Secure your Spring 2022 holiday today for just £50

Available on selected breaks taking place between 27th May - 21st July 2022

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 2 minutes ago

Herons Reach

Falmouth, Cornwall (Ref. 976453)



Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes


  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

17 Customer Reviews

  • "The property was an excellent place to stay."

    The information provided beforehand was very informative. I would recommend Herons Reach as a place to stay for anyone contemplating a holiday in the area of falmouth

    Mr MorrallSep 2021

  • "Upon arrival at the property the en-suite toilet was loose (so much so that my husband wouldn’t sit in it) and there was an odorous smell which was noticeable in the en-suite and bedroom."

    The bbq which we intended to use upon arrival our first night was filthy and broken. I had to use antibacterial wipes on the kitchen surfaces and door handles as they were not as clean as I thought they would be as the property was ‘deep cleaned’ - hence the later check in time. The splash pool was closed despite Covid restrictions being fully lifted. The gym is only open 9-30- 5 Monday to Friday which isn’t advertised. I complained about the facilities and the property. Sykes contacted me immediately and set out to contact the site to rectify the issues. Someone did fix the toilet and said they would try and sort out the bbq but I never heard back from them and the bbq was not touched. I received an apology in respect to the cleanliness of the property. Nobody has contacted me since (from Sykes or the site) to ask whether all of the issues we had were resolved or if we were happy. Overall this property was ok but definitely not 4star, more like 2* plus. Beds were comfy and sheets/ towels clean. It could have been so much better so for the money we paid in terms of cleanliness and facilities so I was sadly disappointed.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear about the problems you found on your arrival, we are glad to hear the toilet was fixed promptly and also there were 2 other toilets available in the property. Unfortunately the BBQ had been damaged by previous guess and the owner was unable to replace this before your stay. I can see we have now contacted you to discuss. Property Owner

    Mrs WilsonJul 2021

  • "Well equipped house."

    We had taken washing up liquid, soaps, cloths etc But found all supplied. Everything was clean with good bedlinen and towels. shame we only found the surf boards and lounger chairs on last day. BBQ could have worked better.

    Mrs HopkinsMay 2021

  • "No mixer taps installed and had to be very careful when using hot water which was very hot and oven hob very outdated and not particularly clean."

    Mr HounsellMay 2021

  • "This was a very nice, comfortable house and we did enjoy our stay very much but a few issues: • Bin lid not working (would not close) • Heater behind sofa not working (but slightly confusing how some worked) • A Bedside light in ensuite bedroom not working at all."

    This should have been checked. • Landing light not working/maybe bulb needed changing. Should have been checked • Lack of simple things like dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, handwash in downstairs loo and bathrooms. We were only staying 4 nights and had to buy these. We left some of these things purchased by us eg dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid which I presume will now be there for next guests. They really should be there for guests. • A simple thing. Positioning of the mirror in ensuite bedroom. Very difficult/almost impossible to see in mirror to dry my hair because plug points on other side of bedroom! • We did sleep well (probably helped by walks on the beach and Xmas indulgence!) but the mattresses were not very comfortable. • No bath mats •Remote control for television didn't work very well. Might have been batteries but battery cover held on with cellotape. We have stayed in alot of holiday homes over years. Have not encountered these simple things before.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. The housekeeper has investigated all the points you raised: she is on hand to help with any concerns during your stay and is sad that you didn't contact her while you were staying at Herons Reach. For example the heater was working - it had simply been switched off. The mattresses have been replaced just last year. Our cottages are self catering: a small amount of cleaning products are provided to start you off and guests are expected to purchase their own thereafter. Property Owner

    Mrs HopkinsDec 2019

  • "The house was clean and well equipped."

    Our only criticism of the kitchen would be that the fridge temperature was far too low. We had to waste food,in particular it was freezing salad items!! It didn't improve by altering the dial in the fridge! There were also 2 lamps not working, one in the lounge and one in the ensuite attached to the double bedroom. Also, the water in the shower tray was very slow to drain away. We have used Sykes on several occasions now but after our experience with changing the date for this latest holiday, we do wonder if we could now recomend it to our friends. We have also seen several bad reports about properties and are surprised not to see any response from the company.

    Mrs DrummondSep 2019

  • "Very disappointed in the cleanliness."

    Cobwebs everywhere. Spent 2 hours cleaning. Dirty dishes and cutlery. Spiders in every room. Hair on sofa cushions. Hairs in main bed. Back off remote. Crack in sink in main bathroom. Under fridge was filthy. Tablet and wrapper under sofas. Photos sent on email. No response from Sykes as yet. Once cleaned, it is fine.

    Mrs MeliaJul 2019

  • "A lovely cottage with beautiful scenery."

    There was no code for the pool facilities in the book but the bar staff allowed us in. The cottage itself was comfortable. I was surprised to see cream carpet in a dog friendly cottage and possibly alternative, wipeable flooring would have been better. There were some stains on the carpet when we arrived but apart from that it was nice and clean. The bed sheets didn’t appear to fit the one double bed and kept moving whilst we were sleeping, possibly fitted sheets would have been better than flat sheets. The curtains were cream in the bedroom and allowed floods of light in at dawn, possibly darker curtains or black out blinds would help to provide better sleep for clients. The water system was quite old and there wasn’t enough water for 6 people to shower daily unless we used the boost button. We had a lovely time exploring Falmouth and would consider coming back, it would have been nice to see more character within the cottage, the decor was very bland.

    Mrs KendrickJul 2019

  • "A lovely house with a homely feel, well positioned for our activities during our holiday."

    Mrs StevensJun 2019

  • "The 3 bedroom cottage is spacious and has everything you need for a holiday and more."

    The beds are comfy (if bouncy) and the showers are powerful if you want them to be.The kitchen is well stocked with dishes and cutlery, wash cloths and dish towels, even lasagne dishes and a slow cooker. The sun reaches the deck late morning and bathes it all afternoon until about 6pm. Another couple of folding chairs separate to the table/bench would have allowed better sunbathing opportunities. The only other drawback was the lack of dishwasher tablets - sorry we forgot to set it going as we left, with the last tablet! For those who want to holiday with dogs, the local beaches do not allow dogs between Easter Day and 1 October each year. The closest beach to reach on foot is Maenporth, but this is not easily reached - access is via a narrow twisty road with no pavements, distance of about 1 mile each way.

    Mrs DavisJun 2019

  • "Heron,s Reach is set in a lovely location."

    The property is very well equipped with everything one needs for a lovely holiday. One thing I would say was missing was a visitors book these can be really useful as visitors leave comments about best places to eat etc. would recommend this property to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday with beaches near bye.

    Mr HughesJun 2019

  • "The property wasn’t clean, there were visible signs and smells of dogs and the contact details of the caretaker given to us by yourselves was incorrect; I contacted the previous caretaker who wasn’t happy that her details were still on the system."

    After contacting the correct person, the property was re-cleaned but was still not of a high standard and the mixup was very disappointing.

    Mrs MonksOct 2018

  • "Spotlessly clean, hygienic and fresh; our accommodation was perfect!"

    Would highly recommend Herons Reach. It had everything you could need for a holiday. The house was so large, warm, comfy and just like being at home. Set in beautiful grounds, it was faultless!

    Ms PughSep 2018

  • "The holiday home had everything we could have wished for and was in a superb location near to some of our favourite places around Falmouth including Swanpool and Gylly beaches and the main Falmouth town centre."

    We loved the stream flowing outside our accommodation and the decking area overlooking it. Beds were very comfortable and kitchen fully equipped. The splash pool was a nice surprise, our little 5 month old granddaughter loved it :) Would highly recommend a stay here!

    Mr BaileyJul 2018

  • "All perfect, I am Brazilian and I have been in many beautiful places and for sure this is one of them, I recommend 100%."

    Mr LegbandJul 2018

  • "Heron's reach was lovely, peaceful location by the stream."

    The kitchen was exceptionally well equipped and we appreciated the baking equipment. We had a problem with lack of towels which was resolved after the weekend. We chose the location based on the information that the beach was within walking distance however the walk is longer than suggested, very hilly and along a narrow Road mostly without a footpath. Whilst this was manageable for us it may not be for others. The information in the property suggests that the bar on site is closed however we eventually discovered it is in fact open. All in all a lovely property and location that we would like to return to

    Mrs HadfieldMay 2018

  • "We had a fantastic holiday!"

    ! We know Falmouth very well as we studied here last year but looking through the pack provided about where to go and best beaches etc, it was very accurate and we agreed with everything! There were a couple of things that we thought would have made the stay that little bit more comfortable and they were: - To provide hand soap in the bathrooms, we had to buy our own. - Provide hand towels in the bathrooms, we had to use the shower towels provided, sometimes a little inconvenient. -Provide more dishwasher tablets, washing up on holiday is the last thing you want to do, but we had to wash up a few things as we didn't have enough tablets. - A few spare rolls of toilet paper, we had to top up on this. With 6 people it goes quite quickly. These are just some very minor things and it didn't spoil our holiday in the slightest but was just something that popped up on our stay! Thank you so much!

    DuttonMay 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday

The property

Heron’s Reach is a mid-terrace house over two levels within Pendra Loweth - a village of purpose-built, privately owned holiday cottages in the beautiful Maen Valley just 2 miles from Falmouth.

There is an entrance hall for your coats and boots leading to the spacious open-plan living-dining room and kitchen area.

Step through the French windows on to the large enclosed decked area, complete with picnic table and BBQ – just right for those al fresco meals, or just relaxing and enjoying the views over the little stream which winds through the grounds.

There is a ground floor WC.

Head up stairs to three bedrooms – two double, one with an en suite shower-room, and a twin, together with a family bathroom.

You have free use of the small indoor splash pool, jacuzzi , gym, tennis court and children’s play area and there is a laundry room, all set within award-winning gardens with acres of wooded grounds to explore and enjoy.

A wonderfully convenient house, especially for families, just a mile from lovely sandy beaches and restaurants at Swanpool and Maenporth and near the fascinating nautical town of Falmouth.


1st FloorGround Floor

Kitchen Dining Area Lounge WC


  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, one with en suite shower room
  • 1 x twin
  • Open-plan living area includes, sitting area with French doors to decking and kitchen and dining area
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor WC with basin.
  • Electric fires with night storage heating
  • Microwave, fridge-freezer, dishwasher, TV with DVD, WiFi, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for one car in a reserved parking space
  • Enclosed garden with barbecue
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome, Sorry no smoking
  • Note: 120 yards level path from the parking space to entrance porch
  • Note: No commercial vans or vehicles are permitted on the site.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Mabe 3 miles; Penryn 2 miles; Truro 11 miles.

Falmouth, with its magnificent natural harbour (the third largest in the world), winding streets and beaches, will keep you occupied for hours. The town's old harbour-side pubs, excellent shopping, art gallery and stunning National Maritime Museum simply complete the picture. Pendennis Castle, built by Henry VIII, is Falmouth's most popular attraction, sited on its own peninsula with superb panoramic sea views. Across from Falmouth harbour is the beautiful town of St Mawes, surrounded by the rocky coves, sandy beaches and lush green countryside of the Roseland Peninsula. Go there by car (15 miles) or take the passenger ferry from Falmouth (15 minutes). For nature lovers there is the Swanpool Nature Reserve, a lagoon and site of special scientific interest teeming with a variety of wildlife. Falmouth offers such a rich variety of landscape and attractions for people of all ages, it is sure to tempt you back time and again.

View more holiday cottages in Falmouth

Region Information

Note: Sorry, no sign written vans or commercial vehicles are permitted at Pendra Loweth, Village of Gardens resort.
Note: Bookings for any other reason than holiday/leisure are not permitted on this site
Note: On site laundry facilities
Note: Seasonal opening times apply to the bar, restaurant, pool and Jacuzzi. The season usually runs from the beginning of April to end of October annually. The gym, tennis courts and children’s play area are available year-round.
Note: Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the splash pool and Jacuzzi on site will remain closed until the season recommences in 2022. All other facilities are now open, however please note that appointments need to be made for time slots in the gym.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Last minute
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it