Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 1 minutes ago

1 of 16 View Image Gallery
  • 16 The Coombe - Cornwall - 1100000 - photo 1

16 The Coombe

(Ref. 1100000)

Kilkhampton, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance

6 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a great stay kids loved it."

    Only 2 negative things was….. 1) Between the sofa cushions is full of rubbish and other bits. 2)Had to remove several spiders and cob webs above the bunk beds. Other than this we had a brilliant stay and would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by DonnaAug 2023

  • "When we arrived at the lodge the front panel of glass in the patio door was smashed, and held together with tape."

    We received no email or written communication about the door. The door was still held together by tape and bits of glass dropping out of it on the day we left. Inside the lodge it stank- we guess that it was spilt milk under the fridge, as the fridge is so small you couldn’t store the milk in the door- we moved a shelf and stored it in the salad draw. Which limited the space even more- not adequate for a family of 5 or 6 like it states to cater for. There is damp in the bathroom- it needs an extractor. Lastly the double bed in the second bedroom needs a new mattress as the springs are painful when you try to sleep- we bought a high tog duvet to help my daughter sleep. I would not recommend staying at this lodge.

    Reviewed by CarolineAug 2023

  • "Electric went on Tuesday night wasn’t able to get electric till Thursday at ..."

    Electric went on Tuesday night wasn’t able to get electric till Thursday at 3:30pm was horrible the pool was closed Wednesday so only got 1 day in there ,,,, there no WiFi anywhere

    I'm sorry you didn't find the accommodation satisfactory. I have spoken top my housekeeper who has assured me everything was clean and in order, including enough electric to get you through until you were able to purchase some cards. Your booking was for 2 people when in fact it has been bought to my knowledge there was at least 4 occupants. The information relating to my property states there is no WiFi or to that matter smoking of any kind is also not allowed. Can I just thank you for leaving the premises in such a disgraceful way ( that was really thoughtful)!!! Property Owner

    Reviewed by LiamJun 2023

  • "Thank you so much"

    Thank you for the positive feedback. Hope you had a wonderful time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KaterynaMay 2023

  • "Clean and tidy, everything what you may need was in place."

    Really nice place.

    Thank you for your positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a lovely holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PatrycjaJun 2022

  • "This cottage was OK but it was not cleaned when we arrived."

    There were sand all over the conservatory from the last visitors. The mouldy smell in the cottage was horrid and this is actually a health hazard, so we only used the property to sleep in, but still we have extremely sore eyes. There were fresh towels on the beds but I doubt the bed linen had actually been changed. On one of the unmade beds there were an old toothbrush from previous visitors. We arrived on a Sunday when the electric shop was closed and no £10 starter electric was left at the property (as promised in the summary detail). So we had to run around trying to find other holiday makers that could help us. I have fully cleaned the property before we left including the bathroom as I would feel sorry for anyone walking into that! I have also left £5 electric so that the next part is not in the same position as us. BUT the smell and mould spores I can do nothing about. I will be making a formal complaint.

    I can only apologise if the chalet was not as you expected. Having spoken to my cleaner she assures me everything was in order as advertised. We have recently been told by South West Water that there was a water leak near by which may have caused the smell. This has now been rectified. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KarinaMay 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Single-storey
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x family room with double and bunk bed
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining and sitting area
  • Conservatory
  • Electric convector heaters
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge with ice box, TV
  • Electric is provided by cards with the first £10 provided, please note that further cards can be purchased on site
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking available
  • One well-behaved dog welcome, please note dogs are not allowed in the bedrooms or on the furnishing
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.5 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Passes will be provided for guests to use the indoor swimming pool, these will be provided at the leisure reception upon showing your booking confirmation
  • Note: There is no wifi in the lodge
  • Please note that the window on the left of pictures 1 and 2 is now also patio doors, to enhance the guest experience.

The property

Nestled in the popular Penstowe Holiday Village in Kilkhampton, Cornwall, is this delightful two-bedroom lodge, 16 The Coombe.

Enjoying a superb location on the outskirts of the Hartland Cornwall Heritage Coast and on-site facilities, including two pools, 16 The Coombes is a wonderful dog-friendly base for a group or family of six, plus their four-legged friend.

Step into the light-filled conservatory, where you can enjoy a steaming cup of coffee in the mornings as you plan the day ahead.

Be welcomed into the open-plan living space, where you can look forward to rustling up flavourful meals in the well-equipped kitchen, ready to tuck-in to at the dining table for six.

After a hearty meal, kick back on the selection of plush seating in the sitting room as you find a family favourite to watch on the TV.

Pour in the bubbles and enjoy a soothing soak in the bath or wash away the day with a refreshing shower, before choosing from two well-presented bedrooms to catch your rest in, a double and a family room with double and bunk bed.

In the morning, why not indulge in a dip in one of the holiday parks fabulous swimming pools with passes kindly provided by the owner, you will have the choice of both an indoor and outdoor pool.

In the evenings where you don’t feel like cooking, why not take advantage of the restaurant and bars which can be found at Penstowe Manor, along with entertainment, squash, badminton and tennis courts!

If you can tear yourself away, the idyllic village of Kilkhampton offers a well-stocked convenience store and two welcoming pubs, The London Inn and The New Inn.

Take the short drive over to Bude, where you can spend a day bathing on the sands of Summerleaze Beach or trying your hand at the locals favourite watersport of surfing.

Keen walkers can easily access the famous South West Coast Path which offers some of the best sights and scenery in the area, or if that isn’t your thing, why not test out your swing at the Bude and North Cornwall Golf Club?

Explore the heritage coast, where you will find the charming village of Clovelly, home to the Clovelly Donkey Stables, 16th-century cottages, and a picturesque harbour.

Just a little further you can enjoy the delights of The Milky Way Adventure Park and the North Devon Wakepark.

Further afield, you will find the popular destinations of Boscastle, the Eden Project and Padstow.

All this and more awaits with a stay at 16 The Coombe.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Bude 4 miles.

Kilkhampton is an historic Cornish village, 4 miles from the popular Victorian seaside resort of Bude, one of Cornwall’s premier holiday locations. With its old church, village shops and atmospheric village pubs, Kilkhampton is a lovely place to relax after a hard day exploring the stunning beaches and spectacular coastal scenery for which the area is famous. Bude’s beaches attract surfers from all over the country and when conditions are right you’d be hard pushed to find better surf. When the tide is out, miles of golden sand and hundreds of rock pools keep visitors occupied for hours. The South West Coast Path, and many other rights-of-way winding over the clifftops and through lush green fields looking out over the sea, make this area a haven for walkers and lovers of the open countryside. For those who prefer staying closer to home, a good shopping centre and a selection of pubs, two clubs and restaurants are on offer. Bude canal, a registered nature reserve, passes through the town, and rowing a boat along its calm waters or walking the towpath among the beautiful (and friendly) water fowl that live among the reeds is a great way to spend an hour or two. Within the area there are also 2 golf courses, an indoor swimming pool, bowling alley at the leisure centre. A perfect location for all that North Cornwall has to offer.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas