In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Glenmount Cottage in the last 24 hours

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Glenmount Cottage - Cornwall - 940768 - photo 1

Glenmount Cottage

(Ref. 940768)

Portreath, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (24)
  • lovely (20)
  • beach (19)
  • clean (15)
  • our (14)
  • location (13)

34 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a lovely time staying at Glenmount Cottage."

    The actual place was clean and fresh looking. All the facilities that you needed were there and the log fire was great for heating up the living area in the evening. We had no problem with the parking outside the cottage. The local area was good with a variety of places close by where you could eat/drink. Discovered the Tideline Cafe on the last morning, would highly recommend. Overall we (2 adults and 2 dogs) had a great week there.

    Thanks for your review Sue, so glad you enjoyed your stay and everything Portreath has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back some time, thanks again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely location, parking was no issue in the space opposite."

    Cottage was well equipped and the welcome pack was a nice edition. Beds are comfortable, only change would be the windows are large openers so couldn’t sleep with them open being on the ground floor. They could do with a locking chain like hotel windows have. Upstairs lounge & kitchen was a nice space, did however have an odour. Smelt a bit like stale cigarette smoke. It soon went once windows were opened. The cottage is perfect for the beautiful beach at Godrevy, brilliant for surf and bodyboarding. National trust with a super independent coffee van on the beach. We did two lovely walks from the cottage, first from Portreath over the coastal path to Porthtowan and the second up through the woods to Illogan along the coast path and back into Portreath over the headland. Chinese takeaway is really nice down by the bridge. Thank you for a lovely holiday and we were lucky with the sunny weather!

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Aug 2023

  • "Fabulous cottage - very clean & comfortable."

    Lovely location although I think we presumed from the photos it was closer to the beach. However, the location being walkable to the woods & beach was ideal. There was a lovely little starter pack when we arrived & all the communication make arrival very easy. Only downside was the smell of damp downstairs (but I assume this is something quite hard to rectify). Overall we were delighted with our stay & would definitely recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by Natalie4.7Jul 2023

  • "Lovely cottage wonderful surrounding countryside."

    Just a few comments. Second bedroom very very dark and not enough storage for one let alone two people. Also would recommend a safety mat in the shower apart from that a wonderful place to stay.

    Reviewed by Carole5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely clean property."

    Well positioned for everything. Lovely neighbours too. Log burner was great, a couple of logs to start off would have been good. Unfortunately the was a strong smell of dog in the hall way and bedrooms. Couldn't get rid of it. All in all a lovely place.

    Reviewed by Julie4.7May 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay in Glenmount Cottage."

    The cottage was spotless and very clean. It had a lovely fresh feel to it. There was a couple of welcome packs with goodies in for our stay. These were very much appreciated. I was worried about the stairs after reading a couple of reviews. The stairs aren’t that high and there was a good handrail and ledge to hold onto so it wasn’t a problem for us. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a local Co-op to get some wood for the fire and some supplies. It’s a single track road outside but only residents use it. There are spaces to park right outside but it’s not guaranteed. The lovely part about this cottage is the beach is within walking distance and if you walk the other way there are some lovely woods. You can do a circular walk through the woods following the stream, tulip fields and then along the old tram line back to the cottage. There are some nice pubs to eat in the town and a really good Chinese.

    Thanks for your review Tony - its always good to hear that guests have made the most of the location and I agree that having the choice of the walk to the beach or through the woodland is a real bonus. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tony5.0Apr 2023

  • "Really lovely cottage."

    Has everything you need. Very comfortable. The owners communication is excellent and is very helpful. We would stay again, but unfortunately the cottage will no longer accept dogs later in the year.

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Mar 2023

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Really comfy bed and extremely clean, better than I expected from a property that allows dogs. I have stayed at many self catering cottages over the years but never one so well equipped as this. Shame can’t take dogs after July we would definitely have gone back.

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Dec 2022

  • "We spent christmas week at Glenmount cottage."

    We had a lovely peaceful christmas. The christmas tree and proseco were much appreciated. The cottage was lovely and warm despite the chilly weather. We lit the log burner every day, It was very cosy. The bed was very comfortable and we slept really well, It was very quiet. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking our christmas dinner... we just had to bring a roasting tin having read a previous review. The cottage was spotlessly clean. We walked the dog most mornings in the woods minutes away from the cottage. The wet weather prevented us doing too much walking but we could see that there are a lot of lovely walks in the area. There are also many places to explore just a short drive away. The 2 pubs... The Basset arms and The Portreath Arms were both very friendly and only a short walk away. We used the chinese takeaway at the end of the road on our last night and the food was so good. We would definitely recommend Glenmount cottage for a holiday in this area of cornwall.

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Dec 2022

  • "Wonderful property, like a good hotel rather than a holiday rental."

    It had all the facilities you need to be comfortable especially in the kitchen, such as good knives, teapot, dishwasher tablets and things you wouldn’t normally think of like spare dog bowls. The welcome pack of hot chocolate and biscuits was a lovely touch. The location was superb, it’s right by the footpath into illogen woods and less than a 10 minute to the beach.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Nov 2022

  • "This is a lovely cottoage in a very quite locaition, the upside down living realy makes the best of the light coming into the rooms."

    On arrival there was a small hamper stocked with local goodies which was well received. The property was very clean and well appointed. Portreath beach was less than a 10 minute walk and the shops and pubs around 5 minues walk. The parking space was always avliable and the neighbours very pleasent.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Oct 2022

  • "Great little cottage in a convenient location, welcome hamper was a lovely touch and received with thanks."

    The property is upside down so has bedrooms on ground floor and living room/kitchen on first floor. There are 2 bedrooms, one at back has 2 single beds. The double bedroom at the front is quite a good size with a door to bathroom which is also a decent size. The shower was nice and hot with a heated towel rail. Only issue was that there were no cleaning products to clean the shower. The living room and kitchen again were a nice size, clean and tidy. Loved the wood burner which heated room up in no time! Kindling/wood not provided for guests info. The kitchen had most things we needed, the oven was easy to use and there are plenty of cupboards and a good size fridge/freezer. If I’m being picky then no ice cube tray was a bit of a pain. There was also no mop bucket just the mop. The little court yard at the front of the cottage was a nice enclosed space and secure for our little dog. Only couple of minor issues were that the space at bottom of stairs smells of wet dog, which we did get used to but was unpleasant when first walking in. Personally I think it would be better to remove the carpet at bottom of stairs/hallway and replace with Lino. The owner very kindly provide dog blankets for the sofas but these are covered in dog hairs so again I would remove them and tell dog owners to bring there own or keep dog off sofa. Finally the stairs. Think this has been mentioned in previous feedback but they are steep and there is no door/gate at top of stairs which leads straight to living room. I think for safety a baby gate should be provided and stored in utility cupboard as an option for guests to use, as small children and toy breed dogs could easily fall done those stairs. Overall a very enjoyable, comfortable stay and would recommend to others. The cottage was in a great location. Literally out of front door and turn right are the woods. Portreath beach is a nice easy 10 minute walk. There is a dog ban from 1st July to 31st Aug. The Coastal walks from Portreath have amazing views and great for dog walks. Beware that the coastal path to Porthtowan has some VERY steep steps along the way. Hayle beach is a 20 minute drive away and was miles of golden sand. Dog friendly and because it stretched so far we hardly saw anybody. Can also walk to it on coastal path from Portreath. Portreath Arms pub, is a 5 minute walk from cottage.Food was fantastic, staff were lovely and it was dog friendly too. Dogs allowed in bar not restaurant area. Thank you to the owners/ Sykes for a lovely holiday.

    Reviewed by Tammy4.1Sep 2022

  • "Firstly I have to say the cottage is very nice, clean and well equipped with the standard welcome pack provided by the management company Flint."

    There is a musty damp smell that fills all of the downstairs rooms and at first is very unpleasant but after a few days you fail to notice but it is still there, this is probably down to the age of the cottage the lack of sun on the outer walls and NOT a sign of poor house cleaning, but it is unpleasant and should be addressed. The recurring theme of a dodgy toilet seat in previous feedback has still not been sorted. I tried my best to adjust and refit it but it came loose again. Basically it’s the wrong seat on the toilet and Flint Management should sort it out for the owner as it is a point of discontent with visitors and it is a cheap easy fix. I would also instruct flint to look under the bed when they clean it’s not nice seeing used tissues under the bed on the morning you leave whilst checking for a missing sock!! Had I found them at the start of the stay I would have raised it and I am certain it would have been sorted. We had a power outage in Portreath and the owner was straight on the phone informing us of likely timescale for Western Power to reconnect the village. I would suggest an upgrade to the emergency torch as it is pretty woeful and I would not want to rely on it. Parking is “interesting” and despite previous feedback to the contrary the neighbours who share the parking space are not anti holiday let’s and were helpful over the parking. The anti holidaymaker sign is the work of someone else further up the lane!! All in all the cottage is well placed for a week in Cornwall, it is well equipped, clean and comfortable. Portreath is lovely, the locals by and large friendly and the beach is great for dogs and kids (although there is a seasonal ban on dogs until end of August) The upside down set up of the cottage is fine the stairs are steep but it is a cottage in Cornwall!!

    Reviewed by Robert3.8Sep 2022

  • "The cottage is small and had an unpleasant smell in the ground floor bedrooms and bedding and clothes felt damp during our stay."

    Good kitchen and shower. No views from the rear windows with a wall about 1m from the windows. The cottage was towards the end of a single track road and parking tight, nowhere to turn so had to reverse down the road. The stairs are very steep which was a problem for one member of our party. Door handle came off in our hands on arrival, drawer front came off, both of which were repaired, the radiators in the bedrooms were not working which the owner offered to fix and might have helped with the smell and damp but we didn’t want to risk not being able to control the heat and were so fed up with the property that we declined. Nice wooded walk near the cottage.

    Reviewed by Sylvia1.6Sep 2022

  • "We think that installing a baby gate at the top of the stairs would be a great asset, as our dog is never allowed upstairs at home and with dogs not allowed in the bedrooms he was up and down which in turn led him to injuring his back leg so we left on the Wednesday."

    We found that the double bedroom smelt damp and the bedding no heaters where working in either bedroom to air the rooms would of been nice to of had a starter patch to light the log fire, not being picky but the cottage could do with someone going around with a high duster never seen so many cobwebs.. the hamper was a lovely touch thank you, cottage was in a lovely location beautiful walks and such a lovely beach with plenty of amenities We did report that the door handle to the main bedroom was hanging off,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and the suggestion to install a stairgate - this is something we have considered but unfortunately found that the inconvenience for those who don't want a stairgate outweighed the benefits. If is is a requirement, I believe you can search for properties that list this as a facility as I know its something that many people do need. When we checked the heating on your departure we found the fuse switch had flicked off, so would have been very easy to remedy for you if you had accepted our offer of a maintenance visit (as we did to fix the loose door handle). I'm happy to hear you had an enjoyable visit to Portreath, it is a beautiful part of the world even in all the rain you had! I have passed on your comments about the cobwebs to the housekeeping team. Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert4.1Sep 2022

  • "A nice cottage in a lovely village just a walk to the beach, shop, pubs, cafe and bakery."

    The beach at Portreath is great with good lifeguard cover and pay and display parking if you need to park near the beach. Cottage tastefully decorated throughout. You can tell that some time and investment has gone into this place in particular with a modern shower room. Kitchen well equipped if you need to cook. I’d probably suggest one or two more oven trays in the case of cooking for a family. Wooded footpath literally around the corner which makes a nice change from the coast for a family (or solitary) walk. Although we didn’t sit out in the yard, it was well equipped with table and chairs and paved nice and flat. Bodyboards and beach equipment to borrow out of the shed, lovely touch. Unfortunately upon arrival we noticed that previous guests had allowed their dog into the bedroom(s) despite being requested not to in the welcome folder. This meant quite a strong smell in one room in particular, however the owner responded to our call very quickly and sorted the problem. I’d suggest hard floors throughout in order to prevent this becoming an ongoing problem. The immediate (local) neighbour was a complete NIMBY regarding holiday lets and his personality shone through. It’s obvious that the local community are against holiday homes in the area but I’m satisfied that we have probably contributed more to the local economy than these people during our enjoyable stay in this part of Cornwall. For car hire I recommend Cornwall Car Hire who were fantastic. A much better experience than dealing with the larger businesses. Would love to return for a future holiday despite our initial frustration regarding a smelly carpet!

    Reviewed by Matt3.8Aug 2022

  • "Toilet seat was loose and whilst a maintainance guy appeared to replace it the seat still didn't stay upright."

    We arranged for the maintenance team to look at the issue with the toilet seat but were unaware it had not been satisfactorily resolved, having only been made aware of this now. We have subsequently been in touch to arrange an alternative solution to this. Our apologies for any inconvenience this caused, we do try to resolve all issues as soon as we are made aware of them and have a team on call available to do so. I hope you had an enjoyable stay otherwise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil4.4Aug 2022

  • "Spotlessly clean cottage, very comfortable and well equipped."

    We really enjoyed our stay and the location was great for exploring all that Cornwall has to offer !

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Jun 2022

  • "Everything in the cottage was as described it was in a lovely position the beach ..."

    Everything in the cottage was as described it was in a lovely position the beach at one end of the road and the woods on the other The stairs are quite steep so I would recommend saying it’s not suitable for people with mobility problems

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Jun 2022

  • "The Toilet Seat needs replacing, it should be changed to a soft close seat."

    Many of times the lid would come down whilst sitting on it or getting up, it’s not safe for Children. A stair gate should also be available as it is not safe for small children due to the possibility of falling down the stairs. Otherwise great location, tidy and thank you for the Biscuits.

    I'm sorry to hear you had problems with the toilet seat, it sounds as if it has perhaps come loose and I have arranged for someone from the maintenance team to take a look at this. We don't provide a stairgate but I believe if this is a requirement the advisors at Sykes are happy to let you know whether this is a facility that is offered at individual properties. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha3.8May 2022

  • "Lovely welcome pack on arrival."

    Well equipped home. Fabulous woods right on the doorstep and beautiful beach a few minutes away. Would highly recommend to others!

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Oct 2021

  • "Having stayed at Glenmount Cottage in May of this year, everything was excellent hence the reason we booked for October at an increased price of approx £100."

    When we arrived there was dog hair on carpet, bed covers & an all round grubbiness in the kitchen with dirty plinths. When we did a washing I was appalled to see end result, covered in dog hairs. Had to take to laundrama to re-wash. There were no bin bags - stated there were & about 2 bits of toilet roll. Called Flint Management to advise & they apologised & arranged with owner to send bin bags & Vamoosh! to clean wash machine. I had no intention of spending holiday maintaining the cottage. whole place needs a deep clean & sadly we will not be back.

    Reviewed by Janette2.2Oct 2021

  • "A lovely, cosy property in a very peaceful location."

    Being so handy for the Illogan Woods was great for our 2 young Labs and the beach was just a 15 minute walk away. A great stay in a great spot!

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Sep 2021

  • "What a fantastic holiday!"

    the property was clean, comfy and brilliantly equipped and the location is perfect, less than 10 minutes walk to the beach, pubs and shops and the village is beautiful, the beach is clean and spacious and the views are incredible, we cannot wait to return and are already planning our next visit.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Aug 2021

  • "The accommodation was so clean and everything of a high level"

    Reviewed by Gina5.0Jun 2021

  • "The cottage was excellently situated and the facilities were great."

    It was spotless on arrival and smelt clean which was really important for us. We loved the circular walk from the cottage through Illogan. The food at the Basset Arms was great too. We would love to return I the future

    Reviewed by Fletcher5.0May 2021

  • "Absolutely loved the cottage and the location."

    Will definitely go back there next year. The dogs loved it aswell with the nice woodland walk and the beach close by.

    Reviewed by Colin5.0May 2021

  • "We enjoyed our holiday very much in Glenmount cottage."

    The kitchen was great and well equipped. Great shower too. The stairs were pretty steep to the first floor so if you have an elderly dog or have mobility problems probably not a good choice. We loved the location. You can walk to Illogan woods a few yards from cottage. Loved Tehidy Park and Gwythian beach a short drive away. A week was too short!

    Reviewed by Denise4.7Sep 2020

  • "Clean and comfortable cottage would recommend"

    Reviewed by Patricia3.8Aug 2020

  • "We loved the cottage, it was very comfortable."

    Although the cottage was dog friendly, we were slightly disappointed in the area. Most of the beaches have seasonal dog bans, which meant we have to travel further, to take our dog out, during the day. Portreath, is a pretty area, but there isn't a huge amount to do there. Also because of the Covid situation, activities need to be pre booked, and we weren't able, to do do some of the trips we had planned. Overall I don't think we will be returning, as we prefer Newquay and Perranporth. We will be using Sykes cottages again though, as we liked the service.

    Reviewed by Louise4.4Aug 2020

  • "A lovely little cottage in a great location."

    We found the cottage to be very warm and cosy, even in a cold and blustery February! It had all the amenities you could possibly need. The village itself is a lovely (easy) walk away, with a great beach and an adequate shop and a great little cafe (also pubs which we didn’t explore). There are lots of lovely dog walks from the cottage too, great for our four legged friend. Will definitely return!

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Feb 2020

  • "Excellent comfortable cottage to stay in and very close to dog friendly walks"

    Reviewed by Deborah4.4Dec 2019

  • "Really comfortable cottage with everything you need to have a fantastic break close to the beach, definitely would re-visit in the future."

    Reviewed by Scott5.0Jul 2019

  • "What a lovely place."

    Everything was excellent. Everything was where is should have been on arrival and we spent four lovely nights there. Will definitely try to get back there. The location was perfect. The walk to the beach was easy enough and the woodland walk at the rear brought ours of fun for our teenage daughters. I actually cannot fault anything.

    Reviewed by Stacie5.0Apr 2019

Show more Hide all


  • Reverse-level property
  • Two bedrooms; 1 x king-size double with Jack-and-Jill en-suite, with walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting/dining room with woodburning stove
  • Utility
  • Electric central heating and woodburning fire
  • Washer/dryer, dishwasher, electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, TV, selection of books and games and WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Highchair available
  • Off-road parking for 1 Car, First come first serve basis
  • Enclosed courtyard with table and chairs
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Pub and shop within 0.3 miles
  • Beach 500 metres
  • Steep stairs, may be unsuitable for those with mobility issues
  • Note:This property will accept one well behaved dog.Note: Please be aware that the majority of beaches in the area are pet free during the Summer months Note: Please be aware that dogs are not to be left unattended at any point during your stay
  • Please note: This property only allows a minimum of 7 nights.

The property

Boasting a superb position on the north coast of Cornwall, with access to all the delights that this popular location has to offer, is Glenmount Cottage.

This heart-warming, semi-detached property offers a superb base for you and your loved ones to unwind and spend some time almost beachside, within an area steeped with high cliffs, secluded coves, glorious beaches and delicious eateries.

Be welcomed into a bright and airy interior, complete with contemporary furnishings and nautical touches, which serve as a delightful reminder of the surrounding area.

On the ground floor you will find two well-presented bedrooms, comprising of a double bedroom and a twin bedroom, complete with Jack and Jill en-suite.

Spend your down time within the sitting room whilst the fire burns and your favourite TV show plays, perfect during those chilly winter evenings.

Beyond here is a well-equipped kitchen, where the cook amongst you will be able to prepare a delicious home-cooked meal before gathering the family around the dining table.

During those summer months, make the most of the courtyard, where you and your loved ones can enjoy a refreshing beverage whilst soaking up the coastal surroundings.

If you can tear yourself away from this delightful spot, a short stroll will bring you to a selection of pubs, restaurants and cafés, in addition to a choice of shops for picking up any essentials.

To keep you busy whilst staying here, spend an afternoon at the sandy beach which is popular with surfers for its “vortex” surf break or stroll along the South West Coast Path to enjoy the spectacular cliffs and the views of the beaches and coves.

There is also Illogan Woodland area behind the property, perfect for keen walkers and dog walkers.

Further afield attractions include the fishing harbour town of St Ives and the city of Truro, where you will be delighted to find a superb selection of amenities.

Glenmount Cottage promises a refreshing break to the coast with your loved ones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Truro 14 miles; St Ives 15 miles.

With its sheltered harbour, beautiful Portreath was, in the 1800s, a hive of activity and industry as a major tin-exporting port. Today, the village attracts visitors from around the world with its wild and rugged coastline. High cliffs, secluded coves and sandy, surf-washed beaches typify the area while all around are reminders of the area's rich industrial heritage. Portreath offers a small fishing harbour, shops, a number of pubs, three cafés and a Chinese restaurant, while its safe, sheltered sandy beach is a popular attraction. For a great day out, visit the cathedral city of Truro with its cobbled streets, shopping centre, theatre, museum and great restaurants, just 14 miles away, or travel a few miles along the coast and follow the vast expanse of sandy beach, which leads down to Hayle and on to St Ives. A delightful holiday location.

Steep stairs, may be unsuitable for those with mobility issues.

Note: Please be aware that the majority of beaches in the area are pet free during the Summer months

Note: Please be aware that dogs are not to be left unattended at any point during your stay

Please note: This property only allows a minimum of 7 nights.