Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 25 View Image Gallery
  • 3 Southern Place - Cornwall - 1121175 - photo 1



3 Southern Place

(Ref. 1121175)

Dobwalls, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (14)
  • lovely (9)
  • hot (8)
  • well (7)
  • hot tub (7)
  • tub (7)

19 Customer Reviews

  • "We had the amazing time."

    . the property was perfect and not over looked. We went over to the sister site and had a lovely meal in their restaurant which i would recommend.. would definitely go back again.

    Thank you so much for leaving us your feedback Nicola, we really do appreciate your time. I am so happy to hear that you loved your stay at 3 Southern Place and that you also managed to come across to the restaurant at the Old Mill, Stonerush Lakes for a meal! Hopefully you will be back to see us again in the very near future! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola4.7Mar 2024

  • "Loved my stay here!"

    Wanted somewhere where I could go for a relaxed getaway and I wasn’t bothered by anyone. Very quiet area and had everything in the lodge you could think of possibly needing. Would definitely come back.

    Thank you so much for leaving us your amazing experience of your stay at 3 Southern Place. I am so happy that you had a peaceful and relaxing break with us and that you will be back to see us again in the future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kayleigh4.7Dec 2023

  • "Amazing place to stay, I have stayed in many of the lodges at southern halt and although they are all fantastic, I found this little gem the most comfortable and nicely tucked away from the others!"

    Will definitely be returning! Thankyou

    I am delighted to read that you have found your favourite lodge in 3 Southern Place, Maria! I am really happy that you had a fantastic stay and that you are planning on coming back to see us again in the future! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maria5.0Oct 2023

  • "Amazing property, reception are incredibly helpful and kind."

    We throughly enjoyed our stay at 3 southern place and were sad to leave. Thank you all.

    I loved reading your comments after your stay at 3 Southern Place, Caitlin, so thank you very much! I am really happy that you loved your lodge and had a great time in Cornwall. Please come back soon! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caitlin5.0Oct 2023

  • "We managed to book this beautiful lodge very last minute and we were so pleased with our stay!"

    The location, the comfort and cleanliness was 10/10. It was a very smooth booking and check in/ check out. We felt really safe and relaxed throughout our stay. We were spoilt for choice between the hot tub outside as well as the bath tub indoors which included hot tub features! The TV system both in the bedroom and living area was very convenient too. WIFI was not a problem at all and we were able to use Netflix. The interior overall was very stylish although there was some cracks and stains on some of the flooring/ furniture as well as one of the blinds not working, this wasn’t a major issue. You are given a small amount of necessities to cover however many nights you are there but some things that you might want to take with you is washing up liquid, hand wash, kitchen tissue rolls, extra tea bags, sugar, bin bags. We would definitely recommend this for anyone looking to get away for a relaxing break. Thank you!

    Thank you for leaving us such wonderful and informative feedback Farzana, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at 3 Southern Place and made full use of all the amazing facilities at the lodge. Thank you also for your comments about the flooring, furniture and blinds, I will arrange for the maintenance team to assess the issues, so that they can be rectified. We provide an emergency pack in the kitchen to help you through your first day or two, however the lodges are self catering, which is why you would only have found a small amount of items in the lodge. I hope you will return to visit us again in the future, as we really do value our guests. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Farzana5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely property in a quiet location."

    Communication from Sykes and the site office was excellent. Really enjoyed our brief weekend break. Lodge was extremely clean inside just some general updating required inside due to wear and tear and the flooring does need replacing in the bathroom area as it is lifting. Outside the hot tub was lovely and serviced daily just the decking could have done with a brush and wipe over and the glass balcony panels need a clean as they are covered in algae. Saying that, we did have a lovely stay. Have stayed on site before in a different lodge but would definitely return to these lodges again.

    I am so happy to hear that you loved your stay at 3 Southern Place, David. Thank you for leaving us your thoughts, it is so helpful to us! Thank you also for letting me know about the condition of the bathroom floor and glass panels. I have passed these issues to the relevant team to rectify. I am delighted to hear that despite these problems, you will be back to stay with us again in the future! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.8Aug 2023

  • "This is our third time staying in your lodge and we love it."

    Really peaceful and private always have a great holiday. This time though we stayed for longer and got the same amount of toilet roll and on the last evening we actually ran out and didn't have any atal. Also the towel's you only get 1 towel to use for the hot tub and the shower so we were using 1 dirty towel for 3 days for the hot tub and to shower which isn't obviously ideal. Another point, this was our first time staying when the weather has been warm and it was actually unbearable at times the heat in there and there's no fan. It heated up like a greenhouse in the day and at night it was hard to sleep so maybe consider getting a fan to store in the bedroom cupboard to make it more comfortable as we actually wouldn't stay again in the summer because of this

    Thank you for your lovely feedback Grace, we really do appreciate you leaving us your thoughts. I am really happy to hear that you had a wonderful relaxing break at 3 Southern Place and hope you will be back again very soon to stay with us. Unfortunately as we are self-catering, we only provide an emergency supply of toilet rolls to get you through your first few days, so I am sorry if you were not made aware of this. We also provide towels for use within the lodge, but not for the hot tub. Again my apologies that this was not something you were told prior to your stay. I have passed on your comment about having a fan provided in the lodge, as this is something we could definitely look into doing, so thank you for your suggestion. Sally, Guest Services, Charteraoak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Grace3.8May 2023

  • "Amazing place to stay."

    Enjoyed it so much we extended for an extra night. Lots of lovely goodies when you get there, tea bags sugar coffee etc. information on nearby restaurants available in welcome pack. Location is beautiful, remote, peaceful. Lots of little rabbits roaming around too! Place was comfy, clean, lots of natural light, robes available for after a soak in the hot tub. Literally cannot fault it. Me and my partner enjoyed every minute of our stay and we’ll definitely be coming back. Would like to thank Martha and Sally for being so lovely polite and helpful during our stay!

    Thank you so much for your absolutely lovely feedback Becca, I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time and loved your lodge and hot tub! Hurry back, we can't wait to see you again! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by R5.0May 2023

  • "Property is lovely however the photos should be updated of current property condition."

    Flooring chipped and swelled in quite a few places. Cracks and paintwork could do with a tidy up and boiler faulty. Although park and staff helpful and friendly. Overall fantastic break and would return.

    I am really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at 3 Southern Place Andy. Thank you so much for leaving us your thoughts, we really do appreciate feedback. We are trying very hard to ensure our lodges are of a high standard for our guests and are in the process of refurbishing and upgrading several of them, which unfortunately does take a little time. I am so sorry you had a problem with the boiler during your holiday. I have passed your comment on to our maintenance team so that they can resolve any issue with it. I truly hope you will come back to stay with us again in the future to experience the changes we are making. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andy4.4Apr 2023

  • "Overall, a lovely property with everything you need (bring your own washing tabs)."

    However, we didn’t have hot water or heating the morning of our check-out, so we couldn’t shower, etc. After emailing this, we received zero responses, as if to say, "Well, you're checking out now anyway, so there's no need to respond." slightly annoying and rather rude. I'm just glad we didn’t have any major problems during the rest of our stay!

    Thank you for your feedback Jade, we really do appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughts. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at 3 Southern Place, until the events of the last morning marred your holiday. I can only apologise that the email you sent was not picked up in time to help with the issue you experienced. We care a great deal about our guests and this is not a usual occurence, but rather an oversight. Please accept my heartfelt apologies. I hope you will return to visit us again, so we can show you how much we do care. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jade4.1Apr 2023

  • "This was a great base to stay at with my dog."

    The facilities are excellent and well maintained. Everything ran smoothly (slight hiccup with internet) but resolved quickly. Comms were excellent and instructions clear and helpful. Definitely book again and might buy one.

    I'd like to say a big thank you for leaving us such wonderful feedback Neil. I am really happy to hear how much you loved the lodge and facilities and can't wait to welcome you back to stay with us again, maybe next time as a new owner! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Mar 2023

  • "Great place to stay."

    Everything you could want and will be back. Thankyou ☺️

    I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely break at Southern Halt. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to see us again soon. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Mar 2023

  • "Had a wonderful honeymoon weekend."

    Sally and the team made an extra effort with a bottle of bubbly on arrival and rose petals in the bedroom. Will 100% be returning

    Thank you so much for your amazing feedback Emma, we are very grateful that you found time to leave us your thoughts. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a fantastic time and enjoyed your honeymoon weekend. We are honoured you spent such a special time with us and can't wait to welcome you back soon. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Feb 2023

  • "Our stay at 3 Southern Place was excellent, peaceful and relaxing."

    The hot tub has the advantage of a roof which helps this time of year (Feb). Have stayed at Southern Halt numerous times before and always found it highly recommendable for a relaxing break!

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback Linda, we appreciate you leaving us your thoughts. I am so happy to hear you had a peaceful and relaxing stay at 3 Southern Place and you were able to make full use of the hot tub, as you say in February, a covered hot tub is a blessing! I hope you will be back to visit us again very soon. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Feb 2023

  • "This Property was very nice to stay at."

    We booked it for 4 nights and wish we could’ve stayed longer. The area was quiet and you were left undisturbed. The property included everything you needed, would’ve been nice if there was some board games at the property- would’ve added a nice touch but really isn’t something I would complain about. The property was in a lovely, clean and welcoming state which made you appreciate the lodge. Everything worked as it should’ve, the hot tub was all clean and ready for when we arrived. We were greeted with a nice welcoming box which included: sugar, tea, biscuits, cloth and sponge for cleaning and dishwashing tablets- 1 for each night we stayed. It was nice having doors that opened right onto the decking where the hot tub was situated. This meant you didn’t have to walk around to the front door in the cold. The hot tub was sheltered by a roof which was nice if it started to rain whilst you were in there and included lights that lit up the outside hot tub area. The bed was comfy and the closet included plenty of storage area for your belongings. The sofa was comfortable and the TV was a good big size for watching movies and unwinding. The kitchen area was very smart and included everything you would need. The bathroom area was modern and relaxing- the only pointer I would pick out was the silicon sealant around the top of the bath tub where the taps were wasn’t fully sealed and looked like it needed resealing. Overall this property was very nice and I would honestly come back and stay again for sure. Thanks for having me.

    Mr MayOct 2022

  • "Lovely property well equiped but could do with new flooring through the kitchen and bathroom area."

    Good location for places to visit.

    Mr YoungSep 2022

  • "Great lodge , in a peaceful spot ."

    Hot tub very clean on arrival & well maintained through the week we stayed. Only downside outside would be more comfortable outdoor seating & possibly sun loungers . This would have made it a truly 5* stay Facilities inside lodge were fabulous… very large comfortable sofa , spacious modern kitchen, including dishwasher , clean & modern bathroom & comfortable bed . My only gripe being that the previous holiday makers had obviously cooked on the gas hob using large amounts of cooking oil , which had splattered all over the wall behind hob & worktop , leaving stains . Hob could have been cleaned as oily residue still on knobs . Lovely welcome pack including dishwasher tablets , tea, coffee, biscuits & also toiletries goody bag in bathroom, was lovely touch .

    Mr SteeleSep 2022

  • "I am not happy at all."

    We had no wifi from the moment we got there to the moment we left despite constantly letting the company know. This also meant the tv in the bedroom would not work the whole time either. I was even told to call and wait in a queue to speak to the internet provider! That really is not my job, I went for a relaxing break and couldn’t feel relaxed at all. I have two young children that I could not contact via video call during my stay as well due to there being no Wi-Fi. I would like to know why compensation we will receive so if someone could get back to me as soon as possible that would be great. Thanks.

    Miss SeymourAug 2022

  • "Lovely cabin- very comfortable and luxurious."

    Good location to reach both North and South coast. However this place has NO WIFI and should not be advertised as having it!

    Mrs BishopAug 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Single-storey
  • One double bedroom
  • Bathroom with Jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, and basin
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher
  • TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot (no mattress) and highchair available to hire
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • Private decking area with furniture and hot tub
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • One well behaved pet welcome
  • Shop and pub 0.5 miles
  • Note: Lake on-site, children need to be supervised at all times
  • Note: The charging of electric vehicles is not permitted
  • Check-in 4pm, check-out 10am
  • Note: Barbecues are not to be brought to the site
  • Note: Although the property is all one level inside, there are steps to access the property
  • Note: The charging of electric vehicles is not permitted
  • Note: Pets must be kept on a lead at all times on site
  • Please note that the lodge is dog friendly, allowing to have your doggy guests, however on this particular lodge, the decking is not dog ‘safe’, so please accompany your dog at all times
  • Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.

The property

3 Southern Place is situated in the stunning Cornish Countryside on the fringes of Dobwalls in Cornwall.

This luxury, yet inviting lodge is a perfect base for any couple looking for a romantic getaway close to the Cornish Coast.

When you enter the lodge, you will be greeted with a stunning, open-plan living area with snug sofas, electric fire, and a contemporary, fully-equipped kitchen complete with a superb range of appliances – ideal for winding down with your partner after a day exploring the sights of Cornwall.

After a long day, have a rest in the double bedroom, with double doors that open out onto the private decking area complete with an indulgent hot tub in which you can soak up the bubbles after a long day.

This lodge is nestled within the charming Cornish countryside, where you can venture out into the stunning Bodmin Moor with ease, or why not explore the characterful market town of Liskeard just a few miles away.

If you would prefer to relax, why not try some of the Cornish beaches on offer?

If you are looking for a bite to eat, you can find the Old Mill Bar and Restaurant on the Stonerush Lakes sister park, which is only a short drive away.

Treat yourself and your loved one to a holiday of a lifetime, discovering what Cornwall has to offer at 3 Southern Place.

Southern Halt Cottages

Located in the quiet village of Dobwalls in south-east Cornwall, is a collection of wonderfully modern lodges with a touch of luxury set in the Cornish countryside. Offering panoramic views of the surrounding stunning location, you can look forward to enjoying a glorious holiday relaxing with your loved ones, and still be within easy driving distance of the best of Cornwall's attractions. Each holiday home is of exceptional standard, containing modern fitted kitchens, perfect for cooking up delicious meals for the whole family, to enjoy at the dining table or take advantage of the warm balmy evenings and indulge in a spot of alfresco dining as the sun sets. Delightfully furnished sitting rooms invite you to sink into the plush seating arrangements and wind down with a favourite film, watched on state-of-the-art TVs. Get some much-needed rest after activity-filled days in the attractive bedrooms, with various sleeping arrangements to suit everyone's needs, and excellent storage for your personal items. Each property has a private outside space, in the form of a patio or decking, with outdoor seating and the surrounding luscious lawns can be enjoyed by all. Some properties benefit from amazing hot tubs, to be enjoyed with a glass of wine as you look out to the spectacular scenery. If you don't feel like cooking in the evenings, just under a mile away is The Highwayman, a lovely pub serving classic dishes and a selection of ales and ciders, along with shops nearby. Alternatively, visit our sister site Stonerush Lakes which has our very own bar/restaurant; The Old Mill just a short drive away. Travel around 10 miles west over to the town of Bodmin to explore the famous Bodmin Jail, a building steeped in social and architectural history, offering insights into Cornish prison life through time, before heading up to Bodmin Moor for a refreshing walk to shake off the cobwebs and experience the beauty of the moors. For some sun, sea and sand you can visit Looe, and sunbathe on East Looe Beach, a perfect location for swimming as well and great for the little ones to have a paddle. Southern Halt is a gorgeous retreat, ideal for getting to know this lovely part of Cornwall.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Liskeard 2.6 miles; Looe 8.4 miles.

The rural village of Dobwalls is surrounded by open fields and wooded countryside, and is close to the market town of Liskeard, the slopes of Bodmin Moor and the glorious north and south Cornish coastlines. This is a perfect base for exploring the many delights the region has to offer, with the picturesque fishing harbours of Looe, Fowey and Polperro within 15 miles to the south whilst Padstow and the surfing beach at Polzeath lie a comfortable drive away on the North Coast. Take a trip to Siblyback Lake and enjoy the wonderful sailing, fishing and watersports on offer, or travel a little further and take advantage of the superb walking on Bodmin Moor. The Eden project lies within 15 miles and Plymouth is just a 30 minute drive, or 25 minute train ride from nearby Liskeard station. With the Barbican harbour district, renowned aquarium, and good selection of shops, restaurants and theatres, this is a great holiday base.

View more holiday cottages in Dobwalls

Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.