Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • Carn Eve - Cornwall - 932666 - photo 1
close

Carn Eve

(Ref. 932666)

Sennen Cove near St Just, Cornwall Show on map

4.1

Sykes rating

  • 14 Guests

  • 7 Bedrooms

  • 5 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • views (30)
  • house (28)
  • great (20)
  • our (19)
  • holiday (19)
  • property (19)

51 Customer Reviews

  • "The house is beautiful and in the best position but over the years we have been going there we have noticed a deterioration due to lack of maintenance."

    The owners need to invest some money into restoring the actual building and updating the facilities.

    Reviewed by Ann3.1May 2024

  • "The views from the property are fantastic and the property is large enough for 14 people we had a wonderful holiday."

    the downfall is that the property is tired it could do with all new windows and doors we had two nights of wind and rain and the rain came in at the bedroom balcony door and the wind was Howling through all the gaps in the doors and windows Which kept us awake for a couple of nights Jason the caretaker did put a temporary seal on the doors and windows Which did help. we also had a leak in the downstairs conservatory the water was coming in from the roof by the window. luckily we noticed in time as the water was splashing on our laptop. we also had a leak from one of the toilets. This I temporary repair and notify Jason. the house has a lot of damp issues with rotting wood Window sills in the ground floor bathroom damp patches on the walls in the bedroom and damp plaster with flaking paint at the lower part of the windows. The house just needs a bit of tender loving care and some money spent on it. This would then be a lovely house and we would consider booking again. regards phil.

    Reviewed by Philip2.5Apr 2024

  • "Carn Eve is in a stunning location and is potentially a really lovely house."

    We had a great holiday which, however, was nearly spoiled by things which went wrong in the house. At the price charged these surely shouldn't have been happening. Luckily, Jason the caretaker was available to try to rectify as many the problems as he could. We had blocked showers which twice caused water to leak though ceilings near electrics and got things wet in the rooms below the leaks. We had a horrendous outbreak of flies (16 at one point) in a top floor bedroom, especially. It was impossible to sleep there and we had to convert a reception room into a bedroom carrying a foldup bed up and down steep stairs. Hence, we lost one reception room. A very noisy bathroom vent which kept us awake at night when it was windy. A broken curtain pole so the curtain was useless in a bedroom. A broken dining room chair. A very slow oven. These things caused stress, discomfort and difficulty. If only the owner would invest care and attention in these things and solved the problems Carn Eve could be absolutely glorious!

    Reviewed by J2.8Oct 2023

  • "This is the most spectacular location for a holiday home, waking up to the gorgeous sea and gwenver/sennen cove beach views each morning and eating our dinner out on the balcony as the sun set over the sea."

    The house is huge, large enough for everyone to have space and clutter to be contained. The decor in the house is a little tired, but it works for kids, pets and beach days. We have had a great holiday, thanks very much.

    Reviewed by Marie4.1Sep 2023

  • "Garden needs a gate to stop children and dogs getting out."

    We also had an issue with people in the neighbouring properties, (which weren’t mentioned in the details), thinking the garden was a communal area. Quick call to Jason solved it initially, only for them to come in again. Decoration needed, not enough chairs around a too small table. Shower in master bedroom took a long time to drain , and in the attic en-suite, the basin hot tap was cold, and the shower had a weak flow and held together with zip ties. Certainly not worth £4,500 in peak season. Still loved our holiday but expected much higher standard

    Thank you for your feedback, the garden is an open design . However, as soon as you'd reported this to our maintenance person, he asked them politely to stop which they had from your first night. Due to being near the beach, the shower drains do get blocked with sand, they are checked and cleaned on change over days. However, this time our maintenance person came mid-stay to unblock them, any issues and he'll be around to help straight away, so thank you for reporting and I hope you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham3.1Aug 2023

  • "The location of the house is amazing and the views stunning."

    The house itself is fantastic with large rooms and plenty of space. It’s very comfortable and there are great widow seats with views of Whitesands Bay and Sennen Cove. The only drawback is that it needs some maintenance, particularly outside - with a lick of paint, a sanding of the decking and a general tidy up it would be a 5 star property.

    Thank you for giving us your feedback, we do appreciate every response we get regarding the property. We’re sorry to hear that you thought that there was need for some maintenance, we spend our time making sure the cottage is in top condition for our guests, we will definitely look into getting this rectified. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alasdair3.4May 2023

  • "Really enjoyed this family holiday home."

    Was slightly different from the photos but still felt really clean and comfy. Jason was very welcoming and helpful. I would definatly book here again and have also recommended this place to my friends

    Thank you so much for your review, and we will make sure Jason is made aware of his mention here - we are really proud of our staff. This is fantastic for us to hear; we hope you had the best stay with us. Hope to see you returning in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline4.7May 2023

  • "It was a lovely house, could do with so T."

    L.C on the whole we enjoyed the stay. Only there for a week don't expect it be like home. Caretaker Jason was very helpful.

    Thank you for leaving this feedback with us and we are so glad that you enjoyed the property. Jason is always on hand to fix any issues, should they arise and so we are very happy to hear that was the case here. We love to hear constructive feedback so we will endeavour to make these improvements ready for future stays. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet3.8Oct 2022

  • "Our family loved this property views amazing and lots of space However as ..."

    Our family loved this property views amazing and lots of space However as others have said it could do with a bit of upgrading Some windows didn’t open dining chairs little bit rocky and showers not working properly But on the whole for us as a big family we loved our stay none of the above mattered to us we just got on with it

    Lovely to hear that you enjoyed the property. We will definitely look into fixing all of these issues to ensure comfort for any future stays you hopefully with us. Thank you for leaving your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen3.8Sep 2022

  • "The view was great and the living and outside space was a good size."

    There was a constant smell of damp particularly in the bedrooms, the bathrooms were mouldy and showers barely worked. The Lounge furniture was visibly dirty and broken in places which I feel could be a safety hazard. The lounge roof leaked down a wall upon which there was a power socket

    I am sorry to hear that these issues were there. Regarding the showers, this is something we would have sprung to deal with had we been alerted – but we will definitely look into all of these issues and appreciate you bringing them to our attention. Next time if you have any issues like the above please do contact us and we will be there to fix them for you to ensure you have the best stay possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lorraine2.2Sep 2022

  • "Lovely clean house."

    Great views from fab main seating area. Nice tv/games room. Comfortable beds. Lots of storage in the bedrooms (with hangers

    Reviewed by Stephanie4.4Sep 2022

  • "Albeit the views were stunning which sells the property the total lack of care for the property let it down."

    It’s an old building in serious need of a refurb. Decking on the balcony bedroom was broken making it a health and safety issue. Plug sockets were loose one being held on with gaffer tape!? The dining chairs were unstable and on the ground floor twin room the headboard fell off. The showers were not the best in one en-suite it too a long period of time to drain. The location is stunning, the property let’s itself down

    Reviewed by Jacqui2.5Aug 2022

  • "Fantastic property with amazing views and lots of space inside and out."

    Jason the Caretaker was so helpful and really informative. House could do with some TLC and updating.

    Reviewed by Katie3.8Jul 2022

  • "Good location but property is now showing it’s age and needs a revamp."

    Some windows are jammed and could not be opened in the hot weather. Provision of table fans in the middle of summer would have been nice. Some bathroom drains were blocked.

    Reviewed by Sameer3.8Jul 2022

  • "The space and cleanliness were excellent with plenty of bathrooms which were much appreciated as we were a party of between 9 and 14."

    My only criticism would be the lack of decent size saucepans and dishes as well as serving spoons etc. All in all a great place for a large family and plenty of space to either join in or find a quiet corner to read.

    Reviewed by Fiona3.8Jun 2022

  • "Nice property, spectacular location but needs maintanence to bring it up to the standard I would have expected."

    Locks not working on bathroom doors, damp patches, flacky paint and leaky shower. Whilst worst mattress was replaced immediately others were past their best. Some of the dining room chairs are wobbley and struggled to get 14 around the table. Main bins didn't get emptied as expected and struggled with getting rubbish in the bin that 14 people create. More garden seating is needed to enjoy the outside areas, including upstairs balcony.

    Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that my property manager was able to assist and rectify the issues for you during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alyson3.1Jun 2022

  • "The house has the most spectacular views which make it the perfect retreat."

    We had 7 people staying so plenty of room and very handy to be able to walk to the beach. Very friendly pub in Sennen Cove which we would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by J4.7Apr 2022

  • "Great house and utterly amazing views however plumbing not great."

    Showers temperamental, taps installed so that hot is cold and the oven doesn’t maintain temperature, so cooking was problematic. Also sleeps 14, but had only 12 dining chairs!

    Reviewed by Helen4.1Apr 2022

  • "This is the third time we've spent a week at Carn Eve in the last 5 years."

    The property is always a delight to stay in and on the whole everything was as expected. The only thing that would have made the stay perfect would have that all the window blinds in the living/dinning room closed. We were lucky that the sun shone all week, but without the blinds closed, temperature regulation was difficult.

    Reviewed by Nick5.0Mar 2022

  • "We loved our stay at carn eve."

    The views were so stunning and we loved leaving the door and heading straight for the coast path! We had all of the facilities we needed. I basically can’t fault it. We would stay again but now that booking changeover dates are Saturdays and not Fridays we cannot easily make it for a weekend. If we could start the weekend on a Friday, I would book straight away for next year.

    Reviewed by Jude5.0Mar 2022

  • "Without any doubt, the views and location of this property was stunning!"

    rooms and layout were really good and we had a great break. The property does need a bit of TLC and, some of the furniture needs an upgrade - a few of the chairs a bit wobbly and beds have seen better days and for the price did expect a little better. However fabulous property and I just wish I was a bit fitter so could properly take advantage of the paths around the area and been able to walk to Senna to visit the pub.

    Reviewed by David3.4Dec 2021

  • "Amazing property, we couldn’t believe our eyes when we walked into the living room."

    Perfect sized place for our large family and +1s. Had the most amazing week and will definitely be coming back. Great communications throughout with the booking and the caretaker was very friendly, helpful and made us feel welcome.

    Reviewed by Edward5.0Oct 2021

  • "My family and I had a wonderful stay at Carne Eve."

    The setting is absolutely beautiful and we had a wonderful time.

    Reviewed by Jamilee5.0Oct 2021

  • "Great location with fantastic views but it is a trek to the beach for older or restricted people, but if you are a young family you will love it!"

    Reviewed by Anthony4.7Aug 2021

  • "We had a fabulous holiday the house was everything we wanted the location and ..."

    We had a fabulous holiday the house was everything we wanted the location and view was amazing we are booking to come back again thank you so much

    Reviewed by Hilary3.8May 2021

  • "This could be an amazing property but lacks any luxury and bears evidence of having been refurbished on the cheap."

    Certainly the sea views from every window are magnificent and the rooms are all a good size with the exception of the kitchen which is very small for the size of property and fitted with cheap units and white goods. One drawer was broken and the front kept coming off and the oven was very slow to heat up, possibly because it was one very large oven rather than the selection of smaller ovens you get with a range. However, the kitchen is well kitted out with everything you need apart from a shortage of saucepan lids. (Owner please note we discovered that the glass measuring jug had a chipped and jagged spout and one of the mugs had a cracked handle which we left out on the breakfast bar). We were unable to empty the kitchen waste bin as the skip outside was overflowing all the time we were there. While the property generally was clean, we could see no evidence of any deep cleaning for COVID purposes and there was no tell tale smell of disinfectant or cleaning products on arrival. Another downside to the property is that all the windows are draughty and bad-fitting even though they are replacement UPVC double glazed. We got so fed up with one window in the lounge in particular which kept banging in the wind (although it was closed!) that I wedged a book into the gap to hold the window steady and cut out the noise. We also found it impossible to actually open any of the windows. Another annoyance was that on arrival we discovered that not all the beds were made up meaning we had no choice of beds. Jason, the caretaker, provided extra bed linen so we could make up the beds we wanted but this is not what we normally expect or have experienced at other properties. One of the en suites is so tiny that you can bearly turn round in it. It looks as though it has been put into a cupboard and to call it an en suite is a definite stretch! Also, we were horrified to see dog poo at the foot of the steps leading to the grassed area and there was further evidence of dogs elsewhere in the grass. We do not have a dog and were not happy to let our 4-year old grandchild go out there. Perhaps the owners would like to put some money back into the property to replace the cheap and worn laminate flooring which is peeling off downstairs, provide a decent dining table to replace the two Ikea tables pushed together in the dining room, replace the stained blinds in the lounge, fix the wobbly knob on the master shower and so on and so on.

    Reviewed by Alison3.8Oct 2020

  • "This is a huge house!"

    We had been hoping to come down as an extended family but Covid put paid to that idea. So in the end 5 of us rattled around in it - it was far too big for just us, so we ended up closing off parts of the house such as the second floor bedrooms as they just weren't needed. It is a superb location - the views are stunning and although the weather was mostly awful, the views of the sea crashing over Land's End were epic! The windows are huge and as the wind blew they bounced around a bit - slightly terrifying at times! We managed to walk to Land's End one day, and down to the beach via the little pathway and it's a great location for Penzance, the Men-an-Tol, Pendennis Castle, St Ives etc etc. Tesco delivers too! The reviews others have left are pretty much accurate although any leaks seem to have been sorted as it was nice and dry for us. A couple of points however. This is a VERY noisy house. Uninterrupted views mean uninterrupted winds and they reached over 70 decibles through the night - it roars down the chimney and several of the smaller windows have rusted open / ajar so you get the wind whistling through those. The drainpipe next to the main bedroom window had also come loose so that was blowing about and making noise. I'm a light sleeper but my teenage son sleeps through anything - we were both kept awake most nights due to the noise - just to highlight the two ends of the disturbance spectrum. Outside the wind reached 90 decibles so I guess it lowers it a little once you're inside! The main oven in the kitchen is enormous - it took me 20 mins to pre-heat it before putting anything in it. And while the kitchen had lots of crockery, utensils etc, there were no additional items like salt, pepper etc etc. There was also no welcome pack, not even any milk or tea and coffee. I assume this was due to Covid. It would have been nice to have had had a slight discount to accommodate the lack of welcoming touches etc as it was very expensive for one week in Oct half term for the 5 of us. But just make sure you go prepared with literally everything you might need. Otherwise really very lovely = I suspect summer is an altogether different experience, but we loved the general cosiness and despite the wind etc the house was very warm.

    Reviewed by Maggie4.7Oct 2020

  • "Very quiet superb location, fabulous views."

    Excellently stocked kitchen, just a few minor bits of TLC required. Bit of a trek up and down to the beach so not good for anyone with restricted mobility. Also a garden gate to keep dogs and children from getting out would have been good. We all agreed that it was a great holiday though and would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Sep 2020

  • "This was a perfect spot to explore south Cornwall."

    Amazing clifftop walks from here, we walked to Lands End and the scenery was fabulous. Gwynver and Sennen beaches and surf are the best! The house was fabulous, clean, comfortable and there was nothing we needed that wasn't provided. The views from (almost) every window are spectacular. The glass walled sitting room and adjoining patio were amazing. This holiday home will be hard to beat.

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Sep 2020

  • "Very homely accommodation, with everything there to support our holiday."

    Very clean and comfortable. Stunning views across the bay during the day, with the ability to view local lighthouses at night.

    Reviewed by Valerie4.1Jul 2020

  • "This holiday home was fantastic with a amazing view from every window."

    The walk down to the beach was Quick and our 2 dogs had the time of their lives we did it every day. House had everything you need and would be amazing in the summer we will definitely be booking again for next year.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Feb 2020

  • "What a great holiday let and in a superb location."

    7 of us had a great relaxing time as the house offered so much space to utilise. We enjoyed it so much we have rebooked for next year!

    Reviewed by Malcolm4.7Nov 2019

  • "This is a home from from holiday, everything you need is there, it's cosy with the most amazing views you could wish for."

    Would definitely recommend this property, this is our second year and will be back

    Reviewed by Beverley5.0Aug 2019

  • "The house is lovely but we were a bit surprised that there was no cleaning equipment except a hoover."

    We do usually find that there are some cloths, dusters, loo cleaner etc. And not a single tray in the place! Also there was no mattress protector on our bed and the mattress was quite heavily stained and passed it's best. I suggest a good protector and new mattress. Unfortunately the slight leaks in the sitting room that were present when we stayed in 2014 are still there! Not that that really affected us, shame though. However it is a comfortable house that works well for a big gathering. No need to mention the view, everyone does! We enjoyed watching the buzzards from our cliff top home! It is quite a walk down to the beach and back up, which is a factor to bear in mind if your mobility is not great, but a lovely beach when you get there. As the tide comes in the waves get very rough, so not the best for children but we did find at very low tide there are lovely big pools to play in. You can certainly have a very happy holiday at Carn Eve.

    Reviewed by Julia4.1Jul 2019

  • "Stopped in this house for a week at the beginning of June with family as we got married during our stay."

    Pictures just do not do it justice as the views are unbelievable! We even saw dolphins a couple of times. This is a must stay, the caretaker was so helpful and even mowed the lawn for our pictures! There was a welcome basket on arrival and milk in the fridge! The mums in our group were very happy with the variety of kitchen equipment available. Couldn’t ask for a better stay, we were so sad to leave!

    Reviewed by Katie5.0Jun 2019

  • "The holiday and property were exceptionally."

    The property positioned for the beach and views across the Atlantic. Catch the surf most days by taking a view of the swell from your bedroom window and short walk down to the beautiful Gwynver beach, which is dog friendly all year round. The views are to die for!! Never tire from the view from nearly every room in the property. A couple of things to note would be the exterior condition of the property, which was tired and was in need of some TLC. Decking was scruffy, paintwork was stained, grass needed cutting and wood needed treating. Interior was clean and tidy but small things like blinds were missing on some bedroom windows. Some bedroom furniture was not to spec. TV in dining room was not connected.... (which was great for my liking). Music system did not work so had to buy our own. All things considered, you can not take away the position and views from the property with the exceptional lounge space. A real family room overlooking the bays of Gwynver and Sennen Cove. If the weather is great, days and evening are spent outside cooking on the bbq and taking in the sea air. Great place to spend time with friends or large family.

    Reviewed by Iain4.7May 2019

  • "Customer service provided by Sykes was great."

    We had to postpone our booked holiday for a year and you were very helpful and nothing was too much when helping - thank you. The house Carn Eve was amazing. The location and its views were second to non and the house is very well equipped with everything you need. It’s big enough for our large group so we had not been on top of each other and able to spend time together but not so large that you felt detached either. We have all said we would definitely like to visit again! Thank you!

    Reviewed by Christian5.0Feb 2019

  • "It was lovely that we were able to have a wedding in the property with the amazing views."

    Thankyou

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Dec 2018

  • "A house with amazing views."

    Three generation's holiday with plenty of room for everyone to enjoy their own space. Lovely and warm. The bathrooms could do with some updating and general decoration in some rooms, especially the down stairs toilet as that one was used throughout the day. But as we spent most of our time in the large sitting area looking out to sea none of these small details were an issue Good size oven and additional fridge which was beneficial for a large family.

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Nov 2018

  • "The house has amazing views and some areas are very good, however there is only one decent shower in the main bedroom that we all ended up sharing."

    Some areas were dirty- window seat in playroom at least 40 dead flies behind it, some dirty cushions and mats. The top floor could defiantly do with an upgrade.

    Reviewed by Nikki3.4Oct 2018

  • "On a positive note we had a wonderful time at Carn Eve, the view was fantastic even on a dull day, the beach was excellent and walks enjoyable."

    And there was plenty of room in the house. We were, however, a little disappointed with some of the equipment in the kitchen - 1 kettle for 14 people is not adequate and a toaster that only cooked 2 slices of bread at a time made life difficult at breakfast time. A leak, in the sun lounge, that was reported to us on the day before we went away was previously reported in the Visitors Book way back in July, why had it not been seen to!! It's a good job we had hardly any rain whilst we were there. We felt there was a shortage of hand towels - 1 for each bathroom (shared by 4 people) and there was a lack of hanging space in the downstairs bedroom.

    Reviewed by Sheila3.4Oct 2018

  • "Fabulous house with amazing views, lovely welcome gift, everything that you could need."

    We was that impressed we booked to go again next year to make more amazing memories

    Reviewed by Beverley5.0Aug 2018

  • "Everything was fine and when I phoned the caretaker about a leak the response was good and he brought some towels later in the day to dry up the floor and window sills."

    We could have done with more towels per room for showers as we only had one each and had to dry them each day.Our tin opener didn't work so had a bit of problem trying to improvise, but we did manage. We had a fabulous holiday in a wonderful property.

    Reviewed by Anne4.7Jul 2018

  • "We loved Carn Eve."

    As a group ranging in age from 80 to mid forties, it suited us all. Simply to sit, watching the ever changing sea & sky in this peaceful setting was pure luxury. We barely left the property, other than to walk the dogs to Gwenver beach or over the coast path to Sennen for a crab sandwich. Jason the caretaker was great, approachable & helpful.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Jun 2018

  • "Stunning views out over the sea."

    Plenty of room in the house and any problems dealt with very quickly by a very amenable caretaker. Lovely clean rooms and very well equipped kitchen. Ten adults and two children enjoyed the glorious weather and will be returning next year.

    Reviewed by Rod5.0May 2018

  • "I recently spend 1 week at Carne Eve over the dates of 12th-19th May 2018."

    After a 7 hours drive i found the property extremely easy to find we arrived slightly earlier and the property was ready for us. Upon entering the property we were given a tour by Jason (The Caretaker) Who looked after us very well if we needed anything. As a Sykes employee i was very impressed with the Location, Cleanliness and the Warm welcome we were given. Overall there was only 8 of us and 2 dogs in our party and the house was so spacious we never felt like we were on top of each other what so ever. I slept in the Master bedroom, and never shut the curtains once because the views are too amazing, to close away i wish i could wake up the those views everyday. The cottage was well equipped with lots of crockery and cooking utensils as well there was plenty of items to use for our large family dinners and BBQ's we had. The property has the most gorgeous beach on its doorstep just a short walk down the hill, we spend many evenings down there watching the sunsets around a fire, it was lovely. The property itself boosts one large living area with the fantastic views out the sea, and also a TV room, which we only turned on once during our stay ! A Large kitchen with a huge oven great for cooking for many people. I'd go back to this cottage every year - it was pure tranquillity and i didn't want to leave - I felt so at home ! Thanks to Jason (Caretaker) and Sharon (Owner) Kind Regards Michael :)

    Reviewed by Michael5.0May 2018

  • "Lovely location, helpful caretaker."

    House was very clean and comfortable. Everything was provided for you but could have done with a few more dish washer tablets at least one for every day of your stay. The place does need maintenance, the blinds in the main lounge need putting back for the summer as the sun becomes stronger you will need them. Patio door is definitely an issue as it's VERY difficult to open and its one of the main fire exits!!!!! The main bedrooms are lovely with a stunning views from every window. The other bedrooms are fine, they just seem poor against the main ones. A lot of the windows are broken or do not open at all but we loved the place. The walks are amazing and the fact that you could access the beach without having to take the car was great. We would have stayed longer if we could have.

    Reviewed by M4.4Apr 2018

  • "Really lovely house, view and facilities."

    I would suggest the owners and caretaker need to organise some work on the house though. 2 workmen turned up one morning to work on a window that doesn’t shut properly in living room. They said they would need to be inside the room for an hour when we had house full of people/children! They were really nice and obviously said they would rearrange this. Surprised though that they were unaware the Patio Door does NOT lock and there are NO blinds to cover half the living room windows! Didn’t spoil our lovely holiday but needs to be sorted.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Mar 2018

  • "Photos were obviously taken a long time ago!"

    House is not really of a high standard decor wise House needs updating! It is very tired apart from the master bedroom which is lovely. Excellent location though as views outstanding

    Reviewed by Kelly2.5Feb 2018

  • "Directions to property are inaccurate."

    The side road is now made up but no signpost just a rusty pole. The house is not secure as no lock to the patio doors meaning all laptops etc must be taken on every journey. The patio door was so stiff to open had to call caretaker who just squirted WD40 to tr and ease it without must success. Many curtains to lounge and bedrooms are missing making it very draughty in evening. Some lights missing or not working No welcome book so no idea on dustbin day and where to put rubbish etc. Very much try and see. Caretaker only explained wi fi, TV and the strange use of the shower in the main bedroom. It came on in the middle of the night! Great views except the two 2nd floor bedrooms which have skylights one of which would not shut properly , not explained in your description. Plenty of china, glasses etc but severe lack of saucepans especially when cooking for 11. Microwave and combined oven very difficult to understand even with old instruction book. No labels on any of the electrical items which leads me to think they have not been checked which I believe is unlawful in a holiday rented home. Unable to find private beach access to Gwenver beach. In fact the only steep way down is now via a car park open to anyone who pays the £2 fee. If this house is available both summer and winter it should be furnished for all seasons Paying a lot of money for an inferior house that obviously relies on the views is not my idea of fun. Could be a wonderful place but needs a massive upgrade to justify the cost. Our family have booked with you many times but this does not enhance the Sykes Cottage name and we will be wary to book with you again.

    Reviewed by Christopher3.3Feb 2018

  • "The property and location was excellent, the caretaker was helpful and friendly."

    Reviewed by Nick5.0Oct 2017

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Seven bedrooms: 1 x first floor double with en-suite bath, basin and WC, 1 x first floor double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 2 x second floor twin (one with en-suite shower, basin and WC), 1 x ground floor twin, 1 x first floor twin, 1 x first floor adult bunks
  • Bathroom with bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with dining area and open fire
  • Games room with table football
  • No hens/stags or similar
  • Oil central heating with open fire
  • Electric double oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 4 cars
  • Decked patio with furniture
  • Cot & high chair available
  • Maximum two well-behaved pets welcome only
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2 miles
  • Please note: Due to electric safety concerns, electric car charging is not permitted at this property - there are 6 charging points available at Fuuse Charging Station (5 minute drive from the property)

The property

Sennen Cove 2 miles.

In one of the finest cliff top locations in Cornwall stands Carn Eve, a wonderfully spacious detached seven bedroom holiday home set over 3 floors with private beach access to the beautiful Gwenver Beach which adjoins the iconic Sennen Cove.

Situated eight miles from Penzance and four miles along the coast from Land’s End this magnificent house offers a family holiday that will never be forgotten.

From the moment you arrive along the private lane to the house you will be mesmerised with the amazing uninterrupted sea views where on a clear day even the Isles of Scilly are visible.

Entering the house you pass the games room which will prove a hit with the children before coming to the magnificent sitting room.

Here the huge windows on three sides give breathtaking views whatever the time of year and whatever the weather.

From watching the storms in the winter in front of a roaring log fire to watching the dolphins playing in the bay on long summer days, this really is a superb room.

From here a wraparound decked area provides the perfect setting for private sunbathing or alfresco dining.

There are seven bedrooms here with various sleeping combinations to suit all and five bathrooms.

With a choice of beaches along this world-famous coastline to select from you will be spoilt for choice.

Gwenver Beach, reached by a private footpath right below the house is certain to become a favourite, offering some of the best surfing conditions in Cornwall and being difficult for the general public to reach rarely becomes too crowded.

A special house in a stunning location to be enjoyed all year round.

View on map

About the location

SENNEN COVE

St Just 5 miles; Penzance 9 miles.

The small fishing village of Sennen Cove is situated close to Land’s End in Cornwall. The village has a lifeboat station, church, a couple of shops, a café plus two popular gastropubs. The town of St Just is the nearest town to Land’s End and has several monument and prehistoric antiquities, including a Bronze Age settlement at Cape Cornwall. The town also has a town hall, a church, shops and pubs, and Plain-an-Gwarry, a theatre used for miracle plays in medieval times. Porthcorno, which has the outdoor Minack Theatre is situated 5 miles away. The village of Mousehole is within a short drive where stargazy pie can be sampled. Also within reach is the town of Penzance, which boasts winding streets, shops, clubs, restaurants and a harbour, from where day trips to the Scilly Isles can be enjoyed. A lovely base for your Cornwall adventure.