In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 11 minutes ago

1 of 17 View Image Gallery
  • Ocean Heights - Cornwall - 998268 - photo 1
close

Ocean Heights

(Ref. 998268)

Newquay, Cornwall Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (10)
  • location (8)
  • clean (8)
  • property (8)
  • great (8)
  • beach (8)

18 Customer Reviews

  • "I felt absolutely"

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Sep 2023

  • "Good location."

    2 parking spaces were a bonus. The property needs a bit of updating and a thorough clean. Some of the equipments need to be mended or replaced. The garden needs to be refreshed.

    Reviewed by Gordon2.8Sep 2023

  • "House is in a good location and has parking which is useful in Newquay."

    Nice lady neighbour to the right. House was nice enough but a very odd design in some respects. Living room is not comfortable for any more than 2-3 people to watch TV for any length of time. Downstairs toilet next to kitchen had a strange smell and a shaver point, which is odd in a downstairs toilet. En-suite bathroom has no shaver point and a sink on the opposite side of the room to the mirror, making shaving difficult. Also door handle was about to fall off but I fixed it. No spare bin bags provided which would have been useful given the strict rubbish disposal instructions. No hand towels for ground and middle floor bathrooms. Overall, it was ok, but I dont think we would book again.

    Reviewed by Robert4.1Jul 2023

  • "One standing shower for five adults is not acceptable,my 62yr old mother ..."

    One standing shower for five adults is not acceptable,my 62yr old mother couldn't get out of the bath as no hand rail was available not enough seating for comfort in the living room

    Reviewed by Charmaine2.8Jun 2023

  • "Lovely house with everything needed for a comfortable stay."

    Situated just back from the beach front with easy access to the town. Nice sized bedrooms with comfy beds!

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Jul 2022

  • "Lovely week spent at ocean heights."

    Location is perfect with only a 10 minute stroll into the town centre , or 3 minutes to the beach. House is lovely and spacious. Only down side was precious guests disposable bbq left outside on garden and crisp packets down the side of the sofa. In the en-suite bathroom a mirror is needed. Impossible to shave in there otherwise. The house is also very well insulated so in the summer ( hottest week of the year when I stayed ) it is very warm. However the windows open multiple ways. Space for two cars easily on the drive, again this is a big selling point as car parking in Newquay is limited. We had a great week here and would certainly book again.

    Reviewed by John4.7Jun 2022

  • "Everything about the cottage was amazing, from the great location close to a beach to the decor and cleanliness, the welcome tea and cream was a nice little touch too!"

    The agent made everything easy to understand with a lot of useful tips on the area available in the property, I would happily book here again!

    Reviewed by Sean4.7May 2022

  • "Tumble dryer was not working and we only found this out on arrival The bath ..."

    Tumble dryer was not working and we only found this out on arrival The bath and bathroom sink had an issue draining away which meant we had to clean them out after use each time Building site at rear of property was not mentioned in write up Didn’t get the full package offered in the advert No compensation or discounts offered

    The tumble dryer is brand new and is in good working condition. It was simply switched off at the wall. Our housekeeper texted guest upon arrival and was readily available to help resolve any issues or queries during the stay. She could have sorted these out immediately if guests had contacted her. The bath and bathroom sink drainage has now been checked and housekeeper has sorted this out. Like all home owners, we do not have control over activity in the surrounding area. The building site nearby is expected to be completed in early March 2022. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Malcolm4.1Jan 2022

  • "Comfortable accomodation and a great base for a week in Newquay."

    Due to the property there were a few snagging issues, doesn't affect use or enjoyment of stay.

    Reviewed by Rebecca4.1Sep 2021

  • "Great house in a lovely location, just a short walk to Tolcarne beach."

    The house was really well equipped, clean and comfortable. A couple of minor suggestions for improvement; it would be helpful if the owner could provide more than one house key, it made it difficult for us to go out separately having only one key. In addition, there did not appear to be anyway to recycle whilst at the house as there was just a black bin provided.

    Reviewed by Perri4.7Sep 2021

  • "The house is great."

    It was a comfortable base for us to explore Cornwall. There is construction work ongoing at the rear of the property. It starts early and is incredibly noisy on week days. It is long standing and will continue for some time. It would have been courteous to make that known in advance.

    The building development (Cliff Edge) nearby is scheduled and expected to be completed in February 2022. So, the noise from that development will not be an issue from March 2022 on-wards. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter3.8Jun 2021

  • "The accommodation ground floor is looking tired and was unfortunately in need of a good clean."

    The floor was grubby, the cooker-hood dusty, cobwebs all over the kitchen lights and bizarrely, a large amount of candle wax in and around a bulb in the kitchen ceiling light fitting. The microwave didn't work unless you held the door, the frying pan was dented, it didn't sit flat on the induction hob which made cooking with it near impossible. Luckily Tracey, the house contact, was able to resolve these issues (and the 'waxy' lightbulb) quickly. The oven lets out a lot of heat causing the control dials to become extremely hot - possibly needs looking into. The pillows were horrible - flat and hard on all the beds. There were only 10 pillows between 6 people when I would expect at least 2 pillows each. When stripping the linen at the end of the holiday, I was surprised to see there were no mattress or pillow protectors in the 1st floor double bedroom. For a house which is advertised as excellent for 6 adults, I would have expected at least 6 of each style of glass in the kitchen. There was a rather random mix with maximum 3 or 4 of any one style. The dining and lounge areas are really only suitable for 4 adults as they are quite compact. On the listing it states Ocean Heights has an enclosed lawned garden which it doesn't have. The crane and building site directly behind the property were also quite noisy - not within your control but it did impact the house during daylight hours.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the house. We are looking into the points raised and will rectify the issues accordingly. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah2.2May 2021

  • "This property was perfect for a three generation family with Nana staying on the top floor."

    We all settled in straight away after a long journey. Great location with Newquay centre, beach and zoo all walkable and easy access to the rest of Cornwall. Even with changeable weather we had a base we were happy to spend one in. Thanks for making our holiday start off well.

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0May 2021

  • "The holiday rental was clean and comfortable and within easy reach of Newquays beaches."

    It was great to come back and relax after a long day on the beach. The house was well equipped in a central position with everything we needed to enjoy and relax and we all felt safe. We have visited Cornwall for a number of years and love the freedom of having somewhere to come back to in the evening to relax. This year has been especially important with Covid that we wanted to enjoy a break with our family. Knowing we had a clean a d safe home to come back to made it easier for us to enjoy this break. We would recommend this property to friends and family Thank you

    Reviewed by Marie5.0Aug 2020

  • "The town house was just as described in the listing."

    Everything was in a new condition and the fitted kitchen had all the latest appliances. It was well equipped and the whole house was very clean. The location was ideal, 5 minutes from Tolcarne Beach, 5 minutes from Tesco Express a short walk from the Railway Station, restaurants and other major supermarkets with the rest of Newquay town centre, the harbour and it's beaches a 15-20 minute walk away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the surfing was great (as was the crabbing from the Harbour wall). One little criticism was that there were no instructions on how to use the appliances (induction hob, t.v, microwave etc) but we managed to figure it all out eventually. Other guests might (like me) be fooled by the hidden cutlery drawer, but there is a note about that in the black book.

    Reviewed by Lynda4.7Aug 2019

  • "Really nice house clean close to beaches and the maintenance man was very good at sorting any issues we had"

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Jul 2019

  • "Clean and nice home to stay ."

    ...

    Reviewed by Amandeep5.0Jun 2019

  • "Beautiful house in a location that makes it easy to get around Cornwall."

    Really enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0May 2019

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x second floor super king-size double with en suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x double, 1 x twin (zip/link can be super king-size double on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with dining area.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, Smart TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair, Stair gate and travel cot provided
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Shed for surfboard and equipment storage
  • Enclosed garden with patio, BBQ & furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop, pub and beach 5 mins walk
  • Note: There is a flight of steps up to reach the garden area.

The property

Furnished to a high standard, the contemporary townhouse is set over three floors in a residential area just 200 yards from Tolcarne Beach in Newquay.

Perfectly located for beach holidays, it is ideal for families, couples and groups of friends alike.

Passing through the hallway you enter a modern kitchen equipped with brand new fully-integrated appliances and into open plan living room with seating and dining areas and a 42" Samsung Smart TV.

Opening the sliding glass doors takes you out into an enclosed garden complete with decking and garden furniture for alfresco dining.

Upstairs there are two immaculate double bedrooms on the first floor and a large master en-suite on the second.

Beach lovers and will be spoilt for choice with three of Cornwall's finest within 5 minutes.

The coastal path offers superb walking with ample opportunities for swimming together with excellent places to eat en route.

A short walk will also take you into town with a choice of restaurants to suit everyone.

The perfect base for families, couples and groups of friends looking to explore Cornwall, with the benefit of two off road parking spaces directly outside.

World-famous Watergate Bay is a ten minute drive away along with some of Cornwall's most breathtaking coastlines.

A lovely contemporary house in a superb location for holidays all-year-round.

View on map

About the location

NEWQUAY

  • Holywell 6 miles
  • Perranporth 8.5 miles
  • Truro 14 miles
  • Padstow 14 miles

Newquay is the home of the UK’s surf scene, boasting three major beaches, the National Surf Centre and an endless supply of rolling surf, making it a watersports paradise. The town, with its zoo, sea life centre and varied selection of restaurants and pubs, also promises a holiday to remember. For avid walkers, the South West Coast Path passes in both directions along a stunning coastline of high cliffs, hidden coves and yet more beaches. The quaint harbour and fishing village of Padstow is just 14 miles away, while Truro, with its museums, cathedral, restaurants and cobbled streets, as well as the Eden Project, can be reached within 30 minutes. Picturesque St Ives and the Tate St Ives gallery is under an hour's drive or a train ride away. In fact, because nothing in Cornwall is far from Newquay, it’s the perfect touring base.

View more holiday cottages in Newquay

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas