Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

11 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 23 View Larger Image
  • River View Cottage - Cornwall - 959339 - photo 1
close

River View Cottage

Looe, Cornwall (Ref. 959339)

4.0

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

16 Customer Reviews

  • "Great place with a wonderful view."

    Well located at walking distance from shopping street and the beach.

    Reviewed by EricMay 2022

  • "The owners should take off parking on their listing."

    The road isn’t acceptable for cars and we had to pay £6 a day parking ( would rather pay parking than damaging our car ) we did get stuck the first day and if it wasn’t for a local resident we would have struggled getting out of the road to exit. Although the cottage was clean ( clean bedding , towels , utensils etc ) the cottage needed a spring clean. The floors need a good clean.walked around without socks and my feet were full of bits , hair And as it’s just going into the busy season I would have thought a fresh lick of paint wouldn’t have gone a miss. Just a little bit run down. We didn’t use the outside decking area as the weather wasn’t good but looking at it the decking area it needed a clean and the garden was very over grown and needed attention. Again didn’t impact us just noted. The garden did have beautiful plants flowers just needed tidying up.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed River View Cottage and we are sorry you had difficulties with the road. We confirm it is a very steep road with narrow turns and the property it is advertised with this specification in mind. The parking is listed as being suitable only for a small/medium car but it can still be very tricky if the turning radius is not not the best. Regarding the cleanliness and the upkeep of the garden the owners confirmed they passed the message to their housekeeping and gardening team and they will make sure the property will have a spring clean. We hope you will visit River View Cottage again for more lovely holidays. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NicolaMay 2022

  • "As stated the access is problematic, we were there in the winter, we live in the South Wales valleys with similar topography but still found the access difficult."

    I've been driving for 50 years including commercial vehicles but still found the roads daunting.We had 3 attempts with a lot of wheel spin on the hairpin bends, subsequently we didn't move the car for 3 days! The cottage would be fine in summer and a good base for keen walkers in the local area.We are keen walkers so it wasn't a problem.The logistics of 2 cars and parking were difficult, leaving and transferring 2 sets of luggage resulted in more wheel spin on wet surfaces especially manhole covers! The cottage itself and the views were excellent.

    Thank you for completing your feedback. We are sorry that you found the roads and parking difficult to negotiate. We do advise guests on our website of the narrow and steep roads. In addition, that alternative parking can be found a short walk from the property in one of the nearby car parks. In the directions sent out to all guests prior to your arrival at the property, we provide detailed information on the parking at the property plus an alternative route suggestion if you should wish to avoid the steep hill up to the property. We suggest that should you have any concerns over the parking and the access to the property to discuss this with us first, prior to making a booking. Aside from this, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and the amazing views. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GeraldDec 2021

  • "More information about the narrow steep road."

    Car looses grip when wet and wheel spins. Parking difficult in that space. Will be interesting to see if this happens

    Thank you for your comments. It does state on our website that drivers should take care as the lane up to the cottage is very steep and narrow to negotiate but there is space to park a small-medium sized car.I f you have a larger car or are not a confident driver there are car parks near by, charges will apply. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DeanSep 2021

  • "We had a fabulous time staying at River View Cottages, helped of course by the lovey weather we had too."

    The cottage was well presented, clean with lots of facilities and amenities as per the description. The only thing I would say is that the unfortunately we gave damaged our car (bumpers and mirrors) and we only have a Ford Focus trying to negotiate the very narrow road up to and down from the cottage. I think it would be helpful to explain how very narrow those roads are. We ended parking at the Millpool Car Park over the bridge with. Cornwall rover parking permit instead. Also it would have been helpful to know the gradient of how very steep the roads up to and down from the cottage. We are a relatively fit family but even we had to stop a couple of times to catch our breath before carrying on. We still had a great time and I would definitely recommend Sykes Cottages, but maybe only this cottage if you have a very small car and are very fit.

    Reviewed by WendyAug 2021

  • "Fantastic little cottage with stunning views."

    Caretaker and manager were both very attentive and ensured we had everything we needed for a lovely stay. Beds were all comfy and the cottage had everything we needed to feel at home for our week stay. Please take note of parking abuse as the hill is very narrow and steep. We have a Kia Sportage and we struggled to get it in the drive so we chose to pay for parking for our stay. You would get a small car on here but anything bigger is a struggle. Cottage was very clean and the linen smelt beautiful.

    Reviewed by ClaireMay 2021

  • "I did already send you a email."

    Regarding parking although you did worn us after we booked the cottage. Bathroom shower needs to be sorted. Three piece suite needs to be cleaned, after turning cushions over they were quite dirty. The whole cottage needs a spring clean, it wasn't very home warming I will not be booking again.

    Thank you for you feedback and we are sorry to hear that there were a few issues during your stay. We will get in contact with the housekeeping team regarding the cleanliness issues although the property is usually spotless so sorry if it was lacking on this occasion. The sofa upholstery is almost brand new so it is surprising to hear there was a problem here. Regarding the shower, the property doesn't have one but has a lovely bath tub as explained in the description and shown in the images. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LindaMay 2021

  • "This is a great property with everything you need for your stay and more."

    Parking at the property itself is a challenge due to the narrow street and gradient but the owner gives practical advice on other parking options as well as a plethora of other helpful tips in the visitor reference book. I would definitely recommend river view and I would happily stay here again!

    Reviewed by MayApr 2021

  • "The main oven in the kitchen not working."

    The drinking glasses clearly hadn’t been washed recently - we were the first guests to visit post Covid restrictions. Not even a simple bar of hand soap in the bathroom. The Reality and pictures on the website were very different. The cottage smelt damp and mouldy and uninviting. No effort made to even update any of the clocks with the correct time. Outdoor furniture could have been cleaned. No patio heater and we had to search for the parasol. In the end we didn’t even bother and left a day earlier than planned.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback which we have passed onto the owners. The owners who have recently stayed at the property, checked the oven and have confirmed that it is working. If you had let us know during your stay we would have looked at it then and taken action if necessary. We are disappointed that you found some areas which were not as clean as you would expect, again if you had let us know we would have taken action at the time. A patio heater is not something that we ask our owners to provide. We have visited the property since your visit and did not find any evidence of damp or mould. We are sorry you did not enjoy your holiday as you should have, we wish you had informed us during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JanineJul 2020

  • "We have just returned from a week in River View Cottage."

    The Cottage was lovely and comfortable, and the views quite spectacular. We were quite lucky with the weather so were able to make use of the outside decking area in the evenings. The only downside is the access and parking available. The remark on the website stating 'Access lane to cottage is very steep and narrow' is truly an understatement. Ok if you are used to negotiating steep, winding, narrow lanes, but almost impossible if not. We ended up spending £480 on a new clutch!!!! We then paid out £30 to park our car in the station car park for the week. I must say, Ian next door to the cottage was amazing and extremely helpful, recommending a local garage for the repairs and also taking our luggage back down to our car at the end of our stay. Overall a lovely holiday but marred by the problems accessing the cottage and the additional expenses incurred. I'm afraid to say we won't be staying again.

    Reviewed by JuliaOct 2019

  • "A lovely 2 bedroom house located within a 5-10 minute walk from the centre of Looe."

    Clean and comfortably furnished. We made good use of the outdoor decking with its great view over the Looe Estuary. Parking is an ordeal (advice: Mazda3 hatch is too big for parking space). We relocated the car to a nearby residential street Bodrigan Road and walked down a footpath to the house, which was fine if a little steep. Plenty to do in the area - sea watersports, Eden, zipline, walks, pubs. Overall had a fantastic stay.

    Reviewed by JamesJun 2019

  • "Looe is nice access to cottage should be stated in brochure lack of basic ..."

    Looe is nice access to cottage should be stated in brochure lack of basic equipment , tea pot lid missing,no kitchen roll,broken light shade generally poor condition

    Reviewed by JohnMay 2019

  • "Lovely cottage with balcony with lovely views, close to town centre and beach"

    Reviewed by KJul 2018

  • "The cottage is very nice with stunning views from the dining room and bathroom in particular."

    The cottage is up a very steep hill and the road is just about one car wide, but the parking space is an absolute nightmare to get into, at a very awkward angle with a telegraph pole one side and a low brick wall the other and some sort of wooden contraption next to the front door which really is of no use and just makes getting in the space more difficult, it took us a good half an hour to get the car parked, and even then we dented our car on the pole. We did have a lovely holiday walking the area, but we only moved the car to go home!!

    Reviewed by JoanneJan 2018

  • "It was a very nice cottage, but the hills and narrow roads up to it were quite difficult."

    Reviewed by TraceyOct 2017

  • "The garden wasn't very tidy which was a shame and the BBQ was dirty so we didn't use it."

    Other than that we had a fab time!

    Reviewed by NeilAug 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with slipper bath, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room with patio doors to balcony
  • Sitting room with wood burning stove.
  • Gas central heating
  • Gas oven and hob
  • Microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, HD TV with Full HD Sky, Blue-ray, iPod dock/CD/radio, WiFi, selection of books
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and high chair available
  • Off road parking for 1 medium car
  • Patio with furniture and enclosed lawn garden with steps paving and decking
  • Sorry no pets and smoking
  • Shop/pub/beach 10 mins walk
  • Note: *** Access lane to cottage is very steep and narrow, if you have a larger car or are not a confident driver there are car parks near by, charges will apply
  • Car parking space at property suitable for small-medium sized vehicle only

The property

With an elevated view over looking the tidal river of East Looe that flows through the woodland valley on its way out to sea, River View Cottage is set in tranquil surroundings yet within a ten minute walk into the cobbled streets, bustling quayside and soft sandy beaches of Looe on Cornwall's Riviera Coast.

A lovingly restored cottage with many refinements and tasteful touches, it is sure to be appreciated by those seeking a special break away with family or friends.

On the ground floor a pretty cream shaker style kitchen is perfectly equipped for all your needs to rustle up tasty meal time treats, and for those relaxing after a day exploring or sampling the cafes and restaurants of Looe, the sitting room is bright and cosy and invites you to unwind on plush ruby red sofas opposite the flickering flames of a wood burning stove.

Mealtimes can be enjoyed in the light and airy dining room where glazed doors open onto a wide balcony, perfect for evening sundowners.

A blissful sleep awaits on memory foam mattresses, cosseted by beautiful vintage fabrics that dress both king-size double and twin bedroom on the first floor, whilst a slipper bath adds an air of luxury to the petite and elegant first floor bathroom.

Outside in addition to the balcony with superb views across the river, there is a small sloping enclosed garden.

The much loved coastal village of Looe is popular with all and is a ten minute walk, its cobbled streets lined with shops, ice cream parlours, tea rooms and restaurants.

The harbour is the centre of the village where fishing trips and pleasure boat rides can be taken and the soft sandy beach is ideal for families.

The village is also on the train line, useful if you want to leave the car behind.

Away from the melee yet with all the ingredients for a perfect coastal holiday right on the doorstep, River View Cottage is an enchanting year round stay for all. For those arriving by train the cottage is but one minute by taxi or a five minute walk; drivers take care as the lane up to the cottage is very steep and narrow to negotiate but there is space to park a small-medium sized car.

If you have a larger car or are not a confident driver there are car parks near by, charges will apply.

View on map

About the location

LOOE

Liskeard 9 miles.

Looe is Cornwall’s second largest fishing port and hence there is always a lively maritime bustle around the quay area of East Looe, which is connected to the quieter West Looe by a seven arched 19th century bridge over the River Looe. You can also catch the river taxi between East and West Looe. East Looe has narrow cobbled streets, twisting alleyways and plenty of tourist shops, whilst West Looe has a lovely outlook across the harbour. Looe’s viewpoint, Banjo Pier, can be reached from the quay and is a great spot to watch the returning fishing trawlers and look across the bay to Looe Island, which can be walked to occasionally at very low tides. The sandy Looe beach adjoins the pier and is very popular with families because of its safe shallow swimming and vast expanse of sand. There is also a great rock pool area at Hannafore that children will love. West Looe has a Heritage Centre that recently opened in the Old Sardine Factory with a climbing wall and a cafe and the delightful Kilminorth Woods have way marked walks through the majestic oak wood, rich in plant, insect and bird life. Apart from beach activities in this part of south east Cornwall, there are many mining remains on Bodmin Moor and in the Tamar Valley and much of the mining landscape has World Heritage status. This area of Cornwall has inspired writers, such as Daphne du Maurier and much of Bodmin Moor has inspired legends linked with King Arthur. There is much to explore in this beautiful part of Cornwall.

Region Information

Note: Access lane to cottage is very steep and narrow, inexperienced drivers may find parking and the lane to the property challenging, there are car parks within a short walk from the property (charges apply). Parking space at the property is only suitable for small/medium cars.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas