4.4★ Sykes rating 8 Guests 4 Bedrooms 3 Bathrooms Pets Yes Features Off road parking Ground floor accommodation Ground floor bedroom Open fire Garden / Patio Cot available Highchair available Pub/shop < 1 mile Washing machine Dishwasher Games Room Seaside Broadband / WiFi Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities and Maintenance Search All reviews lovely (11) our (11) great (11) clean (9) stay (9) property (8) 27 Customer Reviews "The property was huge which was great!" The only draw back was the basement bedroom and shower room. The bed was very uncomfortable and the shower room had an unpleasant odour. I had to purchase a reed diffuser because the smell was so strong even brushing my teeth was deeply unpleasant. This was due to the type of toilet but some sort of scent diffusers would help I think. Also the bed is very hard. Maybe a mattress topper would help. Our children didn’t want to sleep there as they didn’t want to be in the basement. My in-laws have bad backs so they slept upstairs with the children and my husband and I slept in the basement and the bed was very uncomfortable although the privacy was nice. Thank you very much for taking time to give feedback. Much appreciated. We have noted all the points you made and will review accordingly. Property Owner Reviewed by Bridget4.4★Oct 2023 "Great for a large (up to 8 people) gathering." Huge rooms, lots of space, plenty of crockery & cutlery, dishwasher (with tablets) was great to have. Half our group were out sailing almost everyday & there was plenty of drying space & airers etc. The sailing club was a very short 5-10 mins drive or a reasonable walk, approx. 30 mins. Local facilities were brilliant - the local butcher was wonderful, local store was well-stocked & staff could not have been more helpful, local pubs/restaurants provided excellent food at reasonable prices - again all very friendly. The only slight issues we had were (a) that the lower ground floor was a bit damp - but then it was wet & windy most of the week, (b) the driveway was awkward to drive in/out of & (c) the cooking utensils weren't great (awful frying pan & only small or very big saucepans) - but we managed! With so many people staying it would have been nice to have more than one main door key - constant use of the key safe was a bit of a pain at times, again, we managed. The owners & their staff were very friendly & helpful on the couple of occasions we needed a little help. The whole place was very clean & all the upstairs was warm & dry. Excellent WiFi, reasonable TV, etc. We would definitely stay there again! Thank you very much for taking time to give such thorough feedback. It is much appreciated. We have noted all the points you made and will rectify where possible. Especially the need for more than one door key for large groups - that’s a very valid point. Thank you! Property Owner Reviewed by Jill4.4★Sep 2023 "A lovely relaxing property with great views over the creek." Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner Reviewed by Pat5.0★May 2023 "When we arrived I text the owner (we were 30 mins ish early) they advised we were ok to go in early if the cleaners had left - a good knock on the door assured us they were." Unfortunately there wasn’t a welcoming pack - not a given I understand- however after a 350 mile drive, the ability to make a cup tea/coffee before finding the nearest supermarket would have been nice. Property - wood floors throughout - the fur footed may find it a challenge at times - our guy floof surfed a couple of times. Steps a challenge with non slip slippers/footwear - No grips on wooden steps & some are quite steep. My Father who isn’t ‘goat footed’ found it a struggle as there’s only a thin bannister on one side. Bedding on lower floor room was damp smelling - rooms in general downstairs had multiple amounts of woodlice. Cleaning on this floor wasn’t great - behind the blinds (on broken window) had many dead things- as did the games room- which was repaired with grey tape on both sides of the table tennis’s table net - as 4 over 45 year olds - we didn’t partake - just an observation. Warning in the lower bathroom about the sump pump would be good - freaked out the first time & thought the shower would flood out! Path a bit slippy going to & from property when it’s damp - nearly came a cropper a couple of times. Comfort over all good - not the best we’ve stayed at but it was ok - kitchen - basics covered - it was adequate - as chefs we are fussy.. Over all - enjoyed our time - would I stay again? Probably not. Thank you very much for taking time to give us feedback. Since we exchanged a few friendly texts just before your arrival, I was disappointed that you didn’t feel able to let us know of your dissatisfaction after arrival. I checked with our house keeper and also the booking company - none of them have received any complaints from you during your stay, hence your feedback really came as a surprise for us all. You mentioned that you were chefs, so I hope you appreciate more than most the need to raise any concerns in a timely way so that issues can be addressed and not leave complaints till after your departure when nothing can be done. Our house keeping team live locally and they would have come out straight away to rectify your concerns where possible. We are indeed sorry that you found some dead insects behind a blind on the lower ground floor - I hope you can see from our other feedback that we usually score highly on cleanliness because our cleaners take great pride in providing an excellent service for our guests. I can also confirm that our team have done a further quality inspection since your stay and found no damp in the lower ground floor. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us overall. It’s a pity that the score you gave us did not reflect that at all. Once again, thank you for taking time to give us feedback. I would strongly recommend that you raise any issues immediately upon arrival when you’re staying in rented accommodation so that the owner or house keeper have a chance to rectify them to ensure you and your party have the most comfortable stay. Property Owner Reviewed by Sandra1.9★Apr 2023 "We booked Gwel an Gillan for a family get together for my husband’s 60th … we absolutely made the right choice!" What a place!! Better too in real life. Spotlessly clean, fluffy towels provided and heating on for our arrival. We enjoyed exploring the local area and eateries and would recommend The Lemon Arms (enjoyed dinner and a lunch there), The Pandora Inn, and walking to the Mylor cafe is a must fab cakes! I particularly loved my daily walk around the garden, ate my breakfast on the balcony surrounded by birdsong. We will definitely go back. Thank you. Thank you very much for taking time to give us such positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to experience the great local hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Property Owner Reviewed by BEVERLEY5.0★Dec 2022 "Couldn’t use the microwave not clean" Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. We usually score very highly on cleanliness as shown on other guests’ feedback. Our team takes great pride in ensuring the property is always spotlessly clean, therefore please accept our sincere apologies for the oversight with the microwave on this occasion. Thank you again for your feedback. Property Owner Reviewed by Gary3.1★Nov 2022 "Lovely place, nice and clean, very well looked after, great location for travelling around Cornwall." 100% recommend. Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner Reviewed by Harry5.0★Sep 2022 "Property only has 2 bathrooms not 3 as stated in the listing of the property." Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. The property has three WCs and two bathrooms, we will ensure the listing reflects this. We are pleased that you are happy with the overall cleanliness and comfort of your stay. Thank you for booking with us. Property Owner Reviewed by Geoff4.1★Sep 2022 "Lovely house , great location, lots of space, beautifully clean." So much nicer than the pictures suggest . We had a wonderful week in Cornwall. Thank you for letting us share your house. Thank you very much for the great feedback! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner Reviewed by Sian5.0★May 2022 "We really enjoyed our stay, house, location and facilities were perfect." Games room an added bonus. Recommend the Lemon Arms for good pub food 5 minutes walk away. The reason for the down grading of 'accuracy of listing' is that it clearly states that a bbq would be available but we were not allowed to use it, therefore should be taken off the listing. Otherwise great! Thank you very much for your feedback. It’s great that you enjoyed your holiday. Sorry you couldn’t use the BBQ on this occasion. Property Owner Reviewed by Alison4.7★Apr 2022 "The dishwasher perhaps needed repair/replacing but worked adequately without the filter and putting the tablets in the basket and not in the compartment." My husband slipped on vegetation on the path to the harbour and managed to break some ribs. This perhaps needs signage and/or regular clearing. Overall though the house was lovely Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased you found the house lovely overall. We have been informed that the dishwasher has been working fine and thanks for your feedback on that. Please be assured that our gardener clears all the paths regularly and we have now put up a sign to say that paths may be slippery when wet or icy as per your suggestion. Thank you again for your feedback, much appreciated. Property Owner Reviewed by Janet4.7★Apr 2022 "A beautiful house with lots of space and a great games room." Unfortunately we found it a little difficult to cook with so few utensils and cookware. We popped to Asda to buy some cookware (I even left a baking tray), but it wouldn’t take much to add a few things to make self catering a little easier, especially as the house can sleep 8. We had 6 guests stay and struggled. A shaver point and a hairdryer would also be welcome. Other than that, we had a lovely stay, the garden is great and our dog enjoyed running around the path looking for squirrels. The housekeeper was very friendly and organised fixing a problem in super quick time which was much appreciated. Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had difficulty cooking. We had to clear away many items during Covid and only left out the basic essentials. Please accept our apologies if you couldn’t find the baking trays (usually stored in the cupboard under the oven) and many thanks for leaving one behind! Thankfully since the easing of the Covid restrictions, we have now replaced all the items and equipment. We hope you will stay with us again and please don’t hesitate to contact us during your stay should there be any issues, so that we can rectify things while you are there. Thank you very much again for taking time to give us your invaluable feedback, much appreciated. Property Owner Reviewed by Julie3.8★Oct 2021 "Well catered for clean and very comfortable." we all enjoyed our break. We would recommend the local pub, think called lemon arms Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Property Owner Reviewed by David5.0★Oct 2021 "The location is excellent and the property is spacious and airy, but unfortunately our experience was lesser than anticipated owing to a lack of basics upon arrival (e." G. salt & pepper, cling film, tinfoil, kitchen tongs...) and the property is in need of some updating/repairs (e.g. a cooker hood would be helpful and the ground-floor toilet is completely loose and looks/smells like it may have been leaking). Happy to provide the owner with a more comprehensive list if they have a genuine desire to address all of the issues, but the best advice we could offer is for owners to stay in their property periodically to experience directly matters which need attention. Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you were lacking some of the basics - we had to clear away all the non-essential items during Covid . But thankfully since the easing of Covid, we have been able to replenish everything in the kitchen. We have also inspected the ground floor toilet to ensure there were no leaks. The first floor bathroom has been completely refurbished since your stay so we hope you will find the facilities satisfactory should you choose to stay with us again. Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. Property Owner Reviewed by Karl2.8★Sep 2021 "Excellent cottage clean tidy local pub lemon arms bus to Falmouth very good ..." Excellent cottage clean tidy local pub lemon arms bus to Falmouth very good local facilities excellent lovely views & walks Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner Reviewed by Steve5.0★Sep 2021 "Spick and span throughout the property." Lovely gardens. It was a perfect location to go visiting the local attractions such as Lands End//St Michael's Mount//Eden Gardens//Newquay etc. All the family were singing the praises of the whole experience. Several trips into Falmouth (only 4 miles away) were especially good. Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased you all had a good time! Property Owner Reviewed by ALAN5.0★Aug 2021 "Positive Position excellent with panoramic views from Dinging room and lounge Owner and Housekeeper resolved minor issue efficiently and quickly Very comfortable house for a party of 6 Negative If you enjoy cooking you will be disappointed with basic Kitchen equipment and crockery, a mishmash of wine glasses and no small fruit /salad bowels used ( used tea cups for prawn cocktails !" ) and many more examples Stayed at better equipped Holiday homes for a lost lest cost Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased you liked the panoramic view and found the house comfortable. We had to clear away many non-essential items during Covid and we are sorry you were therefore disappointed with the kitchen equipment. Thankfully since the easing of Covid, we have been able to replenish all the items in the kitchen. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused as we had to work with the necessary guidelines at the time. Property Owner Reviewed by Anthony4.1★Jul 2021 "Really enjoyed our stay, home and garden are kept lovely." Would definitely stay again ❤️ Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again! Property Owner Reviewed by Heather5.0★May 2021 "On the whole the house met our immediate expectations we felt as a couple in their later years that the main bed was too low so we moved to another bedroom ." We slept a lot better in here so it wasnt actually a problem.. My husband felt that the driveway took some negotiating , he felt that if the bushes had been trimmed down on the right hand side of the driveway it would have helped in manouvering whilst reversing but once again when he got used to it he was ok The views were absolutely stunning from each room .we really enjoyed the peace and quiet although it was not warm enough to sit in the garden .when we returned in.the evening We really enjoyed the holiday and consequently have booked for a week next year . Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and the views at the property. We look forward to welcoming you again! Property Owner Reviewed by John4.4★Apr 2021 "Very pleased with our stay." Very helpful owners and the place is as described Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner Reviewed by Dylan5.0★Oct 2020 "A fabulous property." Modern, light, airy and very comfortable. Great location close to village, creek and pub. Only a couple of minor things: A shaver point in bathroom would be useful. A line outside or rotary ( managed with airers). Loved the main living area and colourful pictures. By comparison, the bedrooms were a little bland ( but very clean and comfortable). Lastly, the main bathroom was looking a bit tired, but again clean and functional. Only minor things which wouldn’t stop me booking the place again. Just for owner feedback for potential improvements. Thank you, we really enjoyed staying. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for your very helpful suggestions - they have all been noted. We hope to welcome you again to our property in the future. Updated in 2022 - Further to your invaluable feedback, we have completely refurbished the first floor bathroom and to provide a shaver socket. We have also enhanced the decorations in all the bedrooms. Thank you again for your feedback. Property Owner Reviewed by Amanda5.0★Sep 2020 "Great place to stay" Reviewed by Ray5.0★Aug 2020 "Struggled to find a property that accommodated 8 with parking for 3 cars, then found this." It served its purpose, being relatively close to all the amenities that we required. Shop/pub 5 mins, beaches 4 miles, Truro 8 miles. However, the photos are obviously quite old as the property, whilst spacious and comfy, is looking very tired and in need of modernisation/updating. Parking for 3 hatchbacks is very difficult, ended up agreeing with a neighbour to park on side of the road. We have all experienced faster Dial Up wifi ! More information on Recycling would be useful. Having said that, in fairness, the property (covid rules) contained everything we needed. Reviewed by Peter3.8★Aug 2020 "I booked the cottage for a family get together and it worked very well, Plenty of space in all the rooms." The gardens looked lovely but unfortunately the weather was awful so we never got outside much. Picturesque views over the river. Minutes to walk to the local pub the Lemon Arms which is a friendly local which serves excellent pub grub. Also the local shop the same distance. An ideal location for anyone who wants to walk and also very near to Falmouth and Truro. I would definitely stay again. Reviewed by Margaret5.0★Feb 2020 "We found the lower floor of the building smelt very damp, and the bed down there felt damp." We are pleased to confirm that after a thorough inspection, we found no damp in the lower ground floor - not in the building or any of the furniture/bedding. We have had other guests since and they were happy with their stay. So we hope this gives you assurance and we look forward to welcoming you to Gwel-an-Gillan again Property Owner Reviewed by Sandie3.8★Aug 2019 "This house is fabulous." It is spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped, there was even dishwasher tablets and washing powder provided. WiFi, games plus a games room. The bedrooms are all very big with plenty of storage and super views. Lots of lovely fluffy towels. Beautiful garden. The location is wonderful, so easy to get around Cornwall. Also, a short walk to the quay and the Lemon Tree pub which I highly recommend for lovely, well priced food and friendly locals. The road up to the house was a lit disconcerting initially but not a problem once we got to the house. I thoroughly recommend this house. I have holidayed with Sykes in the past and they never let me down but this house is my favourite by far. A lovely house, superb location, fabulous holiday - thank you from us all. Reviewed by Diane5.0★Jun 2019 "Gwel an Gilan is a lovely spacious house ." We had a fantastic week there with friends. The accommodation was excellent. Comfy beds and lounge and dining room. The kitchen very well equipped and a games room too! The garden was lovely and well cared for. In the village of Mylor Bridge just a short walk to local shops. A post office small but well stocked village store, local butchers and fishmongers, and of course the lemon arms pub with excellent food and drinks. A great base to go exploring from. Would highly recommend renting this cottage and we would love to return! Reviewed by Josephine5.0★May 2019 There are no reviews featuring this term Show all reviews Show more Hide all Summary Over three floors Four bedrooms: 4 x doubles (1 on lower ground floor with TV, 3 on the first floor) Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC Ground floor WC with basin Lower ground floor shower room with WC and basin Entrance porch Kitchen/dining room Utility Open-plan living space with dining area, open fire and balcony Games Room. Oil central heating Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, 2 x TVs, WiFi and high-speed broadband Fuel and power inc. in rent Bed linen and towels inc. in rent Travel cot and high chair provided Selection of books, games and DVDs, table football and table tennis Off road parking for 3 cars Balcony at rear of property Front garden and enclosed rear garden with lawn, garden seating One well behaved pet welcome Sorry, no smoking Coast within paces Pub 10 mins walk Falmouth 4 miles Note: There are steps down to the right of the house to the rear garden and steps up to the patio and balcony area on the left Note: There is a more level path to the left for access to the rear lawn Note: Please supervise children. The property Paces from picturesque Mylor Creek in a coastal village setting, Gwel-an-Gillan boasts homely and spacious accommodation with water views. Tucked at the end of a tranquil cul-de-sac, this detached holiday home-stay has a wrap around garden and a welcoming interior for family, friends and couples seeking a bolthole for relaxation and recreation. The ground floor has a triple-aspect living room framing the garden and creek views beyond, big sofas and open fire for extra cosiness. The dining area is a great social space for foody gatherings. Open the doors onto the balcony, overlooking the lawns for play and alfresco dining. The modern kitchen with breakfast table and utility room have all the appliances. The lower ground floor has a bedroom for extra privacy and shower room, plus a games room for a game of ping-pong and table football. The three additional bedrooms on the first floor include one with views over the creek towards the sailing club. Mylor Harbour has boats and kayaks for hire, a fabulous way to explore the almost secret inlets of the River Fal. Discover the waterside footpaths to the 13th century Pandora Inn in Restronguet and to Flushing Beach, with its little shore and seascape towards Falmouth. Hire bikes at Devoran and peddle the Mineral Tramways Trail which forms part of the much famed coast-to-coast cycle route from east to West Cornwall. Falmouth is a colourful resort with beaches, big harbour, historic Pendennis Castle and The National Maritime Museum. Browse the galleries and gift shops, and eat in the myriad of restaurants, cafés and traditional inns. The King Harry Ferry at Feock bobs across the waters to charismatic Roseland Peninsula. The Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan are within a 40-minute car trip. After a day full of adventure, return to Gwel-an-Gillan, a superb retreat all year round. Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250. View on map About the location MYLOR BRIDGE Falmouth 4 miles; Truro 8 miles. A sought-after and picturesque village at the head of Mylor Creek that runs up from the Carrick Roads, the World’s third largest deep water harbour. Boats and sailing, wooded creeks, softly gliding water, riverside pubs and fabulous gardens epitomise the area. This friendly village has a superb selection of local shops (try the fresh fish!), a Post Office, a good pub and several restaurants within easy reach. The nearby harbour town of Falmouth with its exciting Maritime Museum and its castle, beaches and marina makes a great day out while the Cathedral city of Truro famous for its cobbled streets, theatre, museums and vibrant shopping centre should not be missed. Take the car, or a boat from Falmouth, for a trip up the stunningly beautiful Helford River and while there, call in at Glendurgan and Trebah Gardens for the horticultural treat of the year. The area is perfectly placed too for exploring the rugged cliffs, sandy coves and fishing villages of the Lizard Peninsula, also The Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan are both within an hour’s drive.