Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 40 View Larger Image
  • Fisherton Cottage - Cornwall - 959619 - photo 1
close

Fisherton Cottage

Bude, Cornwall (Ref. 959619)

4.6

Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 5

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

24 Customer Reviews

  • "I found Fisherton Cottage to be of a tired appearance and in need of some modernisation."

    The whole house needs a thorough deep clean. The ceilings are covered in cobwebs. The settees and chairs were grubby and the cushions were dirty. The bathroom was very old and the toilet and surrounding pipe work at the back was filthy and so I had to buy bleach and give it all a thorough clean before use. The bath was also dirty with hairs etc. I found the beds to be clean and the kitchen was clean. I appreciate that Fisherton Cottage is an old property, I live in a 300 year old property myself but I don’t feel that should be an excuse for lack of cleaning. I realise people have different standards of hygiene etc and that it is just a holiday rental and so you are looking for maximum occupancy but I do not feel the property was worth the price I paid for a Monday to Friday stay. I await your comments. Regards Julie Preston

    We were naturally shocked to read your account of the cleaning issues and thank you for your comments; we have passed your remarks on to the housekeeping agency used to prepare Fisherton for guests so that they can take steps to ensure no more such oversights. All guests are invited to report any issues with Housekeeping upon arrival by phoning the number given in the welcome poster inside the front door. Had you done so they would have sent another cleaner out straight away to address anything not to your satisfaction. So glad the beds and the kitchen met with your approval. Fisherton is let by the week so the price is for 7 nights, Saturday to Saturday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JulieJul 2022

  • "Building work next door completely ruined our holiday."

    Hello there. We did advise of the building work before your stay and we understood that you were happy to proceed. We hope this didn't mar your experience and would stay with us again. The Owner Relations Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SimonJul 2022

  • "Lovely find, cottage is remote yet less than 1."

    5 miles from Crooklets beach. Cottage was clean and comfortable and had all you need. As normal with older cottages headroom is limited at some doorways so need to duck if you’re tall. Parking not possible right outside as it’s a single track road but free car park only a couple of mins or so away near rest home and church graveyard, just carry on down the road near the house. Whilst this is a single track road it does tend to get quite busy and cars often drive way too fast so be vigilant. There is also a pub 3 or 4 mins walk away but was always very busy so we didn’t visit.

    Reviewed by IanJun 2022

  • "Fantastic cottage close to Bude!"

    Reviewed by SarahJul 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, great location to explore the local area!"

    We booked a couple of restaurants in Bude three weeks before our holiday, everything is fully booked so book before you get here! Cottage does need more cutlery! Can easily use all in one meal!

    Reviewed by RachaelJul 2021

  • "The cottage had everything we needed."

    Very quirky and cute. Would have liked to stay longer.

    Reviewed by JacquelineJul 2021

  • "Had a lovely holiday at this cottage - second time we have been here."

    Very comfortable and felt homely. The stairs are a bit steep but handrails on both sides - with a cottage this old, it is to be expected/regarded as a feature! Kitchen well equipped and well appointed. Garden was a proper suntrap and often visited by a very friendly little cat from next door. Would book again.

    Reviewed by KarenJun 2021

  • "Really lovely, well equipped, clean cottage."

    The garden is a sun trap and delightful to sit out in for breakfast or in the evening with chairs and tables in 2 different areas to make the best of the sun. Everything was organised and there was no huge list of do's and don't that you often get with holiday cottages, thank goodness! The cottage is nicely placed for Bude which is a about a mile away and there is a lovely pub in the village where the food is lovely. My only comment would be is that unloading the car is tricky as you block the single lane road if you park outside and the road always had traffic on (there were road diversion signs so possibly the road was busier than usual). The car park is just down the road but it's a bit of an up hill trek with suitcases, etc.

    Reviewed by GillianJun 2021

  • "Fisherton Cottage is very comfortable and extremely well and thoughtfully equipped."

    The owners have obviously given a lot of thought to what visitors need. For an old cottage it is surprisingly cosy, and warms up very quickly thanks to very efficient electric radiators. The wood-burning stove is very easy to light and gives off a lot of heat that permeates the whole cottage. About 35 minutes walk into Bude to the nearest shops. Two small suggestions: some warning about the step down from the double bedroom might save unwary visitors from tripping. And some adjustment to the banisters on the right-hand side of the stairs as you go down. The supports, especially the one in the middle, project upwards so that both of us broke nails on them until we got used to them and wrapped a towel around them to pad them. Unusually, there were no local guide books or timetables in the cottage, but perhaps these had to be removed because of coronavirus restrictions?

    Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Fisherton Cottage. We usually do provide a ton of books, maps, timetables, puzzles and board games all of which had to be removed due to coronavirus measures. All non essential high touch items had to be removed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MikeSep 2020

  • "The narrow road outside this property is extremely busy with traffic of all kinds including buses!"

    ! It was quite scary trying to get out of the house safely with 2 small children and dogs to go to the car park down the road. We also failed to find any nearby land where the dogs could come off the lead [local people confirmed this predicament too] - this meant that we had to get to one of the dog friendly beaches every morning to ensure their exercise - The cottage itself was ok with a few niggly issues such as the taps in the bathroom being too small to wash your hands easily! We weren't expecting to be reliant on an immersion heater either in order to be able to bath the kids [the electric shower is good for adults]. It was great to have the washing machine as we did have rather a wet week weather wise!

    Thank you for your comments, we do hope you had a good holiday. We've been in contact with the owners following your review and they agree that particularly at this time of year (the summer holidays) the road can get quite busy with traffic - an issue throughout Cornwall. We don't think it is dangerous, but certainly due care and attention needs to be taken. The owners leave clear instructions on hot water, but it's worth clarifying again here that central heating is not advertised and so the immersion heater is needed for using the hot water tank. As you say, the electric shower is most useful! We hope we can welcome you back again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by LynneAug 2020

  • "Beautiful quaint cottage with the right balance of modern."

    Although, understandably, after being locked up, a few plug-ins and some airfreshner would of helped on arrival. Some slight finger marks on the kitchen cupboards and freezer drawers. Attention to all areas of cleanliness. Other than that, a great little cottage with comfortable beds.

    Reviewed by HeatherAug 2020

  • "We had a lovely family holiday in Fisherton Cottage."

    The property has great character and is very well presented, we particularly loved the wood burning stove!

    Reviewed by MattJul 2020

  • "The photos dont do this cottage justice, lovely and roomy everything you could ..."

    The photos dont do this cottage justice, lovely and roomy everything you could have needed was there, perfect location, bude is a 5 minute drive or about half hour walk, cream tea for all 5 of us when we arrived went down a treat

    Reviewed by DevonOct 2019

  • "Really nice cosy cottage in a little village close to bude, cottage was very well equipped and suited our needs perfectly."

    The only thing that I would say was negative was that for what we paid I would expect the owners to have a better system for rubbish- if we wanted to recycle we had to find recycling bins, and we had to put the rubbish out for the bin men, but dispose of any glass ourselves along with any rubbish that we had upon check out, I would expect the owners/cleaner to deal with this.

    Reviewed by LyndsaySep 2019

  • "Fisherton Cottage is beautiful, it was so clean and comfortable."

    It had everything we needed for a fabulous holiday, from the games in the cupboard for the rainy days and the table and chairs in the pretty garden for tea and cake in the sunshine! The kitchen is well equipped, bedrooms comfortable and plenty of rooms for a family to spread out and have their own space if needed. It is in easy walk of beautiful Bude, we walked in on several occasions, looking round the shops and having lunch in the many cafes Bude has to offer. Most of the cafes are dog friendly, this made our stay even easier. We took our two teenage children and the dog, all of us had a super holiday.

    Reviewed by LucyAug 2019

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Fisherton Cottage and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a comfortable place to stay which is close to nearby Bude."

    Our children loved staying in the cottage and have already asked to go back!

    Reviewed by SimonJul 2019

  • "Lovely, quirky, dog friendly cottage."

    Reviewed by DavidJun 2019

  • "Fisherton Cottage is delightful -very well equipped, comfortable and beautifully clean."

    We loved it

    Reviewed by ElisabethJun 2019

  • "We had an absolutely amazing week."

    The cottage was fantastic cream tea on arrival, fluffy white towels and crisp white sheets on lovely comfortable beds fantastic. We will definitely book again. Many thanks.

    Reviewed by MaureenMay 2019

  • "Lovely place nice cream tea left on arrival."

    Most things clean apart from cooker hood.it could do with a lock of paint to freshen cottage up.having said that quite happy to go back.

    Reviewed by ThereseApr 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely and warm with everything we could need."

    The cream tea waiting for us was delicious. Bude and the surrounding area was gorgeous and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring it with our 2 dogs.

    Reviewed by MartinOct 2018

  • "The cottage was to a very good standard, nothing about it could be criticised, it was very well presented and comfortable in a lovely location."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

    Reviewed by PamJun 2018

  • "Bude is fantastic."

    There was a wonderful welcome pack upon arrival. Great cottage.

    Reviewed by VictorAug 2017

  • "A lovely cottage, charming as described, very comfortable and well equipped with pretty, enclosed garden."

    Owners were very helpful and accommodating. Dog friendly, as was the whole area (apart from a couple of beaches) including the local pub which serves good food and was very welcoming. Lots of good walks nearby. Walkable to Northcott beach - recommended for a sunset barbecue! Would definitely go back to Fisherton Cottage, and to the Bude area as there is so much to see and do.

    Reviewed by FionaJul 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Over two floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin (zip and link to double on request), 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility room
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room
  • Electric heating, wood burning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge-freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Bluetooth speaker, WiFi
  • 40" TV, DVD
  • Power inc. in rent
  • Hot water immersion tank
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Free parking available in a car park 100m from the cottage
  • Enclosed courtyard with furniture
  • One well-behaved pet welcome at £20 per week
  • Pub 1 min walk
  • No smoking
  • Property has low ceilings

The property

Located on a country road in the picturesque village of Poughill near Bude in north Cornwall, Fisherton Cottage is a charming double fronted property with oodles of character.

Tastefully presented to make the most of its original features - beamed ceilings, slate floors, an elegant stained glass window and an open range in the dining room – this cottage is a happy combination of traditional and current styles, creating a timeless appeal.

The cosy sitting room is the perfect place to unwind, with a welcoming wood burning stove and an interesting selection of books for guests to enjoy.

Go through to the dining room and you are greeted by a lovely farmhouse table and the open range, which can be used as an open fire during winter bookings.

The kitchen provides access to the small garden and is adjoined by a handy utility room.

On the first floor, soothing pastel shades and period pieces of furniture create homely bedrooms in which to rest weary heads.

A delightful feature of this property, the pretty, small and enclosed cottage garden offers the perfect sun spot for morning coffees or summer evening barbecues… and when you fancy an evening off cooking duties, an excellent dog-friendly and foodie village pub is just moments from the cottage.

A fantastic base for exploring both Cornwall and Devon, there is much to see and do in the area.

The long golden beaches of Bude are just a short drive away, and keen walkers will enjoy discovering the coastal footpath as well as Bude’s Nature Reserve and canal.

The quintessentially Cornish villages of Boscastle and Port Isaac are not far away, as is the legendary Tintagel Castle – inextricably linked to the great King Arthur.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

BUDE

Tintagel 17 miles.

Bude is a fabulous coastal town that once visited you will want to come back to time and time again. Bude has something for everyone, great beaches for relaxing, and building sandcastles on, rockpools for investigating at low tide and cafes to watch it all from. The rolling waves are great for surfing all year round, and the footpaths by the restored canal or on the North Cornwall coastal path offer you a superb opportunity to explore and appreciate the outstanding countryside. Bude also has a superb golf course, indoor swimming pool, bowling alley/indoor play area and Heritage Centre at Bude Castle. It also has a good selection of local shops, supermarkets, cafes, pubs, restaurants and excellent Information Centre. Within a short drive are the remains of a huge iron age hill fort at Warbstow Bury, from where panoramic views can be seen. For days out, take the coast road north to see the lonely lighthouse above the sea at Hartland Point or walk or ride a donkey down the steep and cobbled village street (no cars allowed) of beautiful Clovelly to the harbour and the pub far below. Follow the coast in the other direction and there's the little cove of Crackington Haven, Boscastle, King Arthur's castle at Tintagel, Doc Martin's Port Wenn at Port Isaac and yet more great surfing beaches at Polzeath.

View more holiday cottages in Bude

Region Information

Note: Please state at the point of booking if you require beds to be made up differently to that specified. Late notice may mean we are not able to change the configuration in time for your arrival.
Note: Check in time for this property is 4pm.
Note: From mid July 2022, there will be work being carried out on the roof of the cottage next door. Please contact us for further information prior to making a booking.