Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 15 View Image Gallery
  • 3 Horizon View - Cornwall - 1121194 - photo 1



3 Horizon View

(Ref. 1121194)

Dobwalls, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • hot (10)
  • hot tub (10)
  • tub (10)
  • clean (9)
  • stay (8)
  • bed (7)

17 Customer Reviews

  • "A very quiet and relaxing position with good views."

    Excellent accomodation. Spacious and clean with plenty of hot water. The bed was very comfortable so after an exhausting day it was lovely to relax in the hot tub and be able to sleep well. The dressing gowns were a nice touch. Would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Melanie5.0Apr 2024

  • "We had an amazing stay at 3 Horizon View, the lodge was perfect."

    Great facilities, the site was well maintained and the hot tub was checked everyday. Would recommend to others.

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Mar 2024

  • "We had an absolutely fabulous time, it was so peaceful and the views were incredible!"

    The photos really didn’t do it justice! The hot tub was taken care of everyday so that we could get into a clean one at our pleasure. It’s a very quiet site so nothing disturbed us. The toilet had a big leak but they came out immediately to fix it so no problems there. The cushions on the sofa were very mucky but it really didn’t bother us, we didn’t spend much time sat down, it’s more of a heads up for your next people. The blinds had something splashed all down them but again it didn’t bother us but someone is bound to complain in the future so just a heads up! It’s a huge lodge, plenty of space! The only thing I would change is to section off the garden bit properly leading out to the fence so that people can’t walk past looking in and invading your privacy whilst using the hot tub which we experienced, and the very noisy bedsheets every time you move

    Reviewed by Sharney4.7Mar 2024

  • "We love Southern Halt and would visit again but 3 Horizon View is very tired & worn."

    We wouldn't book this property again. One of the sofa's has a very old, musty smell to it and looks so uninviting and it was uncomfortable. The bed had a throw on it which I had to wash and dry as this all smelt old & musty. Like it had never been washed. Once it was dry this was used to cover the sofa. The bedding had a few marks on it and we couldn't sleep due to the smell of bleach being so strong. There where no instructions (that I could see) for the dishwasher so we was unsure of which setting to use for the quickest wash. The sky light blind in the master bedroom wouldn't stay shut and would open on its own at all hours. That skylight also leaked meaning we heard dripping throughout the night. The skylight is moldy as are the curtains in the living room. The hoover was useless, not much suction and the end wouldn't stay on. Broken door in the hall to the cupboard, kept opening despite us using the inside lock. The hot tub and surrounding outside areas are amazing and it's a beautiful place. Would 100% book again but will chose a better more suited lodge.

    Thank you so much for leaving us your feedback Kayla. I really do hope that despite the negative items you have mentioned, you were still able to enjoy your holiday and I am very pleased to hear that you will be back to stay with us again in the future. We have been working through a refurbishment programme to update our lodges and ensure they are fresh and to a high standard. We will pass on your suggestions and feedback to the owner, so improvements can be made, where needed. Thank you again and we can't wait to see you soon. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kayla2.8Feb 2024

  • "Great accommodation in a quiet location."

    Very comfortable beds, everywhere spotlessly clean. Well equipped kitchen including a basics welcome pack. Hot tub was a bonus which was very clean and maintained daily. Kitchen fully equipped . An excellent place to stay.

    I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay Anne and that you loved 3 Horizon View and Southern Halt. Thank you for your wonderful feedback! I hope you will be back to stay us again very soon. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Oct 2023

  • "Lovely lodge on a well maintained site with beautiful views."

    The lodge was well equipped and the only small negative was that the cream sofa was not very comfortable. However the weather was great and we sat outside most of the week. I would be very happy to book again and look forward to our next visit

    Thank you so much for leaving us your feedback Theresa, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at 3 Horizon View, although very sorry to hear that you found the sofa uncomfortable. I hope despite this, you will be back to see us again in the very near future! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Theresa4.7Sep 2023

  • "We have previously stayed at HV3 and other Southern Halt properties."

    We have always found the properties well equipped, clean and comfortable. Check in and out is simple. The location is peaceful and beautiful and well positioned for exploring both the North and South coasts. The beds are extremely comfortable, however the sofas are less so. A shaver point in one of the bathrooms would be handy, as would many more coat hangers and better hooks for bath towels. Overall this is a fantastic place to stay.

