Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • Dart Lodge - Cornwall - 1068004 - photo 1

Dart Lodge

(Ref. 1068004)

Callington, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lodge (9)
  • stay (5)
  • clean (5)
  • bed (5)
  • dog (4)
  • again (4)

11 Customer Reviews

  • "All in all a very nice lodge, although."

    ... Pet friendly but nowhere to walk the dog or to be able to let it out safely. For a 3 Bed Property I would have rather a washing machine than a dishwasher? But the most awkward for me was no Hoover or Mop & Bucket? I have never in 40 odd years left a property and not been able to clean properly. We were out most days but on the couple of day's we stayed around it was very tiring to keep the dog in and then have to go off in the car to find somewhere to walk him. I am registered disabled so this was an inconvenience. The Park roads are atrocious with pot holes etc. The Lodge was lovely but would not stay at Honicombe again

    Thank you for your feedback and I'm glad that you liked the Lodge and found it comfortable despite there being no washing machine. There is only room in the lodge for either a dishwasher or washing machine and it comes down to personal preference. The lack of hoover is an oversight, I was under the impression that one had been put in the Lodge, I have since been there personally and resolved this. The Lodge is situated in the Tamar Valley which is an AONB and there are many beautiful dog walks in the vicinity. The park is dog friendly and dogs can be exercised within the park and they have recently positioned dog poo bins around, and I have noticed that there is one opposite Dart Lodge. I take on board your comment re the pot holes, I have brought this up with the maintenance team who are going to address this issue. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia2.8Aug 2023

  • "On first arrival this property was lovely, it had all we needed and seemed great for 3 adults, 3 children and a dog."

    However, it soon became clear that it was getting tired and in need of some TLC. The fronts of the drawers in the larger twin room came off, the cupboard unit in the lounge had a loose door, only 1 TV had enough signal for some of the time to be watched and only 1 had a DVD player, despite listing all rooms had this. The X Box controllers didn’t work and there was no vacuum to clean over the general day to day clear up of children and pets. The cold water tap upstairs made a dreadful noise and furniture on the lower balcony was just too big for purpose. These were minor things in the long run as the location was beautiful, the on site facilities were a great addition and the lodge was comfortable and cosy. Just a few tweaks and a bit of attention to detail could make this a stay of excellent value. It would also be worth adding to the details that the lodge is at the bottom of a steep hill ( all round) and has several steps to enter, as my disabled mother would have struggled if there had been much more. This wasn’t made clear and could have influenced my decision to book.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review. I'm glad you found the property comfortable and the location beautiful. I am sorry you had a few issues but really appreciate you letting me know about them. I will certainly ensure the TLC issues are addressed promptly. As you can appreciate it is difficult for me to check personally on the property between every changeover in a busy season. I rely on feedback from both housekeeping and guests. I’m sorry that you had been under the impression that there was more than one DVD player at the property. I have re-checked the listing and it does state 4 TVs with freeview, WIFI, DVD. With regard the X box controllers, it may be a case of replacing the batteries which I will address. Regarding the vacuum cleaner, I take your point and will add one to the property. Thanks again for your feedback and for choosing Dart Lodge. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma2.8Aug 2023

  • "Property was clean and tidy."

    Happy with the lodge for the price we paid. It does get very warm upstairs but a lot colder downstairs in the main bedroom/bathroom which do have a slightly damp smell, maybe due to the balcony, lack of sun and lack of airflow. Personally I found the mattress too hot as I think it was foam and I on a personal level would replace the carpet upstairs and in the hall downstairs with hard flooring. Did want to vacuum but it wasn’t up to the job. Nice on the balcony upstairs, didn’t use the one down as yes a few too many pieces of furniture and not much light. Property is at the bottom of the hill which we got used to in the end as walked it many times with our dog. On site staff are great, really helpful and very dog friendly, pub was lovely too, Sunday carvery was great. We found many dog friendly places, walks and pubs and would definitely visit this area again.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review. I'm glad you found the property comfortable and loved the location and pub. Regarding the vacuum cleaner, I have taken that onboard and have arranged for a replacement that works better to be put into the Lodge. Thanks again for your feedback and for choosing Dart Lodge and hope that you may decide to return Property Owner

    Reviewed by Theresa3.8Jun 2023

  • "On arrival the lodge was engulfed with over grown weeds/grass which gave the appearance of being not in service."

    On entering we were met with a stale/lingering musty smell. The 2 main bedrooms were passable but not very welcoming. On venturing upstairs we were met with a firmly fixed baby gate at the top of the stairs, as we are both in our mid seventies and partially sighted, this presented a trip/fall hazard so had to be removed as a matter of urgency for our own safety. The carpet in the lounge area was very dirty and the seating was very old/ dirty and tired and the walls/ceiling needed decorating. The lower outside balcony was totally unusable due to overgrown bushes/weeds and an selection of garden furniture that completely filled the seating are hence putting it out of action. I feel as a letting company this needs to be inspected as it reflects on your company image.

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you had encountered these issues in the Lodge. If you had contacted me during your stay, I could have passed them to the maintenance and housekeeping teams at the time to resolve. I have since visited the Lodge personally and everything has been addressed. The stairgate is a personal choice, and if not required then can be removed. Thank you again for raising these issues and for choosing Dart Lodge Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ann1.6Jun 2023

  • "Lodge was well equipped and we enjoyed our stay there we just found a few ..."

    Lodge was well equipped and we enjoyed our stay there we just found a few issues,a few kitchen pots were damaged or broken in property on our arrival and a painting attached with velcro was on the floor and would not reattach,also another blew off the wall when we opened balcony door and damaged downstairs wall at bottom of the stairs,also we wanted to hoover and this didn't work fully to carry this out well,I hope this can be passed on to help improve lodge in the future for your guests,thanks

    Thank you for your constructive feedback. These issues have been addressed and the bowl in the kitchen replaced. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at Dart Lodge and I would welcome you back should you want to return in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Erica3.4May 2023

  • "The lodge was very comfortable and generally well kept."

    2 things let things down. The cleaners hadn't even brushed the decking down, let alone tried to clean it. They had also only cleaned the top 3/4 of the patio doors. It took us about an hour to clean up these. The park itself was very badly managed as there were a lot of deep potholes throughout. We would happily stay in the lodge but not at Honicombe park.

    Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Dart Lodge. I have now personally visited the lodge and cleaned the decking. The other issues have been passed on to the park maintenance team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pete3.1May 2023

  • "Great place quiet location easy to get to Devon and Cornwall as on the border Thankyou"

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Apr 2023

  • "We had a wonderful time and if we go to that area again will definitely be looking at Dart Lodge."

    It was the best equipped caravan/lodge we've been in and full of little touches to make visitors feel welcome. The cost was less than going to a caravan and it was way more comfortable. As Dart Lodge is at the end of a row it has the advantage of only one neighbour and the design of the Site means it has a view on to countryside. Highly recommend!

    Reviewed by Vicky5.0Apr 2023

  • "Lovely stay at Dart Lodge- really well equipped, perfect for our party of 3 adults, 2 children and little dog."

    Beds were particularly comfortable and facilities on site are excellent. Whole site is very clean, friendly and well maintained.

    Reviewed by Joanne4.4Feb 2023

  • "The tv remote for the master bedroom we were unable to find but it was not a ..."

    The tv remote for the master bedroom we were unable to find but it was not a problem also couldn’t find the visitors book The only real problem was no washing machine for my partner she really missed not having one but we did find the laundrette

    Reviewed by Clive4.4Sep 2022

  • "The duvet would have benefited from being as the duvet cover, I feel that extra blankets left in the wardrobe for the winter/ cold nights instead of putting the heating up higher, especially as we are trying to be environmentally friendly, also perhaps a couple of fleece on the settees upstairs so that we can snuggle up with again not to switch the heating up."

    We really enjoyed the lodge with it’s warm and cosy feeling when you first walk into through the door.

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Oct 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Reverse-level
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor super-king-size with TV and en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 2 x ground-floor twin with TV
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • First-floor open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with balcony
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, 4 x TV with Freeview, WiFi, DVD, selection of DVDs and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot, highchair, stairgate available
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Patio and seating
  • Shared use of on-site leisure club at nearby Honicombe Park (closed 25th December and 1st January only) including indoor heated pool, outdoor heated pool (May-Sep inclusive), sauna, mini gym, outdoor chess and tennis courts
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Check-in from 4pm, check-out by 10am

The property

Set in the heart of the beautiful Tamar Valley on the Honicombe Holiday Village in Callington, Cornwall, is this delightful lodge, Dart Lodge.

Set over two floors and sleeping up to six guests.

Designed in an 'upside down' style the three bedrooms are all on the ground floor with the master bedroom, with super king-size bed, benefitting from en-suite facilities as well direct access to the patio to enjoy al fresco dining with glorious countryside views.

The spacious open-plan living room is on the first floor with kitchen, dining and sitting areas leading out to the balcony.

Relaxation is key here with natural surroundings and comfortable accommodation.

The plush sofa in the living room is fitted with recliners to unwind after a day on the moors visiting the many fascinating villages.

Take advantage of the on-site facilities available with a dip in heated indoor or outdoor pool, a work-out in the gym, or a meal in the fantastic restaurant for when you don’t feel like cooking one evening.

Explore further with the Tamar valley being home to some of the finest scenery in the West country in an area designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

The valley is marked by four ancient towns; Launceston in the north with its steam railway and English Heritage Castle, a perfect place to enjoy a picnic, Tavistock to the East , the gateway to Dartmoor, Callington in the West with its unusual mural trail and Saltash linking Cornwall and Devon.

With Calstock and the glorious Cotehele house close by you will be spoilt for choice of where to visit first!

For a refreshing break with loved ones in the heart of nature, choose Dart Lodge.

View on map

About the location


Tavistock 9 miles; Launceston 11.5 miles; Plymouth 14.6 miles.

Callington is a Cornish market town, rich in mining heritage and overlooked by Kit Hill, the highest point in the area, donated to the people of Cornwall by Prince Charles to celebrate the birth of Prince William. From the top of Kit Hill there are fabulous views across south-east Cornwall as far as Plymouth Sound. Callington is set in the heart of the Tamar Valley, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and offers a good selection of shops, inns and cafes, as well as being the home of Ginsters Cornish pasties. A few miles away, the quaint village of Calstock clings to the steep banks of the river Tamar and is dominated by the splendid Calstock Railway Viaduct, a giant 11-arched stone construction supporting one of Britain’s most picturesque branch lines running through the Tamar Valley. Other interesting places along the river are Cotehele, a beautiful historic house and gardens owned by the National Trust with a small quay and inn, and Morwhellam Quay, a theme park that staged a living history production for the BBC and where visitors can explore the rich mining heritage and watch blacksmiths, potters and craftsmen at work. The pannier market town of Tavistock is only nine miles from Callington and is well worth a visit on your way to a day’s walk on Dartmoor. A splendid base to explore south Cornwall and West Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Callington