Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked 4 Horizon View in the last 24 hours

1 of 23 Artboard Created with Sketch. View Larger Image
  • 4 Horizon View - Cornwall - 988002 - photo 1

4 Horizon View

Dobwalls, Cornwall (Ref. 988002)


Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

31 Customer Reviews

  • "The lodge was excellent and the only complaint was of booming music from next door at number 3."

    It’s windows were open and it was heard until 1:30am when they managed to get to sleep! Also heard by the occupants of 9 Horizon View.

    Reviewed by DenisMay 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, great location and views."

    The mattresses in the en-suite bedroom needs to be replaced. We were disappointed when we got cold on the first evening/night and couldn’t do anything about it as we realised that the heating was turned off and is remotely controlled. This isn’t mentioned in the property info. We were also disappointed with the Wi-Fi which is unsecured and therefore a security risk. Also there was a lengthy outage on Thursday 14th.

    Thank you for leaving your feedback, the boiler is now set to manual so not on a timer, we provide site WIFI for all the cinema rooms and for people to be able to access what they feel they want to. Beds are always difficult because some people like soft mattresses where others prefer hard mattresses. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BenedictApr 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay here, didn't want to leave."

    Accommodation was lovely and clean with an amazing view plus the hot tub was a perfect way to relax at the end of the day. Will definitely be returning.

    Thank you for the great review, we are glad you had a perfect stay and were able to relax, we look forward to welcoming you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NatalieApr 2022

  • "Amazing relaxing stay again."

    We did have a few problems when we got here but they was sorted promptly. Lodge was clean, hot tub ready for use, views are amazing. Highly recommended ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

    Thank you for your amazing review and your recommendation, we would look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RobertFeb 2022

  • "This was an amazing place to stay my family enjoy the relaxing weekend here ..."

    This was an amazing place to stay my family enjoy the relaxing weekend here service was amazing views amazing cant fault the experience we had highly recommended

    Reviewed by ChristinaJan 2022

  • "Really lovely property in a fantastic location!"

    Reviewed by ElliottDec 2021

  • "Loved it peaceful special family celebration feeling private and not overlooked."

    Reviewed by BethNov 2021

  • "The property was amazing however when we were leaving and doing final checks to ..."

    The property was amazing however when we were leaving and doing final checks to see if we left anything behind we looked under one of the beds and found multiple used condoms and dirty tissues

    Reviewed by AndrewNov 2021

  • "The lodge needed a lot of TLC and a good clean."

    Bathrooms had mould in. Wood around the lodger had split and needed redecorating. The cleanliness of the Lodge was poor, under the sofa was lots of dirt and toe nails! The hot tub was the only good thing, knew it was clean as a hot tub person comes every morning to check it's ok. The comfort of the place was quite poor, sofas were uncomfortable, had no cushions for them. The main bedroom bed was rather uncomfortable and the pillows were awful! The toilet l Seat in the ensuite was broken and would slide off. Would be an amazing place with some TLC and a good clean, we have been to several other lodges on horizon view and this is definitely the worst one, we wouldn't return.

    Thank you for providing feedback for 4 Horizon View, feedback is extremely important for both owners and Sykes to ensure property standards are maintained. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We have sent the maintenance team round to address all the issues. We have spoken to the house keeping team to ensure standards are to be kept high and to address the issues raised. We cannot accommodate for all comfort levels, however pillows and mattresses are replaced when necessary, and all cushions have now been returned. We send our apologises and ensure these will be rectified for future guests Property Owner

    Reviewed by CharlotteOct 2021

  • "The lodge was really lovely and ideally located, stunning scenery with everything you need."

    Couple of issues inside the lodge, had to fix the master bedroom blind as it was broke, toilet roll holder in main bathroom was hanging off the wall, strip at the bottom of the shower screen kept coming off and was filthy, the hob in the kitchen isn’t secure and moves when cleaning, and lastly there is no clear instructions on the thermostat as the lodge was boiling. All minor problems what can be fixed easily, lodges was clean and tidy and we would definitely stay again.

    Thank you for providing feedback for 4 Horizon View, Feedback is extremely important for both owners and Sykes to ensure property standards are maintained. Thank you for your kind words about the lodge. All maintenance issues have been rectified and thank you for bringing these to our attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CraigOct 2021

  • "Robes provided were tatty looking Bedrooms 2 and 3 were a bit tight with space."

    Could make hot tub/ decking area more private, as neighbours could see you in hot tub and if sat on decking. Just a few more bushes or One bit of fencing strategically placed would make all the difference at that particular lodge. Bit more local info for walks etc would be nice. Lovely to look over countryside. Did enjoy our stay here. Very comfortable and as only two couples was plenty of space. Weather was a bit pants but you can't book that unfortunately

    Thank you for your constructive comments and lovely words regarding 4 Horizon View. We have taken all comments onboard and will review the space outside the hot tub. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HeatherSep 2021

  • "Unfortunately after a 6 hour drive we found the lodge hadn’t been cleaned from the previous occupants, however the cleaning team had it sorted within the hour and the Sykes team were great and we were refunded a nights stay and drinks whilst we waited."

    The lodge was lovely but the only downside was the TV wasn’t a smart TV and the signal was weak on occasions, the internet was hit and miss so we had to use data from our phones for two weeks to keep our 9 year old online. The hot tub was overlooked from next door, who had quests most nights leaving it uncomfortable to use before dark. We stayed in Horizon View 3 last year which was perfect no problems at all and not overlooked. I tried to book number 3 on the way home for next year but was very disappointed to see the price had gone up by £2000, making it £4588 for 2 weeks self catering accommodation! Taking into account the £2000 we spent whilst there would leave the holiday costing nearly £7000 and the weather is not guaranteed. Unfortunately we won’t be able to book for next year at this price and will have to consider going abroad instead.

    Thank you for your comments regarding 4 Horizon View. I am sorry to read the lodge wasn't cleaned on arrival and are happy to know house keeping was sent round promptly. We apologise for this and have spoken to the housekeeping team to ensure all lodges are cleaned for arriving guests. We have taken your comments on board and will review the facilities inside the lodge. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KellyAug 2021

  • "The WIFI was poor so teenage children were struggling to access the internet."

    Reviewed by Deborah RJul 2021

  • "Fantastic, spacious lodge which was immaculate on arrival."

    Had everything you needed and more. Very remote and peaceful. Our family loved the stay here. The views facing our lodge were beautiful and was great to enjoy them whilst in the hot tub. The only thing I would say is that it is a 6 berth lodge but there is only room in the hot tub for 4 people which is quite annoying because others have to wait for their turn and can’t enjoy together. Besides that, the lodge was brilliant!

    Thank you for your kinds words regarding 4 Horizon Lodge. I am happy to hear you had a lovely stay. Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the hot tub, we will take this into account and review the facilities at the lodge. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KennyJul 2021

  • "We had a lovely holiday in a lovely lodge - wish we could’ve stayed longer :( , lovely place to stay highly recommend"

    Reviewed by CharlotteMay 2021

  • "Absolutely loved this site."

    Reviewed by BethApr 2021

  • "Lovely lodge, clean and equipped with everything you would need."

    Stunning views. The hot tub was perfect and again very clean. Would recommend this Beautiful place.

    Reviewed by EleanorApr 2021

  • "The lodge was lovely, situated in a lovely place."

    Views are beautiful. Just be aware that garden isn’t as private as it looks on pictures

    Reviewed by AmyApr 2021

  • "Great lodge with beautiful views."

    The accommodation was fully equipped with everything we needed and the hot tub was wonderful. We loved our stay and will definitely return.

    Reviewed by KatrinaDec 2020

  • "Was a lovely lodge!"

    Really enjoyed our time and will definitely be retuning!

    Reviewed by Kelly-nicoleOct 2020

  • "Really lovely lodge in a beautiful setting."

    Very clean and had everything we needed

    Reviewed by DanielleSep 2020

  • "Excellent lodges & site."

    Beautifully kept!.

    Reviewed by BarrieSep 2020

  • "The view from the lodge was stunning, beautiful sunsets."

    Excellent location to use as a base.Will certainly be staying again

    Reviewed by MarkJul 2020

  • "We had a brilliant wk end everything was perfect ,hot tub was great the views ..."

    We had a brilliant wk end everything was perfect ,hot tub was great the views from the lodge was lovely we didn't want to come home my daughter wasn't very happy when she went flying on the decking and hurt all her back bottom and head but she still manged to enjoy her wk end I think there should be a sign explaining to be careful on decking when wet , I no as adults we should of realized but didn't think as we where more excited that we had such a beautiful lodge we will definitely be booking again thanks marina

    Reviewed by MarinaMar 2020

  • "The lodge was superb, and although we did not have great weather during our stay, the comfort and modernity of the accommodation meant that we still enjoyed our break."

    Thank you.

    Reviewed by DavidOct 2019

  • "Absolutely fantastic place with a brilliant view of the Cornish countryside and in traveling distance of many Cornish attractions."

    Reviewed by CherylJul 2019

  • "Had an amazing time."

    Horizon View is one of the most comfortable holiday homes we've had the pleasure to stay in. Warm, relaxing lodge, well equiped, beautiful views and incredibly comfy beds and sofa. Hot tub was an added bonus. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by CatherineJul 2019

  • "I went with 3 other friends to Cornwall at one of the cabin resorts on the website and it was more than we ever expected !"

    The cabin was so clean and tidy and had everything we needed the view were exceptional and we have already booked to go back to the same resort again next year! I would highly recommend using skyescottages and have already forwarded the link to loss of my friends how have booked a weekend away. Thank you so much again for the beautiful place!

    Reviewed by KirstieApr 2019

  • "Fantastic, well appointed lodge definitely a premium experience regarding space and furnishings and the hot tub was bliss."

    Welcome pack much appreciated. Pity that the knives provided were extremely blunt to the point of having to buy one to use on our stay - a minor blemish on an otherwise fantastic experience well kept clean and spacious lodge in quiet surroundings with commanding views and close to access roads for exploring the local area, whats not to like?. We will be back....

    Reviewed by PaulApr 2019

  • "We loved this home away from home."

    It had everything and more for our family. The beds were fantastic, luxury bedding, clean house and great hot tub. We loved the views out back and it felt very safe for our children to play outside. We were just so depressed when we had to say goodbye to the place and the people were so friendly in Cornwall. The location is excellent and everything is on our doorstep. We will be back.

    Reviewed by TomApr 2019

  • "Beautiful holiday home, with stunning views!"

    Reviewed by CaraMar 2019

Show more


  • All-ground-floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 2 x twin (zip/link, can be double on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair
  • Off-road parking for one car
  • Private decked terrace with hot tub and furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 10 mins walk
  • Note: Additional parking available nearby if required
  • Check-in 4pm, check-out 10am
  • Note: The charging of electric vehicles is not permitted
  • Note: Lake on-site, children need to be supervised at all times
  • Note: BBQ’s are not to be brought to the site
  • Note: Pets to be kept on a lead at all times on site

The property

Tucked away on the Southern Halt resort, in the idyllic Cornish countryside, is this 3 bedroom wooden-clad lodge with a contemporary feel.

Well-suited to couples, families and friends alike, this luxurious retreat is abounded by open fields of lively colour, dotted with plants and trees, allowing you to fully relax in an area of peace and tranquillity.

Start each morning with a quiet cup of coffee out in the garden while the sun warms the day.

Inside you will find your comfort has been thoughtfully catered for, with sumptuous seating and an open plan living area offering a bright and airy feel, complete with modern kitchen and dining area.

A set of plush bedrooms await a peaceful nights' rest; the double has an en-suite shower room, whilst the other bedrooms are served by the main family bathroom.

The scenery-filled windows enjoy vistas across sleepy farmland and patio doors opening onto the decking area allow you to take in these picturesque landscapes surrounding you.

Indulge in the bubbling hot tub of an evening and soak away any troubles you might have.

This refined getaway is within easy reach of some of Cornwall’s most popular spots and sights including the fishing harbours of Looe and Polperro.

Take advantage of the glorious walking opportunities on Bodmin Moor, with bleak heather covered upland and wild untamed valleys, you are sure to be in for an adventure!

Plymouth is further afield, making a superb day out for shopping and sampling the restaurants and bars.

Why not sample the food at the The Old Mill Bar and Restaurant, which is located at our sister site, Stonerush Lakes which is only a short drive.

What more could you ask for in a well-presented, family-friendly retreat in the heart of a sought-after location?

Southern Halt Cottages

Located in the quiet village of Dobwalls in south-east Cornwall, is a collection of wonderfully modern lodges with a touch of luxury set in the Cornish countryside. Offering panoramic views of the surrounding stunning location, you can look forward to enjoying a glorious holiday relaxing with your loved ones, and still be in easy driving distance of the best of Cornwall's attractions. Each holiday home is off exceptional standard, containing modern fitted kitchens, perfect for cooking up delicious meals for the whole family, to enjoy at the dining table or take advantage of the warm balmy evenings and indulge in a spot of alfresco dining as the sun sets. Delightfully furnished sitting rooms invite you to sink into the plush seating arrangements and wind down with a favourite film, watched on state-of-the-art TVs. Get some much needed rest after activity-filled days in the attractive bedrooms, with various sleeping arrangements to suit everyone's needs, and excellent storage for your personal items. Each property has a private outside space, in the form of patio or decking, with outdoor seating and the surrounding luscious lawns can be enjoyed by all. Some properties benefit from amazing hot tubs, to be enjoyed with a glass of wine as you look out to the spectacular scenery. If you don't feel like cooking of an evening, just under a mile away is The Highwayman, a lovely pub serving classic dishes and a selection of ales and ciders, along with shops nearby. Alternatively visit our sister site Stonerush Lakes which has our very own bar/restaurant; The Old Mill just a short drive away. Travel around 10-miles west over to the town of Bodmin to explore the famous Bodmin Jail, a building steeped in social and architectural history, offering insights into Cornish prison life through time, before heading up to Bodmin Moor for a refreshing walk to shake out the cobwebs and experience the beauty of the moors. For some sun, sea and sand you can visit Looe, and sunbathe on East Looe Beach, a perfect location for swimming as well and great for the little ones to have a paddle. Southern Halt is a gorgeous retreat, ideal for getting to know this lovely part of Cornwall.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Liskeard 2.6 miles; Looe 8.4 miles.

The rural village of Dobwalls is surrounded by open fields and wooded countryside, and is close to the market town of Liskeard, the slopes of Bodmin Moor and the glorious north and south Cornish coastlines. This is a perfect base for exploring the many delights the region has to offer, with the picturesque fishing harbours of Looe, Fowey and Polperro within 15 miles to the south whilst Padstow and the surfing beach at Polzeath lie a comfortable drive away on the North Coast. Take a trip to Siblyback Lake and enjoy the wonderful sailing, fishing and watersports on offer, or travel a little further and take advantage of the superb walking on Bodmin Moor. The Eden project lies within 15 miles and Plymouth is just a 30 minute drive, or 25 minute train ride from nearby Liskeard station. With the Barbican harbour district, renowned aquarium, and good selection of shops, restaurants and theatres, this is a great holiday base.

View more holiday cottages in Dobwalls

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it