    I'm so happy to hear that you have enjoyed another peaceful and relaxing stay with us Geoff and that your lodge was as you wished it to be. Thank you for your suggestions of a shaver point and towel hooks for the bathroom and for extra hangers. These comments have been passed to our Guest and Owner Experience Manager to act upon. Hopefully you will be back again to see us in the very near future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geoff4.7Aug 2023

  • "This is my third visit to the Horizon site and I haven't been disappointed on any occasion."

    The Cabins were presented clean with all essentials provided to make it an enjoyable stay. This was the first time staying at number 3 Horizon View and again the premise was what i had come to expect. If i had one very small criticism, then a shaver plug in either the bathroom or en-suite would have been useful mainly for charging electric toothbrushes, but as said this would be my only criticism. Well done also to Sykes Holiday staff for making my booking so easy.

    Thank you so much for leaving us your wonderful feedback Michael, we really appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts. I am really happy to learn that you had a great time and loved your lodge. Thank you also for your suggestion about the socket in the bathroom, which I have passed on to our maintenance team to investigate. I hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jun 2023

  • "Brilliant property, quiet, restful, tranquil, we loved it, especially the two children who adored the hot tub and open safe space outdoors."

    Thank you and we would love to stay again.

    I am absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at 3 Horizon View and that you and your family had a peaceful and relaxing holiday Martyn and made full use of the hot tub. Please hurry back to see us again soon! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martyn5.0May 2023

  • "Accommodation was comfortable and warm."

    Any issues that we had were promplty dealt with

    Thank you for leaving us feedback Carl, we appreciate you taking the time and I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will be back to visit us again very soon. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carl4.7Mar 2023

  • "A lovely property in a great location!"

    Fantastically clean, great to have the dishwasher and to have Netflix too! The sunken hot tub was a great idea and we still enjoyed it twice a day in rainy November! Great location- we will be back !

    Thank you for your feedback, pleased to hear you will definitely be back, we look forward to seeing you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Liza4.1Oct 2022

  • "The lodge could not have been any cleaner, the bedding was crisp and fresh, we had everything we needed and more!"

    The area was quiet and beautiful views from the hot tub, we had a lovely romantic getaway and have recommended it to friends since arriving home. Would love to return for another slice of heaven!

    Miss Shelley DobbsSep 2022

  • "Accommodation was fabulous, we couldn’t fault anything, lovely and open planned , very clean and a great location with a perfect view."

    On a minor note it would be a good idea to have a sticker or something at eye level on the middle pain of clear glass by the dining table , as on two separate occasions both myself and and husband walked into it thinking it was open , as we had opened the other patio doors when we first arrived. We placed a chair in front afterwards so the children didn’t do the same. ( probably as the glass was so clean )

    Mrs Sharon SymesAug 2022

  • "Bit of a rocky start, contacted the owner on arriving, crumbs over the work surfaces table and floor."

    Cleaning equipment to hoover the floor that had rolled up dust over it were just as clogged with dust and hair. The windows were dirty. Possibly.last occupant had a young child windows dirty smeared with something the windows on the outside were also dirty!!!! Outside patio table was filthy so were the seat cushions. The hot tub lid underneath was covered in grass and there was grass in the hot tub.

    Mrs Cheryl WhiteJul 2022

  • "We all absolutely loved our stay!"

    We have never done a staycation before but now we have totally spoilt ourselves staying here! We are missing this place already! I would definitely recommend this place and already passed details onto friends and family who have took a interest. Myself, my mum and 2 children wanted to get away for a week or too. We wanted something quiet, classy, with no dogs or screaming kids! We got what we wanted. This was perfect! Thank you

    Miss Hannah TaylorJul 2022

  • "Very clean property."

    As described on website. Would have appreciated some information on how to use the settings on the microwave. No bathrobe or toiletries for the third and fourth adult guest. The view was outstanding, shame about the raised bank in front of the hot tub. Good base for exploring north Cornwall. We would love to return. Thank you.

    Mrs Geraldine PriceJun 2022

  • "The property is excellent , we’ve enjoyed our stay there."

    It spacious, clean , well presented . You can visit the whole of Cornwall if you don’t mind driving around. We throughly enjoyed our time in Cornwall.

    Mr Richard HarrisonMay 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Single-storey
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with access to terrace
  • Utility
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher
  • TV with Freeview, DVD, Bluetooth speaker, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot (no mattress) and highchair to hire
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Additional parking available on site
  • Private decked terrace with hot tub and furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.5 miles
  • Check-in 4pm, check-out 10am
  • Note: The charging of electric vehicles is not permitted
  • Note: Lake on-site, children need to be supervised at all times
  • Note: Barbecues are not to be brought to the site
  • Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.

The property

With Bodmin Moor nearby, 3 Horizon View is a beautiful place to visit, sat amongst the Southern Halt grounds.

Whether you have a romantic getaway for two in mind, or a family holiday, this cottage invites you to the best of the countryside, with a lovely open plan interior and delightful terrace.

The fabulous layout commences with sumptuous sofas, a charming dining area, and a beautiful kitchen with a range of utensils and accessories, all of which is overlooked by ceiling spotlights.

You will look forward to settling down amongst the layout, appreciating the natural light which sweeps in from the windows.Two bedrooms are soothingly designed, the first is presented as a double with its own en-suite, whilst the second is arranged as a twin; there is even a glimpse of the wonderful scenery to wake up to every day that goes by.

Finally, an all-white family bathroom completes the accommodation with an overhead shower.

Outdoors, the furnished decking makes a picturesque spot for those alfresco family meals and you can even spend some time enjoying the sunken hot tub after a busy day exploring Cornwall.

The historic market town of Liskeard is just three miles away, and the harbour towns of Looe, Fowey and Polperro are just a short drive away too.

Alternatively, for a slightly more active day take a trip to Siblyback Lake and enjoy sailing, fishing and watersports.

Guests are welcome to use the Old Mill Bar and Restaurant on the Stonerush Lakes sister park, which can be found a short drive away.

3 Horizon View is a brilliant place to stay while uncovering the many delights in the area.

Southern Halt Cottages

Located in the quiet village of Dobwalls in south-east Cornwall, is a collection of wonderfully modern lodges with a touch of luxury set in the Cornish countryside. Offering panoramic views of the surrounding stunning location, you can look forward to enjoying a glorious holiday relaxing with your loved ones, and still be within easy driving distance of the best of Cornwall's attractions. Each holiday home is of exceptional standard, containing modern fitted kitchens, perfect for cooking up delicious meals for the whole family, to enjoy at the dining table or take advantage of the warm balmy evenings and indulge in a spot of alfresco dining as the sun sets. Delightfully furnished sitting rooms invite you to sink into the plush seating arrangements and wind down with a favourite film, watched on state-of-the-art TVs. Get some much-needed rest after activity-filled days in the attractive bedrooms, with various sleeping arrangements to suit everyone's needs, and excellent storage for your personal items. Each property has a private outside space, in the form of a patio or decking, with outdoor seating and the surrounding luscious lawns can be enjoyed by all. Some properties benefit from amazing hot tubs, to be enjoyed with a glass of wine as you look out to the spectacular scenery. If you don't feel like cooking in the evenings, just under a mile away is The Highwayman, a lovely pub serving classic dishes and a selection of ales and ciders, along with shops nearby. Alternatively, visit our sister site Stonerush Lakes which has our very own bar/restaurant; The Old Mill just a short drive away. Travel around 10 miles west over to the town of Bodmin to explore the famous Bodmin Jail, a building steeped in social and architectural history, offering insights into Cornish prison life through time, before heading up to Bodmin Moor for a refreshing walk to shake off the cobwebs and experience the beauty of the moors. For some sun, sea and sand you can visit Looe, and sunbathe on East Looe Beach, a perfect location for swimming as well and great for the little ones to have a paddle. Southern Halt is a gorgeous retreat, ideal for getting to know this lovely part of Cornwall.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Liskeard 2.6 miles; Looe 8.4 miles.

The rural village of Dobwalls is surrounded by open fields and wooded countryside, and is close to the market town of Liskeard, the slopes of Bodmin Moor and the glorious north and south Cornish coastlines. This is a perfect base for exploring the many delights the region has to offer, with the picturesque fishing harbours of Looe, Fowey and Polperro within 15 miles to the south whilst Padstow and the surfing beach at Polzeath lie a comfortable drive away on the North Coast. Take a trip to Siblyback Lake and enjoy the wonderful sailing, fishing and watersports on offer, or travel a little further and take advantage of the superb walking on Bodmin Moor. The Eden project lies within 15 miles and Plymouth is just a 30 minute drive, or 25 minute train ride from nearby Liskeard station. With the Barbican harbour district, renowned aquarium, and good selection of shops, restaurants and theatres, this is a great holiday base.

View more holiday cottages in Dobwalls

Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas