Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

13 people have recently viewed this property

  • Balcony Cottage - (Ref. 976427)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
1 of 18 Artboard Created with Sketch. View Larger Image
  • Balcony Cottage - Cornwall - 976427 - photo 1
close
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Balcony Cottage

Kingsand And Cawsand, Cornwall (Ref. 976427)

4.8

Excellent

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

21 Customer Reviews

  • "Excellent property in a lovely location near the beach and sea."

    Reviewed by ChrisApr 2022

  • "Balcony Cottage is a beautiful cottage right on the front and by the beach."

    It is a lovely quiet cottage and my husband loves it. This is his second or third visit there. Facilities were perfect, everything available and lovely and clean. It is an amazing place to stay. Thanks Sykes cottages and thanks to the owner of Balcony Cottage - you do your visitors proud!

    Reviewed by BarbaraMar 2022

  • "It was a lovely property , unfortunately we had to leave after 2 nights because ..."

    It was a lovely property , unfortunately we had to leave after 2 nights because of a family tragedy , Would love to return one day

    Reviewed by GillMar 2022

  • "What a beautiful place spotlessly clean beautiful views everything you need ..."

    what a beautiful place spotlessly clean beautiful views everything you need very comfortable lovely village everywhere you went spotlessly clean locals very friendly Had a fantastic birthday weekend xx

    Reviewed by DeborahFeb 2022

  • "The location of the cottage added greatly to our enjoyment, living -as we do - in a land-locked county."

    To be close to the sea, with such marvellous views was amazing . We will certainly visit Balcony Cottage again. Julian and Anne Wiltshire.

    Reviewed by JulianOct 2021

  • "Fabulous location, cottage was clean and roomy."

    Lovely views and would definitely rebook again.

    Reviewed by BarbaraSep 2021

  • "We have stayed in this cottages many years now and it never disappoints."

    Beautiful house, beautiful spot, thank you!!

    Reviewed by KateJul 2021

  • "We've just returned from a fabulous week in Cawsand staying in Balcony Cottage and you'd be hard-pushed to find a more idyllic property."

    We didn't use the car for a week. Literally a 3 min walk to the beach (uphill coming back). Amazing views of the sea from the cottage and lovely to hear the waves lapping the shore at night. It's an extremely safe bay with swimmers at all times of the day. Really clear and clean sea and something for everyone, with the kayaks and paddleboards for hire on the beach and plenty of rock pools when the tide goes out. Coastal paths run right beside the cottage in both directions and we took lovely walks on both of them, to Rame Head and to Mount Edgecumbe, where the gardens and cream teas are beautiful in equal measure! A passenger ferry comes right into the beach every hour, running back into Plymouth Barbican. The sea trip itself is beautiful and very handy for a change of scenery if the laid back Cornish life leaves you wanting. In the village itself you have The Bay Restaurant, right opposite the cottage, serving drinks and fresh seafood (plus other things if you have fussy teenagers like us). There is also the Cross-Keys Inn, where everything is hand-made by the Chef, and delicious (currently food finishes at 7). I wouldn't bother with Half-Way House - we had a very uninspiring yet expensive visit there. There is also a fish and chip shop in the village square and you must visit The Sourdough Bakery for their handmade pizzas (which you need to order in advance). All places are Covid-safe but do require advance booking. The cottage itself is delightful. Everything you could possibly need and a lovely welcoming bottle of wine on arrival. All linen was fresh and there wasn't a thing that we needed that we didn't have. Just one look out - the low doorways. Hubbie and son banged their head a few times despite the warnings! I wouldn't recommend it for anyone with walking difficulties as, apart from the hill, there are several steps on the approach and two flights inside - although totally worth it for the amazing views. The courtyard is beautifully maintained and was a riot of colourful flowers this week. Made some wonderful memories at Balcony Cottage and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

    Reviewed by JillJun 2021

  • "Lovely cottage in a stunning location."

    Well situated with stunning view of bay and easy walking distance of all amenities, would recommend for a relaxing break at any time of the year.

    Reviewed by AmandaOct 2020

  • "Beautiful views sound of the sea in a lovely cottage"

    Reviewed by DouglasOct 2020

  • "The only flaw in this holiday was the need to use Just Park in order to park my car."

    Just Park is the most useless website and phone app I have ever had the misfortune to use. Downloading it and then remembering to use every day before 9am caused a lot of fuss and trouble. I hope Cornwall County Council ceases its contract soon. I am told that RingGo is much better.

    Reviewed by DavidSep 2019

  • "The house as always (4th time staying) was lovely and immaculate."

    However, our time in the house was ruined by the people staying in the flat above. We saw 2 ladies, 3 small children and a large dog going into the house and they were incredibly noisy. The children woke us up early each morning running riot and sounded like they were coming through the ceiling and this carried on until 8pm when they went to bed. However then the washing machine above the living room went on and the spin cycle made the living room shake and was incredibly noisy. The dog when left alone (on several occasions) howled and barked continuously for hours, to the point we had strangers knocking on the door to complain. After a few days we raised this with the caretaker and owner who were very apologetic and tried to get it sorted out but didn’t manage to do so as the last night was the worst noisy until 11.30 pm. One of the ladies came down to apologise and said it’s impossible to keep small children quiet, which isn’t satisfactory in any way. To be blunt that wasn’t our problem, they should not have been staying above us, we wouldn’t have booked on this basis had we known. We ourselves have 2 children (who also complained as their bedroom got the brunt of it) and we have a dog (in Kennells) and neither of these have ever ruined a holiday for anyone else. The cottage details are mis-leading saying there is an upstairs flat that the owner might use occasionally, which implies 1 person there if you are unlucky. We have never had this issue before either (even though there has been people above), but had we known it would be like this we would not have booked this time. We chose this house at a premium price for its location and like to spend lots of time in the house, and this time had to go out more as it was so stressful being in the house and explaining to our boys why the people were so noisy. This is our one holiday this year and we feel incredibly sad and disappointed with the experience. Having stayed in Kingsand/Cawsand for 12 years, 4 of these in the house this is the first time I have looked forward to going home and feel exhausted. We did send a video clip of the dog barking to the owner who was horrified. Ultimately we have lost out this year and have the dilemma of losing somewhere we wanted to stay again and again. We look forward to hearing your thoughts.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback following your recent stay at Balcony Cottage. The owners had hoped that once you reported the situation, it had been quickly corrected. They are very sorry and embarrassed that the upstairs visitors were so inconsiderate. They will be following up with the owners visitors to prevent this in the future. We are pleased to hear that other than the points raised you have enjoyed your previous holidays at Balcony Cottage. We hope that, despite what has happened, we see you again next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JustineAug 2019

  • "The house was clean, the house keeper Lindsay was very helpful when we contacted her."

    The location was excellent, my family enjoyed the holiday, we would definitely go back on holiday to Cawsands.

    Reviewed by ClaireAug 2019

  • "We booked Balcony Cottage as we had a family wedding to attend over the bank holiday weekend nearby."

    What a great place to stay. We only wish we could have stayed for the whole week to enjoy the cottage and Cawsand even more! We would love to return. This is an ideal place to stay if you like sea views and easy access to a beach, with excellent local amenities. A real home from home.

    Reviewed by TimothyMay 2019

  • "Balcony Cottage was fabulous - full of character, spacious, extremely clean, very comfortable and well equipped."

    The location was wonderful, with good pubs, the beach and wonderful walks right on the doorstep. And the sea views were absolutely stunning. The only problem was trying to pay for the carpark for the week. It was very hard to get a phone signal and the call cut off just as I was about to get to the end of a long, tedious process. I ended up downloading the parking app, which also took quite a while, as you have to set up an account, then paying that way. It was a shame to feel so stressed right at the beginning of the holiday. I'd advise people not to bother trying to pay by phone and to download the app before the holiday. The Wi-Fi at the cottage was very good.

    Reviewed by SarahApr 2019

  • "The location is superb and the facilities at the cottage are second to none."

    Reviewed by DanielOct 2018

  • "We ordered an online shop from Tescos but assumed there would be toilet rolls, kitchen paper and dishwasher tablets supplied."

    We have always had enough in other Helpful Holiday cottages. The stair carpet was stained and looked dirty. Apart from that the cottage was lovely.

    Reviewed by SAug 2018

  • "Fantastic. Beautiful cottage in a superb setting."

    Everything was perfect. Thank you

    Reviewed by DebbieJul 2018

  • "Great service - very helpful housekeeper"

    Reviewed by WendyJun 2018

  • "Beautiful place to stay with views over Cawsand Bay."

    Going to sleep with the sound of the waves crashing is amazing. We love Balcony Cottage and will be back as long as they'll have us!

    Reviewed by KateMay 2018

  • "Yes. WiFi was not available for one week of our two week stay, BT's fault but owners should have made sure it was available."

    We stayed in to help the owner out one sunny afternoon of our holiday for the BT repairmen to cure the fault. The incorrect access code was given to us so we couldnt get in before contacting the caretaker which was difficult due to poor mobile signal. There are so many time switches and control switches for different showers/heaters etc it was difficult to know what to switch on and not. Having said all that none of the aforesaid happened when we stayed in 2017,everything worked without a hitch ! whats happened ! The cottage was clean and comfortable though the other aspects were annoying though.

    Reviewed by PeterApr 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday

Summary

  • Over two floors, 1 x ground floor double bedroom with sea views, shower-room with shower, WC and basin
  • Dining room with sea view
  • Kitchen
  • First floor sitting room with ornamental fireplace and sea view
  • 1 x king-size bedroom, 1 x twin bedroom
  • Bathroom with bath, shower, WC and basin.
  • Electric panel heaters with night storage heating
  • Microwave, fridge-freezer, tumble dryer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with DVD, WiFi, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Parking is available in a public car park nearby (it is possible to unload outside the house)
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Five 'gastropubs' less than 500 yards from property, Note: Parking is in a public car park 200 yards from the property, it is possible to load/unload outside
  • Note: Attic flat (separate access) occasionally used
  • Note: This property sleeps a maximum of 6 people and 1 baby.

The property

Balcony Cottage is situated in the heart of Cawsand with great 'right out to sea' views, and occupies the first two floors of a Grade II listed, 18th century cottage snuggling in with its neighbouring cottages.

It has been completely renovated, exposing its fascinating history - no humble fisherman's cottage this. Some say smuggling helped pay for its fine panelling, coving and English Delft-ware tiles. On the ground floor there is the dining room with a great view out to sea, a fitted kitchen, a fine slate hallway and double bedroom again, with those sea views and a shower-room.

Head to the back porch and you will find the door out to a suntrap courtyard. The staircase has original Chinoiserie panels and leads to the living room with handsome ornamental fireplace, and stunning ship-watching view.

At this level you will find two more bedrooms - a king-size double with more great views, and a twin and then just a few stairs up to a family bathroom. A delightful cottage in every way. Catch the seasonal foot ferry to Plymouth from the beach which is a minutes' stroll away, and enjoy that fine city's historic waterfront.

Floorplans

1st FloorGround Floor

Kitchen Dining Room Double Bedroom Shower Room

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

KINGSAND AND CAWSAND

The twin villages of Kingsand and Cawsand, with narrow streets winding between pastel-coloured cottages, lie on the Rame Peninsula just 5 miles from Plymouth.

View more holiday cottages in Kingsand And Cawsand

Region Information

Note: This property sleeps a maximum of 6 people and 1 baby.

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it