Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 2 minutes ago

1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • Mews House - Cornwall - 1094132 - photo 1

Mews House

(Ref. 1094132)

Camborne, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance

17 Customer Reviews

  • "Apart from the over sensitive smoke alarm which went off twice for 2 days, taking 2 days to find out how to remove subtitles from the 2 tvs (and I have a Panasonic), and Sykes emergency number being a misnomer as it took 1 day and 4 calls to get through; and I don’t know how I got in, because whilst they did send me an updated 4 code entry no of **** the last digit was on the dark edge, and only visible in landscape mode which I never saw the need to utilise."

    If there were steps I would have covered up the smoke alarm- too scared to use the cooker top. And the cctv surrounding the flat is a bit big brother. Apart from that- the rest was outstanding.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Sep 2023

  • "Knew what to expect as stayed previously ( last year)."

    Lovely property and completely self contained. Easy instructions to follow to access the property. would have liked to have had a dustpan and brush to use in the kitchen.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. There should be a dustpan and brush provided, which we will double check, and order a replacement if not. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sheils4.4Aug 2023

  • "There was some work being done at other properties so there was a skip and loads of gravel piled up which made parking a bit difficult at times especially when other people didn’t leave much space."

    This made it inconvenient when returning later in the evening when the spaces were taken and it made it off-putting to attempt to go out in the evenings. I imagine this won’t be an issue once the construction work is done but potentially having a named parking slot for each property would be good.

    Reviewed by Tyler3.8Jun 2023

  • "Clean, well equipped,great improvement with new entrance to car park, nice welcome pack but sofa still uncomfortable."

    Hi Rosalind, We were very happy to welcome to back to our properties :) We are always working hard to make improvements. Sofa Beds tend to be slightly firmer, than traditional sofa's as they have a mattress tucked inside. We are currently on the lookout for a comfier option and hope to find one soon. Best Wishes, The Specialist Res Units Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rosalind4.7Apr 2023

  • "Parking was great and secure the apartment was modern clean and very nicely presented."

    The sitting area (sofa) wasn’t great after twenty minutes of sitting on it our backsides went numb so had to resort to the bedroom to watch tv where we spent our evenings. The shower rooms were lovey clean and fresh perfect. Bedroom was lovely too the bed was really comfortable had a great nights sleep. Bad points that really did ruin our stay was the kitchen. After a long day out walking visiting places you want to eat, first night used the oven, extractor fan on kitchen door open to yard and the fire alarms sound off not one but all five of them, this happened three times that evening we gave up we couldn’t cook at all because of setting alarms off. Breakfast well I thought let’s use the toaster guess what ? Yep set the fire alarms off 730am poor neighbours must get absolutely fed up with it. Cctv watching you come and go is a big no for me and kitchen door is overlooked by about thirty windows (no blind or obscure glass) I’m sorry to say this apartment isn’t fit for purpose if like me you look forward to coming back to relax and cook something nice to eat.

    Hi Anthony, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are currently reviewing the seating area to see what improvements we can make in order to provide better comfort for our guests. You are the first guests to report that the fire alarm is sensitive, we will ensure to investigate and get the issue rectified as soon as possible. We have also noted your concern for privacy. CCTV cameras are fitted for the safety of our guests and are not manned 24/7. We will see if additional blinds or camera angles will help to provide further privacy. We hope that you will visit the property soon in order to see the changes that we have made. All the best. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony3.1Apr 2023

  • "News house was spotless, a credit to the people’s who clean and maintain."

    Tastefully decorated. Very well equipped. An excellent central location for local amenities and tollfor exploring west Cornwall. Thank you. Sorry the lounge was so uncomfortable… you couldn’t relax or get comfortable in the chair and the sofa was rock hard. It was a saving Grace that there is a TV in the bedroom.

    Hi Michaela, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We take great pride in our holiday cottages and the team will be very happy to hear that you are happy with the cleaning and decoration of the property. We will review the seating area to see if anything can be done to improve the comfort for our guests. Best Wishes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michaela4.1Feb 2023

  • "At least one easy chair to sit in would be welcome for older visitors."

    Very good off-street parking and easy walk to town centre.

    We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We agree the location is great. There is an abundance of cafes and local businesses within walking distance. We will look into ensuring the seating area is comfortable for all. We hope to welcome you back soon :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Oct 2022

  • "Pictures do not do the apartment justice."

    It was beautifully decorated and very clean! As other reviews have mentioned parking and finding the place is quite tricky but once found is very easy to get back when you have been out visiting places. The property provides a lovely welcome basket and someone mentioned before about not getting tea and coffee so we went there well equipped with our own bits and pieces aswell as cleaning stuff ie washing up liquid and tea towels ect but all those things were already there when we got there. One thing I do have to mentioned though is that the design for the door locks inside mews house was pretty naf. Unfortunately one night I had to shut the bedroom door not realising it would lock us out as we had to stop our dog from sleeping on the bed, we wanted to respect the furniture as requested in the info pack. We then had go call out the maintenance man (Andrew) which I felt awful about as it was 11pm at night. It turned out these electric door locks had no batteries in them and we were also not provided with cards to unlock them. Thankfully all was resolved for us during our stay but the locks will need to be reset and looked at properly so it doesn't happen to any future guests. Overall lovely place to stay and I'd stay there again quite happily. Don't be put off cambourne, it really isn't as bad they say. We had no trouble there at all and other town folk seemed rather pleasant children including. Only other thing I must say is there is no garden for your dog to toilet in, you just have a little patio on your entrance in and unfortunately for us our dog refused to toilet and I struggled to find anywhere close by to take her on grass however there is a very old 1800s church across the road and takes 2 mins to walk to if that. There were to lovely care takers there one morning and I walked in and explained to them the situation and they were very happy to let me take her there in the morning and late evening and said that was where most people took their dogs down there. I felt extremely awkward about letting her go in a graveyard but we didn't have much choice in the matter it was either that or risk a water infection and a very poorly dog.

    We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the welcome gifts. We thank you for your feedback! We have arranged for our contractors to complete a full service on the locks to prevent any future guests being locked out of the bedroom. We are more than happy to welcome pets at our properties, although understand that not having a grass area may be difficult for some. We will ensure to put a note on the advert to make it clear that there is a patio area only. We welcome you both back at anytime. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clarice4.4Sep 2022

  • "Beautiful apartment, exactly as it was listed."

    A tad difficult to get through the road if you have a big car but soon get used to it!

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elle4.7Aug 2022

  • "Awkward to get in to park."

    no mirror in either bathroom. rug in frontroom moves so ends up a trip hazzard/health & safety issue. internet connection should be made clearer great place to stay clean tidy and everything you need is there for you

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Jul 2022

  • "Lovely place to stay, my only concern is that it is over looked, so perhaps a blind or curtain over the door window, so when you use the kitchen at night or early morning people can't see in, also it would be nice to have a line or airer to dry the washing on."

    Mews house is very clean and comfortable

    We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope you enjoyed your time in Camborne. We appreciate all our guests feedback. Our aim to make all of our guests stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible and will review the blind and line situation. We wish you all the best and hopefully you will come back and stay with us soon so you can see the small alterations we make. Take care. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue4.7Jun 2022

  • "Property itself was a nice little place, on a site with others being built and houses/flats being renovated."

    Within the property the rooms were of a good size and nicely planned and laid out. However, several tiny little niggles to mention, but with people going in and out and everyone being different things might bother some but not others, so these aren't complaints. The main door in and out needs fixing as it doesn't open and close very well as it doesn't line up door to frame as some of the guides in the frame are missing, needless to say though, it can be opened and closed and locked. The gate into the property could do with some attention as it constantly rattled during the night, but it will only affect you if you are a light sleeper, but it can be closed and bolted securely. The mattress on the bed was extremely soft and isn't very good if you suffer with a bad back or have someone that hogs the quilt and tosses and turns during the night. The heated towel rails in the bathrooms didn't seem to want to work, but the showers themselves were lovely, big shower head and powerful water that you can have at any temperature, could have stayed in there for hours, and the towels always got dry. The bedroom window is covered so no one can see in or out, but the bathroom window in the ensuite isn't and 2 workmen probably caught more than an eyeful one morning so just a tip to have the blinds tilted up or down. Remember to put the extractor fans on in the bathroom as they're not automatic, but the lights are. There is no dishwasher which was fine with us, but I know others have commented that it said there was. There is a washing machine, we didn't use it. There is an iron and ironing board, a dyson and a wet/dry floor mop. It said there was a hairdryer and fan but I didn't find them. There was a tea towel and oven gloves in the kitchen, and a set of towels for each bathroom, bath, hand and face towel. Four mugs, bowls, plates, and each cutlery with lots of kitchen utensils but only limited pots and pans for use. Lovely big fridge and freezer, microwave and 4 slice toaster, but don't turn it up higher than number 3 or all the fire alarms in every room go off! The kettle was the most used item in the kitchen, and we liked the welcome basket with some goodies in, but tea bags, coffee, sugar and milk would have been appreciated as it had been a very long drive down on a very cold wet windy day and the last thing we wanted was to get some shopping, so either take some with you ready, or, there is an Aldi just up the road opposite a Wetherspoons pub. Both of which came in handy. The directions to get to Mews House were a bit confusing as others have commented, but, if you put the postcode or what3words in for Gurneys Lane, you stand a much better chance of finding the property. Chapel Street is the front, but Mews House is at the back. The front door on Chapel Street goes to the property upstairs we think, so even though it is part of the same, you have to park round the back down Gurneys Lane to be able to access Mews House. But beware, there are lots of little roads to turn off in Camborne as it is the actual main road through the town and the satnav may try and take you down the wrong way down a road. You should take a right turn down the road next to the Bus Station and that brings you to a place a bit like a courtyard, straight over is a sign to tell you that down that lane is Gurneys Lane and it is parking for the holiday lets. Be warned though, if you have a large wide vehicle you might want to go down the lane on foot first as the lane itself isn't much wider than a standard car giving about a centimetre or 2 most either side of your wingmirrors, and it is tight, especially when you need to turn in to the car park as they haven't really left a wide enough gap to turn in and out as there are houses directly opposite with cars parked diagonal across the front. So what you want to do if possible, is drive just passed the car park entrance as there is private parking down there for other houses to the right, then reverse in there so you can then pull forward straight in to the car park for Mews House. Then do the same when you go out, don't try and turn tight corners as it just doesn't work. You can come in and go out from the other way but there was scaffolding all up both sides of the alleyway while we were the so didn't chance that, but we saw other cars going that way. The upstairs of the property was either let or permanently occupied while we were there, and unfortunately it did sound like there were a herd of elephants up there at times, but if you're not used to an upstairs then you'll notice any noise more easily. There were 2 big TVs, but both were set different so we could easily get normal freeview aswell as Netflix etc on one but couldn't get normal freeview at all on the other, maybe it was just us, but it didn't really bother us and there are passwords provided to watch films etc but we just used the TV in the room for the radio and then got in Netflix without without a password to watch the latest films it suggested. All in all it is a lovely little place to stay, just a shame about the parking. Camborne town itself has got some nice shops, several charity shops for local places which were nice to look round, the usual mini mart and supermarkets, take aways, off licences, jewellery and watch shops, then the more quirky shops that you only see when you're on holiday, go look in them, you might find something you like. Try Jojangles, she was moving shop and I can't remember where but still along Camborne high street, lovely things in there, nothing outrageous or weird, just more cheerful and colourful and interesting than our everyday shops. From Mews House on foot, if you turn left out of the car park and go right around the corner, there's the Wetherspoons pub with Aldi just round the next corner, you can't miss them, and if you like to send a postcard like me there is a postbox just passed the pub. There are so many attractions near by and places to go it would be a shame not to go stay there and just put up with any little niggles, we lost count of how many places we could go to and had to narrow it down to distance and cost. If you want to go to Lands End, go the day you get there or the next morning, the car park is £6 but it covers you for the whole week. If you go to St Ives, go right up to the top round the bendy roads to Trenwith car park and then get the bus down to the town centre, can't remember how much the car park was but the bus was £1.50 each way for adults, which in our books is better to park in a massive car park than try and squeeze in some tiny space on the side of a narrow road. There are public toilets but St Ives could do with cheering up, they're a bit sorry for themselves, Penzance and Falmouth were better. The same as everywhere, most of the people were nice and polite, no one was rude, just not as friendly as you would like maybe, but don't take it to heart, we all have busy lives. Be prepared to pay more for everything, parking, food, drink, shopping, souvenirs the lot, but you're in Cornwall and on holiday, enjoy yourself!

    Wow! We would like to thank you so much for not only choosing to stay with us but the time taken to write such an informative review. The feedback given is really appreciated as we try to make all of our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, and wouldn't be able to do so unless we were given real reviews from our lovely guests. We can promise that as we are always striving to be the best we can be your comments will be taken on board. Hopefully we will see you soon for another stay with us and you can get to see first hand the small tweaks that are made based on your experience. We wish you all the best. Take care form all of our team here at Mews house Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally4.1Jun 2022

  • "Excellent accomodation."

    Facilities all in good order. Very comfortable. Netflix and good quality WiFi appreciated. Good value Additions: car park hard to access and sometimes full so I had to park on Cross Street. Could do with a washing line as there was no drier

    Thank you so much for choosing us to stay with and leaving us such a kind review. Based on your comments we will review the line requirement. We would like to keep all of our guests happy and if this was needed during your stay we would have happily gone and bought one for the apartment. we would like to add that we do have an over flow car park if you are unable to get in the one at the rear of the property. I would hope the information for this was sent to you Via email through Cornish Cottage Holidays. Hopefully when you return you will be happy with the line we have provided and you can see the overflow car park too ;). We hope to see you soon. All the best From our team at Mews House. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan4.7May 2022

  • "This property has everything you need and more."

    We only needed a base to have breakfast and sleep so exceeded our expectations and the fact it was newly finished was very nice. Welcome pack was very much appreciated even though we didn't use it all. The bed was a little low and softer than we're use to but can't complain.The only key issue was the road access is very tight. I drive an Audi Q5 and had difficulty negotiating the tight alley ways to access the parking area. Local residents park near the entrance making entering and leaving a bit of a nightmare also local delivery vans blocked the alley way for 20 minutes so we couldn't leave on 1 day. The outdoor space and parking itself is secure and generous, just the access can be an issue. (mind your mirrors). Thanks for a great stay.

    Thank you so much for your kind words and booking with us. Were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and should you return we do have an overflow car park which is a little further away but more easily assessable. Next time you stay with us we can reserve a space there for you if that would make your stay even better. We love to do anything we can to make our guests happy guests. We hope to see you soon. Take care. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eddie4.7May 2022

  • "Property was beautiful but its a shame where it was located."

    It took me an hour to find it. Had to stop someone to find it. Inside was beautiful and very clean. Could do with a few more cooking dishes , also why have card locks on the bedroom doors when there were no cards . Plus the TV had no TV channels in the bedroom just Netflix. The sofa was uncomfortable . Also the fire alarm kept going off everytme I cooked . And the entrance door you had to pull hard to close otherwise wouldn't lock.Plus could do with a blind for night times Apart from that lovely accommodation. I wouldnt have spent £604 .00 for 4 days with the few problems I had. Also the WiFi code is incorrect in the file notes needs changing as had to ring the company for it.

    Thank you very much for your stay with us. We appreciate you comments and recommendations and have taken these on board and make some small changes, such as extra signage and information on your pre-mail, and changed the aerials so that tv channels are accessible. The card locks on the doors are in fact digital locks which do not require cards and the the palm of your hand to use, but this is an easy mistake to make as they do look similar. The fire alarms can be sensitive as we prioritise our guests safety. We tend to find that if you use the extraction fan, it helps a lot. Next time you book with us we are sure you will be delighted and happy to spend £604 and if you do have any problems while staying with us you are more than welcome to give us a call on the number provided so we can iron any small niggles. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen4.4May 2022

  • "The property was absolutely lovely and the welcome pack and toiletries were a lovely surprise."

    The only bug bear was that the information leaflet said it had a dishwasher when it didn't and the WiFi code was for Mews Retreat and not Mews House, so I think that needs to be made clearer. There was still building work going on, so a little noisy at times and the outside area was full of rubbish. It was such a shame as the property was beautiful, I would suggest any one going to book checks that all building work has been completed first.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the property. We were a little confused on your comment about the dishwasher, as the property hasn't been advertised as having a dishwasher. We apologise for the mix-up in the WIFI code for the property, this has now all been sorted. The work to the parking area for the property has now been completed. We do hope that might consider coming back to the property again sometime in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deborah4.4May 2022

  • "We were the first guests to stay in Mews House and were welcomed by a generous food hamper to compensate for any startup niggles - parking area a building site, no details of number for gate padlock, no internet server connection details and no information on setting the heating controls."

    However, Nicole of Cornwall Holiday Cottages went above and beyond to help us. By the end of the week we have managed to setup things for VERY comfortable living. We have booked to come again in October because we have enjoyed our visit so much.

    Thank you for your comments we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mews House and have since corrected the start up niggles, apologies for this. We look forward to welcoming you back in October. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Mar 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Ground-floor apartment
  • One king-size bedroom with TV and en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room
  • Gas central heating, toiletries and slipper Electric oven and induction hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine
  • 2 x Smart TV with Netflix, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and high chair available on request
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome, additional charge
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.2 miles

The property

Mews House is a stylish, ground-floor apartment for two sitting in the historic Cornish town of Camborne.

Well-appointed for couples seeking a romantic escape, this pet-friendly apartment has been thoughtfully decorated and includes high-quality facilities for your self-catering stay.

Find an off-road parking space on arrival to unpack and start your holiday with ease.

Be welcomed into the kitchen/diner to rustle up a home-cooked dinner for your other half, whilst they set the table with your favourite bottle to toast to your retreat.

After a day by the sea, throw sandy towels into the handy washing machine before settling down in the sitting room; lay down a blanket for your dog to rest their paws, then snuggle up on the plush sofa in front of the Smart TV.

You'll find a beautiful king-size bedroom with Scandinavian-style décor to catch your rest, complete with a wall-mounted Smart TV for lazy mornings catching up on your favourite shows.

Choose between an en-suite shower room or a separate shower room to freshen up for the day ahead!

Whether you choose a day along Cornwall's stunning coast or wandering quaint Cornish towns, a wonderful break with your loved one awaits at Mews House.

Note: This property can be booked with Refs.1094133, 1094134, 1094137, 1094142, 1094143, 1096254, and 1096620, together sleeping up to 16 guests.

The Chambers Apartments

The Chambers Apartments consists of a sumptuous selection of eight self-catering apartments resting within a beautifully renovated building in the heart of the Cornish mining town of Camborne. This collection provides couples with everything they need for a romantic getaway to the coast, including open-plan accommodation enjoying stylish décor throughout and boasting Smart TVs with the excellent bonus of Netflix as well as access to on-street parking, a train station and a coach station. The surroundings enjoy the characterful town of Camborne, once the richest mining town in the world and birthplace of Richard Trevithick, who invented the steam locomotive engine; you can learn more about the town's fascinating background by spending the day at the free heritage site: Heartlands. The town is also home to a range of excellent trails, perfect for walkers and cyclists alike, with Carn Brea, great Flat Lode and Tehidy Country Park (and golf course) nearby. Another highlight of the location is that it sits close to the A30, Cornwall's main trunk road, so guests can easily access a wealth of the region's superb attractions and coastline, with the stunning sands of Portreath Beach, Porthowan Beach, Godrevy Beach, Gwithian Beach and St Ives' beaches all situated a short drive away; ideal for beach lovers! The rocky-edged delight of Bassetts Cove and the shaded cove of Hell's Mouth also aren't far away, offering more opportunities for relaxed afternoons by the sea. When you're feeling peckish, be sure to visit one of Camborne's renowned eateries, such as Miss Molly's Tea Room, to enjoy mouth-watering, sweet treats, or The Shire Inn, to tuck into traditional pub grub. No matter what you get up to during your stay, end your days by relaxing in this fantastic accommodation of The Chambers Apartments.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Portreath 4.4 miles; Hayle 6.8 miles.

Camborne lies in the heart of a former mining community and was well known for its “Queen of Cornish Mines" - the Dolcoath copper and tin mine, the deepest in Cornwall. Today, Camborne is home to Heartlands, a community space covering 19 acres and scattered with remnants of the mining industry, providing a free space for visitors to explore the heritage of Cornwall, browse art and craft projects, stroll through the gardens and sit and share a picnic or enjoy lunch at the Red River Café. From Camborne centre you can follow an interesting town trail, or spend the afternoon in the museum before visiting the array of shops and pubs. A short drive from Camborne brings you to a wealth of sandy Cornish beaches including Portreath, Gwithian and Porthtowan. Camborne is ideal for exploring Land’s End, the Lizard Peninsula, Truro and the Eden Project, which are all easily accessible by car, ideal for a day trip.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas