Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked 1 Horizon View in the last 24 hours

1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • 1 Horizon View - Cornwall - 1121193 - photo 1



1 Horizon View

(Ref. 1121193)

Dobwalls, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • hot tub (12)
  • tub (12)
  • hot (12)
  • stay (10)
  • our (10)
  • lovely (10)

20 Customer Reviews

  • "Tranquil getaway."

    Overall the lodge was beautiful, very modern, clean and homely. The little things that aren’t usually thought about made the experience even more amazing, the milk was very handy and the little box with tea, coffee, sugar etc was a lovely touch. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

    Thank you so much for leaving us your lovely feedback Rhian, it is much appreciated and wonderful to hear how much you loved your stay. I hope you will come back to see us again in the very near future! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rhian5.0Apr 2024

  • "We had a great stay here and not a single complaint."

    The listing shows off the cottage perfectly. The onsite staff were very helpful and even booked a table for us at the nearby restaurant at the sister site. We stayed for 4 nights and had a brilliant time, can't recommend enough!

    It's amazing to ready your amazing feedback Jack, I am absolutely delighted to hear that you loved your lodge and had a fantastic time with us at 1 Horizon View. I hope you will be back to see us again in the very near future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jack4.7Feb 2024

  • "A really lovely property and the only reason it isn’t a 5 star are little things that might not bother others but just nudged it down to a 4 star for us."

    Such as having to walk through the whole property after using the hot tub to get to the shower, not having a dryer rack to dry off swimming clothes and no tv in the bedroom (especially as it’s wired for it). The views were beautiful and the little box of tea, coffee etc was very much appreciated. Staff we saw were really lovely, the property was well maintained and great communication regarding our stay. Would recommend to anyone who wants to stay in the area.

    I am so happy to hear that you loved your stay at 1 Horizon View, Terri, despite the small problems you highlighted. Thank you so much for giving us your suggestions of ways in which we could improve the lodge, it is really helpful to us. Thank you also for your recommendation, I hope you will be back to see us again in the very near future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Terri4.7Sep 2023

  • "Modern and clean i had a lovely time"

    Thankyou for your feedback Jia, it was lovely to hear that you had a wonderful stay. I hope you will be back to see us again very soon. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jia5.0Aug 2023

  • "The lodge was lovely but I have rated as 4 stars due to the proximity of the lodge to the road, as there was some road noise early morning."

    In the shower room the basin tap has hot and cold the wrong way round. One area for improvement would be to cover the hot tub to make it usable in all weathers

    I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at 1 Horizon View, Paul. Thank you so much for leaving us your feedback and your suggestion of a cover for the hot tub. Unfortunately, despite the road being only a minor one, there is a steady amount of traffic which uses it, so I am sorry that you were disturbed during your stay. I hope that despite the small issues that you found, you will be back to visit us again in the future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Jul 2023

  • "We booked this for our honeymoon and we weren’t disappointed when we arrived it was beautiful."

    We were welcomed with a lovely cold bottle of Prosecco, card and flower petals on the bed which made a lovely touch so thank you to sally and the team. The property itself was lovely with Beautiful views from the hot tub.we will 100% be booking to coming back either for our 1st year wedding anniversary or a family holiday with our little boy.

    Thank you so very much for leaving us your incredible feedback Megan. I am really happy to hear that you had a wonderful honeymoon at 1 Horizon View and enjoyed the little treats! I look forward to welcoming you back again to stay next year and can't wait to meet you both (and possibly your son too!) Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Megan5.0Jun 2023

  • "Property was brilliant, views were amazing it was idyllic, peaceful, quiet, no interruptions from anyone."

    It was a wonderful holiday, it did go too quickly, but, the best holidays do. The only thing that was a downside, preventing our enjoyment. The hot tub was much too low, as a couple with mobility issues, we could not access the hot tub, which was a great shame, it looked so inviting. Installing a hand rail of some kind to aid getting in and out would have been perfect, or installing a hot tub which was not so low. However the rest of the lodge was so beautiful, as was the gorgeous views , not using the hot tub, was not such a big issue.

    Reviewed by Martyn4.7May 2023

  • "This was our second time at 1 Horizon View."

    It is a beautiful lodge but unfortunately we had problems with drainage. However, we reported these and we were moved to another lodge on Forever Fields that was amazing. The staff were very helpful once the issues were reported. Both lodges are very comfortable and once moved we sat watching rabbits in the garden every night. Loved the hot tub too. Excellent base for exploring Cornwall.

    I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Southern Halt, Lisa despite a change of lodges following the issue with drainage that you experienced. I am so sorry that this happened during your stay, however please be assured that this being resolved. The resort is full of wildlife, so I am so pleased you were able to experience this and also that you were able to make full use of the hot tub! I hope you will return to stay with us again in the very near future, as we would love to have you back! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa4.1Apr 2023

  • "The lodge was so lovely, it had everything we needed and everything was clean, the lodge had everything as advertised."

    The hot tub was just perfect, exactly what we needed, it was very private and we had a lovely view of the countryside. We did had some issues with the heating so rang reception, where they were all very attentive and polite, they sent a maintenance man over within an hour. All staff were all very lovely and welcoming. We went for dinner at the sister site and it was nice, they didn’t have a huge variety on the menu but still some good food options. It was the perfect break for us and exactly what we was expecting, we will definitely be back!

    Thank you very much for leaving feedback for us, we really do appreciate it. I’m sorry to hear there were a few issues with the heating in your lodge, but I’m glad to hear it was rectified quickly. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at 1 Horizon View and were able to sample the delights of the hot tub and enjoy the gorgeous views! I'm delighted to hear you will be coming back to see us soon. Sally Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Aimee4.7Dec 2022

  • "We had no idea we would be places right next to a main road, so all through the night and the whole time we were in the hotub all we heard was traffic."

    The cleaning of the hotub was early every morning and no attempt was made to keep the noise down, and no consideration for sleeping guests. Wifi was only available on the first day, there after wasn't able to find the network anywhere. No heating the whole time we where here, had two different men out on first day to try and fix it, we were told all was fixed and okay, but it wasn't and we were ignored after that due to the Christmas period? Freezing cold the whole time, sleepless nights, wearing jumpers and coats most of the time, a complete joke for the money we paid.

    Thank your for leaving us feedback Kayleigh, we really do value your comments. I sincerely apologise that you experienced issues during your stay with us. I am aware that our General Manager, Laney, was in contact with you following your visit, so I do hope that she was able to resolve things for you in regards to your heating issues. Although your lodge is situated adjacent to a road, this is a B road and is not often busy, so I am sorry this was disruptive to your hot tub experience. Our hot tub maintenance team carry out thorough daily checks to ensure the chemical levels in the hot tubs are safe for use, however I have advised them that in future they respect the time at which this carried out. I am sorry that they caused a nuisance in the early hours. I really do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future so that you can experience the changes that have been made. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kayleigh2.8Dec 2022

  • "We’ve stayed at this sight before in a different lodge and had a brilliant time."

    Thought we would book again, this time we took our 8 month old daughter - as it states baby friendly. Due to the large skylights in the bedroom it was impossible to put her down for a nap in the day, definitely needs blinds. The flooring is lifting in areas, I’m assuming where it’s getting wet from coming in after being in the hot tub, this made some areas rough/sharp so had to be careful with a crawling baby. The high chair provided was filthy, and made it difficult for us to clean as the food had been dried onto the fabric for some time. There was also large puddles of water under the sink behind the bin, which we hadn’t noticed until taking the bin out when leaving. We ended up leaving a day early from our holiday, as we found it inconvenient with a young child and unable to take her for a pram walk locally without going in the car, as the place is just surrounded by stones - no tarmac. Definitely not somewhere I would stay again with a baby, but for the price and location it would be a lovely place to stay after some improvements.

    Thank you for your feedback Ellie, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughts. I am very sorry that you found issues during your stay. I have passed on your concerns to the appropriate teams and the points you raised are being addressed. The blinds for the velux windows have been ordered and will be fitted imminently. Unfortunately, the surface of the road at Southern Halt is something that will not be improved for a while. As new owners, this is something we are aware of and we are trying very hard to ensure improvements to our sites, however these things do take a little time. I really do hope you will come to stay with us again, as we would love to welcome you back. Sally, Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ellie2.8Nov 2022

  • "This was our 3rd time on this site as we love it here."

    This lodge is fantastic but a couple of let downs unfortunately. The skylights in the bedroom really need blinds as being woke up at 7 am on holiday is not fun especially when staying a week. The hot tub had to be topped up every day because there seems to be a small leak and you would easily lose 4 inches of water whilst in it. They are now aware there is a problem. I had to wash some cupboard doors down because they had big splashes of orange coloured sauce on them and the oven had been cleaned but the oven door was covered in grease which we didn't realise and filled the kitchen area with smoke when we opened the door just from preheating it. The fridge underneath the fruit and veg drawers had puddles of water under them which got worse over the week so I had to keep mopping it up. We had to get the frying pan replaced and the tin opener because both were broken. Things like this should be checked when cleaning is done. There is also no cupboard space for food we had to move all dishes so we could just use a cupboard. And the cupboard wich contains glasses i couldn't reach at all and my husband struggled due to where it is by the breakfast bar which has no stools. We would not book this lodge again unfortunately but will return to the same site and stay in a different lodge.

    Thank you so much for leaving us your thoughts Linda, we really do appreciate feedback as we can then ensure that any issues are resolved. I was happy to hear you enjoyed your stay despite the problems you encountered. I have passed on all your comments to the relevant teams so that these issues can be rectified and apologise most sincerely that you had to experience them. I am very pleased to hear that you will return to stay with us again in the future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda3.8Nov 2022

  • "An amazing place, very cosy, comfy bed and the most amazing views."

    Everything we needed for a week of relaxation and quiet time. A great location as a base to explore the coastal towns of Cornwall

    Great to hear you found this to be a great location, we definitely agree and thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Zoe5.0Oct 2022

  • "Lovely property throughout."

    Clean and hospitable, we loved our stay and only regret not booking longer. Perfect evenings in the hot tub topped off a great break.

    Thank you for your excellent feedback, please do visit us again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Will5.0Oct 2022

  • "The washing machine was broken and leaked water while we were there, I think the door seal is broken as it seemed to be leaking from the door."

    Also twice two men walked across the back of our cabin and stood there for some time taking pictures. I’m sure they were grounds maintenance workers but a small knock to say they would be there for a moment would’ve been nice as after that we felt a bit on edge that they would just appear there. Was a little off putting to go outside/use hot tub. Felt like a slight invasion of the privacy we had. Overall a lovely stay though.

    Mrs Nina StephensonSep 2022

  • "Need blinds in the skylight windows in the bedroom."

    Guests staying in summer time are gonna find it extremely hard not to be waking up around 5am with the sun

    Mr Lyle WeirAug 2022

  • "Positives - property is well presented and luxurious, a great location, private despite being on a site, a great view, we were left a small selection of essentials (tea, coffee, milk, toiletries etc) and lots of information for things to do in and around Cornwall which we found very useful."

    There were however some negatives/areas for improvement. I was woken up every morning by the traffic driving past (property is next to the road which cars drive quite fast down). The bed wasn’t the comfiest and wasn’t great for my partner’s back (spring mattress). There are skylights in the bedroom that don’t have blinds over them so as soon as the sun rose, this woke us both up (if we weren’t awake already due to the traffic). We couldn’t connect the TV to the WiFi so were unable to watch Netflix (minor point but who doesn’t love Netflix!). The en-suite could probably do with some re-sealing where it’s started to go mouldy and discolour. Overall, we did have a great time and would stay on the site again - just maybe a different property.

    Miss Chloe CarrJul 2022

  • "Our stay at 1 horizon view was absolutely perfect from start to finish, so quiet ..."

    Our stay at 1 horizon view was absolutely perfect from start to finish, so quiet and peaceful, the cabin was more than expected and really roomy for 2 people, views eating breakfast and hot tub are amazing helped bye lovely weather, our stay was perfect in every way and can't wait to visit again, if I was being picky I would say sky lights in bedroom could do with blinds on them but that definitely wouldn't put me off booking again, many thanks rob and claire

    Mr Robert FearnJul 2022

  • "A wonderful place to stay."

    The lodge was beautiful, so open, light and comfortable, set in stunning scenery and quiet location. Everything we wanted and more! Would definitely book again and recommend to others!

    Mrs Lauren DevonshireJun 2022

  • "We absolutely loved our stay at 1 Horizon View and we can’t wait to come back."

    We felt so relaxed and especially enjoyed the hot tub. The customer service we received from Sykes when booking was exceptional.

    Ms Miranda GulleyJun 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Single-storey
  • One double bedroom with bath and en-suite shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with bath, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher
  • TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Travel Cot (no mattress) and highchair available to hire
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • EV charging point
  • Private decked terrace with furniture and hot tub
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub 0.4 miles
  • Note: Lake on-site, children need to be supervised at all times
  • Note: barbecues are not to be brought to the site
  • Note: Pets to be kept on a lead at all times on site
  • Note: Check-in from 4pm, check-out at 10am
  • Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.

The property

1 Horizon View is an extravagant cedar-clad lodge situated in the resort of Southern Halt on the fringes of Dobwalls in Cornwall.

This two-person retreat exudes luxury being set within reach of the magical Cornish coast, as well as Bodmin Moor where BBC's Poldark is filmed.

Perfect for couples, step into this first-class escape and find yourself in the contemporary open-plan living area.

This deluxe relaxing lodge allows you to enjoy snug sofas, a warming electric fire and a pristine kitchen providing a superb range of appliances - the perfect place to let your hair down after a day of scenic exploration.

The charming Cornish features adorning the walls will remind you of your marvellous location.

Catch that well-earned rest in the lavish double bedroom, featuring a classy four-poster bed and a freestanding bath for that extra indulgent touch.

Make the most of the glistening en-suite facilities which conclude the interior in elegant style.

When the sun comes out, step out onto the decked terrace to the front of this holiday home and treat yourself and your other half to an alfresco meal, or luxuriate within the sunken hot tub to top your day off in the right way.

Avid walkers can venture throughout Bodmin Moor with ease, admiring the natural beauty shown on a number of paths and trails or if you would prefer to amble around, Liskeard is just a few miles away with a characterful market town.

Travelling slightly further afield can lead you towards the spectacular Cornish coastline, dotted with a number of glorious sandy beaches and attractions for all to enjoy.

Guests are welcome to enjoy our Old Mill Bar and Restaurant at our sister site, Stonerush Lakes, which resides only a short car journey away.

Treat you and your loved one to a dream holiday among the wonders of rural Cornwall.

Southern Halt Cottages

Located in the quiet village of Dobwalls in south-east Cornwall, is a collection of wonderfully modern lodges with a touch of luxury set in the Cornish countryside. Offering panoramic views of the surrounding stunning location, you can look forward to enjoying a glorious holiday relaxing with your loved ones, and still be within easy driving distance of the best of Cornwall's attractions. Each holiday home is of exceptional standard, containing modern fitted kitchens, perfect for cooking up delicious meals for the whole family, to enjoy at the dining table or take advantage of the warm balmy evenings and indulge in a spot of alfresco dining as the sun sets. Delightfully furnished sitting rooms invite you to sink into the plush seating arrangements and wind down with a favourite film, watched on state-of-the-art TVs. Get some much-needed rest after activity-filled days in the attractive bedrooms, with various sleeping arrangements to suit everyone's needs, and excellent storage for your personal items. Each property has a private outside space, in the form of a patio or decking, with outdoor seating and the surrounding luscious lawns can be enjoyed by all. Some properties benefit from amazing hot tubs, to be enjoyed with a glass of wine as you look out to the spectacular scenery. If you don't feel like cooking in the evenings, just under a mile away is The Highwayman, a lovely pub serving classic dishes and a selection of ales and ciders, along with shops nearby. Alternatively, visit our sister site Stonerush Lakes which has our very own bar/restaurant; The Old Mill just a short drive away. Travel around 10 miles west over to the town of Bodmin to explore the famous Bodmin Jail, a building steeped in social and architectural history, offering insights into Cornish prison life through time, before heading up to Bodmin Moor for a refreshing walk to shake off the cobwebs and experience the beauty of the moors. For some sun, sea and sand you can visit Looe, and sunbathe on East Looe Beach, a perfect location for swimming as well and great for the little ones to have a paddle. Southern Halt is a gorgeous retreat, ideal for getting to know this lovely part of Cornwall.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Liskeard 2.6 miles; Looe 8.4 miles.

The rural village of Dobwalls is surrounded by open fields and wooded countryside, and is close to the market town of Liskeard, the slopes of Bodmin Moor and the glorious north and south Cornish coastlines. This is a perfect base for exploring the many delights the region has to offer, with the picturesque fishing harbours of Looe, Fowey and Polperro within 15 miles to the south whilst Padstow and the surfing beach at Polzeath lie a comfortable drive away on the North Coast. Take a trip to Siblyback Lake and enjoy the wonderful sailing, fishing and watersports on offer, or travel a little further and take advantage of the superb walking on Bodmin Moor. The Eden project lies within 15 miles and Plymouth is just a 30 minute drive, or 25 minute train ride from nearby Liskeard station. With the Barbican harbour district, renowned aquarium, and good selection of shops, restaurants and theatres, this is a great holiday base.

View more holiday cottages in Dobwalls

Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas