In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 35 View Image Gallery
  • Bethany Bay View - Cornwall - 959542 - photo 1
close
  • Bethany Bay View - (Ref. 959542)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

Bethany Bay View

(Ref. 959542)

Holywell Bay, Cornwall Show on map

4.9

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (24)
  • garden (22)
  • great (22)
  • location (18)
  • our (17)
  • property (17)

53 Customer Reviews

  • "Really lovely bungalow in a fantastic location."

    Reviewed by Christine5.0May 2024

  • "Beautiful property with sand dune & sea views!"

    Internally has a great space with large garden great for the dogs. Parking is superb easy fit several vehicles and gate to garden for easy access.

    Reviewed by Ray5.0Mar 2024

  • "Really great location,best holiday accommodation we have stayed at."

    Not only really clean, but clear instructions for re-cycling etc. Outside space was very good with all the raised decking, good for dogs. only a small comment could do with a dust pan and brush, for keeping sand at bay. All in all really comfortable bungalow. Would highly recommend it.

    Reviewed by Rina5.0Mar 2024

  • "A beautiful property."

    Very convenient, very comfortable, exceptionally clean a home from home. We had 3 generations and a dog on our holiday, and this property made us all happy! The pictures do not do it justice. Would love to go back…… but it is sooo booked up!!

    Reviewed by Dawn5.0Oct 2023

  • "The website does not do this properly justice as it’s’home from home’ and immaculate!"

    I had a leg injury which restricted me fro access to the beach etc but this bungalow was brilliant for views etc etc. Plenty of cooking facilities and comforts such as coffee and tea etc. Home from home with excellent quality facilities. I placed as much as possible in the dishwasher as lots of kitchen equipment that hadn’t been used but had marks or stains. My husband also sorted the shower in the front front bedroom as the water rose highly due to the shower trap needed cleaning but, all done now! I also added lemon juice to the kettle to de-scale as it wasn’t good. Booked for next September already and although I don’t want to wish my life away, cannot wait. 11 out of 10. Met the housekeeper Tracey who was first class customer service and cleanliness. Absolutely wonderful experience and cant wait to return next year. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Jacqui4.7Sep 2023

  • "Wonderful bungalow, third year running for us and never ceases to please us, thank you"

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Jul 2023

  • "Lovely property beautiful garden nice walk to the beach great pub just down the road ."

    .perfect

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your time in Holywell Bay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Malcolm5.0Jul 2023

  • "We had the most lovely 2 week stay at Bethany, garden was just perfect for our 2 dogs to run around in."

    We were very lucky the weather was kind, so we hardly used the dining room and living room and was able to make the most of the sunshine just sitting out on the decking. We would definitely stay here again.

    Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Bethany Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Jun 2023

  • "The property has many advantages e."

    G. space, enclosed garden, position to coast and we shall return next year as already booked for our third visit. That said, this visit included an elephant in the room... building next door to the property which included all the associated electrical, carpentry and radio noise, which could be heard inside and especially in the garden. The garden has many advantages however hammering, electrical saw noise and Radio 1 sadly made enjoying it and the sunshine less than inviting. This will be temporary over the coming weeks but did detract from our visit this time. Surprisingly we were not made aware of this prior to arrival and my contact was greeted with the owner being unaware which demonstrates a lack of customer care at the very least. That said the owners have offered an ex gratia payment to compensate for the inconvenience, which I await. Hopefully this will be maintained for future guests while this persists. That said we do look forward to our return visit next year when hopefully all will be quiet and returned to normal. I can then happily recommend this property to future guests following completion of the adjoining building work.

    Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you encountered some noise disturbance from some nearby building work. The work should now all be completed. We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2024 Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nigel3.4May 2023

  • "A really gorgeous holiday home ."

    .well equipped with everything you need and well maintained..beautiful location will definitely be coming back cannot fault anything about this property …if you have dogs

    Reviewed by Andrea5.0Apr 2023

  • "A really lovely comfortable cottage."

    Very well equipped and a great secure garden for dogs. Amazing location 5 minutes walk to beautiful Holywell beach and stunning walks along the coastal path in both directions.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Apr 2023

  • "This is a lovely holiday home, maintained to a very high standard and in a superb location."

    We have just returned and we were so impressed, we have already booked for the same time next year.

    Reviewed by Bruce5.0Apr 2023

  • "This cottage totally saved our holiday!"

    The weather was bad so we spent a lot of time enjoying the comfort and position of this lovely, spacious bungalow. The local beach was perfect for a gentle walk for us and great fun for our springer spaniel, who also enjoyed the safely- enclosed garden. We will be back next year!

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Mar 2023

  • "This property really is a home away from home."

    The facilities are excellent with a very well stocked kitchen, including a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. The soft furnishings are so comfortable and we brought out grandson this time, he loved it. A large drive, wonderful enclosed garden with gorgeous views. We will be back again, very soon!

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Oct 2022

  • "Lovely location."

    Close to tourist spots. Holywell bay surf school on the doorstep. Great location for family. The accommodation was very roomy and the kitchen had everything you could think of. Shop in the nearby holiday park was very useful only a few minutes walk. I would differnately recommend Bethany.

    Reviewed by Jackie4.7Aug 2022

  • "Lovely property in a great location."

    Couldn't have asked for more in terms of our requirements for 6 adults and 2 dogs. Very well equipped kitchen with loads of crockery and cutlery, which is sometimes an issue in holiday rentals. My only concern really was the price. We paid around £2900 for a week in August and that seemed really excessive. It was a nice property, but I don't think we could afford to return at that sort of price, especially with the current cost of living crisis.

    Reviewed by Donna4.7Aug 2022

  • "Very clean, comfortable and well-equipped cottage."

    Great views and handy for beach and coastal path. A bit pricey this year.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jul 2022

  • "Great spacious bungalow everything one would need."

    Second year my family have enjoyed our week in Holywell Bay. We have friends in the vicinity who we meet up with. The bungalow was extremely clean and very comfortable. Contained everything one would need. Unfortunately my son in law sat on one of the outside plastic chairs which broke luckily he wasn't hurt. But thank you, great stay, hopefully be back next year

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Jul 2022

  • "Well appointed and equipped spacious bungalow, totally enclosed large garden and terrace area ideal for families with small children or dogs."

    Highly recommended, only thing to consider is the position up a short steep hill, but this didn’t cause us any problems. One benefit from the position is it offers stunning views across the bay.

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Jun 2022

  • "Very good. Very comfortable."

    Met all our requirements especially for my disabled sister.

    Reviewed by J5.0May 2022

  • "Immaculate, huge bungalow in lovely setting."

    Very handy for early morning walks on the beach, local pub extremely friendly and close by.

    Reviewed by Tony5.0May 2022

  • "Your listing was totally inaccurate, 5 min walk to beach more like one and a half miles by car."

    .steep uneven private road really not friendly to anybody..the bungalow is spacious but that’s about the only good point..state of the ark TV with bad reception..maybe Netflix or Prime would have given us something to watch ( it costs £10 per month )..we are not all walkers..drinkers or surfers..the beds were hard..the bungalow tidy but not clean..it’s just old and weary (shabby)..this early in the year you would at least have expected a bit of Spring Cleaning to have been carried out the conservatory was full of odd furniture very fragile & low..there was no comfortable furniture in the garden to sit out on in the sun..the bungalow is for 6 there was only the 2 of us with our little dog..so we shut up the twin b/room dining room & conservatory..but then we receive instructions on what we must do before leaving..we have a comfortable clean home..we pay a window cleaner..a lady to do the jobs we can’t manage..So when a holiday costs £1000 for a week..why should we be expected to clean..I’m not embarrassed at how we left Holywell..I don’t think anyone would believe someone had been there..there was a generous welcome package 1pint milk…..we have been so spoilt on previous holidays.

    We are sorry that you are disappointed with your stay. We make great efforts to ensure that our property and garden are clean and tidy and any issues are discussed and sorted with our property manager. However, the distance you mentioned to the beach is totally exaggerated. It is a very short walk to the sand dunes and beach and the road is newly laid for the new builds on the same road, also Bethany Bay View is described as being in an elevated position and therefore, it is no surprise that there is a small incline leading to our property. As for the TV, we have had no previous complaints about the reception. We do not advertise it as “state of the art”. If you have subscriptions for Prime, Netflix etc. you are welcome to use the Roku set connected to the TV. You can also stream ITV and BBC through the Roku set. The quality is HD. All our beds are in good condition with one being brand new this year. The king size bed mattresses are medium and the singles beds are medium/soft. We are sorry you did not like the conservatory furnishing. The 2 sofas are brand new. We replaced all the old sofas only this year. It’s hard to know what people’s taste are, but we thought they were rather chic! The leaving instructions only suggest leaving the property in a reasonable state. Our cleaners then spend 4 hours or more cleaning before the next quests arrive. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert2.5May 2022

  • "A lovely well equipped property, ideal for a family."

