Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 42 minutes ago

Gwillen

Mawgan Porth, Cornwall (Ref. 960109)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor accommodation
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

17 Customer Reviews

  • "The only thing to improve would be the minute quadrant shower cubicle, there is room for a larger one, I dropped the soap and had to open the doors to bend down to retrieve it!"

    I am by no means an obese person. It is not helped by the control system which extends into the cubicle a long way. The property suffered from an awful lot of cobwebs, between ceiling beams, behind wardrobes etc.

    Reviewed by WendyDec 2021

  • "Was disappointed that despite prior report the Children’s room in the attic space was too dangerous to use!"

    No locks on hatches into the eaves and Hot water storage. Our children were 20 and 42 months old and would have been in danger of electrocution, burns and stuck in the roof! A loose window sill and floor splinter were reported on arrival but no action taken! Given the weather during our 21 day stay a tumble drier would ... Continue reading

    No locks on hatches into the eaves and Hot water storage. Our children were 20 and 42 months old and would have been in danger of electrocution, burns and stuck in the roof! A loose window sill and floor splinter were reported on arrival but no action taken! Given the weather during our 21 day stay a tumble drier would have been appreciated! The garage spaces were filthy and too small to use! BUT….LOCATION, LOCATION LOCATION. Kids enjoyed the walk down to the beach, under close supervision, and we greatly enjoyed our stay!

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback. The beds in the attic room have been pushed up against the doors for this reason. However, we have discussed your comment with the owner and talked about the possibility of adding locks too for extra precaution. The loose window sill will also be dealt with. We ... Continue reading Property Owner

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback. The beds in the attic room have been pushed up against the doors for this reason. However, we have discussed your comment with the owner and talked about the possibility of adding locks too for extra precaution. The loose window sill will also be dealt with. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. - The Cornish Cottage Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RonaldDec 2021

  • "Loved the property."

    Brilliantly equipped and well looked after. Location was fabulous, though would note it was in Trenance, rather than Mawgan Porth itself. No glass recycling container available so we used a bag.

    Reviewed by PaulSep 2021

  • "Absolutely delighted with this property."

    Ideally placed with fantastic views. Excellent value would definitely recommend and will be staying here again

    Reviewed by GrahamSep 2021

  • "The property was clean, instructions clear."

    Good living space. The bedrooms are a good size and it’s in an ideal location. Some of the equipment and fixtures need a bit of attention or replacing but overall. A lovely place. We had a great week with two adults and 3 teenagers.

    Reviewed by AnnaJun 2021

  • "Hired it for family get together."

    Fantastic location and views. Very, airy, light and comfortable. Will certainly be returning. (A few tiny bits of maintenance needed such as several lightbulbs needing replacing, the shower holder in main bathroom needing fixing, but nothing that spoiled our stay). Thanks

    Reviewed by AmandaJun 2021

  • "Wonderful house with outstanding views!"

    Comfortable, unpretentious AND with an outdoor shower! Light and spacious with everything we needed. So lovely to be able to wander down to the beach - in the morning for a delicious sourdough loaf from Cornish Fresh, in the afternoon in wetsuits with bodyboards, or in the evening for a quick drink at the Merrymoor! We ... Continue reading

    Comfortable, unpretentious AND with an outdoor shower! Light and spacious with everything we needed. So lovely to be able to wander down to the beach - in the morning for a delicious sourdough loaf from Cornish Fresh, in the afternoon in wetsuits with bodyboards, or in the evening for a quick drink at the Merrymoor! We will definitely be back!

    Reviewed by AmandaMay 2021

  • "Gwillens location was brilliant."

    marvellous views and great coastal walks. Everything you needed in the cottage. The conservatory overlooking the bay was a key feature.

    Reviewed by JohnOct 2020

  • "We had no hot water on arrival and called the number given number on Saturday morning."

    The lady said she would call a plumber but in the meantime to turn the emersion on. This eventually gave us hot water and we left it on all week as we never heard from them. We were told to leave all towels, linen and tea towels in a bag outside the front door but this bag did not exist that we could see. As we could ... Continue reading

    The lady said she would call a plumber but in the meantime to turn the emersion on. This eventually gave us hot water and we left it on all week as we never heard from them. We were told to leave all towels, linen and tea towels in a bag outside the front door but this bag did not exist that we could see. As we could not get in until 5pm for extra cleaning measures I expected the house to be a little cleaner and the above issues should have been rectified. However we did have a lovely week and would like to return one day. Maybe a little welcome pack would be nice as well, as previous cottages we have stayed do this and it’s a nice touch.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are so glad to hear that you had a lovely week and would like to return. We are obviously disappointed that you had an issue with the heating during your stay, but glad that using the immersion this was addressed. If you had let us know about the cleanliness issue, the caretaker would have ... Continue reading Property Owner

    Thank you for your feedback, we are so glad to hear that you had a lovely week and would like to return. We are obviously disappointed that you had an issue with the heating during your stay, but glad that using the immersion this was addressed. If you had let us know about the cleanliness issue, the caretaker would have returned personally to rectify any issues as necessary. A welcome pack is usually standard but in the current climate it has not been advised. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LisaSep 2020

  • "Great position overlooking Mawgan Porth bay, the cottage had a good welcoming appeal, once you were up the fairly steep uneven path."

    The main bed was very comfortable, the heating was good once you got the hang of the timer and thermostat, although the house was fairly draughty - partly due to the windy weather conditions during some of our stay. The Tv was very slow in responding to the remote controller, sofas were a bit tired and I found uncomfortable. ... Continue reading

    The main bed was very comfortable, the heating was good once you got the hang of the timer and thermostat, although the house was fairly draughty - partly due to the windy weather conditions during some of our stay. The Tv was very slow in responding to the remote controller, sofas were a bit tired and I found uncomfortable. I think the dining chairs could of been of much better quality also. I was amazed that there were no utensils for the wood-burner.

    Reviewed by GlennJan 2020

  • "Great location and the property is very comfortable."

    One or two minor issues with the property, mostly due to its age, but nothing to detract from the holiday overall which was great.

    Reviewed by SusanAug 2019

  • "Only criticism would be lack of recycling."

    Intend to book again

    Reviewed by AnthonyJun 2019

  • "This is a very good property with lots of good points if a bit stingy in the provision of soap, tea towels, toilet paper etc."

    for eight people. The most serious fault with your listing is that there was no mention of the very steep and uneven entrance which you normally put in your description to make it clear that a property is not suitable for less able or disabled clients. It spoiled this holiday for my wife who is disabled. Please ... Continue reading

    for eight people. The most serious fault with your listing is that there was no mention of the very steep and uneven entrance which you normally put in your description to make it clear that a property is not suitable for less able or disabled clients. It spoiled this holiday for my wife who is disabled. Please ask the owners to do something about the curtains which are sticking badly on their runners. There is an occasional odd smell in one of the bathrooms.

    Reviewed by PamelaOct 2018

  • "We had a great week and enjoyed staying at Gwillen."

    It was generally very comfortable and well equipped. The location is stunning. My only suggestions would be firstly around the lack of recycling facilities which seems a real shame. I’d also suggest supplying a cafetière/ hob espresso maker in case people don’t want to use a Nespresso machine.

    Reviewed by LydiaAug 2018

  • "Remarkable view over Mawgan Porth Bay with 10 min access to the beach down a direct though steep path."

    Reviewed by FergusJul 2018

  • "Sitting in the conservatory watching the tide come in and out, walking down to the beach and having a gorgeous fish supper with the sun setting on the water, glorious coastal walks."

    ... this cottage was everything I had hoped and more for my 60th birthday treat! Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday in a perfect setting.

    Reviewed by DavinaJun 2018

  • "A fabulous place in an outstandingly beautiful location"

    Reviewed by Natalia LApr 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish & Devonshire Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

The property

Boasting a prime location elevated high above the golden beach at Mawgan Porth, this welcoming family home enjoys glorious sea views and is just a 10-minute walk from the sand and surf.

The perfect pad for those seeking a week of fresh sea air, Gwillen offers a fantastic seaside holiday with all the homely comforts you could wish for.

Spacious throughout, this dormer bungalow has a fantastic sea-facing conservatory, a cosy sitting room with open fire, handy utility/boot area, smart kitchen diner with plenty of books and family board games, and four good-sized bedrooms: one of which is located under the eaves on the first floor and makes a snug den for young children.

Outside is a well-kept tiered garden with a lawn and a patio, and outdoor furniture for dinner with a view!

There's even an outdoor shower -perfect for rinsing away sandy feet; and a garage where bikes and surf boards can be safely stored.

Do as much or as little as the mood takes you here: head down to the beach and learn a few tricks at the surf school, grab a bucket and see what you can find in the rock pools, discover stunning sea vistas with a walk along the coastal footpath, or simply relax with a Spa day at the Bedruthan Steps Hotel or adults-only Scarlet Hotel.

A short drive away are some great family days out, including Newquay Zoo, Waterworld, St Eval Kart Circuit and the Blue Reef Aquarium; and the area has also become something of a foodie Mecca, with restaurants owned by Rick Stein and Paul Ainsworth in the popular harbour town of Padstow, and Wax Watergate Bay restaurant overlooking the waves at Watergate Bay.

Whatever time of year you choose to visit, there is something for everyone here.

Summary

  • Over two floors
  • Four bedrooms: 1 x king size, 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x first floor twin (with 2’6” beds)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Sitting room with open fire
  • Conservatory
  • Kitchen diner
  • Utility/boot area.
  • Oil fired central heating and open fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge freezer, Nespresso coffee machine, Bluetooth speakers, slimline dishwasher, WiFi, outdoor shower, garage for storage
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Tiered garden with lawn, patio and furniture
  • One well-behaved pet welcome at £35 per week
  • Beach 10 mins walk
  • Good Housekeeping bond of £250 for a 1 week stay and £500 for a two week stay.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

NEWQUAY

Holywell 6 miles; Perranporth 8.5 miles; Truro 14 miles; Padstow 14 miles.

Newquay is the home of the UK’s surf scene, boasting three major beaches, the National Surf Centre and an endless supply of rolling surf, making it a watersports paradise. The town, with its zoo, sea life centre and varied selection of restaurants and pubs, also promises a holiday to remember. For avid walkers, the South West Coast Path passes in both directions along a stunning coastline of high cliffs, hidden coves and yet more beaches. The quaint harbour and fishing village of Padstow is just 14 miles away, while Truro, with its museums, cathedral, restaurants and cobbled streets, as well as the Eden Project, can be reached within 30 minutes. Picturesque St Ives and the Tate St Ives gallery is under an hour's drive or a train ride away. In fact, because nothing in Cornwall is far from Newquay, it’s the perfect touring base.

View more holiday cottages in Newquay

Region Information

Note: property sleeps up to 6 adults and 2 children under 12yrs. Note: No cot or highchair provided. Note: One well-behaved pet welcome at £35 per week.
Note: Good Housekeeping bond of £250 for a 1 week stay and £500 for a two week stay.
Note: External painting is due to start on 18/06/2021 at this property. Please be aware it may run into a second week 25/06/2021

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it