Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 33 View Image Gallery
  • 4 Elm Terrace - Cornwall - 1120797 - photo 1

4 Elm Terrace

(Ref. 1120797)

Mevagissey, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (4)
  • harbour (3)
  • cottage (3)
  • our (3)
  • lovely (3)
  • cleaning (2)

6 Customer Reviews

  • "Perfect location, close to the shops pubs and restaurants."

    Spotlessly clean. Big windows letting in lots of light and views over the harbour. It was priced at the high end and at that price there is an expectation which I feel wasn't quite met. Positives:- really good quality reasonably equipped kitchen; huge lounge / dining area; three good size bedrooms (all on floor 1) and a quality fitted bathroom. Good power shower. Location. And even though it's in the centre of a busy fishing town/village it was quiet at night. But there are negatives:- the lounge tv is old and outdated and not a smart tv. Most people stream tv now and Netflix is the norm. There was an ancient dvd player but no DVDs. The cottage description says - a great spot to curl up with your loved ones in front of the fire (there isn't one) to watch a film (there is no way to watch film unless one that suits the whole family is on terrestrial tv). The lounge lighting needs to be reviewed as only 1 tiny lamp downstairs and it was too dark. We had to fetch a lamp down from a bedroom. Curtains downstairs are old, and threadbare. A proper Welcome pack is needed, I've never stayed in a cottage or airbnb that doesn't greet you with tea, coffee, sugar and a pint of milk in the fridge these days. We had a 7 hour drive to get there; a cuppa on arrival would have been nice. After searching the kitchen we found a handful of out of date coffee sachets and some old artificial sweeteners. Towels - 1 bath towel, 1 medium towel and 2 hand towels between us, for a week? Could we have had at least a bath towel each? It felt like the cottage was supplied with the minimum of necessities. The bedrooms were pretty uncomfortable. They look nice but are quite bare. The windows rattle. Beds were not great, with no Headboards. There are strong doggy smells on the bedroom carpets - they need cleaning or replacing. Bedrooms generally were a disappointment as just not very comfortable - we didn't sleep well and moved around trying all the beds! Internet instructions are incorrect in the welcome book, in fact the welcome book was lacking in a lot of ways. We had to work out the internet ourselves. Took us a while to get the oven on some instructions might help. On the whole this is a lovely well positioned holiday cottage but we would not stay again - it lacks finish and isn't very comfortable. I've only written this detailed review because it was priced at the high end costing us nearly £300 night. I use Airbnb a lot these days and the holiday home market has changed. Airbnb properties are offering more of everything including more luxury and comfort especially at this price range. Tea, coffee, and milk on arrival, even wine jam biscuits chocolate and local produce. A Smart tv is absolutely the norm and a basic item now. On the whole the cottage was a let down. Sadly we left two days early as the beds were so uncomfortable and the doggy smells upstairs started to be overwhelming. This property could be fabulous with a bit of investment and TLC. It's the difference that makes people revisit and recommend places to others. On the plus side Mevagissey is lovely, the fresh fish from the harbour a delight. The locals really friendly and a great choice on offer for dining out.

    Reviewed by Pamela2.8Apr 2024

  • "A beautiful house and location."

    Thank you

    Reviewed by Joe5.0Dec 2023

  • "Cottage was lovely and clean."

    Just a couple of small points .... Double bed was too short for 6'1" son making sleep a bit uncomfortable and difficult plus The sash windows in that bedroom don't stay open so had to prop them with trainers to get air into the room which was needed as it was warm.

    Reviewed by Loren4.1Jul 2023

  • "We had the most wonderful week and the cottage was lovely."

    Everything you could need and really close to the harbour in Mevagissey. We've booked our next visit already!

    Reviewed by Susanna5.0May 2023

  • "Unfortunately we found a number of unsatisfactory issues."

    Whilst I knew that pets were welcome the smell from the rugs was very unpleasant and overpowering so much so we rolled them up and put them under the stairs during our stay. We left a pan lid (already cracked) and a wooden spatula (already split) on a shelf as we felt they were unsuitable for use. A number of pots and pans required cleaning before use and the cupboard they were stored in was filthy. Microwave plate had not been cleaned. Grill pan was greasy and wet. Toaster had not been cleaned. We did enjoy our stay but the standard of cleanliness was very disappointing. I left a hand written copy of the above in the property.

    Thank you for your feedback and we apologize that you did not find the level of cleanliness at the cottage acceptable. We take this feedback very seriously and have spoken with our cleaners who are required to address all the issues you mention during each changeover. We understand the importance of quality control and the cleaning regime has been reviewed accordingly. Also, we have replaced the rugs with new (washable) ones and have also provided a new microwave since your stay. This is a cottage that allows pets and we will endeavor to make sure the cleaning is done to a high standard every time. Thank you again for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon2.5Apr 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay."

    The house was perfect - quiet, well appointed and steps from the village shops and harbour. Can't wait for our next stay.

    Thank you very much for your feedback! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ken5.0Mar 2023

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail, and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Living/dining room with electric fire
  • Storage heaters
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine
  • TV, DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Parking permit provided for 1 car in nearby public car park
  • Patio with bench
  • Sorry, no smoking and no pets
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles, Mevagissey Inner Harbour 0.3 miles, beach 0.6 miles Note: The walkway to the cottage is via a cobbled pathway, a ramp and 2 steps; ensure care is taken
  • Note: The car park is approximately 100 yards away
  • Note: Loading/unloading is accepted outside of the property
  • Please note the property will have bookings in place with pets until May 2024 - as of June 2024 the property will be pet free

The property

This traditional, stone-built cottage sits in a picturesque, elevated location overlooking the Cornish fishing village of Mevagissey.

4 Elm Terrace offers spacious accommodation, ideal for a fun-packed Cornish break for a family of six and two well-behaved pets, whilst set conveniently near a host of eateries, pubs, shops, the coastline, and the marina.

Be greeted into 4 Elm Terrace by its fabulous living/dining space, a bright and fresh room with plenty of plush seating, making for a delightfully peaceful spot to curl up with your loved ones and watch a favourite film together in front of the electric fire.

Next door you’ll find the well-equipped kitchen, perfect for rustling up delicious meals to enjoy whilst gathered around the dining table, both with plenty of charming seaside features to remind you of your wonderful coastal location.

A staircase lies centrally to the room, bringing you up to the first floor where you will find the three well-presented bedrooms, including a king-size with views of the stunning harbour at Mevagissey, a double, and a twin.

The interior is complete with a sleek family bathroom, where you can relax in a soothing bubble bath after a day of venturing along the Roseland Heritage Coast.

There is no shortage of things to do in Mevagissey as it provides a wealth of highly-regarded restaurants, bars and cafés, as well as a picturesque harbour that’s home to a museum and an aquarium.

Alternatively, the popular town of St Austell is just over five miles away, promising a lovely day out with its array of shops.

For further attractions, discover Charlestown and its Shipwreck Treasure Museum, and its history-rich port, or continue on towards Par, to tour the Eden Project, opt for an exhilarating afternoon of adventure sports, or take a stroll around the pretty grounds of Tregrehan Garden.

Make your family holiday one to remember with a stay at 4 Elm Terrace.

View on map

About the location


St. Austell 5.5 miles; Truro 16 miles.

The perfect Cornish fishing village, with winding cobbled streets and a picturesque harbour full of boats. Stunning walks lead along the coast in both directions, with sandy beaches, high cliffs and hidden coves to explore. The village has an excellent selection of pubs and restaurants, whilst just up the road are the Lost Gardens of Heligan. A ferry from Mevagissey to Fowey also runs daily between Easter and September. Spend some time at the Tall Ships harbour at Charlestown (7 miles) with its shipwreck museum, or among the tropical biomes of the world-famous Eden Project (11 miles). The stunning coastline, fabulous beaches and renowned gardens of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula are a short drive down the coast while Truro, with its shops, restaurants, theatre and cathedral can be reached by car in half an hour.

View more holiday cottages in Mevagissey

Please note the property will have bookings in place with pets until May 2024 - as of June 2024 the property will be pet free

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute