In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • 24 Bay Retreat Villas - Cornwall - 922465 - photo 1

24 Bay Retreat Villas

(Ref. 922465)

St Merryn Nr Padstow, Cornwall Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • villa (4)
  • comfortable (4)
  • garden (4)
  • our (4)
  • lovely (3)
  • bed (3)

8 Customer Reviews

  • "Bay retreat villa is a nice modern holiday home."

    We really enjoyed our stay but it was difficult to feel like it was a home from home due to some basic issues . In the kitchen the cooking utensils were very sparse so anything other than an easy meal is impossible. We found a broken glass in the cupboard , i mean a glass with a whole piece out of it .. I later found the piece of broken glass on the bedroom floor which I found odd as we could not access the property until 3pm due to 'cleaning'. The corkscrew / bottle opener did not work as that was also broken. I took both these items to the office and they were replaced and I was given a remote for the tv upstairs as it didn't appear to have one! The other issue in the kitchen were the knives, both the cooks knives and the cutlery knives are blunt , very blunt. We bought some from the local tesco store as we found dit impossible to cut anything ! In the living room the 2 armchairs really need replacing as they are very worn and rather uncomfortable and awkward to sit in as the cushions have sunk due i guess to their age and use. Overall the villa was definitely liveable in but it could be so much better. It was shame that there is no way to walk to st merryn other than to walk along the lanes/roads. We did not understand this from info on website so perhaps that should be made clear.I met a number of other holiday makers who mentioned the same. On the plus side the secure dog walking field was fab , and the local bar/shop on site was useful. I would also like to say that the lady in the next villa to ours worked on site and was really lovely to talk to and a really nice neighbour to chat to.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your comments and please let us apologise that there were some issues during your stay, I will try to address your points. Firstly, thank you for bringing to our attention the items which were not working, as you can imagine, at times we are at the liberty of guests informing us when inventory is missing or indeed no longer working. We apologise that you have had this experience but also glad that our team there were able to replace them for you. As you will see from other reviews, we maintain extremely high levels of cleanliness but clearly something was missed on this occasion, please accept our apologies. Check-in is usually from 4p.m. and this is not because we spend 10a.m. till 4p.m. cleaning each individual villa, but because we cannot always guarantee the cleanliness of each villa after a guest departs, and at times there are many departures so the team have no idea until the day how long it will take to get all villas ready for arrivals. If you were able to get in at 3p.m. then I can assume that they were able to finish earlier than the norm. It does not excuse a piece of broken glass on the floor, and in the absence of other glass or dirt, it can only have been a genuine oversight on the housekeepers/hoovers part. All of the villas at Bay Retreat are owned by private individuals and as a result, so are the fixtures and fittings. Without feedback such as yours, it is particularly difficult to convince owners to spend their money when they are not aware of a problem. We have therefore passed on your comments regarding the chairs to the owners so that they are aware, and once again thank you for letting us know. We understand that there is no paved path to the village, but sadly this is true for many Cornish villages and as a result, do not advertise such. As you have booked through a third party (Sykes), we will ask them if there is any way they can change their site, but as it is not owned or managed by us, we do not, at this point, know what they will do. We offer our sincere apologies that your expectations were not met in some areas and will strive to ensure that as a family company, we learn from the feedback we are given and adopt changes to not just meet, but exceed our guests expectations going forward. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Doreen3.4Aug 2019

  • "We stayed in villa number 1, plenty of parking, small enclosed garden which was ok for our puppy Open an airy property, could of been a little cleaner on arrival Not many staff on site & nothing much to do there but we spent the week exploring Cornwall Dustbin men came at 4."

    30 in the morning

    Reviewed by Rae3.8Jul 2019

  • "When we arrived to the holiday park we were shown to the villa we booked, we started to unpack we weren’t overly impressed with how clean that villa was."

    We were then told that there had been a mistake and were told to move to another villa we did so think it was a blessing and that villa would be cleaner, it wasn’t there was other people’s dog hair on the furniture food marks everywhere, dental floss in the draws upstairs and a toenail in the master bedrooms bed. We also were moved to a Villa with no grass which wasn’t what we booked this caused quite a few problems for us. Kitchen appliances weren’t up to standard in cleanliness as we had to wash up many things that still had food marks on. We were told that the villa was dog friendly but in fact they couldn’t go upstairs or ok furniture which was a real struggle for us because our dogs have bad anxiety when left alone so that was a problem. Although at home they sleep in our rooms but on there own beds they did struggle being downstairs on there own. It was a false representation of the villa we were do to stay in considering 24 looked nothing like the villa in the photos and the villa we ended up in was different all together. Like mentioned before the no grass was an issue for our dogs that’s why we booked a villa with grass like shown in the photos. We thought we would try something new by booking a holiday cottage but won’t be doing it here again as I really didn’t think it was worth it. We left a day early because the villa was just not comfortable and the placement of it was dreadful in the middle of people homes so early morning people going to work driving past and the last morning we spent at the villas the Bin people came at 6am and really didn’t try and stay quiet, for a holiday complex it was as if we were surrounded by people at home and it wasn’t a great feeling. Really disappointed with the service also as there was no staff to go to, we had a problem with our heating being on all the time and could find no one to come and help us because the office(villa 26) was always locked and no one there. Really disappointed and will be sticking to static vans on clean holiday sites from now on! Really didn’t feel like we got our money’s worth

    Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we are very disappointed that one of our properties has seemingly let us down and not provided you with the experienced that we had hoped for. We will be contacting the owner of this property shortly regarding the points you have raised. We will then be in touch with you to discuss this in more detail. In the meantime If need to contact us then Our lines are open 7 days a week from 9am until 7pm. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ellie2.2May 2019

  • "An ideal base for Padstow and actually it was more than a base, very comfortable and had everything we needed to cater for our 6 month old son."

    The enclosed garden space was very useful for our dog. We wouldn’t hesitate in recommending for location, access and quality of the property. Very good value for money and we have been to Cornwall quite a few times now.

    Reviewed by Jessica4.7Mar 2019

  • "The accommodation was just as listed."

    Clean and tidy with an open plan user friendly downstairs. The small secure garden is perfect for small children. Lovely to have all electrical appliances. The washer was a washer drier too. Beds are comfortable and although the shower looked a little tired it was powerful and did the job. Geographical location was very good, we found loads to do during a week of mixed weather.

    Reviewed by Christina4.1Sep 2018

  • "It was very expensive given what it was, but I booked at short notice which might explain it."

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Jul 2018

  • "Had a lovely holiday, the villa was spacious and comfortable."

    The enclosed garden was a bonus with 2 dogs. The external site to bay retreat villa's was not as expected, the bay retreat villa's site was kept well and looked well maintained. However the site you drove through access your villa was the opposite to this.

    Reviewed by Jade4.4Jun 2018

  • "One word - Excellent"

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Mar 2017

Show more Hide all


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with TV, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with sofa bed.
  • Electric storage heaters
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, 2 x TVs with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot (no linen provided) and highchair on request
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Garden with decking and lawned areas with furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 mile
  • Note: Check-in 4pm
  • Note: No stag/hen parties
  • Note: Seven night breaks starting Friday, Saturday or Monday available all year round The minimum number of nights at this property is 3

The property

A fabulous, spacious holiday villa, two miles from St Merryn and three miles from Padstow on the St Merryn Holiday Park.

The property has two bedrooms, including a double room with a TV and a twin room, as well as a bathroom.

On the ground floor there is a large, social open plan living area with a kitchen, a dining space and a sitting area.

Outside, enjoy a sunny breakfast on the decking in the garden before heading out to discover the delights of this rugged, wild and beautiful region, with its miles of coastal and inland walking and cycle routes.

Note: This property can be booked with Refs: 920468, 927394, 927395, 968330, together they can sleep up to 20 people.

Bay Retreat Villas

St Merryn 2 miles. Perfectly located for touring Cornwall's dramatic north coast and its world-class beaches, these stylish villas are set within the St Merryn Holiday Park near St Merryn, just three miles from Padstow. As soon as you enter the villas you are immediately impressed by the spaciousness the open-plan living area has to offer. After a day spent exploring, you can return to this social space and relax together while cooking dinner and reminiscing the day’s adventures. With a comfortable open plan living area downstairs and two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs, you have everything you need for a Cornish getaway in this contemporary holiday home. French doors lead out on to the back garden and decked patio, perfect for a drink at the end of the day spent on the beach. A short drive away, St Merryn has a good choice of restaurants and pubs, the most famous being The Cornish Arms, of which the landlord is none other than Rick Stein. Beach lovers are spoilt for choice here; head north along the coastline to the beautiful estuary beaches of Padstow, Rock, Daymer Bay and Polzeath, or take a drive down the south coast to the famous beaches of Watergate Bay and Fistral Beach, to name but a few. With all these beaches, Cornwall’s main attractions and the stunning South West Coast Path within easy reach, Bay Retreat Villas really are the perfect base for a holiday or a short break, at any time of the year.

View on map

About the location


Padstow 2 miles; Wadebridge 10.5 miles; Newquay 11 miles.

St Merryn is a typical Cornish village, located within two miles of the coast and close to the picturesque harbour and fishing port of Padstow. Surrounded by some of Cornwall's best surfing beaches and golf courses, St Merryn is a holidaymaker's dream, offering two pubs, three restaurants, a chinese takeaway, a chip shop, mini markets and a Post Office, yet St Merryn remains within easy reach of the area's visitor attractions. The vibrant town of Newquay is eleven miles down the road, boasting three major beaches, the National Surf Centre and an endless supply of rolling surf, making it a paradise for watersports enthusiasts. Newquay also offers good shopping, a zoo, a Sea Life centre and a variety of nightspots, clubs, pubs and restaurants. Set back from the main holiday crowds, St Merryn is an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding area at your leisure.

View more holiday cottages in St Merryn

Note: Additional units on this site may be available should your preferred dates be taken. Please contact our reservations team on 01244 356666 to discuss further.

The minimum number of nights at this property is 3

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas