Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 3 minutes ago

3 people have recently viewed this property

Red Peg

Kingsand And Cawsand, Cornwall (Ref. 976410)

4.8

Excellent

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 3

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

28 Customer Reviews

  • "Red Peg more than met our must have a sea view holiday requirements."

    The location is fantastic, the apartment very comfortable and well equipped. We were very sad to leave and will 100% be back.

    We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AdamMar 2022

  • "Took a mini break away to fit in as respite from medical treatment."

    We'd really enjoyed seeing the sights of relatives who have lived in the area, spending hours just watching the views from the apartment and exploring the nearby villages and coastal paths. Having said about the outside, the apartment was perfect, bathroom with a wonderful walk in shower, everything required in ways of cleaning products, fresh coffee for the machine was an added luxury and wonderful to sit back with breakfast in the mornings, occasionally on the balcony which we'd found plastic mugs, ideal using outdoors. Even the clothes horse was a great bonus so washing was ready for taking home. A wonderful and perfect place to stay again.

    Thank you so much for your amazing feedback and we're really pleased it provided the respite you needed. We look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by YvonneFeb 2022

  • "The property was extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean ."

    It was very spacious and comfortable with an amazing view . The fort had a very extensive library for books , dvd's and jigsaws in case of wet weather and there is extensive walking all round the area . The apartment is perfect for getting away from the crowds and there is always something to see from the fabulous window and balcony .

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We agree there is always something to see from the window - storms are the best! Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhilNov 2021

  • "Our stay at Red Peg was the most delightful and relaxing as you can get ."

    Loved everything about it just looking out at the sea through the window as we were just sitting there was a dream . Everything was there for you and comfortable as well and had a seagull every morning looking in don't see that often but made me laugh. Thank you again for an amazing stay.

    Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we're so pleased you love it as much as we do. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulNov 2021

  • "A Real Gem !"

    Stunning views changing all the time. Lovely apartment, comfy bed and sofa. Balcony was magic. No telescope though. Beaches nearby and water taxi to Plymouths ocean city ! All the people there are cool and relaxed. The harbour and boats were picturesque.

    Reviewed by CliveSep 2021

  • "Wonderful views from the apartment."

    Very comfy bed. Helpful owner. Great choice of walks.

    Reviewed by LeslieJun 2021

  • "The communication with Helpful Holidays was extremely poor and not to have received information from the owner regarding the key combination until 7pm the night before our holiday was due to start was exceedingly bad (and then only after 2 calls from us to HH)."

    The process didn't seem to be understood by HH despite it being their process! It was a good job we did speak to the owner however, she was very helpful and she told us that towels were not provided which was contrary to what was stated on the website. The apartment was very nice , clean and well equipped and the view was amazing, however some instructions on how to use the appliances would have been useful (I guess this kind of thing has been impacted by Covid, but lamenated info cards could be provided). We enjoyed our holiday and will very likely go back another time.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback, we were sorry to hear there was a misunderstanding in regards to the owner contacting you prior to your stay. We have spoken to the owner regarding the points raised and they have apologised on the oversight on this occasion. Despite this we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Red Peg. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NickMay 2021

  • "I've stayed at the Red Peg before - hence I booked again as it is comfortable, clean and the views over Plymouth Sound are stunning."

    There's everything you need in the apartment for a relaxing holiday. I can highly recommend it.

    Reviewed by BarbaraDec 2020

  • "Red Peg in reality is more than the details show."

    The flat itself is excellent- clean and tidy with quality furnishings and a good size well equipped kitchen. But the views are amazing. Watching sunrise and sunset each day from the balcony and hearing the sea at night were some of the highlights. Joanne the owner was lovely as we had a few questions which she helped us out with Our stay there was great and I’m sure we will be going back when we’re able to. Thanks again to Joanne and Sykes for a fantastic week.

    Reviewed by PaulOct 2020

  • "Usual high standard which led to a peaceful, relaxing break."

    Reviewed by John Richard GrahamOct 2020

  • "We have stayed in two other fort picclecombe apartments, but found this one the ..."

    We have stayed in two other fort picclecombe apartments, but found this one the best it was situated in a better position for the views, and we found it more comfortable,

    Reviewed by PhilipAug 2020

  • "We have stayed here before and fully confirmed our previous excellent impression of this wonderful apartment."

    Qur previous visit was in summer and we were concerned about being warm during a winter stay but no worry each room was heated to a comfortable level and easily controlled.The only slight problem we had was a failure of the lift to our floor on our last morning,but a helpful resident showed us an alternative lift which came up as far as the floor below ours.We shall look to stay again

    Reviewed by MichaelDec 2019

  • "We had a fantastic time views were out of this world, well equipped apartment with everything you need Joanne was very helpful would I stay again yes yes yes I would, sea scape changes by the hour, area is easy to get to and easy access to all places, we were sad to come home, Joanne you are a lucky lady."

    Reviewed by WarrenNov 2019

  • "We have used helpful holidays for 4 previous holidays and been really pleased."

    There was no welcome pack of any kind. Unfortunately the property had a very poor mobile signal and no land line so if there had been an emergency you would have a problem. There was no WiFi and only basic tv.There was only 1 tea towel provided for a week with no dishwasher which is very poor. There were lovely gardens and a pool but you could not access them without security codes which were not provided. There was no information on the heating although it was stated there was a leaflet somewhere in the kitchen which we never found. The saving grace was the view.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback following your recent stay at Red Peg. We are delighted to confirm that WiFi is now provided at Red Peg. We have asked our housekeepers to ensure that 2 or 3 tea towels are provided in future. We do not advertise having a dishwasher but this is something we are considering for next year. The pool is not available to guests, but the gardens are free for guests to wander around. We have checked, and are happy to confirm that the information folder does give full information on how to work the heating. We are sorry if you did not find this during your stay. Despite the points raised we are very pleased you enjoyed the beautiful views Red Peg has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JacquelineJun 2019

  • "Initial contact with owner not straight forward,main phone number not available,had to use mobile number."

    Note that no code is necessary for the gate,it's always open,please update initial info.Flat is reasonably equipped kitchen wise but there are some short comings elsewhere.Plug for recharging razors missing bur contacted owner and it was delivered the next day.Water pressure very poor,hot water was a problem it was hot at first then decided that was it,we had to boil the kettle.No soap dish in shower although it was a very good shower and hot too. The view was excellent and the permanent residents friendly and most helpful.Despite earlier reviews there were plenty of towels available,just as we left the pool was opened and it is heated and set in lovely gardens.Good walks all around but take a map of the Tamar Valley.

    Reviewed by JoanMay 2019

  • "Our holiday was fantastic."

    Red peg was very comfortable and the views were brilliant. We will definitely be going back.

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2019

  • "Easy to book."

    Apartment was as described. Very comfortable, clean and modern. Everything was provided in the apartment to make the holiday a lovely week away.

    Reviewed by GillianMay 2019

  • "Great location."

    Outlook constantly changing, enjoyed the maritime activity- learnt something about naval ships, and to identify them! Would love to come back

    Reviewed by AnnisMar 2019

  • "It is a lovely apartment with views looking out over the sea."

    Oystercatchers rest overnight on the slipway visible just outside of the window. Very restful atmosphere. Would highly recommend the apartment, and the location.

    Reviewed by John Richard GrahamOct 2018

  • "As previously referred to by some one else, only two medium sized towels was ..."

    As previously referred to by some one else, only two medium sized towels was stingy but otherwise was a lovely place, flat was comfortable and in a good position , the balcony was definitely a bonus

    Reviewed by DavidSep 2018

  • "The view across the bay was superb with ships, both RN and others, so often present."

    Red Peg was ideal for two persons, village shops were not too far away, likewise ferries to Plymouth. Our break there exceeded our expectations though it must be admitted that for most of the time the weather was quite perfect. Should we decide to look again at Cornwall we will almost certainly return to Red Peg.

    Reviewed by JohnSep 2018

  • "A single bath and hand towel between the 2 of us seemed a little mean."

    At 5' 1" I couldn't safely reach crockery and glasses from the kitchen units. We have stayed at Fort Picklecombe before and know it is a good base with fantastic views.

    Reviewed by AlisonSep 2018

  • "We had a wonderful time in Red Peg."

    The wonderful views, the beautiful area, the very nice apartment made our expectations more than true! Hans en Adje from the Netherlands

    Reviewed by HansJul 2018

  • "Lovely apartment."

    Well equipped with all you might need for staying in such a unique place. Outstanding views.

    Reviewed by TeresaJul 2018

  • "Perfect appartment perfect site lovely weather very friendly owners and tenants in adjoining appartments"

    Reviewed by MichaelMay 2018

  • "Lovely comfortable flat, wonderful views."

    Great walks nearby.

    Reviewed by KevinApr 2018

  • "Well what can I say about this amazing Apartment!"

    We have been staying at the Fort for some 15 years or so and have staying in several different Apartments but this exceeds all of them by far! It was spotless & extremely well equipped, with very tasteful decoration and furnishings all to a very high standard. A beautiful Apartment with fantastic views!! What more can you ask for? If I had to mark this Apartment out of 10 it was be 12/10 with no hesitation at all!!

    Reviewed by AmandaApr 2018

  • "Really stunning views from apartment and so comfortable."

    Excellent location for touring the Rame/Torpoint peninsula

    Reviewed by JohnMar 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday

Summary

  • One level (top floor)
  • 1 x double bedroom
  • Shower room with shower, WC, basin
  • Open plan living space with kitchen area, dining area, seating area, one double sofa bed and doors to balcony.
  • Electric panel heaters
  • Washer-dryer, microwave, small freezer, larder fridge, electric cooker, WiFi, TV/DVD Dualit coffee machine, Bluetooth speaker, telescope
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for one car in a reserved parking space
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking.

The property

Red Peg is a studio apartment on the top floor of Fort Picklecombe, the striking 19th century former fort perched beside the sea.

With amazing views all around, along the Devon and Cornwall coasts, it is a fascinating base for relaxing watching the nautical world go by (telescope provided).

Leave your boots and coats in the hall and head into the open plan living space where you can sit comfortably and observe an ever-changing scene of passing ships and the light shining over the waves.

Slide open the doors to the balcony on a fine day and bring the outside in.

A table and chairs are provided on the balcony, so you can even dine alfresco by just stepping outside.

The double bedroom is separated from the living area by more sliding doors, which, with the blinds raised, give you the decadent opportunity to lie in bed and gaze at that view.

Bring your water sports and walking gear, which can be left in the outer hall, giving you the perfect opportunity to enjoy the beaches and sailing opportunities around pretty Kingsand and Cawsand, as well as walking the fabulous Mount Edgcumbe estate with its grand house and extensive gardens.

For the vibrant buzz of Plymouth, it's easy to catch a pedestrian ferry or the car ferry to the Ocean City, where you can go to the theatre, shop, eat out and visit the National Marine Aquarium.

With all this within convenient reach, as well as those timeless sea views to linger over, Red Peg really is a stunning destination.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

KINGSAND AND CAWSAND

The twin villages of Kingsand and Cawsand, with narrow streets winding between pastel-coloured cottages, lie on the Rame Peninsula just 5 miles from Plymouth.

View more holiday cottages in Kingsand And Cawsand

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it