    Unfortunately not all our guests came due to covid so we were disappointed not to have been able to share the experience with them. The garden was ideal and secure enough for our dogs. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Apr 2022

  • "This property has been the best yet that we have stayed at in Cornwall."

    It’s bigger than we expected and has everything you could need! Plenty of space for your clothes etc. The garden is well kept, and it really did feel like a home from home. Only one thing is that you’ll need to drive to get anything like milk or a morning paper etc as there isn’t a shop in Holywell Bay. As we ordered an online delivery we didn’t need to worry about that anyway. There was milk in the fridge on arrival and tea and coffee in the cupboard. Also there was dog bowls! Which was a great idea. The towels are great too! Overall if you’re looking for somewhere away from the crowds and shops etc this is perfect. Just one last thing it’s a hill to walk to and from the beach, the property is located at the top of a hill which is great for the views! . So people uneasy on their feet may feel a little restricted. We will definitely consider returning!

    Reviewed by Kerry5.0Oct 2021

  • "The king size bed appears to have a different mattress frim last visit which is niw very hard and uncomfortable- could do with upgrading to a decent mattress."

    Also oven needs cleaning! Otherwise beautiful comfortable property and a great stay as usual.

    Reviewed by Sandy4.4Oct 2021

  • "Absolutely outstanding location and property!"

    This was our first two week holiday and I forgot to pack my heart as this property gave us so much. The Gardner comes once a week to keep on top of the garden and does a fantastic job! I was confused on arrival with the way the kitchen was set up with items as it was chaotic however, does it matter because except foe a glass bowl to mix the Yorkshire, it had absolutely everything? It was a pleasure to return to if we went out for the day and if we win the lottery, I would definitely put an offer to the owner! Very much hope to return as fabulous! Thank you

    Reviewed by Jacqui5.0Sep 2021

  • "I would agree with all previous positive reviews."

    We would love to come back. But our week this August was £1900 plus pounds, that’s ok, but the same week next year is just over £3000. Some would say that’s supply and demand, I would say that’s greed. There’s no way we would come back at that price.

    Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you would love to come back. The pricing for 2022 is currently under review. We very much hope to welcome you back to Bethany Bay View in the not-too-distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Max5.0Aug 2021

  • "Brilliant location, had a great holiday and will be booking again for next year"

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Jul 2021

  • "Only comment to make was receiving your e-mail asking us to do certain things when we leave (like taking off all the bed linen) but alas we didn't do this because we didn't get the e-mail until we got home !"

    ! but apart from that a lovely holiday.

    Reviewed by Ron5.0Jun 2021

  • "Lovely well equipped bungalow, plenty of room for the 5 of us."

    Beautiful maintained garden.Would definitely book again. The only little niggle I’ve got is that there wasn’t a welcome pack with tea, coffee, milk etc, luckily I had taken these with me.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0May 2021

  • "This was our 3rd visit and we have already booked again for next year ."

    Beautiful property with a lovely garden in an excellent position with excellent facilities. Thank you to Tracey and team for the uupkerp and cleaning! The only comment we woukd make is that the en-suite is looking a little tired now.

    Reviewed by Sandy5.0Oct 2020

  • "Excellent location for the beach and coast path walks , spotlessly clean accommodation in a lovely position with sea views ,we could hear the sea from the garden , lovely garden for our dog ."

    hope to return next year .

    Reviewed by Lorna5.0Sep 2020

  • "Great location for peaceful and relaxing holiday."

    Easy access to fantastic beach, coastal walks and two pubs within walking distance. We love everything about Bethany Bay and really can’t find fault with it.

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Sep 2020

  • "The house is in an amazing location and has everything needed for a great holiday."

    The bathrooms in the house need some attention/updating but overall the standard of accommodation was excellent, so much so we have rebooted for next year.

    Reviewed by Lucy5.0Aug 2020

  • "We had a fantastic holiday staying at Bethany Bay, i can’t rate it high enough."

    The property was spotless when we arrived, it is very well equipped & had everything we needed (it really was like home from home) I would recommend it to anyone. We will definitely be coming back & look forward to meeting Tracey the property manager who was so lovely when I spoke to her during our stay.

    Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0Jul 2020

  • "Hi excellent place to stay, excellent location."

    Loads of walks from the bungalow. Pub down the road . Great for walking with dogs and a nice enclosed garden.

    Reviewed by Gill4.7Mar 2020

  • "We have stayed here several times."

    Wonderful spacious property with a great garden for the dogs and just a short walk to the beach. The property is immaculate with great views

    Reviewed by Sandy5.0Oct 2019

  • "We were a bit confused as to rubbish/recycling as all bags were full on arrival and not collected during our weeks stay."

    Everything else was great . Bungalow lovely like home from home, we also stayed last year and have rebooked for 2020

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Sep 2019

  • "We love sitting out on the decking for breakfast and in the evening watching lovely sunsets over Holywell bay."

    Fantastic coastal walks, an escape from the everyday in this magical place.

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Jun 2019

  • "Every year is a pleasure to stay in this lovely bungalow."

    The garden is always immaculate, gardener always polite and will only mow lawns etc. when convenient to us. Can't wait until next visit, hopefully the weather will be kinder next time! Thank you to Tracey who will always text day before we arrive with key details etc.

    Reviewed by Heather5.0Jun 2019

  • "We have already booked our holiday for 2020 at the same place"

    Reviewed by Lorraine5.0May 2019

  • "This is a very nice house in a stunning setting."

    We got there early (few fair hours before checking time) with some food shopping and the ladies were lovely to let us drop the shopping so car was free of bags to go and explore before checking in. They were cleaning the kitchen and was impressed as how much spring clean was ongoing. The place is spotless , fridge, oven was all inmaculate. House is big and very comfortable and garden is lovely with sea views. Short walk to beach and pubs and views of sea from many Rooms. Cosy and with everything you need to feel at home. Thank you for letting us enjoy this lovely place!

    Reviewed by Maria5.0Apr 2019

  • "Lovely bungalow in a beautiful location."

    Tracey, the property manager was very friendly and helpful.

    Reviewed by Tony5.0Mar 2019

  • "This was a lovely spacious cottage where we spent a very happy week."

    It was very comfortable, with lots of seating , quality furniture, a lovely kitchen with plenty of crockery and equipment. We didn't watch much TV , but there were lots of interesting and varied DVDs. And a great selection of games and novels. However, two criticisms: the mattress in the bedroom with the TV , was very soft and not conducive to a good night's sleep. My son and daughter in law complained about it. The other double was ok but not as comfortable as our bed at home. The twin beds were fine. Good mattresses are very important. The other criticism was ...no heating when we arrived. I contacted the agent, she gave advice but it took a while before it was sorted and it was not something I could have done myself so was glad my son sorted it....though too late for hot water for my grandson's bath. The heating went off again later in the week ,and again my son rebooted it. However, I felt that this could have been a real problem for older folk like me and my husband. The problem was exacerbated by intermittent phone signal when trying to get instructions from the agent.

    Reviewed by Margaret4.7Nov 2018

  • "Beautiful spacious bungalow, nicely laid out and plenty of parking."

    The local shop is only a mile away and has a fantastic pub next to it which caters for those on special diets. Only negatives were we couldn’t use the shower in the bathroom as it leaked everywhere. The vacuum is a battery powered one and we were unable to vacuum the whole bungalow in one go, which is important when you have dogs, also there was a small split in the vacuum hose. Some more cleaning product would be nice as we like to leave where we stay as clean as we find it. However we would definitely stay here again.

    Reviewed by Roger4.4Oct 2018

  • "We have had several stays at this property and have already booked for 2019 we love it"

    Reviewed by Lorraine5.0Sep 2018

  • "Great place modern and clean."

    Like home from home. Would recommend definitely. Already booked for next year!

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Sep 2018

  • "Lovely location, close to sandy dog friendly beach."

    Bungalow was spacious and and well equipped, with lovely wrap around garden. Loved it so much we didn’t want to leave.5 stars

    Reviewed by Trevor4.7Aug 2018

  • "Fantastic house in a very beautiful location."

    House was well maintained and had great facilities. Lovely sea views from the terrace and a 5 minute downhill walk to the beach. There are 2 pubs and a beach shop within 5 minutes walk plus a bakery, post office, general shop and fish and chip shop a 20 minute walk or 5 minute drive away. Great base for exploring Cornwall, would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Jul 2018

  • "Great location close to beach and pubs."

    Lovely garden for dog. Decking area wonderful for al fresco eating watching the sunset. Very spacious and well stocked kitchen

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Jun 2018

  • "Since my last visit, new kitchen has been installed."

    Beautiful with handy side door leading to garden. Have been to Holywell for the past 60 years, staying in various caravans, bungalows etc. Bethany Bay far exceeds all of them, will always use each year hopefully.

    Reviewed by Heather5.0Jun 2018

  • "Home from home in a great location stayed here 3 times already and have booked ..."

    Home from home in a great location stayed here 3 times already and have booked to go twice for 2018 we love it can defiantly recommend for dog owners close to a fabulous dog friendly beach ( Holywell ) & plenty of coastal walks , with 2 great pubs within 5/10 mins stroll both serve food of a good standard & both are dog friendly , a short drive to padstow & peranporth ,Constantine bay & harlyn bay all fantastic dog friendly beaches

    Reviewed by Lorraine4.8Dec 2017

  • "The property was superb and roomy plenty of room to have a quiet read."

    Just one thing couldn't work out which dustbin was which and what we allowed to recycle.

    Reviewed by Geoff5.0Sep 2017

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Over one floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x king size and 1 x king size with 19 inch Smart TV
  • Jack & Jill bathroom (between the second double and twin rooms), with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with WC and basin
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with TV
  • Conservatory.
  • Oil central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer & dishwasher, WiFi
  • Table tennis table
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and high chair available
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed lawned garden with decked terrace, furniture and BBQ
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome at £20 each per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Beach 5 mins walk.

The property

Located in a fabulous, elevated position just above Holywell Bay beach, this large family bungalow is just a short stroll from the dunes; the perfect location for a holiday of sun, sea and sand.

From the spacious driveway, step inside to a bright and sunshiny, dual aspect sitting room from where, a large conservatory provides extra space and a quiet place to unwind with a good book.

A wonderful decked terrace is accessed from the dining room; running the length of the building, it boasts sea views and is the ideal spot for relaxing with a refreshing drink after a long, hot day at the beach.

The spacious kitchen offers plenty of storage and prep space, as well as lovely views – and the three comfy bedrooms are simply decorated to help you nod off to sleep each night.

Safely enclosed, the lawned garden is a great space for a kick about and a summers evening barbecue.

Out and about, there is something for everyone in Holywell Bay; the popular beach has its own, seasonal surf school, the coastal footpath runs from the property towards Perranporth in one direction and Crantock in the other, there are several excellent golf courses in the area, and Holywell Bay Fun Park (open during the summer months) offers a great family day out, with bouncy castles, go karts and indoor soft play.

Watergate Bay is just a short drive away, as are the numerous family attractions, beaches and swimming pools of Newquay.

The ideal spot for families seeking a homely base by the sea, Bethany Bay View is a welcoming retreat that will leave you feeling rested and stress-free.

View on map

About the location

HOLYWELL BAY

Cubert 1 mile; Newquay 5 miles; Perranporth 5.5 miles; Truro 12 miles; Padstow 18 miles.

Holywell Bay is a sleepy seaside village on the north Cornwall coast, boasting a fabulous beach with stunning dunes and an abundance of small streams and rock pools for the children to explore. Exposed to Atlantic swells, the beach is also popular with surfers and body boarders. Two of Holywell Bay’s most interesting features are the twin rocks just off the coast, known as Gull Rocks or Carter’s Rocks. The village has a selection of shops and pubs, whilst a mile away the village of Cubert has a Post Office, stores, bakery and cafe, village pub and restaurant. Just five miles away is Newquay, the home of the UK’s surf scene, boasting three major beaches, the National Surf Centre and an endless supply of rolling surf, making it a watersports paradise! The town, with its shopping centre, zoo, sea life centre and varied selection of restaurants and pubs, also promises a holiday to remember. If you seek more, the South West Coast Path passes in both directions along a stunning coastline of high cliffs, hidden coves and yet more beaches. The quaint harbour and fishing village of Padstow is just 18 miles away, while Truro, with its museums, cathedral, restaurants and cobbled streets, as well as the Eden Project, can be reached in half an hour. The perfect base for touring this part of Cornwall.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Christmas