In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 50 minutes ago

24 people have recently viewed this property


Woodland Retreat, Cornwall (Ref. 960076)

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes


  • Icon/Feature/Swimming Pool Swimming pool
  • Icon/Feature/Four-poster Bed Four poster bed
  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor accommodation
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/Games room Games Room
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi


28 Customer Reviews

  • "The cottage is in a nice estate run by the hotel with good facilities for children in inclement weather (pool, pool table and spa for example)."

    The grounds of the hotel are well kept in most areas (where all the lodges and cottages are) but some areas have been left to weather (tennis court, mini golf and some public walking areas are overgrown and unsuitablefl for use) and Jasmine Cottage needs updating and move love. For example, the downstairs ensuite door doesn't close, fridge needs defrosting and has a missing shelf so our food (for 6 people) had to be piled on top of each other, carpets need a thorough clean in the bedrooms, dishwasher needs to be full with salt and rinse aid on arrival, light bulbs everywhere are very dim and with the dark furniture it can be quite bleak inside especially when it is raining outside! Two keys would be better if a family of 6 rather than one too. Having said all this, it served a purpose and we enjoyed our holiday in Cornwall.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're delighted to let you know that Jasmine has been fully redecorated and refurbished ahead of the 2022 season. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HadieAug 2021

  • "The Hustyn's hotel complex and associated grounds are well kept and very relaxing."

    The 'Jasmine' Lodge is well sited and spacious but, unfortunately, needs some maintenance and an element of TLC !! En-suite door that does not shut easily, upstairs plumbing needs attention, broken lid to electric kettle, no remote for bedroom TV, etc, etc. The hotel staff went to great length to explain that 'Jasmine' is privately owned and not within their remit to deal with any faults / complaints. Also, it should be highlighted that road access to Hustyn's and surrounding towns is via a network of single track / narrow roads with very limited passing places. This, combined with the general state of 'Jasmine' would discourage any return to this lodge / area.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're delighted to let you know that the lodge has been fully redecorated and refurbished ahead of the 2022 season. We hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HowardJun 2021

  • "The cottage was very comfortable and it suited our family with three bedrooms and three bathrooms."

    The cottage had everything we needed including a dishwasher and washing machine. We did have a problem finding the cot but a phone call and the problem was resolved. The only other thing was there was a shelf missing In the fridge which was reported. There was a swimming pool and park which was an added bonus to our stay for our family. Overall we had a very enjoyable holiday. Thank you.

    Reviewed by JulieJun 2021

  • "The mattress in main room was really soft and has given me a aching back."

    Shower in the upstairs bathroom has masking tape covering a hole and the shower head has a leak which caused the water to spill onto the floor (which made it a slip hazard) and the pressure on the shower was terrible. Fridge has missing and broken shelves. When we arrived to the property the back patio door was unlocked and there is no lock and handle in the utility room window which meant our lodge and our possessions within it was left unsecured which I am extremely angry about. I have pictures so please advise if you would like me to send them to you?

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to hear you experienced these issues during your stay. The Management team would have been pleased to assist had you contacted them during your holiday and will now take steps to address the points you have raised. Property Owner

    Reviewed by VishalMay 2021

  • "The cottage is large in lovely surroundings."

    But unfortunately it had not been cleaned! Bathrooms were dirty and it was dusty everywhere. There was dead bugs on the master bathroom Sinks. The property lacks maintenance. The heating did not work at first and when the master bath is used upstairs there is a huge leak from the ceiling in the living room. We were unable to use the back garden because it had not been cleaned or swept. Given that we are in COVID times the cleanliness was appalling!

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. The owner of Jasmine has confirmed that the points raised have been addressed with the cleaning company. However, if we had been made aware of any issues during your stay, action could have been taken to rectify them. A check for a leak has also been carried out and no leaks have been found. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MariaMay 2021

  • "I am very impressed with Sykes Cottages and the information and communication that they provide for your stay."

    The cottage that we stayed in was very tired though and needs some attention, which is continuously mentioned in the visitors book when you get there. The beds are very uncomfortable, the en-suite bath was leaking through the lounge ceiling, there wasn't a pan and brush to clean with. We had a great time at Hustyns as always, but don't think we would choose to stay at Jasmin villa again or recommend to our friends. Thank you!

    Reviewed by SarahApr 2021

  • "The cottage was large, in good condition and in very nice, quiet surroundings."

    It has three good sized bedrooms, three bathrooms and a large kitchen and lounge area. There is a large heated pool with spa in the hotel situated in the grounds which also offers a gym, crazy golf and a tennis court. Wadebridge is not far away with some very good restaurants. We found it perfect for us.

    Reviewed by SteveSep 2020

  • "The whirlpool bath in main bedroom leaks noticed water coming through the ceiling into front room."

    The upstairs balcony couldn’t be used as covered in bird poo and needs a good jet wash. Every other aspect of the lodge was lovely and would come back again.

    Reviewed by ShaunAug 2020

  • "It was a very comfortable place."

    The only issue was that the lodge is in a blackspot, so cell network unavailable unless you have WiFi Calling. I did. The others did not. If you don't want mobile phone access, then you'll have no problems. One small point was that I thought that the TV screen could have been larger. The boiler worked fine as I noticed from previous comments that it had broken. It's very close to the fitness suite and pool if you're into that. The whole place was wonderfully quiet.

    Reviewed by PhilipNov 2019

  • "There were a few maintenance issues."

    The heating stopped working on the Sunday (error message on the boiler) and the oven didn't work. There was a broken window handle meaning the window would not lock. However, after calling maintenance and Sykes, the issues were resolved very well and by Tuesday morning the heating was working again.It was a very nice well appointed property, comfortable and great facilities on site. This is our third holiday with Sykes and I have been very happy with each one.

    Reviewed by AndyOct 2019

  • "We had a great time, property was better than expected."

    I was told that the central heating was not working and agreed a price reduction. It was meant to be up and running by Wednesday, how ever this never happened . Despite this it did not spoil our holiday.

    Reviewed by MartinSep 2019

  • "Well..."

    This property was frustratingly disappointing. The reviews that have been written before are all spot on- it is in serious need of some basic maintenance and TLC (this is why it met my expectations!) It could be such a lovely property. The size of the rooms is great, and it has a fab position on the resort- right next to the pond with a lovely view from the garden, and near to all the facilities- which were good. We used the pool, playground and crazy golf everyday. The beds were comfy and we all slept well. That’s where the good ends unfortunately. Don’t bother trying to use the washing machine- it just doesn’t work. The oven seal is broken so it doesn’t heat up properly. There seems to be a problem with condensation and damp- my parents found the downstairs double to be cold and feel damp for our whole stay. You’ll find when you are sitting downstairs that if anyone is walking around in the master suite you will be fearing that they are going to fall through the ceiling! We were only left one key which was a bit of a problem when we went out to different places. The one time we went to the hotel for breakfast it was absolutely disgusting and cost £32 for two adults and one child, so I wouldn’t bother with that. I can’t comment on dinner as there was quite a limited option which didn’t suit the range of ages we had staying so we just went out.... Which leads me to the biggest issue we had with this place- the location. It’s about 3 miles outside of the centre of Wadebridge right in the countryside and the roads are ridiculous- literally awful. It’s nice as a novelty for maybe the first two journeys- being in the country, all the sheep etc...but when you have to drive down these poxy roads every time you want to go anywhere it really gets quite depressing and stressful. There’s a hell of a load of huge tractors around there we found! It was awful and almost makes you not want to bother going out. So, the big question is would we stay here again? 100% no. Even if the owners read and acted on any of the comments being made- which they haven’t so far, so I can’t imagine they will now- it’s not a location we’d want to stay in again. It was a shame.

    Reviewed by NicholaAug 2019

  • "A very well appointed property on a nice site, with good pool, gym and spa facilities."

    Nice grounds too. The only downside was a general feeling that maintenance hasn't been given the priority it deserves, both with our specific accommodation and with the hotel/site generally. This really could be a fantastic resort if it is given the attention it deserves.

    Reviewed by GaryJul 2019

  • "The cottage was suitably appointed and comfortable and the cleanliness was acceptable."

    However the cottage needs some maintenance with missing items like plugs and window handles replaced. The rest of the site including the tennis courts, play area, pool and importantly the grounds need more TLC and an overhaul. Several of the buildings need roof tiles replacing and worn down woodwork refreshed. They look very shabby and not in a chic way! They need better trained staff, who were often incompetent and surly, the one time we eat in the restaurant we had our bill halved due to poor and rude service - we weren't the only ones! There was a lot of litter left around the grounds all week including discarded cigarette boxes and plastic bottles, with overflowing ash trays and glasses from the bar left out on the terrace for days. The Gardner's should be replaced, they clearly do not know what they are doing. They dug up foxgloves, left gambles and were attempting to cut the grass verges with a hoe. One of them cut the hedge to our lodge at the start of the week and just left all the clippings in a pile. It's a shame with the right management and a small injection of cash it could be great, but we won't be returning.

    Reviewed by MarkJul 2019

  • "Jasmine cottage is set in fabulous surroundings, very tranquil and perfect for a relaxing holiday."

    The cottage itself was comfortable and well equipped.

    Reviewed by MarcelleJun 2019

  • "Very good support from Sykes in terms of information about the holiday, and from the owner of Jasmine."

    Reviewed by RoyJun 2019

  • "The twin room did not have an en suite."

    This room was being shared with my mother and myself. The en suite in this room was essential due to mum having dementia and being unsteady on her feet. Unfortunately we had to take the double room but mum struggled to share a bed. After the first night I had to switch rooms and share the twin room with my brother. Not ideal. There were one or two maintenance issues such as dripping taps and a deep clean. The lodge could do with a bit of a refurb in places. Having said all that there was a really good vibe to the place making us all feel at home. Location was excellent. Overlooking the pond and beautiful gardens yet very private. Having the excellent swimming pool games room e.t.c just outside our gate was a very welcome bonus too. Went on day's out to Padstow /Newquay /Wadebridge. Weather was mixed but again didn't detract from the fantastic location. Would definitely stay in Jasmine again.

    Reviewed by RitaJun 2019

  • "A very comfortable house set on an extensive site with great amenities."

    Really good for a family holiday and well positioned for seeing the beauty of Cornwall. Lots to do. We all really enjoyed the fabulous pool and the games opportunities - tennis, table tennis, crazy golf and pool.

    Reviewed by GlenysMay 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely, the beds comfortable, the kitchen was really well equipped and everything was very clean."

    The patio and balcony were a bonus although the weather was a bit cold to get full use. It was great to be able to use the pool and gym facilities - I even did Pilates. Wadebridge is very well placed to access the rest of Cornwall or just to do the Camel trail if you want to stay local. Highly recommended and will stay again.

    Reviewed by KarenApr 2019

  • "This cottage is clean & lovely & with everything we could have needed The garden is sunny for most of the day with outdoor seating The other is that the very last bit of the road to the holiday village is quite narrow (ie with passing places) – but in Cornwall most of the best places seem to be down the narrowest of roads but coming from wales its no problem for us a wonderful, relaxing stay."

    Highly recommended thank for a great break

    Reviewed by KatrinaMar 2019

  • "Cottage was a bit remote- further from Wadebridge than We thought."

    Cottage could have done with more thourough clean- dust in many places, cobwebs and a used plaster on floor down the side of the main bed. Floor boards really do creak upstairs in bathroom and did disturb sleeping kids downstairs - can anything be done? We had to be a bit careful with kids turning on taps as hot water comes through quickly and very very hot but we monitored that, not so bad with older ones but we have a very inquisitive 2 year old! Would have been helpful in Sykes linked to Hustyns main website as we didn’t know about the site we were staying on and also a heads up that the restaurant was closed due to refurbishment (seems it’s been closed for 2years!) Beds were comfortable, kitchen was well stocked and selection on dvds, games and books was appreciated. Wouldn’t return here as not enough going on, need to be closer to beach to satisfy kids. Also Hustyns site is in need of refurbishment - seems this is ongoing/planned, as kids play area, ‘crazy’ gold and tennis courts all in need of some attention. Great staff though, very helpful!

    Reviewed by NicolaJul 2018

  • "The cottage location was ideal."

    It was within the premises of Hustyns Hotel and Spa. The pool was amazing for the children. They spent most of the week in it. They are currently under new management so the restaurant and bar were closed during our stay. Also, the hotel grounds are in desperate need of some attention as well as the mini golf, tennis courts, play ground and football area. The cottage itself was similar to the photos except for a list of issues we encountered upon our arrival: dripping faucets, toilet seat broken, lightbulbs needing replacing, very squeaky floors upstairs, broken handle on window, lost internet coverage during stay, no cel phone reception at all, upstairs balcony very dirty, bath spa not working, tv remote control not working, dirty windows, etc. We sent an email to Sky Cottages on Sunday night and they phone on Monday morning asking what we wanted them to do regarding the issues. Advised them to please correct them ASAP. Never heard from them during our whole stay. Never sent anyone to address them. Their Customer Service is appalling. On our departure day, the cleaning people showed up at 930, rang the doorbell and started putting all their bedlinens and buckets on the front door. Departure was scheduled for 10 am, so extremely rude to have done so. I recommend they get this property up to better standards and improve their Customer Service.

    Reviewed by MichaelJul 2018

  • "The Lodge was extremely spacious and clean."

    It was very well equipped and we were very comfortable. We were actually very sad to leave.

    Reviewed by AlastairJul 2018

  • "I enjoyed everything the cottage was every nice ,swimming pool very beautiful."

    The place excellent. I will recommend my friends even my self and family will visit again next time

    Reviewed by NetsaiJun 2018

  • "Disappointed in our stay at the cottage."

    Water was running brown for 3 days and then had to listen to a noisy pump in the main bathroom upstairs. Cut our holiday short by 1 day and offered a pittance in compensation. Wouldn’t recommend

    Reviewed by LizJun 2018

  • "The cottage itself is spaceous and not bad equipped."

    What really sells it is a nice setting whithin lovely gardens of the Hustyns and of course the swimming pool and spa area. However, the cottage is run down and you simply cannot see it on the pictures. The floor upstairs is so creaky that it interrupts people sleeping downstairs. The security light on the decking area flashes hectic all night long and even blackout blinds doesn't help - I had to sleep with eyepatch (and earplugs too!). The extractor fan in MB en-suite isn't working so we had to dehumidify it by opening skylight which isn't ideal when it's raining. The tap in the downstairs loo/utility is leaking. Also we were given only 3 toilet rolls, 1 kitchen towel and 1 key for 5 peolpe for a week - someone is saving pennys on guests. And the oven glove is missing - we were burning our hands every time using an oven.

    Reviewed by AnnaMar 2018

  • "Just amazing fantastic accommodation and place in general!"


    Reviewed by JayneFeb 2018

  • "Sorry Sykes did not get back to us after we raised concerns over cottage."

    Lack of second key and did not check oven was fixed to our liking. I think this is very poor customer service.

    Reviewed by DavidOct 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish & Devonshire Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

The property

Jasmine Cottage is a desirable contemporary self-catering property with a bright and comfortable open-plan living room with dining area and a well equipped kitchen.

A feature spiral staircase leads you to the grand master bedroom suite which occupies the entire first floor with doors to a private balcony with table and chairs, an en-suite bathroom with a huge bath and twin sinks, LCD TV and fully fitted wardrobe!

There are two further bedrooms on the ground floor, a 5ft double with 20" TV with en-suite bathroom and a twin bedroom also with 20" TV and en-suite shower room.

This superbly appointed rural retreat occupies a sheltered spot on an exclusive complex which spans 90 acres and gives the chance to take leisurely strolls through immaculate landscaped gardens and peaceful woodlands and enjoy spectacular far-reaching scenery.

Guests have year round access to the tennis court, a 60ft indoor heated swimming pool, well equipped gym, spa bath, steam room and sauna and families are well catered for with a shared games room for young and older children, table tennis, pool table and crazy golf.

A short drive will take you to a number of glorious sandy surfing beaches including Harlyn and Constantine Bay on the Padstow side of the estuary or Polzeath, near Rock, on the other.

Padstow is a bustling harbour town and working fishing port where visitors can relax on golden beaches, enjoy pleasure boat trips, surfing, art galleries, local crafts and homemade fudge.

Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant overlooking the harbour is perfect for outstanding local delicacies.


  • Ground floor open plan living room with dining and well equipped kitchen
  • Bedroom 2 with en-suite bathroom with bath and hand-held shower head and WC
  • Bedroom 3, twin with shower room and WC
  • Spiral Staircase to Bedroom 1 - Master suite with 6ft bed, en-suite bathroom with bath with shower over, twin basins and WC.
  • Gas central heating, electric oven and gas hob, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher
  • TV’s DVD and WiFi
  • Electricity inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • A cot is provided in the property however if you require use of a high chair, this must be requested before you travel
  • Ample off road parking
  • Shared use of landscaped gardens, swimming pool/spa and games room
  • Access to 90 acres of woodland
  • Sorry no pets and no smoking

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Padstow 9 miles; Newquay 16 miles.

The bustling market town of Wadebridge is perfectly placed alongside the ebb and flow of the River Camel, an ideal location for exploring the natural beauty of North Cornwall. The town hosts an array of excellent shops, pubs and restaurants, all offering a personal and friendly service and is home to North Cornwall's only family-owned cinema. The beautiful countryside surrounding the town is criss-crossed with a network of local footpaths, amazing gardens and stately homes to explore, whilst the renowned Camel Trail passes through the town, providing 17 miles of fabulous, traffic free walking, horse riding and cycling opportunities. The stunning North Cornwall coast is within 5 miles, boasting a huge selection of beaches, rocky coves and towering cliffs to explore and the nearby town of Padstow, with its colourful harbour, pastel-washed, medieval houses and celebrated restaurants is a must. Visit the UK surfing capital of Newquay, with over 11 miles of golden sandy beaches, a fascinating sea life centre, exciting zoo and vibrant nightspots. Whatever your desire, there's something for everyone in this terrific holiday location.

Region Information

Note: Jasmine has been fully redecorated and refurbished ahead of the 2022 season.

Note - A cot is provided in the property however if you require use of a high chair, this must be requested before you travel.

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it