Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Foxglove Cottage

Falmouth, Cornwall (Ref. 959474)

4.5

Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Electric car charging
  • Off road parking
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

22 Customer Reviews

  • "I have stayed at a few of these properties, including this one before."

    This one stands out for a few reasons. First the milk in the fridge and the biscuits which, after an eight hour drive, are so very welcome. The portable heater for that extra boost also makes a big difference. The cottage is equipped with all you could need and more. We had a sudden need for needle and thread and yes, that's there as well. It must be good because I'm back in a couple of weeks!

    Reviewed by RosemaryFeb 2022

  • "Lovely property."

    Comfortable and very clean and welcoming. We always stay in the properties at Pendra Loweth every year and again they did not disappoint.

    Reviewed by MichaelNov 2021

  • "I had a very comfortable stay here."

    It was a lovely cosy cottage and the addition of an electric heater was a great boost when it got chilly. Very clean and well equipped. I would definitely book this cottage again.

    Reviewed by RosemaryOct 2021

  • "It was very comfortable and clean."

    Owners were very helpful when we needed help. Wished more help from on site people would help.

    Reviewed by NaremJun 2021

  • "Although there was clearly special cleaning arrangements in for Covid and the surface cleaning was excellent, there are areas where a little more deep cleaning would be useful."

    I had to clean a layer of dust from the top edge of the kitchen tiles; in the bathroom there were spots of black mould that would also be easily addressed with a little effort; also there was evidence of black mould around some of the window frames. That said, it didn't worry us too much and we had a relaxing time.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We have addressed the cleaning issues you mentioned and we are pleased that you had a relaxing stay at Foxglove Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RichardOct 2020

  • "At first appearances the cottage seemed lovely, it smelt and looked clean as we walked through the door."

    However, somebody had used the downstairs toilet and not cleaned it. The wardrobe in the master bedroom had two damp handtowels in the bottom of it, which smelt lovely. Far from ideal and given the supposed extra lengths that are being undertaken with the cleaning, as the checkout time is 9am instead of 10 to allow for this. It left us feeling concerned - what else isn’t being done properly. It would be fair to say that cleanliness was an issue with this property. One of the sofas moved during the week and rubbish, dust and toenails were found whilst moving it back. Hot water was an issue at times. The bed in the master bedroom was very uncomfortable and small, at 6ft, I found my feet hitting the foot of the bed during the night. The location was good for Maenporth beach and Swanpool. Parking was very close and the spaces are a good size. Parking around the park is an issue, staff seem to abandon their cars outside the bar/restaurant area which can be an issue with oncoming traffic.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback following your recent stay at Foxglove Cottage. We are very sorry to hear of the issues you raised after you left the property. Had we been notified during your stay we would have taken immediate action to remedy the issues raised. We have spoken with the owner and the housekeeper who will ensure the points mentioned will be addressed. There is a booster switch in the airing cupboard which would have given more hot water if needed. The double bed in the master bedroom is a standard 6ft 3', bed comfort is a personal preference and there has been no mention of this previously. Despite the points raised we hope you enjoyed your visit to The West Country. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JamieAug 2020

  • "It would be nice to have a washing machine and maybe more entertainment on site however I know covid restricts this at the moment."

    We have been before a couple of time however prior to Covid and feel a bit more for children to do would complete our tick list.

    Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Foxglove Cottage. It was decided that as there are on site laundry facilities available for guests a dishwasher would be more beneficial than a washing machine within the property. Unfortunately the owner is not responsible for the onsite entertainment, however we will pass your comments onto the site manager. We hope to welcome you back to Foxglove Cottage in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SophieAug 2020

  • "Beautiful place, however not very clean, mould round the windows, under the beds were filthy."

    Hot water a bit of an issue, lack of. Swimming pool and hot tub out of action at the moment, playground wasn’t accessible till day 5 of our stay because it was having work done (not house owners fault but we paid expecting to be able to use all these facilities). lovely grounds. Beach definitely isn’t 15 minutes, took us a fast paced 40 minutes!

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear of the cleanliness issues you raise, which are in stark contrast to many other positive reviews we’ve received for the property. A boost button is available in the airing cupboard to give extra hot water if needed. Unfortunatley due to the current situation with corona virus, the site management made the decision to keep the indoor pool and gym closed until Easter 2021, this is because the space is too small to allow allocated times for guests on site to use the facilities safely. Despite this we hope you enjoyed your stay and the exceptional weather! Property Owner

    Reviewed by BethanJul 2020

  • "Great place for couples there is on site bar, laundrette, tennis court, small ..."

    Great place for couples there is on site bar, laundrette, tennis court, small pool and jacuzi, Not suitable for small children or pets as none of the patios are enclosed, they all open onto gardens

    Reviewed by ChristineAug 2019

  • "It was a fantastic property and very well situated the owners should get a pat on the back"

    Reviewed by CraigJun 2019

  • "Possibly mention the access road as it is probably the only element that makes the site tricky to stay in."

    I would also highlight the walk to the beach at Maenporth via the farmland as opposed to the road, a trickier route to navigate but probably safer in the long run. The accommodation was perfect for our needs.

    Reviewed by JanMar 2019

  • "Beautiful location the park the cottage was located was very well maintained and definitely would book there again"

    Reviewed by LorraineNov 2018

  • "What a superb location."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our break and will return.

    Reviewed by GillianOct 2018

  • "An amazing family holiday in a lovely location, the cottage had everything we could need and more."

    Time spent with the children playing board games, doing Halloween crafts and the children made new friends.

    Reviewed by BenOct 2018

  • "We loved Foxglove cottage , it really felt like home, everything we needed was ..."

    We loved Foxglove cottage , it really felt like home, everything we needed was there, even our Vizsla dog Copper was completely at home and a added bonus being on constant squirrel and rabbit watch

    Reviewed by JoanSep 2018

  • "Everything was done for comfort."

    The only thing I was unaware of was the distance to Falmouth. Having a 15 year old grandson who wanted to be out and about all the time, it cost me a fortune in Taxi fares. It would have been a nice touch for the camp to have an on site mini bus running in and out of Falmouth.

    Reviewed by PatriciaAug 2018

  • "Foxglove cottage was a lovely cottage to stay in."

    Although it is mainly for young families, we were surprised at how quiet it was. Very well located for different things to do in Falmouth, Helston and the Lizard. I would stay here again.

    Reviewed by WendyJul 2018

  • "Lovely setting very peaceful despite being on a holiday complex."

    Had a very relaxing break thank you

    Reviewed by MaxineJul 2018

  • "Loved it thank you"

    Reviewed by SueMay 2018

  • "Clean and modern property close to beaches and Falmouth Just right for the weekend And dog friendly Fabulous!"

    Reviewed by GerardFeb 2018

  • "We were really pleased with the cottage as well as the location compared to where our friends live!"

    Would use you again.

    Reviewed by ClaireNov 2017

  • "The cottage was absolutely fabulous."

    Everything was catered for down to the last detail. One small gripe, could do with some grab rails in the shower area. Apart from that we had a great holiday. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!

    Reviewed by TerenceJul 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Entrance Hall, open plan living with kitchen, dining and sitting room in which to relax
  • Separate cloakroom with WC
  • Stairs to first floor lead to two bedrooms, one double room and one twin bedroom and a family bathroom with bath with shower over
  • Electric Panel Heating, electric oven and hob, fridge, dishwasher, 40' TV, DVD, WiFi Electricity inc in price
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Selection of books and games
  • Cot available
  • Shared use of gym, Jacuzzi, splash pool, children's play area and tennis courts
  • Parking in allocated space
  • On-site laundry facilities available (£1 coins required)
  • One well behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Pub and restaurant 1 mile
  • Beach 1 mile
  • Note: On-site facilities have seasonal opening times
  • Note: The maximum stay at this property is 2 weeks
  • Note: The shared splash/plunge pool is approximately 3 metres on either side with a 1.4 metre depth.It has a maximum capacity of 4 people at any one time
  • Note: Car charging points are available outside of the office next to the disabled car parking bay.

The property

Tucked away in the corner, just along from the tennis courts, Foxglove Cottage is cleverly situated to admire the garden views.

It is a beautifully presented, light and airy home with attractive open plan living and French doors opening onto the gardens.

The well equipped kitchen has ample work space in which to rustle up a family meal.

There are two bedrooms on the first floor that both overlook the gardens and also a family bathroom.

There is comfy terrace furniture on the patio that is an ideal place to relax after a walk to the beach or a run around the footpaths.

There is a dedicated parking space allocated to Foxglove as well as visitor parking close-by.Foxglove is found on the Pendra Loweth complex of privately owned holiday homes and enjoys the warmth of the south west aspect of the village.

Just a mile away is Maenporth - a popular beach with both restaurant and cafe.

Likewise, it is close to the on-site all-weather tennis courts just a stone's throw away.

There are shared facilities, a small gym, splash pool, Jacuzzi and children's play area here too - something for all the family.

You can walk the coastal path from Meanporth to Swanpool or carry on to Gyllyngvase beach for a longer walk.

Foxglove Cottage is most suitable for families and groups of friends - it is a good base in which to relax and from where to explore the Falmouth area and all it has to offer.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

FALMOUTH

Mabe 3 miles; Penryn 2 miles; Truro 11 miles.

Falmouth, with its magnificent natural harbour (the third largest in the world), winding streets and beaches, will keep you occupied for hours. The town's old harbour-side pubs, excellent shopping, art gallery and stunning National Maritime Museum simply complete the picture. Pendennis Castle, built by Henry VIII, is Falmouth's most popular attraction, sited on its own peninsula with superb panoramic sea views. Across from Falmouth harbour is the beautiful town of St Mawes, surrounded by the rocky coves, sandy beaches and lush green countryside of the Roseland Peninsula. Go there by car (15 miles) or take the passenger ferry from Falmouth (15 minutes). For nature lovers there is the Swanpool Nature Reserve, a lagoon and site of special scientific interest teeming with a variety of wildlife. There is also a golf course. Falmouth offers such a rich variety of landscape and attractions for people of all ages, it is sure to tempt you back time and again.

View more holiday cottages in Falmouth

Region Information

Note: Pet are welcome in the property but they are not allowed on the furniture.
Note: Sorry, no sign written vans or commercial vehicles are permitted at Pendra Loweth, Village of Gardens resort.
Note: Bookings for any other reason than holiday/leisure are not permitted on this site. This property cannot be used as private accommodation for work or business trips.
Note: On site laundry facilities
Note: Seasonal opening times apply to the bar, restaurant, pool and Jacuzzi. The season usually runs from the beginning of April to end of October annually. The gym, tennis courts and children’s play area are available year-round.
Note: The maximum stay at this property is 2 weeks.
Note: The shared splash/plunge pool is approximately 3 metres on either side with a 1.4 metre depth. It has a maximum capacity of 4 people at any one time.

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it