Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 1 minutes ago

1 of 34 View Larger Image
  • Valley Lodge 52 - Cornwall - 1010771 - photo 1
close

4 people have recently viewed this property

Valley Lodge 52

Callington, Cornwall (Ref. 1010771)

4.2

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Off road parking
  • Swimming pool
  • Hot tub
  • Dishwasher
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

8 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely nice and very good service we enjoyed in swimming pool outdoor and in ..."

    Lovely nice and very good service we enjoyed in swimming pool outdoor and in door , we’ll come back next year ❤️❤️❤️

    Reviewed by DiyaaJun 2022

  • "We had a very enjoyable week."

    The lodge was very comfortable and well equipped and was spotless. We really enjoyed the hot tub after a day out which was checked and maintained daily. Any minor problems were dealt with immediately by the owner. Very good value for money and the on site pool was a bonus. The only observations that may help would be to list that there is a freezer as well as a fridge in the listing which would help - and the contact numbers for the maintenance need updating. Thanks for a great holiday and look forward to coming back.

    Thank you for your feedback, so pleased you had a lovely stay. We have now added the freezer to the property description. We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JudithMay 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at lodge 52, the area is stunning with really good ..."

    We had a lovely stay at lodge 52, the area is stunning with really good facilities, when we did encounter a problem the response from the lodge manager was excellent, we will hope to return in the future, thanks

    Thank you for your review. We would be delighted to have you to stay at our lodge in the future. Our lodge manager is excellent, you just need to ask and he will do whatever he can to put things right. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JamesSep 2021

  • "Overall the lodge is in need of updating but we could see this from the photo when we booked, the things that would have improved are stay would be a better mattress on the double bed (it’s like sleeping on a water bed with springs sticking through) and a proper frying pan (we have bought a cheap one and left it there for any future guests who love a holiday fry up as we do) The really nice touches were the scones, clotted cream, the sweets on every bed and other little bits, although I was a little disappointed to find out that are family who booked a lodge through the site directly also got Prosecco instead of wine and some milk in the fridge as well."

    Although the maintenance staff were very accommodating it was so hot when we got there so we asked if we could get a fan and they brought one round within the hour. The WiFi was good for Cornwall which is important when wanting to keep teenagers happy on holiday. The lodge was very clean which is important in current times the only things with dust were the rusty old ornaments. Over all though this is a great location with lots to see and do we spent most day out exploring we visited Looe, Hidden valley adventure park, The lost gardens of heligan and we had a great holiday thank you!

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear you had a great holiday overall and that you enjoyed the location for exploring Cornwall and Devon. Things are updated every year depending on wear and tear and changing trends etc. Nothing in the lodge is particularly old. We wish to apologise about the bed. The bed and mattress were bought together just before the first lockdown, but when the owner complainedmattress it was changed again. After your review, the owner went to a different supplier and bought a different kind of mattress and has been informed it is very comfortable. If you had told the owner or my lodge manager when you were there about this and the frying pan, a replacement could have been arranged as soon as possible. Frying pans are replaced regularly. This was your experience with the fan which was brought to you within the hour. There are various cleaning companies on site, they do different welcome packs and some don't do them at all. Most guests are delighted with the packs. The metal ornaments in the bathroom have been disposed of. Thank you for pointing this out. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndreaJul 2021

  • "The lodge was lovely however, a little outdated and could of done with a lick of paint and some furniture updating."

    The bed in the double room was extremely uncomfortable and made it difficult to sleep at night. The facilities in the kitchen were good, we had everything we needed when we arrived, this made cooking very easy while we stayed. During our stay (on Wednesday) an engineer had to come in and change the router for the WiFi. We didn’t have any WiFi until the Wednesday which meant we couldn’t search the internet for things to do locally. There was no signal at all until the Wednesday when it was replaced. It would have been beneficial to have had this done when the lodge is unoccupied as this disrupted our stay. The hot tub was amazing and we spent pretty much all week in there, the only downside was that the water was being emptied around 9am when we weren’t due to check out until 10am. The on sight facilities were okay however the pool side changing is unacceptable and we had to leave the pool in our wet swimming costumes, in towels due to the lack of facilities to change. Overall, lovely, quiet and peaceful location and the owners of the lodge were very helpful during our stay. They communicated with us before we arrived and we’re on hand when we needed them. Just a few things that let the lodge down but with a bit of care and attention it would be perfect.

    Thank you for your feedback which we welcome. The whole site has had a recent wi-fi upgrade and the engineer needed to change the router at the property after this work was completed. I am sorry if this was a disruption to you, but we aimed to minimise inconvenience by carrying out this work when you were out. The photos of the interior are accurate in showing the interior of the property. The bed was replaced last year and we are sorry if the mattress was not to you preference. The pool is operating, whilst practising social distancing which is a challenge to ensure the safety of guests during the pandemic. The new individual changing booths have been installed to avoid groups mixing in the communal changing rooms. During these Covid times, extra time is needed to change over the property for incoming guests. The hot tub, being outside, is cleaned first before the cleaners are able to access the property internally. We are pleased to hear, however, you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AimeeMay 2021

  • "The lodge and hot tub was fantastic."

    Lovely location. The owners were very helpful. We had everything we needed for our adventurous toddler, including a Stairgate too. Only recommendations I would give is a better frying pan as the other one doesn't sit right on the hob. Also more facilities in the lodge for recycling waste. Maybe use unused kitchen cupboard space for inside bins :-) other than that, It was great!

    Thank you for your feedback, we will give careful consideration to the points you have raised. We are glad you loved the lodge and the hot tub and look forward to seeing you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EmmaSep 2020

  • "Needs to be cleaned better there was dust on furniture and in bathrooms that hadn’t been cleaned for ages and it would have been nice to see through the windows."

    other that that a very nice lodge well equipped with everything you need.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We take this very seriously and apologise for the fact that our high cleaning standards fell short of expectations on this occasion. You were sent an email before your holiday asking that you report any problems immediately, as issues cannot be rectified after the event. Our housekeeper would have welcomed the opportunity to correct any cleaning issues if you had let us know at the time. Steps are being taken to ensure an extra check will take place before guests arrive. We hope that you enjoyed your holiday and stay in the lodge. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SueSep 2020

  • "We booked this break before Covid-19 and I was disappointed that a refund was not an option."

    In other words our hand was forced, either go or lose our deposit. Getting in touch with your company was almost impossible during the lockdown, even via email, responses were slow or non existent. Despite this, our holiday was good, the reception lady was fantastic and the lodge was clean and comfortable. Would I use Sykes again, not sure due to the lack of lock down communication and the overiding feeling that we had no choice.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you experienced these issues prior to your stay. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Valley Lodge 52 and hope we will be able to welcome you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AdrianAug 2020

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with balcony and access to Jack-and-Jill bathroom and 2 x twin
  • Bathroom , shower, basin and WC
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • First floor: Open-plan living room with a kitchen, dining and sitting area with balcony.
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, TV, DVD player and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available on request
  • Allocated parking for 1 car
  • Patio area with garden furniture and hot tub
  • Two decking balconies, one with furniture and one with hot tub
  • On-site shop and pub 10 minute walk
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 3.8 miles and pub 1.3 miles
  • Note: This property has a private water supply which is tested regularly
  • Note: Seasonal opening times may apply to all facilities
  • Note: Outdoor pool is open from mid May - mid September (weather dependant)

The property

Callington 3.8 miles.

This beautiful semi-detached holiday lodge is situated on the Honicombe Manor Holiday Park, on the outskirts of Callington, in Cornwall.

Surrounded by mature oak woodland, 52 Valley...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

CALLINGTON

Tavistock 9 miles; Launceston 11.5 miles, Plymouth 14.6 miles.

Callington is a Cornish market town, rich in mining heritage and overlooked by Kit Hill, the highest point in the area, donated to the people of Cornwall by Prince Charles to celebrate the birth of Prince William. From the top of Kit Hill there are fabulous views across south-east Cornwall as far as Plymouth Sound. Callington is set in the heart of the Tamar Valley, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and offers a good selection of shops, inns and cafes, as well as being the home of Ginsters Cornish pasties. A few miles away, the quaint village of Calstock clings to the steep banks of the river Tamar and is dominated by the splendid Calstock Railway Viaduct, a giant 11-arched stone construction supporting one of Britain’s most picturesque branch lines running through the Tamar Valley. Other interesting places along the river are Cotehele, a beautiful historic house and gardens owned by the National Trust with a small quay and inn, and Morwhellam Quay, a theme park that staged a living history production for the BBC and where visitors can explore the rich mining heritage and watch blacksmiths, potters and craftsmen at work. The pannier market town of Tavistock is only nine miles from Callington and is well worth a visit on your way to a day’s walk on Dartmoor. A splendid base to explore south Cornwall and West Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Callington

Region Information

Note: The pub and all facilities are closed on Christmas day.

Note: Mini convenience store is open 9am - 5pm daily.

Note: Tennis courts are open from Easter until October half term.

Note: Outdoor pool is open from mid May - mid September (weather dependent).

Note: Holiday park restrictions prevent workers/contractors staying on site.

Note: Dogs are welcome, however breeds listed under the Dangerous Dogs Act 1991 are not permitted.

Note: This property has a private water supply which is tested regularly.

Note: Site Gym and Pool Rules - No under 16's permitted to use the gym. Pool - under 16's must be accompanied by an adult, two children max per adult. Under 8's/Non-swimmers should always be accompanied by a competent adult in the pool. There are no lifeguards on duty.

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it