Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 2 minutes ago

No. 2 Belgravia

Penzance, Cornwall (Ref. 974734)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

* Based on a combined average customer score

Group 2 Created with Sketch.

26 Customer Review(s)

  • “It started trying to enter the property, poorly maintained and overgrown, trying to lug our suitcases up the steps we became soaking wet by the weeds over-hanging the steps.”

    The space for hanging up our clothes was virtually non-existent. The standard of decoration was very poor, although the kitchen was good, the bathroom looked good, but only if you were less than 5ft 4 would you fit under the shower. Fortunately I am 5ft 2,but struggled to get in the shower as the roll-top bath was so high. Every time we showered the bathroom flooded which resulted in us keeping a mop and bucket in the bathroom. The kitchen only had one tea-towel and no over-gloves, all the ...

    The space for hanging up our clothes was virtually non-existent. The standard of decoration was very poor, although the kitchen was good, the bathroom looked good, but only if you were less than 5ft 4 would you fit under the shower. Fortunately I am 5ft 2,but struggled to get in the shower as the roll-top bath was so high. Every time we showered the bathroom flooded which resulted in us keeping a mop and bucket in the bathroom. The kitchen only had one tea-towel and no over-gloves, all the accessories for a food processor but no processor. The courtyard was overgrown and not maintained. It was a hazardous to go through the back gate to the bins into an over-grown alley way. We didn't mind the lack of parking or the property being out of the way, which is why we expected to pay the price, but we did expect a better thought out and maintained property, certainly not worth the £700 we paid.

    - Steven, September 2021

    Thank you very much for your comments, we're very sorry to hear that you didn't find things perfect and do hope that despite this you managed to enjoy your week away. We've spoken with the owner and they've asked us to publish the following as their response to you: "I am sorry that you did not seem to like No 2 Belgravia Street and that it rained. I note you did not raise any of these issues with me before finishing your holiday. To address some of your points in detail. The weeds in the front garden are ergeron..a pretty daisy like flower....harts tongue fern...and rock samphire. We and others like the natural beach look this gives the property There is a curtained alcove under the stairs with numerous hooks for coats etc. Upstairs in the main bedroom there is hanging space for 8 hangers and further hooks on both bedroom and bathroom doors and a chest of drawers in each bedroom. On the decor I would like to quote another review from this year: "It is so nicely decorated and pretty" The decoration is checked and retouched several times during the season where bookings permit. There are pictures of both the bath and shower in the description. I am 6 feet tall and have no trouble at all using the shower. The shower has been described as lovely in another review this year and I can only assume incorrect use of the shower screen led to water on the floor. There is a cheese grater that sits over a bowl but there is and never has been a food processor in the " spotless modern and well stocked kitchen leading to a sweet courtyard at the back" also from this year. I have told my neighbours that you didn't like their potted plants and thought they were hazardous. As to cost I suggest you contact Sykes directly as they are responsible for setting weekly rates." Property Owner

The property

This wonderful coastal cottage comes close at hand to the wonderful amenities of Penzance in Cornwall.

Set in a fabulous location and sleeping three people, this property serves as an excellent spot for small families seeking an unforgettable seaside getaway.

The hallway's stunning period tiles welcome you into the property in style, the ground floor is occupied by an enticing and homely open-plan living area.

Spend your downtime watching a favourite film from the comfort of the cosy sofas with the woodburning stove ablaze, at meal-times head to the back of the room where you will discover the delightful dining area and a classy and modern galley kitchen.

A rustic wooden staircase takes you to the first floor where you will find the two bedrooms here at No.

2 Belgrave, a double and a single are charmingly finished with feature fireplaces adding a homely touch.

Get ready for an adventure-filled day in true style in the cottage's immaculate, white bathroom.

Start the day off with a peaceful morning coffee out in the lovely little courtyard, a fine spot to sit in the sun and relax.

Penzance is the ultimate English seaside resort, providing an array of quaint, high-quality amenities and a picturesque harbour which looks towards the scenic St Michael's Mount.

Outdoor lovers can explore the Penwith Heritage Coast and the South West Coast Path, promising an unforgettable experience.

The surfing town of St Ives also lies nearby which makes for an excellent day out.

A charm-filled seaside cottage perfect for a stay at any time of year.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with shower over bath, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with a kitchen, dining area and sitting area with a woodburning stove.
  • Gas central heating, woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Stairgate, highchair and travel cot available on request
  • Roadside parking on roads around property
  • Rear enclosed courtyard with furniture
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 minute walk
  • Note: Four steps up to property
  • Note: Steep staircase, not suitable for those with mobility issues

View on map

About the location

PENZANCE

St Ives 8 miles. Helicopter to Isles of Scilly - 30 minutes

Penzance hosts Golowan, the Midsummer Carnival, and The Literary Festival. There are also The Exchange, Newlyn and Penlee Art Galleries. One of Cornwall’s most popular holiday areas is the spectacular sweep of Mount’s Bay, from the cliffside fishing village of Mousehole through Penzance and around to beautiful Marazion, the coastline hides a wealth of sandy beaches, rocky coves as well as winding village streets and other places to visit and explore. Connected by a causeway to the shore at Marazion is the National Trust’s stunningly beautiful St Michael’s Mount with its hilltop castle and Mediterranean gardens. Walk across at low water and take one of the ferry boats back when the tide is up. Penzance with its winding streets, shops, clubs, restaurants and harbour is a must as it is the jumping-off point for day trips to the Isles of Scilly as well as being the harbor. The South West Coast Path passing through Penzance winds its way along the clifftops towards Land’s End. On the way, stop off for a coffee and a rest at beautiful Lamorna Cove, explore the open air Minack Theatre and marvel at the cliffs as you approach Gwennap Head. A stunning walk for those seeking solitude, exercise and some of the UK’s best coastal scenery. Penzance is the perfect holiday base. Ideally placed for exploring this land of Celtic myth and legend and with enough to do and see in the immediate area to keep all the family occupied.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas