In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Forge Cottage

Sennen, Cornwall (Ref. 959851)

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Shop Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews

13 Customer Reviews

  • "A lovely property, close to a beautiful coastline, with lots of paths and coves to explore."

    Sennen Cove is great for surfing. The property was well equipped and the conservatory area was a real bonus. The doors and ceilings in some parts of the house were low. So if you are tall then you need to watch your head. A wonderful place though and a great location.

    Reviewed by DianeJun 2021

  • "The cottage was as described and the bedroom layout worked well for us."

    The boiler, which heats the water and the cottage, was very efficient and we were nice and warm, good for stormy days in Cornwall. The location worked well for exploring the west of Cornwall. The kitchen facilities are good, although it would have been useful to have more than 6 plates and cutlery as we found ourselves ... Continue reading

    The boiler, which heats the water and the cottage, was very efficient and we were nice and warm, good for stormy days in Cornwall. The location worked well for exploring the west of Cornwall. The kitchen facilities are good, although it would have been useful to have more than 6 plates and cutlery as we found ourselves using the dishwasher when it wasn’t really full. The area that’s needs addressing is the downstairs shower. It is too small and the equipment within impedes movement. Two of the people staying here are average in size and found it too limiting to have a decent shower. The tap controlling the on/off switch of the shower was too stiff for one person to turn off.

    Thank you for taking the time to send your comments regarding your stay at Forge Cottage. We are pleased to hear that you thought the facilities were good and the location worked well for exploring west Cornwall. It is disappointing that you had an issue with the size of the shower. The marketing shows the size as best ... Continue reading Property Owner

    Thank you for taking the time to send your comments regarding your stay at Forge Cottage. We are pleased to hear that you thought the facilities were good and the location worked well for exploring west Cornwall. It is disappointing that you had an issue with the size of the shower. The marketing shows the size as best as possible, although we do not give specific measurements, it is a standard corner shower, there is also a free standing bath with hand shower on the first floor. We do hope that this didn't spoil your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HeatherSep 2020

  • "Forge Cottage is in a perfect location at one end of Sennen."

    It is a beautiful cottage with three double bedrooms, all very tasteful and ample wardrobe space in all rooms. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could need including a dishwasher and the utility room has a washing machine and tumble dryer; useful on rainy days to dry off clothes. There is a cosy smaller lounge ... Continue reading

    It is a beautiful cottage with three double bedrooms, all very tasteful and ample wardrobe space in all rooms. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could need including a dishwasher and the utility room has a washing machine and tumble dryer; useful on rainy days to dry off clothes. There is a cosy smaller lounge and also a dining room and additional larger sitting area leading out to a back yard with picnic tables. Located 5 minutes away from Cost cutter and a Fish and Chip shop and 2 mins from the First and Last Inn (mainly for a pizza or burger). It takes no more than 20 minutes to walk to Lands End in the road and 20 minutes to walk to Sennen Cove. We would definitely recommend staying here and will return one day. Thank you Emma and Richard Hardy

    Reviewed by EmmaAug 2020

  • "Absolutely loved the cottage, was so much more than expected."

    Lovely welcome pack , including scones, clotted cream and jam. Have been going to Sennen for holidays for years and can honestly say that forge cottage was the best place we have found. Both my mum and myself have disabilities and we found the cottage totally accessible for all our needs. Did not want to leave and can’t ... Continue reading

    Lovely welcome pack , including scones, clotted cream and jam. Have been going to Sennen for holidays for years and can honestly say that forge cottage was the best place we have found. Both my mum and myself have disabilities and we found the cottage totally accessible for all our needs. Did not want to leave and can’t wait to book again. Thanks to everyone for letting us stay in this lovely cottage

    Reviewed by MarieSep 2019

  • "The cottage was an excellent base for our holiday, a great location and very comfortable."

    The bedrooms and living spaces were immaculate and well designed. The housekeeper was super- helpful and communicative - thank you so much Suzanne.Brilliant laundry facilities.Only two gripes: there were six adults and one (small) shower downstairs isn't enough. The upstairs bathroom is beautiful but the shower is capped ... Continue reading

    The bedrooms and living spaces were immaculate and well designed. The housekeeper was super- helpful and communicative - thank you so much Suzanne.Brilliant laundry facilities.Only two gripes: there were six adults and one (small) shower downstairs isn't enough. The upstairs bathroom is beautiful but the shower is capped off, which limits its use.This was mentioned in other posts as I recall, and is perhaps due to water pressure, but how about installing a pump? The fridge only has one shelf, which was inconvenient as we just had to pile the contents up. Having said that, I am very glad we booked this place.

    Reviewed by ChristineAug 2019

  • "This is a lovely cottage to live in."

    It's in a great area to see the real Cornwall with great walks and beaches . The cottage itself was roomy and had a lot of extras that you may not always get. The kitchen had everything you could need and more. The washing and drying machine is a god send if you have kids who are always in the sea ! Three beautiful bedrooms. ... Continue reading

    It's in a great area to see the real Cornwall with great walks and beaches . The cottage itself was roomy and had a lot of extras that you may not always get. The kitchen had everything you could need and more. The washing and drying machine is a god send if you have kids who are always in the sea ! Three beautiful bedrooms. Great bathroom. Three Tv's, a shower room , sun room and garden. And the WIFI was good, which isn't always the case in the area. The personal touches like the flowers and cream tea etc made us feel at home. I would use this one again and would recommend it too.

    Reviewed by KarenAug 2019

  • "Overall the cottage was clean and comfortable with lovely extras - fresh flowers and toiletries."

    These however seemed to be an attempt to cover up basic issues; water pressure upstairs poor and over bath shower didn’t work and no blind in the bathroom window. Whilst there are three large TVs in three adjacent rooms, you are not allowed to adjust the heating - which meant on cooler days the front lounge and upstairs ... Continue reading

    These however seemed to be an attempt to cover up basic issues; water pressure upstairs poor and over bath shower didn’t work and no blind in the bathroom window. Whilst there are three large TVs in three adjacent rooms, you are not allowed to adjust the heating - which meant on cooler days the front lounge and upstairs rooms felt cold and damp (the preset thermostat is positioned in the warmest room of the house. Would recommend taking your own towels as those provided were small, marked/stained and did not smell fresh, new bed linen also needed as old and well worn. The listing should be updated to reference the low ceilings. The cottage is well positioned for exploring the far west, with easy access to everything.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete the feedback following your stay at Forge Cottage. We have spoken with the owner, who was sorry to read your comments and would like to respond with the following: We kindly ask all our guests to inform us of any issues or difficulties they are experiencing during their stay and ... Continue reading Property Owner

    Thank you for taking the time to complete the feedback following your stay at Forge Cottage. We have spoken with the owner, who was sorry to read your comments and would like to respond with the following: We kindly ask all our guests to inform us of any issues or difficulties they are experiencing during their stay and we will endeavor to rectify them as soon as possible. The low water pressure reported upstairs was investigated and found to be due to service works ongoing in the area at the time. The heating is set up for arrival on a general setting for convenience but the thermostat control is there for guests to adjust to their own comfort level (full instructions can be found in the folder for the operation of the heating). The thermostat is positioned in the dining room on the ground floor. This area is open plan with the kitchen and orangery but away from the multi-fuel burner in the front sitting room. The size of the towels at the cottage should be commensurate with the standard hotel size, we’re sorry you felt they were too small. However, despite the points raised, we do hope that the minor issues you encountered did not detract from the enjoyment of your holiday - even if the weather was not quite as warm as it could have been!' Property Owner

    Reviewed by LauraJun 2019

  • "An outstanding service."

    Lots of small details helped to make this a truly memorable holiday.

    Reviewed by NigelApr 2019

  • "Excellent place to stay, the cottage is beautiful and very close to everything, lands end 15 minute walk 20 minutes away from Penzance by car And a lovely pub just across the road."

    I would very much recommend a stay here.

    Reviewed by ChadFeb 2019

  • "Suzanne was extremely helpful giving all the required information beforehand and let us know that the cottage was ready ahead of schedule."

    Even though the cottage is on the A30 it is right at the end so quite at night time. It was lovely to be able to walk to the beach and to lands end. The area is beautiful and Forge cottage is a lovely base from which to explore. Three lovely double bedrooms with lots of light coming in throughout the cottage. Great living ... Continue reading

    Even though the cottage is on the A30 it is right at the end so quite at night time. It was lovely to be able to walk to the beach and to lands end. The area is beautiful and Forge cottage is a lovely base from which to explore. Three lovely double bedrooms with lots of light coming in throughout the cottage. Great living space/outside space and the laundry facilities were excellent. Kitchen was well equipped for our needs. The dishwasher was out of action and had been for a while from the comments made in the visitors book. The two niggles were the upstairs bathroom which is equipped with an uncomfortable bath with a square knob to change from bath tap to hand shower which didn't seem to work properly and hurt your hand. Water pressure not good either and a full shower upstairs would have been good. Downstairs shower was good. I would have ticked excellent for comfort and facilities if it were not for this. The other small thing which could have been a problem is the outside wall of the parking area which slopes down to the ground. We nearly grounded our car on it twice and it looked like others had actually gone into it. Think it could cause some expensive damage to the underside of cars.

    Reviewed by PamelaAug 2018

  • "Lovely comfortable cottage within walking distance of the wonderful Sennen Cove."

    Reviewed by MelanieJul 2018

  • "We have had a fantastic week at Forge Cottage despite the weather."

    The cottage is very comfortable and very well equipped. Future guests need to be mindful of low ceilings and several little steps...only to be expected in an old cottage!

    Reviewed by ClaireMar 2018

  • "Fabulous cottage, lovely location."

    Reviewed by MarshaAug 2015

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish & Devonshire Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

The property

A charming granite cottage with rolling countryside views as well as sea glimpses from the first floor, Forge Cottage enjoys a peaceful location not far from the beautiful Sennen Cove and iconic Land’s End.

This part of Cornwall offers a true break from everyday life, far away from the crowds and with some of the most stunning scenery in the county.

Making the very most of its traditional Cornish-cottage features, this immaculately presented family home offers an attractive and well-equipped retreat with everything you could need for a memorable stay.

On the ground floor, there are two sitting rooms, providing plenty of space for everyone; one a cosy nook with a warming log burner, the other a wonderfully light and bright space with a glass ceiling and direct access to the garden.

The beautiful pale blue kitchen with its slate floor and quality appliances is a real treat for keen cooks – and leads through into a lovely dining room with farmhouse table and country-chic dresser.

The spacious master bedroom is located on the ground floor, and has oodles of storage as well as wall-mounted television and lovely original beams.

Upstairs, there are two further bedrooms – both doubles – one of which boasts a dressing room area.

The garden at Forge Cottage is a real sun-trap, safe for children to play in and complete with picnic benches for summer evening barbecues.

The long sandy beach at Sennen Cove is just a half-hour walk from the cottage; here, many happy days can be spent sunbathing, surfing and building sandcastles.

There is mile upon mile of coastal footpath in this area, too, so don't forget to pack your walking boots and discover wonderful sea vistas, engine house ruins and ancient stone circles that only the far west of Cornwall can offer.

Summary

  • Over two floors
  • 2 Steps to Enterance
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground floor king size with TV, 2 x first floor doubles
  • Ground floor shower room with walk-in corner shower, basin and WC
  • Utility room
  • First floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen, two sitting rooms, dining room.
  • Oil fired central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, WiFi
  • Blu-Ray Player
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 car outside garage next to property (please request if for more than 1 car - more available in the pub car park across the road)
  • Enclosed paved and gravel garden with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets or smoking
  • Pub 1 min walk
  • Beach 30 mins walk, 1.4 miles
  • NOTE: The property is over two floors and there are also a number steps inside the property to access certain rooms including 5 slate steps to ground floor bedroom.

View on map

About the location

SENNEN

Land’s End 1 mile; St Just 5 miles; Penzance 9 miles.

The most westerly village in mainland Britain, Sennen has a lovely mile-long beach of pure white sand and is a very popular holiday destination. With excellent surfing conditions, the village has its own surf school – overlooked by a super-cool beach bar/restaurant with floor-to-ceiling windows which make the most of the wonderful views. Once a hub of smuggling activity, Sennen still retains many secret passages – one of which is said to lead to the covered well in the Old Success Inn. Largely unchanged over time, this lovely village has a timeless appeal and is home to a gallery, a medieval church, an Iron Age fort and a small selection of shops where you can buy beachware, gifts and souvenirs, and a range of groceries. There is also a weekly Farmers’ Market in the village Community Centre each Tuesday morning. During the summer, the beach bar becomes a hub of activity and entertainment, with live music, weekly barbecues and popular surfing competitions.

Region Information

Note: No cot or highchair
NOTE: The property is over two floors and there are also a number steps inside the property to access certain rooms including 5 slate steps to ground floor bedroom.
Note: Stairs to first floor narrower than average.
Note: Some building works are taking place at a neighbouring property April-endJune. Please call for further information.

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it