- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Pub/shop < 1 mile
- Washing machine
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
29 Customer Reviews
"The holiday process was challenging from the beginning with very poor customer service from Sykes."
The property has the greatest of views, and is comfortable and had a very well stocked kitchen with all you need. The only negative is the property is in need of a good deep clean and smelt very musty throughout which is a let down.
"As we arrived in the dark and the rain on the night of Saturday 9th Sept - it was particularly difficult to find the cottage - the entrance gate could do with a sign on it for Coronation Villas at least ."
It isn't clear which green gate is the correct one. The only other issue was what to do with the rubbish/recycling when you aren't there for a collection day? Could be a little clearer. Other than the above all was perfectly fine and pleasant - thank you very much.
"The house is charming and comfortably furnished."
The “short walk” to the house is quite a bit longer and steeper than expected, but it is a historic house in a very historic town. And the surfaces were quite clean. However, some things were less charming. Getting the upstairs toilet to flush reliably requires keeping the tank lid off so that it would fill enough to empty. It took us the first day to find that solution and it was a nuisance even once we solved the problem. The kettle in the kitchen is unusable. Someone tried to cook in it at some point, and the inside is foul. There are no cutting boards, which complicated cooking and even cutting fruit for snacks. The bed in the main bedroom was too firm for us. The washing machine is in an outdoor shed, which was an inconvenience as it was raining during much of our visit. Lastly, working with Sykes was very difficult and unpleasant. There were no contact numbers in our email, so we couldn’t call anyone when we reached the house and couldn’t figure out how to get in. There was a phone number for the local maintenance team inside the house, but we couldn’t get in to get it. That information should have been included in the very long email that Sykes sent us.
"Showerhead in bathroom on ground level fell apart in my hand as I was showering."
Entire place could use more TLC - garden needs tending /trimming and home needs a good deep clean. Otherwise, a fine location and lovely space.
Thank you for sending in your feedback. We are currently at the property ourselves and are dealing with the points you have raised. We are glad that you enjoyed the location and the space. Property Owner
"We reported several issues during our stay; 1: Hall lighting - non existent."
Reported Monday 19th June - resolved Friday 21st June with electrician in attendance. 2: Main bathroom lighting - only 1 of 2 inadequate wall lights working - bulb was completely missing and had never been replaced leaving the room incredibly dark given the dark wooden slat blind (required to be down at all times due to the property to the rear). With a shower over the bath and no handles or non slip bath mat it didn't feel very safe. We checked the understairs cupboard but no bulb there to fit. Reported on Monday 19th June - never resolved during our entire stay. 3: The downstairs shower wasn't getting warm at all and the shower head was broken. Shower curtain sits too high above the tray so the moment the shower was switched on the entire floor was soaking wet. Reported 19th June - plumber arrived Wednesday 26th and was never resolved. 4: Major issue with flies from the middle weekend - Saturday 24th June onwards. They appeared to be coming from inside the very rotten sash windows which was really unpleasant with 30-40 emerging each time approx 3 times a day for the rest of our stay! Reported and never resolved. This house requires an awful lot of maintenance and the garden is incredibly overgrown. The beds creak constantly. The floorboards either side of the bath are rotting. The kitchen equipment is so basic without so much as a serving spoon. The fact that the washing machine is in an incredibly musty outhouse should be mentioned in the details to prospective customers. The information folder for the house was hidden inside the meter cupboard above the breakfast bar and should be on full view for arriving guests. Why were you not aware of the issues we raise as surely they should have been reported back by cleaners during the turnaround between guests and should have been rectified? We have asked for a cost adjustment for our holiday and I understand that this has been passed to the relevant team and I look forward to hearing from you.
Thank you for returning your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you encountered these issues during your stay. We are currently at the property ourselves to assess and address any issues. Property Owner
"Minor stuff - kettle needs replacing and the house could do with a real deep-dive clean."
We have a baby who crawls around and so we saw all the collected dust under various corners that others probably wouldn't see, as well as dirty window frames that our daughter loved to grab hold of! However, on a positive note, you have a beautiful holiday cottage with amazing views and nice furnishings. Thank you for a nice stay.
Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We are currently at the property ourselves and will be addressing the issues raised in your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed both the cottage and the views and that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope that we might be able to welcome you back to the property again, sometime in the future. Property Owner
"What a wonderful place to stay!"
Incredible views and the cottage is really well thought out and it felt homely and welcoming. I just loved the views of the harbour from every window. The art work throughout the cottage added to the ambience and homely feel. One suggestion, lower some of the bushes next to the outside bench to allow for views of the harbour when eating outside. Otherwise, a real home from home in a stunning location.
"Absolutely charming property in a stunning location."
Well equipped and a lovely welcome pack. A little maintenance required (slow draining bath and slightly run down outhouse for washing machine). However the views were so magnificent and the house so comfortable we had a holiday that felt good for the soul! Lovely memories.
"Generally ok, but little bit neglected: many windows not in order, to much ..."
Generally ok, but little bit neglected: many windows not in order, to much furniture, furniture does not really fit to others
"We’ve stayed here twice, 2022 & 2021."
The house is in a great location & views are amazing. The house is clean and tidy, it could do with some updating, such as Living room and dining room furniture. The down side is the parking, Now £5 per day at the two car parks in the village, & an eye watering £11 at the main car park by rock pool cafe.
"Loved the location and Village."
We didn’t have a car which was perfect with local bus. We had a lovely stay. I would suggest you had more than 1 bath towel per person for our week there. Also did not find keys to access the washing machine. We called phone # in guest book and did not get response. Noticed later it was different than instructions that were emailed to me so perhaps House book needs updated?
Thank you for your review which we have investigated, it is standard for a self catering property to provide 1 bath and 1 hand towel per person. We have now fitted a new lock for the washing machine access and the key will be easily obtainable. We have checked the welcome folder and all information is up to date.We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of Lookout. Property Owner
"Property is looking 'tired' with peeling paint and rotted window frames."
Still no lock on bathroom door and holes in bathroom floorboards and rust showing through bath. Garden overgrown. Very small TV. Given the recent hike in fees the property is not delivering the quality which we would expect for the high fees charged. After coming to this property for 25 years we reluctantly will be going elsewhere next year.
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Lookout. There are plans to attend to the windows after the peak season. The bathroom lock and floorboards have now been attended too. The garden is a cottage garden and is not overgrown. The owner does not intend to change the TV at this time. We hope this may reassure you that the owner takes all feedback seriously and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner
"We chose this property because it had 2 bathrooms as staying with friends but unfortunately the shower was unfit for purpose hence the low rating ."
. also the double bed is very squeaky every time you move which has been mentioned before in reviews but obviously not been addressed yet Such a shame as the size location and the views from property is first class
"Absolutely lovely cottage in a fab location."
Views were stunning. Only issue is they have to make sure all heating is working in the winter as we had two rooms where the storage heaters didn't work and did not want to waste our holiday waiting for an electrician. This also meant we couldn't sit in the main bedroom to enjoy the views as it just wasn't warm enough. Also, the bed in the second room on the first floor was really creaky every time you moved. In winter, when it is darker, check in needs to be earlier as it is really difficult navigating Mousehole and where the house is, in the dark. Pre-warning about how busy it is at Christmas as well is needed. We really struggled parking on the first night because of the Christmas lights and the 4pm check-in completely clashed with this and made our arrival very stressful. The owner or Sykes could definitely have provided more information about this. Other than the above, I loved the house and location. Very comfortable and cosy. My little girl loved it too.
Thank you for your feedback. The heaters have now been attended to. We have never had any comments on the bed before. Mousehole is a very busy, popular spot. We are sorry for these disruptions to your stay but are glad to hear of your positive comments. Property Owner
"The property we booked for our summer vacation was surrounded by scaffolding."
We were not told about this, so as you can imagine it was a massive shock on arrival.
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that on your arrival the scaffolding was still up at Lookout, it was due to be taken down before your arrival however the unforeseen delay in works meant it was still there. Once you got in touch with our customer service team I can see this was resolved quickly for you. We hope your enjoyed the rest of your stay. Property Owner
"A lovely stay with perfect weather in this well located and comfortable house with great views."
It was a bit of a shock to find out just before travelling that the house would be scaffolded, but the generous partial refund helped, and we were fortunate to have glorious weather and to be out and about most days. It was great to get use of the garden seating area again once the builder had removed materials from the site. Mousehole is a delightful place and we had a wonderful holiday.
"As you know we had builders at our property but to be fair you did contact us prior to our stay to let us know and compensated us fairly and quickly."
We would like to return to the cottage in the future when the work has been done and we can enjoy the property fully. We were very impressed with your efforts to recompense us for inconvenience
Fantastic views. Spotlessly clean.
"Gorgeous coastal village Amazing sea views Warm and comfortable cottage Conservatory had no heating, so cold in October."
Loved the big bathroom Parking only £3 each day
"Beautiful house and facilities, except we could not use the washing machine."
It appeared not to have been used for years. Parking to drop off and pack luggage was very difficult. Beautiful view from bedroom window. Plenty of space for the whole family.
Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We were sorry to hear that you had an issue with the washing machine. We have discussed this with the owner who has confirmed that the washing machine is used regularly. This aside, we're glad that you had an enjoyable holiday and enjoyed both the property and Mousehole. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Cornwall, hopefully in the not-too-distant future. Property Owner
"Very cosy too warm in the main bedrooms cold in the attic so we took extra heaters up."
Cold water tap in kitchen sticks so needs looking at. Although limited for space in kitchen it would of been nice to have a larger fridge.
"There is one fantastic bedroom in this property but it would be nice if they were to get the 2nd double bedroom to the same standard."
When you are sharing the cost it is nice for everyone to have the same facilities.
"Very comfortable Bay Fronted Victorian semi overlooking the harbour in Mousehole."
The views from the windows were an absolute joy. Mousehole itself, a maze of little alley ways and narrow streets - charming. Good access to the coastal footpath and other lovely walks and an easy 15 minute drive into Penzance. The house a joy to return to at the end of a day walking the coast path - or in the case of the younger members of the group - rock climbing; surfing; cycling... Lots of interest in the area -Tremenheere sculpture garden, Newlyn School at Penlee House in Penzance; St. Michael's Mount, Lamorna Cove - and much more. HOWEVER - the cottage details were not clear about the lack of vehicular access - my husband has a heart condition - and we would have appreciated advance notice about the hill/flights of steps up to the cottage. We might not have chosen this property had we known about the access which exacerbated his angina. Also the details in the cottage were not very clear about the recycling - Is it only glass? Surely not? (Apologies to the housekeeper for not emptying the recycling box which we left rather full of glass - I'd assumed the waste collection would be a day late due to the bank holiday - it wasn't!) But - despite the access - our three generational family group had a lovely holiday - Thank You The Lookout
"Wonderful location with amazing views, very clean and close to several good restaurants/tea rooms."
"Amazing views over Mounts Bay Accomodation very clean but could benefit from ..."
Amazing views over Mounts Bay Accomodation very clean but could benefit from some cosmetic updating We would definitely visit again
"We really enjoyed our stay in the Lookout."
It is a very tastefully furnished house, well equipped and decorated with an eye for the detail. The view from the front rooms is spectacular! The house is a little older but very clean and Georgina, the housekeeper, and her husband are really friendly and supportive. It should be mentioned, though, that the house can‘t be reached by car at all. You have to carry all your luggage and the shopping up a steep and narrow little lane, which is a little tedious. We found parking quite difficult as well. We drive a rather large car and so we ended up parking the car well out of Mousehole up the hill most evenings. So more specific information in advance on these two aspects would be helpful and fair. Nevertheless, we would book the house again, since we really felt at home there. We think it is a pity that the garden is not in a better condition, though. It would be a really lovely place to sit. The lower lock of the front door blocks, so on our arrival it took us more than half an hour to open the door, which was not a pleasant experience after a long journey. We called ALL the numbers provided by Sykes (including the one of the local property manager), but couldn‘t reach anybody. So for about half an hour we were quite worried that we wouldn‘t have a place to stay the night. In the end we managed to turn the key, but we really think that lock should be changed. The house also provides a washing machine, which isn‘t mentioned in the description of the property. So that was a pleasant surprise.
"Wonderful views and a great base to explore the Southwest of Cornwall."
Although the property was clean and a good size, the main draw back was the parking. The property advertised "Parking is at the car park within a few minutes walk" and of note "Shop, pub and beach 10 minutes walk". The car park described is actually further away from the property than "the pub, beach and shop" so I fail to see how this journey is magically shortened. Perhaps the joy of being able to smell the sea air robs us of our sense of distance and time? The advert also fails to mention that parking can be difficult (along the pier) and there is a £3/day cost. A minor cost you may say but certainly coin grabbing - no parking meters in the area have launched themselves into the 21st century and accept card payments or notes. This property is not designed for those with mobility issues , but Mousehole isn't either. Despite this negative note, my family and I had a wonderful time in Cornwall.
"The cottage was lots bigger than we expected and so well equipped."
The photos don't do it justice! It was beautiful and a lovely place to have as a base and wonderful to have the views and garden to sit in. The best cottage we've had in Mousehole, and believe me, we've stayed in a few!
"Couldn't find a mention of the washing machine anywhere, so didn't know there was one in the cottage, in a shed outside."
.! Other than that we had a wonderful time, nice and warm when we arrived too, made for a perfect autumn holiday. Wonderful views across the harbour, fantastic...
This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.
- Over three floors
- Three bedrooms: 1 x King Size, 1 x double 1 x second floor twin
- Family bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
- Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
- Kitchen with breakfast bar
- Sitting/Dining area
- Sun room.Utility room
- Electric night storage heating, electric fire in the sitting room
- Electric oven and hob
- Microwave, Dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washing machine.TV, WiFi
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Cot and highchair available on request
- Parking is in the local car park within approximately 3-5 minute walk, charges are incurred
- Sorry no pets
- Sorry no smoking
- Shop, pub and beach 5 minutes walk
- Note: There is a short hill to walk up to get to the property (approx 65 metres) You can stop the car for a short time to unload at the bottom of the hill before parking the car in one of the near by car parks
- Note: Steep stairs to second floor with low ceiling at the top of the stairs.
Sitting on a high advantage point in the village, providing stunning views over the harbour this stone built semi-detached Victorian cottage in Mousehole is spacious and charming. Stunning sea views from all rooms at the front of the house.
The living room has an impressive bay window which draws in the wonderful seascape over rooftops, and a fireplace for out of season cosiness.
Gather together for good food in the dining room or enjoy brunch around the kitchen bar.
The bedrooms are elegant and the master has a King Size bed and a great view out to the sea..
The attic bedroom is quaint and roomy with panelled walls, a sloping ceiling and a window framing the view.
The cottage is a small pebbled area with bench seating and creates the perfect spot for barbecue wizardry against the backdrop of sea and sky (children must be supervised).
Enjoy superb coastal views of beautiful Mounts Bay from this handsome seaward-facing Victorian house, just a few minutes stroll from the picturesque harbour in Mousehole.
Explore the narrow winding lanes of Mousehole with its galleries, eateries and traditional inns serving fresh local fayre and Cornish ales.
The small harbour is alive with colourful boats and has a gently sloping beach for safe bathing.
For that 'wow' factor and within a half hours drive, visit the granite cliffs and Mediterranean blue waters at Porthcurno Beach or the romance and drama of the open air theatre at Minack, carved from the granite cliff face and jutting precariously into the sea.
Penzance and Newlyn are a short drive or bus ride away, and St Michael's Mount is the jewel in Cornwall's crown, perched opposite the long stretch of sandy beach at Marazion.
Perfect for friends and family to enjoy their stay in Mousehole in comfort and to use as a base to explore Cornwall.
About the location
Penzance 4 miles; St Ives 12 miles.
A delightful fishing village nestled on a hillside and spilling down to the shore. The picturesque harbour, surrounded by its maze of winding narrow streets, draws visitors from miles around, while in the distance St Michael's Mount stands proudly in the centre of Mounts Bay. A fabulous coastline and miles of spectacular walking characterise the area, with seabirds, seals and wild headlands leading just around the corner to Land's End. The Minack cliff-top theatre is a few miles along the coast, while reminders of the region's ancient past in the form of Dolmens and standing stones appear everywhere. St Ives, with its stunning beaches, beautiful harbour and narrow winding streets is just 12 miles away.
Note: Children need to be supervised in the garden.
Note: There are two car parks both within approx 3-5 min walk.
Note: There is a short hill to walk up to get to the property (approx 65 metres)