Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th September '22. Available on breaks arriving 1st January - 30th April '23.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 1 minutes ago

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 29 View Larger Image
  • Dartmoor 13 - Cornwall - 1075399 - photo 1
close

Dartmoor 13

Callington, Cornwall (Ref. 1075399)

3.5

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 8

  • Bedrooms 4

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

5 Customer Reviews

  • "Cottage-Recommend new mattresses and a cheese grater."

    Parking near the cottage was a nightmare. WIFI was so poor at the start that it was unusable. Property was very clean with a great layout. Sykes- Misleading info. Wasn’t made aware that games room required a bag of pound coins to use and you can’t just turn up when you want for swimming. All needs to be pre booked, which wasn’t easy not having the password. Luckily the staff on site are very helpful.

    Reviewed by JonathanJul 2022

  • "Arrived at the time stated which was 5pm (which is a very late check in) only to find the code we’d been emailed didn’t work."

    Called the number given on the email which was not answered. Called Sykes and after 2 and a half hours was given a new code. We had 4 young children who had travelled 4 hours to get there. Then having to vacate by 9am is ludicrous, especially as you don’t find this out until after booking and paying. In at 7.30pm and out by 9am!! The Wi-Fi was non existent and we asked the site guy who told us ‘it doesn’t work, so use next doors Wi-Fi’ and gave us the password, useful but was advertised as having Wi-Fi. The upstairs floorboards are incredibly noisy especially considering 2 other bedrooms are downstairs. The place is decorated nicely but the overall upkeep outside is very shabby, weeds everywhere on the road edge, lumps of concrete, a broken light smashed outside held tighter with duct tape and no barriers to keep the children away. Would definitely not recommend this property or use Skyes cottages ever again after this experience

    Reviewed by SamanthaJul 2022

  • "The property was well equipped and had everything that we needed."

    We arrived on a Friday and tried to contact the number that was provided as the carpet going up the stairs was not tacked into the grippers and the wifi was not working. We were unable to get through and the reception did not hold any owner details. Following a call to Cornish Cottages on the Saturday the problems were quickly rectified while we were out for the day and I even received a phone call later in the evening to check everything was OK which was reassuring. The cottage suited our needs as we were 2 families with an age range of kids from 6 to 13. The seating arrangements in the lounge/diner are not ideal but the open plan kitchen allowed a bit more communal space. The bedrooms are light, airy and modern in decor, but upstairs the floor boards are very creaky, so even when turning over in bed the floor creaked, so not ideal for fidgety kids or people that get up to use the toilet in the night. Having the use of the swimming pool, games room and bar/restaurant was a bonus. The meal in the restaurant was lovely and would recommend if you want a night away from cooking. Overall we had a lovely stay at Dartmoor 13 and with a few little tweaks it would be the perfect location to explore devon and cornwall.

    Reviewed by DavidApr 2022

  • "We stayed at the property for 7 nights."

    When we first entered the property ,it looks recently done but what welcomed us was a nasty smell (dirty mop perhaps). The smell went away after we bought some scented candles and air fresheners. The other reasons for poor rating are a) noisy plumbing and floorboards b) no WiFi for a day (our guess is unpaid bill as the WiFi stopped working on 31st and was restored when we complained) c) no dishwasher On the plus side the holiday park is quiet with play area, pool etc. Luckily we had good weather for the week and had an enjoyable time since Cornwall is so amazing .

    Thank you very much for your feedback, we’re glad that overall you had a good stay in Cornwall and were lucky to enjoy some good weather. We’re sorry it wasn’t perfect though. It can’t have been pleasant to arrive to a nasty smell and we’re pleased this dissipated quite quickly. We’re sorry that the Wi-Fi didn’t work on a day, but can confirm this absolutely wasn’t connected to an unpaid bill. It should have been working and we can only put this down to a temporary glitch. We don’t advertise a dishwasher, so whilst we know they’re useful to have, guests shouldn’t be expecting one. We’re pleased you enjoyed the holiday park and glad you were able to make full use of the facilities. We hope we’ll see you again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by MikashaAug 2021

  • "The cottage benefits from a full size freezer which would be great to advertise as many dog owners like us feed our dogs raw food which needs to be kept frozen."

    Our neighbour had no freezer and a big problem The swimming pools, bar and social areas are fantastic for families. The staff couldn't do enough to help and the bar food was excellent The location is perfect for exploring seaside resorts and adventure activities

    Reviewed by LyndaAug 2021

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Four bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x double, 2 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer
  • washer/dryer, TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Stairgate, highchair and travel cot available on request
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Garden with patio and furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome at a cost of £25 per dog per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • On-site shop and bar/restaurant
  • On-site leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor pool, fitness suite, tennis courts and children’s play area (seasonal opening times)

The property

Nestled in the tranquil Honicombe Manor Holiday Village in Callington, Cornwall, is this marvellous detached lodge, Dartmoor 13.

