Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • The Old Bank House - Cornwall - 2881 - photo 1
close

The Old Bank House

(Ref. 2881)

Mevagissey, Cornwall Show on map

4.0

Sykes rating

  • 10 Guests

  • 6 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (26)
  • all (20)
  • location (18)
  • great (18)
  • bed (15)
  • old (12)

36 Customer Reviews

  • "Felt cool and damp on arrival - but warmed up nicely."

    Convenient. Some fittings need maintenance, but overall a pleasant place to stay (out of the plentiful rain!)

    Reviewed by David3.8Mar 2024

  • "This property is not representative of the 4 tick rating."

    We have used Sykes for many years and go by the ratings and reviews. Having seen some fairly good reviews and a couple of bad we still decided to book. I would like to stress that we have never given a bad review before but felt it necessary. On our return I dug much deeper into past reviews of The old Bank House and there are clearly repetative comments on similar issues to those we experienced - why haven't they been addressed? - 1. The first thing of note was a pungent bad odour on the ground floor area reminiscent of old cellars and damp, particularly bad in the first bedroom but pretty much everywhere. I felt sorry for my elderly mother who had to endure this through the week.It is worthy of note that on return all our coats that hung in the hallway smelt terrible and had to be washed. 2. Kitchen cleanliness, work surfaces etc all good, however, when looking further into the kitchen drawers and cupboards, the utensils were dirty, the drawers were dirty, sticky and hairs were discovered, the shelves of the cupboards where the plates/dishes/glasses/mugs were visibly dirty, in fact we chose to wash everything we wanted to use first and cleaned the cupboards ourselves and stuck to those cupboards during the week. 2 hours we won't get back! 3. As we arrived on the 23rd, it wasn't until Christmas eve that we discovered that most of the towels provided were stained/dirty, we used the best ones and found spares. The reason we didn't contact the owner about this was because it was Christmas eve. Opinions about this may differ but we chose not to. 4. The duvet quilts provided were extremely thin in all rooms particularly for the time of year, we did see the notes on the drawers in each room that stated a spare quilt was in the drawer for use, however, my mother found one and on further inspection found it was stained with a big yellow patch. We therefore had to use the quilt on the spare bed for her so she could keep warm. I think all of us found human and animal hairs in our 'supposed' clean bedding but my son found numerous. Whilst I accept that this is a dog friendly property, I do not accept that you should find these in clean bedding. The drawers in the bedrooms were dirty inside with hairs found. I kept our clothes in the suitcase all week. 5. The x2 sofas in the living room were well past their prime, much too soft, uncomfortable and smelt. The foot stool was equally just as bad and really wouldn't take much to even cover it yourself or replace it, it was really grubby. 6. The x 2 locks on the top floor bathroom which lead to the 'balcony' didn't work, so despite many many attempts the door kept coming open, this effectively looks straight down onto the dining space. The bathroom itself albeit the most modern was damaged on the surface around the sink, I had to clean all of the toilet as it was dirty, I don't need explain any further. The toilet brush I couldn't look at, they are very cheap to buy and this should be replaced regularly and cleary hadn't been. 7. The main large bedroom at the top of the property didn't have a mirror apart from a very small make up/vanity mirror so in order to use my hairdryer I had to go down to the ground floor bedroom, luckily we had taken an extension lead which reached to the mirror there. 8. The dining room is not as equisite as described, on the surface it looks lovely, however, the owner left a note as we arrived stating she hoped we didn't have any leaks if it rains! Well, it did rain, and yes we did have leaks, we put containers on the floor to catch the leaks that had been left just in case but there is a massive amount of wet damp that we had noticed when we arrived by the fridge and this continued to get wetter through the week, infact one of the wall lights was full of condensation! 9. The owner had kindly put a xmas tree up lights, thankfully I had taken my own battery lights and used them as having inspected the socket, we deemed it unsafe to use. 10. All of the beds we used were VERY uncomfortable, we all felt springs/slats and the pillows very thin and 'used', glad I always take my own! Overall, we made the best of the property as we were determind to enjoy our Christmas having travelled 6 hours with a family of 6, but I felt compelled write this review as the property is in dire need of some updating and cleanliness. To note, if there were any welcome books/instructions etc, we couldn't find them. We did receive a welcome pack, thankyou.

    We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with you stay over Christmas. 1. The house had been empty for 2 months and 2 of the toilets on the ground floor are electric macerator and pump systems. If they are unused for some time an odour can be evident. In 15 years with Sykes we have never received a comment where guests have had to was their coats after hanging them in the hallway! 2. All plates, dishes, glasses and mugs had been dishwasher cleaned and put away by our cleaners. Some of the plates and bowls are scratched but certainly not dirty. We will mention cupboard cleanliness to our cleaning company. 3. All the towels and sheets had been laundered and it is possible that a few towels were stained by previous guests. However when we sacked our last cleaning company towards the end of last season we purchased 20 sets of linen and towels and are surprised they are damaged so soon. We will of course replace the soiled towels. 4. The duvet quilts are all winter quality. We will check the quality of the summer duvets. 5. Both sofas have had less than 60 weeks use and we cannot agree they were uncomfortable. 6. We will address the problem of the bathroom locks. 7. There is a large mirror in the bedroom next door close to a socket. 8. Having had scaffolding and repairs done twice in a year at a cost of £12,000 we will try again to find the source of the leak. 9. We do not agree the Christmas lights were dangerous and in fact the house was rewired and all plugs certified for holiday lets in 2022. Finally we understand the weather was particularly wet and windy. You mention no positives about the house. We consider the 3 ovens and 2 large fridges which you enquired about for your stay as positives. Also the very central position in a Grade 2 listed building built in 1789. Also a new eco boiler installed in 2023 in addition to all the other improvements we have made. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Derek1.6Dec 2023

  • "House generally clean, tidy and comfortable."

    One or two things not so good. In one corner behind unused fridge, wall was damp with some form of fungi growing. Leaving house to access garden area there are steps going down as well as up. The steep steps going down were disorienting. Could do with some sort of barrier as there was no light in this area. The patio area was open to a big drop on one side. Could do with a fence to make it more secure. Also the patio area was in a mess when we arrived and it was two days before it was tidied up. Otherwise we had a great week with pubs and shops very handy. And everyone was very friendly.

    Thank you for your comments. Firstly we are putting up scaffolding on the rear of the house next week in an attempt to trace and fix the leak in the roof which has caused damp in the dining room. The unlit stairs going down are not part of our property and there is a sign to this effect. We plan to fence off the drop this winter. There is already wire fencing but it is hidden by the brambles. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Reg4.1Aug 2023

  • "The location of the property was perfect and there was lots of internal space, however we found that the house wasn’t really suitable for the young children due to steep wooden stairs near the utility room and the garden was completely unsafe (treacherous to reach)."

    We moved one of the sofas to retrieve a small toy and found a large piece of glass. There was no mirror in the main bedroom (other than a small portable one) making it difficult to get ready. Some of the electric sockets did not work too and when you flick the switches for the lights there is a delay so it would be worth getting the electrics checked.

    Thank you for your feedback. Firstly there are two staircases to the upper floor and there's no need to use the back wooden one. However there is a stair gate provided for the safety of small children. We are sorry that you found a piece of glass under the settee and this has been reported to the cleaning company. In November 2022 in order to comply with current regulations we had the house rewired and all plugs replaced where necessary. In addition the LED lighting in the house was replaced and new circuits installed. There is a slight time lapse. There is a large sign on the door leading to the patio garden located some 15 ft above the house which states that children should be supervised at all times due to the location of the patio. The drop is fenced off. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jamie2.5Jul 2023

  • "What a lovely place , it seems the owners thought of everything , so perfect place to stay , right next to the harbour , everything within walking distance ."

    we were all family and partners and 2 grandkids , all had a great time and thought the old bank was perfect , could not ask for better . thank you so much , we would love to come back there for a longer stay one day.

    Reviewed by Mr5.0Jul 2023

  • "The old bank house is a very beautiful old characterful house."

    It was much larger than it looked from the pictures and we all said that the pictures didn't do the house justice. So much space in the house and loads of comfort and great house for a big group. Loved where it was in town, so central. Once your parked up and in. It's a fabulous place to explore. Thank you. We shall return I'm sure....

    Reviewed by Jessie5.0Apr 2023

  • "We have been coming to Mevagissey for over 30 years and stayed many times at the Old Bank House."

    We were upset to read some of the negative reviews. The house was lovely clean and spacious, newly decorated and refitted kitchen great dining area and very comfy settees. All our needs were met - even dog bowls for the dog! The garden is an added bonus lovely sun trap however maybe not suitable for anyone with mobility issues, but this is a characteristic old house, and theres very little you can do about seagulls mess!! The location is perfect to explore the charm of Mevagissey. The owner has always been very responsive to any queries, a great base for families, can't wait to come again!!

    Reviewed by Carolyn5.0Apr 2023

  • "We loved the property and found the location was perfect."

    The facilities were as described with everything we needed. The property was very clean, tidy and suited us well. Recommend the property to anyone who wants to stay in the area. The property owner was contactable for any issues we had but we didn’t need do bother them. Thoroughly enjoyable stay at The Old Bank House.

    Thank you for your kind words regarding the Old Bank House. We were pleased to hear the new cleaners are doing an excellent job Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Aug 2022

  • "Listen to the reviews."

    The house is filthy. There is a pungent smell in most rooms. We had to wash the bedding and all towels on arrival as they stank, then had to clean the house. Great way to start a holiday eh? We have since complained to Sykes but have not had a response.

    Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are always happy to respond and rectify any issue as soon as they are reported but unfortunately you did not let us know about the cleanliness or towels until you had been there for 2 days. Once you did advise we offered a reclean straight away. We are aware that there has been an issue with the cleaners and can assure you we have now engaged a new cleaning team so there will not be any further problems in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ellen1.9Aug 2022

  • "Spacious and comfortable house in a great location."

    We had a few issues on arrival but all were sorted promptly by the owners which was much appreciated. Old bank house is a little tired and in need of refurbishment in places but that didn’t get in the way of us having a nice holiday.

    Thanks for your comments, we're pleased you enjoyed the space and comfort and that we could assist when needed. We'd also like to reassure all guests that the property has had a lot of updates in the last few years including new carpets, new shower rooms, a new family bathroom and three years ago a new kitchen was installed including all new appliances including oven, fridge etc. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brian3.8Aug 2022

  • "I think Annie the owner is being let down by the cleaners."

    We found the Henry hoover in the cupboard broken and Annie very kindly got the cleaners to drop in another Henry. My husband put in on and the smell was horrid. He took it apart and found it was completely full of dust and debris. He completely cleaned it (not a thing you should have to do on holiday and he is 83). I feel the garden is very nice but there is a huge drop down and there should be a sturdy fence put in place. I think the price I paid was too much and I would not have booked if I had known about the terrible situation we are in now with rising prices.

    We're so sorry about Henry Hoover, we were not aware that when the cleaners dropped it back off at the property that there was no bag in it and it had not been emptied and cleaned, we agree that your husband should not have had to do that and we will address that with the cleaners. The area in the garden does have handrails, wire fencing and posts are also in place and while not all visible, we can assure guests that the barrier extends into the surrounding greenery. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare3.8Aug 2022

  • "On arrival the house was dirty!"

    The floors, beds and sofas were covered in dog hairs. There was dried blood on the dinning room floor, dirty laundry in the utility room, dust on every surface and sticky marks on the kitchen sides and the banisters. There was no working hoover in the house. I did contact the owner, and the cleaners arrived the next day, by which time we had swept and washed our sheets. The cleaners made very little difference to the general cleanliness of the house. There was also a broken lamp in the living room, with its glass shade in pieces on the book shelf. Several of the doors in the house did not have working closures, handles or locks. The garden is not only accessed by steps as advertised but is not attached to the house, you have to walk past the neighbours gardens to get to it. The bbq was rusty, the chairs and table covered in bird poo, and there were empty bottles and wrappers on the floor. There were no instructions/information in the house in facilities etc as you would normally expect. Nor a guest book. Whilst we tried not to let the failings of the house spoil our holiday, it did mean we felt uncomfortable and spent more time out than planned. All in all very disappointed

    Thank you for your review. We have been using a new cleaning company since Xmas 2021 with no adverse criticism. Our cleaning company were unfortunately hit this particular weekend with sickness and absenteeism. When we did a pre season check there was a working Henry hoover in the house. This had disappeared and has been replaced this week. Unlike some owners, we welcome dogs but 2 dogs the previous week left a lot of hair and the cleaners regrettably struggled to remove all of it in the time available. The broken lamp has been removed and replaced this week. We acknowledge that the patio garden is not immediately behind the house but some 20 ft to the left via steps. Nesting and fledging seagulls on our roof are a problem in June and July and cause a lot of mess. Finally all BBQs rust once used and we supply a new BBQ every year. We do apologise for any issues which you found to be detrimental to your experience. Thank you once again for your feedback - we will ensure to take your comments on board and make any further improvements where needed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Layla1.3Jul 2022

  • "Lovely house for a big family and friends gathering in a great location near the middle of Mevagissey."

    The living area with big kitchen, living room and dining area are all light and airy and we enjoyed the time we all spent there. The ground floor bedrooms did tend to get a bit stuffy and damp and it wasn’t possible to open the windows to the street so there was a lack of ventilation. The middle bedroom had no outside window and the main light didn’t work. Luckily we didn’t spend much time in the bedrooms other than to sleep. A well stocked kitchen with modern appliances and separate utility room was a bonus. We really enjoyed our stay there.

    Reviewed by Lucy4.4Jul 2022

  • "A property that easily caters for large families."

    It’s upside down living will be beneficial in summertime as three bedrooms downstairs will be cool. One of our party had mobility issues so we did struggle a little. The property is located 2 minutes from harbour pubs amenities and you can easily do without a car. Your free parking is in a car park 5 minutes away and is a secure site. Mevagissey is a really friendly place and dog friendly. If eating out then book ahead as the restaurants are small plentiful but at peak times you won’t be able to just show up unless your prepared to wait. This cottage is wonderfully located but people with mobility issues will struggle. Only negative is I wish I took my own bed mattresses too soft but I would definitely go back. Positive Kitchen modern 3 ovens plenty of toilets showers living space near harbour fish/chip shops pasty’s pubs restaurants takeaways. Garden is accessed by very steep steps and not very big. Would recommend this property for large families looking to relax and truly taking time out Mevagissey is truly calming.

    Reviewed by Lee4.1May 2022

  • "Great place to stay ."

    Best part about it is the location to Mevagissey . Only feedback to give is the place where you take your dogs out the back needs tidying up , it’s a bit rough out there , other than that no issues at all . Lots of space , great for families

    Reviewed by Jason5.0Apr 2022

  • "We had a wonderful stay and the property was clean with lots of space."

    All beds were comfy with towel provided. However, there were no tea towels and apart from salt and pepper no other basics in the kitchen. Would be nice to have even just some cooking oil. That aside, Great house in great location right in centre of town.

    Reviewed by Jayne3.8Feb 2022

  • "We couldn’t of asked for a better place to stay,it was big enough for our families,lots of space and room for us all."

    My daughter didn’t want to leave “The holiday home” and would like to go back.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Dec 2021

  • "It was a lovely house at a great location."

    The cleanliness of the house wasn’t good. Half the mattresses in the rooms were very uncomfortable. We had to fix the front door lock because it was so loose . Eventually one of the keys broke having to constantly mess about trying to open the door. The garden area looked like it hadn’t been touched for months. The furniture was very dirty.

    Reviewed by Alistair2.8Sep 2021

  • "Lovely house really convenient for everyone to just pop into Mevagissey."

    Spacious and light, nice garden area. We really enjoyed the holiday, and would thoroughly recommend.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jul 2021

  • "Lovely house in the centre of Mevagissey."

    Close to all shops and pubs. Would recommend

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Jun 2021

  • "Location of the house was perfect, but the house itself was a little tired."

    There is an overwhelming smell of damp when you enter the house and the ground floor bedrooms furniture is damaged by the damp. We found various pieces of underwear around the house that the cleaners hadn't found and the dining room smelt strongly of cat urine. The house was listed as having Sky TV, but when the weather is bad it doesn't work. On a good day you can get 2 or 3 channels. Over all, these things didn't ruin our holiday, we just expected a higher standard of cleanliness in the current climate and not to have the overwhelming smell of damp. This really needs looking into.

    Reviewed by Andrew3.4Jun 2021

  • "We used you after being let down at the last minute by another holiday company."

    You were very efficient with good communication.

    Reviewed by Halina4.1Oct 2020

  • "A really comfortable house in a perfect setting."

    Could do with a handle on the wall outside the front door, to help getting up the steps. We all had a great time. Recommended.

    Reviewed by Cynthia5.0Feb 2020

  • "This year was the third time we have been to the Old Bank House so obviously we love it."

    There is plenty of space and lots of character. Very welcoming feeling as soon as we arrive. It`s situation in the village is spot on. Important when you have a range of ages together. Everything within walking distance. Some people of course walking rather further than others! The one small change this year was the car parking arrangements but this was quickly sorted out with yourselves.

    Reviewed by Norma5.0Feb 2020

  • "Mattress in one bedroom sub standard."

    Roof in toilet sagging. Slats in beds in two bedrooms damaged

    Reviewed by Robert4.1Aug 2019

  • "Superb location- only a few steps to the harbour with all the pasty shops, crabbing, fishing boats and ferry boats you’d associate with a Cornish seaside village."

    Such a great house with plenty of space. 11 of us age ranging from 7 months to 70 years fitted in well. 3 fridges, washing machine, dryer and dishwasher, good books and games all made the household run smoothly. A few minor niggles which naturally come with an older house. Door knob came off in my hand, a wobbly plug socket, some loo locks difficult to engage, but nothing to stop us having a lovely holiday. Parking at Sunny Corner is fine, but changeover days are a bit challenging when packing and unpacking. Highly recommend the house for a large gathering.

    Reviewed by Judith5.0Jul 2019

  • "Lovely house in a great location just a few yards from the Harbour."

    Would stay there again but could do with new sofas in the lounge as very uncomfortable. Garden furniture was very worn and broke whilst being sat on. However the owner did provide new chairs once reported to her. The table still needs replacing. Overall we had a lovely family holiday with 9 adults age range 27 to 87 and 2 dogs.

    Reviewed by Sandra4.1Jul 2019

  • "Lovely cottage in a great location."

    Everything on your doorstep. It was clean and tidy, garden though as described is reached by steap steps, so not advisable for young children. There were 10 of us, 5 children & 5 adults and the perfect size house for us all. My only negative comment was the room on the ground floor at the front of the property, as it’s single glazed and right on the street, you heard everything anyone was saying as they walked past, particularly late at night on route home from the local pubs. (Best put a heavy sleeper in that room) Would thoroughly recommend this property

    Reviewed by Carol4.4Apr 2019

  • "There was 10 of us and we never felt on top of each other."

    The pictures on the website don’t do the rooms justices. It felt really spacious. And going on early morning walks around the harbour was just lovely. This is the second time staying in mevagissey and the location of the old bank house was just brilliant!

    Reviewed by Jack4.4Aug 2018

  • "Thankyou for letting stay at the bank house in mevergissey it is in a lovely location myself and my family had a great stay."

    The house was clean welcoming and a lovely size for 10 people there was 9 in our party and never felt on top of each other, we could all sit in the living room if we wanted to but mevergissey had so much to offer we all found lots to do!!! Unloading and loading the cars had to be an organised mission but we certainly didn’t see it as a negertive as your location was perfect but find it is only right to mension it. The garden has the sun on it late morning till later in the evening I know there was a few comments about the garden and the steps and that did concern me before my stay you needed to be careful as the garden is built on a hill and there are a few steps up to it, small children would need to be accompanied but the little secret garden was a welcome extra. The dining room was very light and a lovely size and it was lovely to use as a family, the rooms were comfortable and clean with clean towels provided, the kitchen had everything you needed. The coastal walks were lovely mevigessey beach was great but be aware of the steps down to the beach we had read up on this before going And is certainly worth it, when the tide is in there’s a lovely place to swim in the harbour the water is clean and very refreshing. We had a lovely stay and would recommend the old bank house

    Reviewed by Rosalin5.0Jul 2018

  • "Great location, very close to harbour pubs, restaurants etc."

    Reviewed by Stephen4.4Jun 2018

  • "A nice old house in good central location."

    It was very clean and spacious. We felt that the owners could do with investing in new mattresses for downstairs beds and a new sofa - one was comfortable but the other sagged. Overall a nice place to stay but some tlc needed over winter months to enhance the experience for holiday makers.

    Reviewed by Sandy3.1Jun 2018

  • "Sykes were brilliant in changing my original booking from Penare House mevagissey, after we realised the unsuitability during an interim visit last September to mevagissey."

    The old bank house was the only real alternative having paid our non returnable deposit (this was again not a problem) and we were grateful of your understanding. However, The old bank house which was in a fabulous spot was definitely in need of a lot tlc. The garden :- when you could eventually get the doors open, you were greeted by a foul smelling set of steps that led to a small patio area ( definitely not worthy of being called a garden) decorated by at least 20 piles of dog poo ( how people can leave it amazes me) . We had two dogs with us and after the first visit we didn't bother letting them out there even though I had picked up and bagged most of what I could see. The kitchen was falling apart, all the crockery was old and worn, cutlery was the same, kettle was leaking and going everywhere when you poured the water. Bedrooms and bathrooms were great. I dare bet the owner hasn't spent a penny on the place in twenty years and it is purely a cash cow. Sykes should really go and look at the house before putting your name to it. It wasn't a patch on the beautiful 'carefree cottage' we stayed in last year, it was a credit to the owners and Sykes cottages Many thanks R Forrester ( stayed 16th to 23rd June 2018)

    Reviewed by Rob2.5Jun 2018

  • "The Old Bank House, Mevagissey what an ideal spot to take our wonderful family of 9 plus milo the dog, so close to harbour and wonderful places to eat."

    The house itself beautiful , clean and beds all comfortable. Nice touch having biscuits, milk tea and coffee for us to have. Loads of space and games for children.the dining room was large for everyone to sit plus about another four super touch drinks cooler for wine and beer which was very handy. Thank you again thoroughly recommend .

    Reviewed by Robin4.7May 2018

  • "Wonderful house in a wonderful location right in the heart of Mevagissey we had a fantastic holiday"

    Reviewed by Andrew4.8Feb 2018

  • "The location of the property is excellent, about 70 yards from the front, though because of this it can be a bit noisy in the evenings."

    Internally the property is a delight, with all the living areas on the first floor and bedrooms on ground and second floor. It's not too pristine that you are worried about the children or dogs wrecking it, but also it is not scruffy, just lived in. Lots of games and books provided in case the weather is poor, only complaint is the fridge doesn't close properly all the time. Mevagissey is beautiful, wonderful harbour for strolling around, great walks over the cliffs, and really close to Eden and Heligan, also a great fish and chip shop and a great bakery. Would go again.

    Reviewed by Stephen4.4Sep 2016

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Reverse level accommodation
  • Over three floors
  • Six bedrooms: 1 x ground floor king-size double with en-suite shower room with shower, basin and WC, 2 x ground floor doubles with en-suite shower room with shower, basin and WC, 1 x second floor king-size double, 1 x single, 1 x second floor single
  • Second floor bathroom with corner bath, basin and WC
  • First floor kitchen
  • Utility room/WC
  • First floor dining room
  • First floor sitting room with open fire.
  • Oil central heating with open fire
  • Electric cooker, 2 electric ovens, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • 4 x TVs (1 with Sky+), DVD, PlayStation, stereo/CD, WiFi, DVDs/books/games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen ad towels inc. in rent
  • Cot, highchair and stairgate available
  • Parking available in public car park, nearest 2 mins walk (cost inc. in rent for 1 car), guests may stop briefly before 10am/after 4pm for loading/unloading outside property
  • Paved terraced garden with furniture & BBQ
  • Two well behaved dogs welcome subject to £25 pet charge per dog
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shops/pubs/harbour 100 yards
  • Note: Balcony and sash windows on 2nd floor, young children to be supervised
  • Note: Due to large stone steps and a fenced drop, access to the garden may be unsuitable for guests with limited mobility, and children should be supervised at all times

The property

Once the home of Mevagissey's first bank, this imposing Grade II listed village-centre building has been renovated to a high standard, creating a Cornwall holiday cottage of comfort and character.

Set over three floors, 100 yards from the harbour, the property retains many original features.

The bedrooms are mainly over the ground and second floors, while the main, stylish living space occupies the first floor.

The exquisite dining room, with parquet flooring, panelled walls and glazed ceiling, is overlooked by a balcony from the second floor.

The harbour, pubs and restaurants of Mevagissey are all within a short stroll.

Wander to the water's edge to watch the fishermen unload their catch, stroll along the coastal path on the headland or walk to The Lost Gardens of Heligan.

Alternatively, explore the Eden Project, the cathedral city of Truro or the beauty of the Roseland Peninsula and its beaches.

View on map

About the location

MEVAGISSEY

St. Austell 5.5 miles; Truro 16 miles.

The perfect Cornish fishing village, with winding cobbled streets and a picturesque harbour full of boats. Stunning walks lead along the coast in both directions, with sandy beaches, high cliffs and hidden coves to explore. The village has an excellent selection of pubs and restaurants, whilst just up the road are the Lost Gardens of Heligan. A ferry from Mevagissey to Fowey also runs daily between Easter and September. Spend some time at the Tall Ships harbour at Charlestown (7 miles) with its shipwreck museum, or among the tropical biomes of the world-famous Eden Project (11 miles). The stunning coastline, fabulous beaches and renowned gardens of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula are a short drive down the coast while Truro, with its shops, restaurants, theatre and cathedral can be reached by car in half an hour.

View more holiday cottages in Mevagissey

Note: Balcony and sash windows on 2nd floor, young children to be supervised. Note: Due to large stone steps and a fenced drop, access to the garden may be unsuitable for guests with limited mobility, and children should be supervised at all times