area, Nice and quite and the walks to the beach were lovely."

    Reviewed by RhiannonMay 2021

  • "This house is so lovely, so much space, perfect for family holiday and the garden is like an oasis, especially with the morning sun!"

    The owners clearly put a lot of thought into making it a homely and comfortable place to stay. The location is perfect, walking distance to Carbis Bay beach or to the train station to get to other places such as St Ives if you want to avoid parking there. All the amenities were great, bonus with a huge bath in one bathroom and powerful shower in the other. Beds comfortable, linen and towels good quality. Wifi and TV with Netflix, catch up tv etc which is handy if travelling with children. The only thing we felt it missed was more comfy sofas but it didn’t impact on our experience. Not sure if this was a Covid reason but there was not enough supply of toilet paper or rubbish bags for the week we stayed but again this was a minor detail. Thank you for our stay!

    Reviewed by MagdalenaApr 2021

  • "Beautiful bungalow, very spacious, modern and comfortable."

    Absolutely spotless Great location in a quiet cul de sac. Carbis Bay beach is beautiful. If you have mobility problems, take your car down. The only time observation I would make is that the double beds were small for us, because we are used to superking size - easily remedied- I baled out to the bottom bunk.

    Reviewed by GeraldineOct 2020

  • "The house was fantastic."

    Better than advertised. Had everything you needed and more. Very comfortable and opened space. My family did not want to leave. Location was great for venturing out to other parts of Cornwall. Will be booking again

    Reviewed by DeborahSep 2020

  • "Very clean property with all you would need for a holiday."

    Secure garden for dog and plenty of space in bungalow for larger families. Very quiet area but close to all amenities. Polished floors throughout not ideal for elderly dog but that apart could not fault in any way. Best holiday let we have had and that is for a period over 25 years

    Reviewed by MarionSep 2020

  • "A little disappointed it was quite a walk from beach we booked for April so we could take dogs to beach due to Covid this was changed and then couldn’t take dogs to Carbis Bay beach - we went to Hayle beach which was lovely but had to go by car."

    Would go back to Cornwall but not so far down. Took us over 7 hours to get home due to traffic.

    Reviewed by AnnSep 2020

  • "Lack of facilities in the surrounding area, few pubs/restaurants etc."

    Reviewed by BeverleyAug 2020

  • "Awful. Property wasn’t clean especially bad considering everything should be extra clean at the present time."

    We fully cleaned the property when we got there & tables, doors & surfaces were filthy. I have photos to prove this!!! Kitchen poorly equipped. No frying pan, cooking dishes, no welcome pack, just a few dishwasher tablets so had to go & buy more, same for the washing machine. Curtains of poor quality so we were woken up early every morning. No bedside tables so nothing to put your stuff on. Used a laundry basket. No sun beds outside just a table & chairs. Building work going on over the road. I could go on but that’s enough. Rubbish property worst we’ve ever stayed in.

    We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your stay. Regarding the cleanliness, this is something that we take with the upmost importance and will be discussing with our cleaners. If you had contacted us when you arrived we would have been able to rectify these issues for you. Thank you for making us aware of the missing frying pan, this will be replaced immediately. As this is self-catering property, we would only provide a starter pack for the washing machine and dishwasher and the welcome pack has been removed in line with the Covid-19 guidelines. We do appreciate your feedback as we are always looking at ways to improve our property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolineAug 2020

  • "Very well placed for our stay in the St Ives area."

    Nice spacious, comfortable accommodation. Very much enjoyed our holiday and would certainly use again.

    Reviewed by MichaelJul 2020

  • "We had a lovely time at Tremar."

    The location in Carbis bay was really good, we liked the fact that we could leave the car safely parked in the drive and walk down to the beach or train station. Tesco was very near by car, about five minute drive. A lovely fish and chips shop within walking distance. The accommodation is in a quiet residential area. The accommodation was well maintained, modern, spacious and big windows and plenty of light. The garden is big , a pity it wasn’t fully enclosed, we could not leave the dog unsupervised as he would have gone into nearby fields. Only two things, we think could be improved, Mattresses could have been a bit more comfortable, we could feel the springs. No frying pan. Apart from that, lovely showers, washing machine, dishwasher, 3 toilets, good heating system, ...everything to a high standard, so we have given it top stars for the overall. If only we could go back tomorrow...we hope we will one day. Thank you.

    Reviewed by ChristopherMar 2020

  • "Tremar was a beautiful place to stay contempary but cosy."

    Everything you needed was there and was a home from home. We have booked to stay again before we left we enjoyed it so much.

    Reviewed by TrishFeb 2020

  • "This was a lovely stay at a fair price for the school holidays!"

    The apartment itself was well equipped, the kitchen had everything you could ever need, apart from oven gloves which I have now asked to be provided! Everything was easy to use and the fact that the oven is off the ground was handy with a small baby crawling around. It is worth having a look though the cupboards and draws when you arrive because there was plenty entertainment and books etc. Really useful stuff to keep everyone entertained! The TV was modern and had access to all apps etc. so we could log into Netflix, YouTube etc. Which was great for us in the evening and to keep the kids entertained when needed. The cleanliness was very good and everywhere which needed to be was spotless, however it was clear the cleaners hadn’t done everywhere as when we moved things like mats and chairs, and when the baby got behind furniture it was quite dusty/ animal hairy which wasn’t great but would not put us off going again! The bedrooms are amazing! Minimal but beautifully furnished, lots of storage space, and super comfy beds! The bunk bed room is just as pictured, the double room with en-suite is lovely and a blind has been put on the internal door which is a nice touch to keep the light out! The shower of the en-suite is also lovely, good pressure and plenty of space to actually wash! The far double bedroom, which overlooks the patio area is lovely and we choose this one and gave the kids the two bedrooms by the front door! This was particularmy nice as it felt like we had our own space but were still within ear shoot, would be an especially lovely room in the summer as the double doors from the bedroom open directly onto the patio area. The only thing missing from bedrooms was bedside tables and the bed sheets were white (not patterned as seen in the pictures) making it feel quite clinical, so these would be nice just to give it more of a homely feel! Finally, the local area does have a cost cutter, pharmacy and fish and chips shop, other than that we didn’t see very much else and if you are visiting for the beech it is a STEEP hill down, whereas I was informed it was a gentle slope! It is not, so just be prepared for that! It didn’t overly affect our stay as it wasn’t our main reason for visiting but was a shock when we decided to take a stroll to the beach one morning! Overall, a fabulous stay and would definitely stay there again.

    Reviewed by SophieFeb 2020

Show more


  • All-ground-floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x bunk
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living room with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric double oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, WIFI, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and high chair available
  • Off-road parking for two cars
  • Lawned garden and patio area
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.2 miles
  • Beach 0.4 miles via a steep hill

The property

This stylish bungalow sits in the heart of Carbis Bay, close to a range of amenities, including a fabulous, sandy beach.

Designed with couples, friends and families in mind, the contemporary interior offers a delightful base which can be enjoyed all-year round.

The open-plan living area spans the rear of the property and offers a social space for all to discuss the day’s activities and prepare for the next.

The high spec kitchen is sure to meet your catering requirements, with a double oven, gas hob, fridge/freezer and a dishwasher so you don’t have to worry about the washing up!

Comfortably furnished, the bedrooms include a double and a double with en-suite shower room, plus a bunk which is perfect for the younger ones.

Finishing off the interior of this Carbis Bay cottage is an attractive bathroom with bath and shower over, so you can prepare for the day however you feel.

Head outside and delight in the spacious garden, with a large lawned space for family games, and a patio area for alfresco dining, and a distant sea glimpse.

Carbis Bay is a superb holiday destination, best known for its beautiful stretch of pure white sand and turquoise waters.

Walkers should take advantage of the southwest coastal path or hop on the scenic branch line to St Ives, one of Cornwall’s most famous resorts.

Wander the cobbled village lanes and browse the quaint shops, with a chance of finding a hidden gem, or grab a bite at one of the traditional cafes or splendid restaurants.

This luxury location combined with this superb accommodation ensures a wonderful holiday experience.

View on map

About the location


St Ives 2 miles ; Hayle 3.5 miles ; Penzance 8.5 miles

Just a short drive from iconic St Ives, the seaside town of Carbis Bay is best-known for its beautiful stretch of pure white sand. With turquoise waters and sheltered conditions, the beach feels almost subtropical and is the perfect spot for a good old-fashioned day by the sea. The beach is also home to the Ocean Sports Centre, so if sunbathing is not really your thing, why not hire a kayak or SUP and get out on the water instead. Or why not treat yourself to a Spa day at the boutique hotel which overlooks the beach and has a fabulous terrace where cocktails can be enjoyed in the Cornish sunshine? Carbis Bay has a small range of local shops and restaurants as well as a fish & chip takeaway and railway branchline. The train journey from Carbis Bay into St Ives is perhaps one of the most beautiful in the country.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it