Set over two storeys and sleeping up to eight guests, Dartmoor 13 is ideal for a rural break with family and friends, with local amenities just a stone’s throw away on the resort's site.

Park your car in the on-site car park and step into the small hall to discard any coats and shoes after your journey.

Whip up home-cooked meals for your family in the fully functioning kitchen and enjoy discussing plans for your Cornwall adventure as you settle around the dining table, before preparing the popcorn and settling down on the spacious corner sofa to enjoy a family film night on the Smart TV in the contemporary sitting area.

When sleep calls, Dartmoor 13 ensures a flexible sleeping arrangement for all with a double and twin located on the ground floor, decorated in muted tones with a pop of fresh pastel pink.

Take advantage of the convenient shower room, completing the ground floor, where you can freshen up after a long day of exploring your surroundings.

Climb the stairs to the second floor, where you will discover a further two bedrooms, a king-size and a twin bedroom, echoing the décor of the ground floor with muted tones and a splash of pastel blue; it is simply charming.

Enjoy a morning coffee or a freshly prepared picnic at the pretty picnic bench on your private patio area, before exploring your surroundings and taking advantage of the selection of on-site activities, which includes indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, a fitness suite and a children's play area.

Tucked away in the picturesque Tamar Valley, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the charming Cornish town of Callington is steeped in rich history and heritage and attracts thousands of tourists every year.

For those looking to delve straight into Callington’s history, St Mary’s Church should be your first port of call in the centre of town, a beautiful 15th century building where you can visit the Celtic lantern cross in the churchyard and ancient tombs of the historical families of Callington.

Wander through the high street, where you will find a delightful array of shops and cafés, where you can sample a delicious Cornish cream tea.

For foodies, this quaint town is the home of Ginsters Cornish pasties, so be sure to sample one before the end of your trip!

Check out The Callington Mural Project in the town’s centre; created by local and professional artists, it pays homage to Callington’s heritage, with a large and intricate image.

Grab your walking boots and venture up the highest point in the area, Kit Hill, which was donated by The Prince of Wales when celebrating the birth of his son, Prince William, you can bring your own picnic and enjoy the expansive views over Bodmin Moor too.

A short drive will bring you to the attractive town of Tavistock, known for being the ‘home of the cream tea’ and its pannier market, which is held every Tuesday-Saturday and hosts a selection of great traders selling local goods.

If you can tear yourself away, just a little further afield is the coastal town of Launceston, where you can explore Launceston Castle or the Lawrence House Museum.

Make Dartmoor 13 your family getaway to Cornwall and enjoy a splendid retreat with beauty on your doorstep.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

CALLINGTON

Tavistock 9 miles; Launceston 11.5 miles, Plymouth 14.6 miles.

Callington is a Cornish market town, rich in mining heritage and overlooked by Kit Hill, the highest point in the area, donated to the people of Cornwall by Prince Charles to celebrate the birth of Prince William. From the top of Kit Hill there are fabulous views across south-east Cornwall as far as Plymouth Sound. Callington is set in the heart of the Tamar Valley, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and offers a good selection of shops, inns and cafes, as well as being the home of Ginsters Cornish pasties. A few miles away, the quaint village of Calstock clings to the steep banks of the river Tamar and is dominated by the splendid Calstock Railway Viaduct, a giant 11-arched stone construction supporting one of Britain’s most picturesque branch lines running through the Tamar Valley. Other interesting places along the river are Cotehele, a beautiful historic house and gardens owned by the National Trust with a small quay and inn, and Morwhellam Quay, a theme park that staged a living history production for the BBC and where visitors can explore the rich mining heritage and watch blacksmiths, potters and craftsmen at work. The pannier market town of Tavistock is only nine miles from Callington and is well worth a visit on your way to a day’s walk on Dartmoor. A splendid base to explore south Cornwall and West Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Callington

Region Information

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

Note: A booking system is in operation for the swimming pools & gym. Bookings are accepted once you are onsite via reception.

Note: The basic games room is open 9am to 8pm daily, charges apply for some games (all of the above is susceptible to change at short notice in line with government guidelines).

Note: The pub and all facilities are closed on Christmas day.

Note: Mini convenience store is open 9am - 5pm daily.

Note: Tennis courts are open from Easter until October half term.

Note: Outdoor pool is open from mid May - mid September (weather dependent).

Note: The property is not owned or operated by the holiday park so any issues with it need to be directed to Sykes or the property housekeeper.

Note: Holiday park restrictions prevent workers/contractors staying on site.

Note: Dogs are welcome, however breeds listed under the Dangerous Dogs Act 1991 are not permitted.

Note: This property has a private water supply which is tested regularly.

Note: Site Gym and Pool Rules - No under 16's permitted to use the gym. Pool - under 16's must be accompanied by an adult, two children max per adult. Under 8's/Non-swimmers should always be accompanied by a competent adult in the pool. No balls except beach balls. There are no lifeguards on duty.


This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas