Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 6 minutes ago

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Westerly Cottage - Cornwall - 966086 - photo 1

Westerly Cottage

(Ref. 966086)

Penzance, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (23)
  • lovely (14)
  • all (13)
  • stay (12)
  • location (12)
  • bed (12)

32 Customer Reviews

  • "We've just thoroughly enjoyed a 2 night break at Westerly Cottage."

    It was a great base to explore a new part of Cornwall. The cottage was clean and well presented with a lovely welcome gift of Danish pastries and chocolate orange cake bites. The bed was comfortable and it was incredibly quiet, leading to some great sleep! We could easily have stayed longer. We did misread that there was a private courtyard rather than an area with shared access, which would have been easier with the dog but it was no issue to pop her on the lead and have a walk for her late night needs. There is a lack of phone signal in the area but the WiFi provided is good. The small spare room has a beautiful writing desk in it; this would make for a great space to work from if you were looking for a quiet break away but needed to keep up with work. The logs left were soon used after our first evening, but were easily and cheaply replenished at Lidl in Newlyn; we left it as well stocked as arrived. The fire made our stay homely and cosy. The cottage came with everything we needed. There is a bus stop outside, which others have mentioned, but it did little to detract from the enjoyment of our stay. We would fully recommend a stay here, and also a visit to The Ship, Paul for some great food and village pub ambience.

    Reviewed by Andrea4.7Nov 2023

  • "The cottage overall is good, we use to live locally so we know the area is lovely with easy access by bus or car into Penzance."

    Plenty of walks from the property though the road through Sheffield can be busy. The property was warm and bed comfy with lovely white hotel bedding. Shower good with plenty of hot water. Sofa needs replacing has its very saggy, small nest of tables would be good, there was no place mats or coasters for drinks, and lacked ovenproof dishes and oven gloves. Please put a blind back up in kitchen window as overlooked by the old Chapel we stayed here for 2 weeks when the nights were darker!! WIFI ok but not the best. In general we enjoyed our stay. Also nice to have a welcome tray on arrival.

    Reviewed by Tracy3.8Sep 2023

  • "Your General Feedback Would you like to provide feedback about the holiday property?"

    This will be shared with the property owner. The cottage was really nice. Here are the Pro's: 1. Spotlessly clean 2. Clean comfortable bed with lovely hotel quality bedding. 3. Good hot shower and great lighting in the clean bathroom. 4. Didn't expect the large fluffy towels so that was a great touch. 5. Lots of coat hangers in the wardrobe. 6. Kitchen well equipped with plenty of pots, glasses etc. 7. Cosy lounge but would benefit from either a larger sofa or an armchair. 8. Milk, scones, cream and jam in the fridge was a lovely touch - Thank you. The Cons (just one) a. Although the cottage was only about a mile from Paul & Mousehole it felt quite remote as the roads in my opinion were dangerous to walk down with 2 dogs as there is no footpaths and no grass verges. The cars were flying down it as well as lorries and buses. I would not have felt safe walking to the Kings Arms or to Mousehole so although we did visit a few times we took the car meaning one of us had to have soft drinks.

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Aug 2023

  • "Just returned from a week's stay at Westerly Cottage."

    Fantastic location for visiting many locations, all within 10 Miles of cottage. Bus stop right outside cottage, we caught The Lands End Coaster open top, hop on hop off bus for £7ea. The cottage was well equipped & clean. Lovely to find scones, jam & cream on arrival after a 5hr jny

    Reviewed by Joanne4.7Aug 2023

  • "Very nice place in a great location."

    Kings Arms local pub is a short walk with excellent food. The jam, cream, and scones in the refrigerator were a nice touch. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Trevor5.0Jul 2023

  • "Lovely cottage."

    We will stay again, no hesitation with our little dog. Position was ideal for getting to places with not much of a drive. Very peaceful and relaxing.

    Reviewed by Wendy4.4Jul 2023

  • "We had the most amazing time!"

    Thank you for your cream tea welcome!! The best location, an ocean view from the bedroom , very clean and comfy - everything you need! P.S. Short beautiful walk to Mousehole xx

    Reviewed by Elena5.0Jun 2023

  • "When we arrived at the property we were greeted with a musty smell."

    Because the weather was not the greatest we decided to put the log fire on only to find no kindling or starter pack so had to go out in the wet and cold to get our own. Then we noticed the hot water wasn’t very hot, found out the hot water tank was not switched on. Parking is very hit and miss as to where you can park. Only place to dry clothes was outside which wasn’t very helpful when it was raining so had to have clothing hanging all over the place to try and get dry. Stairs very steep and no handrail (I thought) so if unsteady on your legs not the best. I’m probably being very picky but these are my thoughts on the place

    Reviewed by Stephen2.5May 2023

  • "We visited in April to celebrate my partners 30th birthday."

    The cottage was beautiful, but unfortunately filthy. We spent the first night cleaning thick black dust & cobwebs from the living room, kitchen, stairs and bathroom. There was also food splashed up the tiles and wall by the job in the kitchen, and obvious black mould around the mastic around the countertop. The counters were also sticky, including the kitchen island which was varnished & had newspaper print stuck to it. Literally a few seconds with a wipe and it was gone, which would suggest none of the surfaces had been wiped down. We also had to re wash the white bed linen as although it was of good quality, there were several questionable orange marks, and the throw also had a lot of black dog hair on it, as well as the marks. We have two dogs ourselves so don’t expect it to be pristine, but one run through the washing machine with a normal amount of vanish (found in the kitchen cupboard under the sink) & the stains and most of the hair had gone. When we removed the bedding the mattress had a lot of liquid marks and debris, just a hoover and a waterproof mattress protector from Asda would have helped with this. There was also a lot of black mould in the bathroom and in the kitchen. There was also some in the airing cupboard but that wasn’t an issue. The issue was the large pieces that we were able to remove just by buying a £1 bottle of Astonish mould remover the next morning. We felt dirtier for showering the next morning & then found black mould the size of the palm of my hand where the bread boards were stored, making direct contact with something used in food prep. Yes the cottage was older, the doors were a bit stiff and the window in the living room leaks, but the cottage was filthy. The sofa in the living room also needed restuffing, as you could feel the wooden slats underneath you. This one wasn’t a major issue, but will also point it out whilst I’m here! To make it worse, Sykes communication with the owner was awful. We arrived on the Sunday & spent the evening cleaning, as well are part of Monday morning. We were told the owner would come by Monday night (so we stayed in) but they never did. Tuesday morning we were told there had been a communication error & he would turn up at some point that day, but to leave the keys to the property in the lock box for him to gain access. I had already told them we had cleaned everything but the shower & the thick hair & dust around the fridge (we refused to cook there even after scrubbing it, so left it as it was making us retch & generally upsetting at this point!) Tuesday night we got back to nothing changed, with a message from Sykes saying the owner would now be visiting Wednesday morning. That night we decided to cut the ‘holiday’ short & drive the 6 hour journey home the next morning. After getting home & contacting Sykes several more times, we were given a partial refund of £200. The original booking was £370. I understand people need to make a living, but my partners break to celebrate his 30th birthday was ruined because of a build up of black mould and thick, dark dust, cobwebs and questionable marks allover the bedding. I did think a lot about holding off on such a negative review, but the cottage was filthy & I would be embarrassed living in that, let alone renting it out for a week at £370. I really hope that since our stay the cleaning regime has been changed, or if the owner finds out that a stay has been that bad they could make contact with the customer. We weren’t able to contact them, but we’ve used Sykes several times before this & the owners have always had access of our numbers & messaged us with access details or just introducing themselves which was a nice touch before our stay. Just a suggestion but would have probably softened what happened. Also a broom would have also helped in the cottage. Positive points were that it was nice to watch the cows in the field opposite in the morning & the cottage was very pretty (if you squinted)

    Thank you for your feedback, we are really sorry that you experienced these issues during your stay. We have sent a quality assurance assessor to the property following your experience and the points you have raised are being looked into and rectified. We did offer 2 re-cleans during your stay however, you were not happy to accept. Should a re-clean have been carried out most of these issues may have been rectified during your stay hopefully making for a more enjoyable week. Again, we apologies for your experience with us and this is in stark contrast to other reviews. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kerry1.9Apr 2023

  • "+ ideal rural retreat, v clean, scones/ cream a nice touch!"

    -Front door sticks and hard to open. Back door doesn’t close without locking it. Back door Key lock difficult to use. Above kitchen island cupboards ill fitting and flap open. Below cupboard by microwave won’t close and is open at all times. 2 logs and no kindling/ fire lighters hardly a fire starter pack! Upstairs bedroom door doesn’t close- mechanism needs attention. Hand towel rail in bathroom loose and needs restating. All the above clearly long standing issues which could easily fixed by owner or their agents so why have they not been done?

    Reviewed by Nicholas3.1Jan 2023

  • "What a lovely place."

    The bed was nice and big very comfortable.very good shower,just loved how the bus was just outside.has I done drive it come in very handy.over all had a lovely time and would stay again .only one thing was that it said I’d have a starter pack of wood for fire well only had one bit of wood.but still had a great time.

    Reviewed by Kim5.0Oct 2022

  • "Lovely little cottage - everything you could want for a short stay and thoughtful welcome pack and logs ."

    Only downside is the rear space which isn’t really useable as it’s shared and not at all private as you have to duck under neighbours washing etc . The local bus service is great but buses stop right outside the bedroom window! But for the price and location it’s really good value.

    Reviewed by Michelle3.4Aug 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage, loved it."

    Felt like a home from home. Loved the location was perfect for us with our car because we explored most of Cornwall from here. Provided really lovely high chair and cot. Would be even better if you could get rid of the damp smell (quite bad in the lower kitchen cupboard) and update the bathroom, but for the price I think it’s such good value. Thank you for a lovely stay x

    Reviewed by Alison4.4Jul 2022

  • "Brilliant little cottage in a quiet location."

    Definitely got away from the stresses and strains here. Would definitely go again.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0May 2022

  • "There was no hot water from the kitchen tap."

    The cottage is in a fantastic location.

    Thank you for your feedback. We have spoken with the owner and it sounds like the immersion heater was off. There are instructions on how to turn it on and where to find it in the property information. - Best wishes, The Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew2.8May 2022

  • "We had a wonderful stay and loved the cottage it was cosy and comfortable it was just perfect for what we wanted."

    Reviewed by Julie4.1Apr 2022

  • "Fabulous cottage had all the facilities we needed."

    Log burner was nice.The bus stop right outside the door was handy.

    Reviewed by Alan4.7Nov 2021

  • "Unfortunately we didn't stay longer then 8 hours but it was clean and well ..."

    Unfortunately we didn't stay longer then 8 hours but it was clean and well stocked a little but of damp but a very old building and only to be expected, thankyou for leaving us the afternoon tea and logs we wish we could have used them

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to stay for the full duration of your stay. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the cottage in the short time that you were there. We do hope we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laurie4.1Oct 2021

  • "We had booked this cottage a few months ago for a week in July."

    After having to cancel our holiday to cornwall twice already due to Covid we were really excited to come down. The cottage is small but lots of space for 2. The facilities are good and even though it was July we used the fire a few times during the storms. Unfortunately the main issue for us was cleanliness, they were dead bugs squished on the walls, a stain on the mattress, mould and damp around the windows and the cutlery was dirty in the drawers. There was also curry stains down the cupboards. We paid over £800 for a week at this cottage which to us is a lot of money. Unfortunately it really needed a good clean for us to be happy and considering Covid you’d hope to be staying somewhere that was sparkling clean. We’re not overly fussy people but just disappointed that this hasn’t been kept on top of considering circumstances. Good location, cottage is cute but that’s it really..

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we take all comments seriously and are sorry to hear this. Had you contacted us during your stay we would have sent our housekeeper to rectify these issues immediately. Please be assured that we will be following this up. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Danny2.8Jul 2021

  • "Nice little cottage needs a little tlc."

    Ie shower was not brilliant, there's nice walks all around within 0.4 miles away

    Reviewed by Jason3.8Jun 2021

  • "Westerly is a lovely little cottage with a beautiful, comfortable living area and bedroom which overlooks green fields as far as the eye can see."

    The bus was handy and there are excellent walks. Paul pub is close by. I loved staying here and will be returning.

    Reviewed by Brenda5.0Jun 2021

  • "Place a little bit tired, but had all the necessaries."

    Access code to WiFi was a challenge to find

    Thank you for your feedback. The WIFI code is on the back of the router but also in the information pack. We have taken on board your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon4.4May 2021

  • "The only thing that spoilt is was the fact that one of the keys for the front door was broken."

    Initially a helpful staff member told me that another key would be brought to me. However, the next day I was told I should just use the back door. This made it more difficult to load the car when leaving.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. Please accept our apologies for the fact that the key was broken. We did arrange for a professional locksmith to attend the property as soon as possible; new keys have been cut onsite and there should be no further problems. We look forward to welcoming you at Westerly Cottage in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenny3.8Apr 2021

  • "Arrival to cottage and entry in was easy."

    Cleaner was running late, but very professional, friendly and apologetic - no issues here at all, as Covid cleaning taking a little longer. Cottage in good condition, great kitchen appliances and wonderful log burner. Unfortunately, had an issue with the mattress on the first night, the springs were poking through. Contacted Sykes, and what great job you did in sorting it out. In under an hour, I had email from Sykes confirming owner would allow us to buy a memory foam mattress topper and refund us. All sorted in under 2 hours. Cant really ask anymore. Well done Sykes and a big thanks to the landlord for being so professional. Will definitely book through Sykes again.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We glad to hear that you were happy with our response. The owner has now installed an award-winning mattress which exceeds all British standards. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ralph4.7Oct 2020

  • "This was a stunning cottage in a great location."

    It had everything we needed and more. We were greeted with a lovely welcome basket when we arrived which was a lovely touch. Will defo recommend and would happily go back.

    Reviewed by Emily5.0Aug 2020

  • "Most of the doors were a struggle to close properly (needs the attention of a carpenter) Wfi access is not clear on arrival we had to sort ourselves should be in the welcome pack."

    Garden feature is not completey as described and is overlooked in all directions

    Thank you for your feedback. The owner has confirmed that the WiFi code is clearly displayed on the rear of the hub. The main entrances and exits to the house have been installed by a professional carpenter and the internal doors are entirely in keeping with the character of an early 19th century cottage. Westerly Cottage sits at the heart of a cluster of old dwellings and we do make it clear on the website, that there is shared access to the rear of the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kay3.4Jul 2020

  • "Just returned from a very comfortable stay in this lovely little cottage."

    Arrived in cold , wet and windy weather to find the heaters on and the cottage very warm and cosy. Parking was just down the street and the cottage had everything we needed for a weeks' stay including a very good log burner. The location was great for us - easy access to Newlyn , Penzance , Mousehole and all the coastal walking we wanted.There's a bus stop outside the door and The Kings Arms is a stroll along the road.We cooked in most nights and found the kitchen to be well equipped , the bed was comfy and the cottage clean. Very nice property for a winter stay.

    Reviewed by Serena4.1Jan 2020

  • "Had a nice break , the cottage a bit grubby round the edges work surface in the kitchen sticky."

    Would say the cottage is not suitable for a dog, the garden is much smaller than the photo looks and was unaware it was not secure.As the weather was very wet , nothing obviously to do with the cottage, but making it very hard to have a wet dog there. Need to be more honest with photography and really feel you should not allow pet there.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to comment, we're really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. 'Westerley' welcomes up to two well behaved dogs and we think it's entirely suitable, however we agree that it's important guests understand the patio is not enclosed with shared access past it. We recognise this is important which is why we're careful to mention it in the description. We're happy you had a good stay and we hope to welcome you back soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eileen3.1Sep 2019

  • "Property was not up to standard of quality we expected given it's 3 keys."

    Cottage was not as clean as should have been and some kitchen basics we're missing (measuring jug). Patio area is not private and following our complaint the description of the property has been amended. Location of cottage is very good for exploring this area of Cornwall.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your feedback. We've discussed this with the owners who are very apologetic for the inconvenience of finding the cottage in the condition that you did. We would like to let both you and future guests know that following your stay the owners have employed the services of new cleaners in order to ensure the property is presented to visitors thoroughly clean and as expected. We'd like to reassure guests that they can have confidence when staying here. We are very sorry that you experienced some issues, but we do hope that you overall had an enjoyable stay and we very much hope to see you again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter1.9Jul 2019

  • "The cottage its self is lovely, really well placed clean and comfortable and with very peaceful views over the fields to the sea."

    There is a bus stop right out side the front door that makes it easy to go and explore with out taking the car, The garden\ patio however was a big disappointment the pictures are taken from a hugely misleading angle and give the impression that this is a privet cozy area, It is not !! it is and open area in the middle of the neighbors washing, it is not enclosed at all and has an access way running through it so there is no useable out side area for an other wise very dog friendly cottage. had we known this we probably would have booked another cottage as an out side space was important to us. we do understand that space is a premium in this kind of accommodation but I feel that the pictures and the description we deliberately miss leading.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback following your recent stay at Westerly Cottage. We have spoken with the owners regarding your comments on the patio and he has confirmed the patio belongs exclusively to Westerly Cottage but there is indeed a right of access, otherwise known as an easement, to enable other residents to reach the rear of their properties, this is quite common amongst terraced Cornish cottages of over 100 years in age. We do mention this on our websites and can only apologise if you did not see this. We hope despite your comments you enjoyed your stay in the Westcountry. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lindsey4.1Jun 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely and cosy ,and the log fire make the cottage even more homely, the pure white bed coverings made you feel like you when in a top class hotel."

    the views are brilliant looking over to the sea, all the things you needed when in the cottage are there. to make it a home from home, the bus service to every where in right outside your front door and very regular ,so if you didnt want to use the car you didnt need to, the local pub is great ,food ,live music and staff very helpfull, lovely walks in the countryside with maintains pathways, and newlyn and penance in walking distance,mousehole has all the things like galleries, shops,restaurants like a mini st Ives. i couldn't fault anything about the cottage or area,very peaceful and dog friendly with water bowls outside local front doors nad shop doors and every where dog allows ,even dog bowls in cottage ,plus scones,creams are there on your arrivals plus cottage niegthbours are so friendly ,big thank you to all the team making our stay memorable

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Apr 2019

  • "A lovely little cottage in a great location."

    particularly liked the extra touches of scones and cream on arrival also treats for the dog. Definately recommend

    Reviewed by Judy5.0Feb 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • 1 x double
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Electric heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for fire/stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking
  • Travel cot and highchair available
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 mile
  • Note: Small patio at rear with furniture (path in front of patio has shared access by four cottages, not enclosed)
  • Note: Stairs are steep and narrow

The property

This stone-built mid-terrace sits on the roadside, overlooking a patchwork of colourful fields in the hamlet of Sheffield in Cornwall.

Set just a few miles from Penzance and a stone's throw from Mousehole, this pretty cottage offers a cosy setup for romantic couples seeking a break near the South Cornish coast.

Bring your loved one to share an open-plan interior with exposed stonework and ceiling beams, layered with contemporary colourways and beautiful furnishings adding bursts of character throughout.

The kitchen is well-appointed for two, with a cosy dining area enjoying candlelit dinners in front of the wood burning stove.

Curl up on the sofa of an evening and enjoy the Smart TV or plan further activities for the days ahead.

Upstairs, the double bedroom enjoys beautiful views across open farmland and glimpses of the sea.

The shower room offers a delightful final touch to the property, with a walk-in shower cubicle and all-white finish.

Out on the rear patio indulge in an afternoon drink at the bistro set bordered by established shrubs and pretty flowers.

Mousehole is a popular fishing village between Penzance and Land’s End, with a picturesque harbour and a maze of streets offering a few local pubs, shops and tearooms.

St Michael's Mount can be seen in the distance at Mounts Bay, with its hilltop castle and Mediterranean gardens.

Penzance offers further amenities including; Penlee House, museum and art gallery, Trengwainton Garden and Chapel Street, with its eclectic mix of buildings.

Take a trip to Lands End, Britain’s most south-westerly point and one of the country’s most famous landmarks, where you can admire the most awe-inspiring coastal views.

A fantastic getaway for two!

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


St Ives 8 miles. Helicopter to Isles of Scilly - 30 minutes

Penzance hosts Golowan, the Midsummer Carnival, and The Literary Festival. There are also The Exchange, Newlyn and Penlee Art Galleries. One of Cornwall’s most popular holiday areas is the spectacular sweep of Mount’s Bay, from the cliffside fishing village of Mousehole through Penzance and around to beautiful Marazion, the coastline hides a wealth of sandy beaches, rocky coves as well as winding village streets and other places to visit and explore. Connected by a causeway to the shore at Marazion is the National Trust’s stunningly beautiful St Michael’s Mount with its hilltop castle and Mediterranean gardens. Walk across at low water and take one of the ferry boats back when the tide is up. Penzance with its winding streets, shops, clubs, restaurants and harbour is a must as it is the jumping-off point for day trips to the Isles of Scilly as well as being the harbor. The South West Coast Path passing through Penzance winds its way along the clifftops towards Land’s End. On the way, stop off for a coffee and a rest at beautiful Lamorna Cove, explore the open air Minack Theatre and marvel at the cliffs as you approach Gwennap Head. A stunning walk for those seeking solitude, exercise and some of the UK’s best coastal scenery. Penzance is the perfect holiday base. Ideally placed for exploring this land of Celtic myth and legend and with enough to do and see in the immediate area to keep all the family occupied.

View more holiday cottages in Penzance

Note: Small patio at rear with furniture (path in front of patio has shared access by four cottages, not enclosed).
Note: Steep stairs

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas