- Off road parking
- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Pub/shop < 1 mile
- Washing machine
- Broadband / WiFi
2 Customer Reviews
"Firstly, we were not allowed villa 20 but was moved to 18 without reason."
The property was clean mainly I expect because guests were asked to leave the place clean. The microwave exploded as soon as it was turned on.The leg of 1 of the dining room chairs was badly broken. Once reported to maintenence team they told me it would be reported - NOT repaired or replaced. Downstaiurs toilet seat was very loose and needed to be fixed. Green mold was on the glass on the balcony. The patio doors couldnot be opened properly because the fitment was dirty and rusted and the catchment to hold the door open had not been bothered to be replaced so the door kept blowing shut unless it was wedged. The runners under both set off doors were full of dirt and leaves. And finally 3 of the mugs has chips to the rim. When I complained to the onsite management team, I was told they were very busy with short term lets and didnot have time to complete the works and faults are expected because the property is 15 years old.. This is the 4th time visiting Bay Retreat Villas and it will be the last!
Thank you for your feedback, though we are obviously concerned and disappointed by your review. We note that you spoke to our on site team and were offered replacements but you advised this was not necessary as neither the chair or microwave would to be used again during your stay. We are sorry there appears to have been a misunderstanding. Likewise, we cannot find that you reported anything about the cups being chipped but we could have easily replaced these for you. As our team understood you did not require replacements, both the microwave and chair were replaced upon your departure. In regards to the doors and balcony, we have a rolling schedule of off-season repairs that we adhere to. We are sorry you did not find number 18 to your liking, and believe the comment about all villas being the same has been misconstrued. By stating all properties are the same, the message is that in facilities and layout, they are all alike. They are constantly graded 4 star gold, with the most recent inspection being in March. Overall, we are sorry you did not enjoy this stay at Bay Retreat, but hope the above gives some context to your comments and we can welcome you back another time. Property Owner
"We booked 20 Bay retreat Villa as this was a pet free villa, we were advised we may be changed to a same style property if there maintenance issues with the property."
When we arrived we were given Villa 17. This was due to another family already in Villa 20, there was no maintenance work in progress. Villa 17 had had dogs in there as I could smell them and there was a pile of dried dog dirt in the back garden. This is not the standard I expect when paying a lot of money for a weeks holiday. The Villas were also not very clean there was dust in all the rooms. And the floors could all do with a deep clean. We booked a dog free villa as my son has asthma. This was not great for his health. I would say the location is good if you like surfing and the bonus of a dishwasher was welcomed.
Thank you for your feedback and we apologise that it was necessary to move your booking from villa 20 to villa 17. Whilst there were no maintenance issues during your stay, we did have an issue earlier in the week in villa 20 and since we accept arrivals any day of the week this had a knock on effect and we had to move several bookings around. We are somewhat puzzled by your reference to villa 17 being used as a dog friendly property as it is also a non-dog property. We are not doubting what you experienced but we have checked the four previous bookings which backed onto your stay in villa 17 and none of these guests declared to us that they were bringing a dog. If so, they would not have been able to stay in that villa as we don't allow dogs in our non-dog villas. This may also explain why there was dog mess in the garden as our cleaners would not have checked the gardens of non-dog villas. We sincerely apologise that you were inconvenienced in this way. We do not have a log indicating you made contact with us during your stay but if you had made our on-site team aware of the situation they would have happily attended and carried out additional cleaning to get the villa to the standard you were happy with. Your comments about the cleaning have been passed to our housekeepers. It is unusual for us to receive such feedback and we are sorry to read that you did not find this area up to our usual high standards. Please be assured we do have a regular schedule for deep cleaning all our properties and in fairness, as we are now approaching the end of the season, another is due shortly. Thank you for your comment about the location and it being good for surfing. Kind Regards Vicky Warren Reservation Manager Property Owner
There are no reviews featuring this term Show all reviews
- Two bedrooms: 1 x double with TV, 1 x twin
- Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
- Ground floor basin and WC
- Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with sofa bed.
- Electric storage heaters
- Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, 2 x TVs with Freeview, WiFi
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- Travel cot (no linen provided) and highchair on request
- Off road parking for 2 cars
- Garden with decking and lawned areas with furniture
- Sorry, no pets and no smoking
- Shop and pub 1 mile
- Note: Check-in 4pm
- No stag/hen parties
- Note: Seven night breaks starting Friday, Saturday or Monday available all year round The minimum number of nights at this property is 3
A wonderful, contemporary holiday villa on the St Merryn Holiday Park near Padstow.
Great for a couples getaway, or a holiday with family or friends, the villa has a double room, a twin room and a family bathroom upstairs, along with a spacious, open plan living area on the ground floor.
Outside, there is a decked area in the garden with furniture, plus off road parking for two cars.
Take a drive to the town of St Merryn nearby, hope on your bike or pull on your walking boots to explore Cornwall's glorious, unspoilt coastline and countryside.
A wonderful getaway for a Cornish break, all year round.
Note: This property can be booked with Refs: 922465, 927394, 927395, 968330, together they can sleep up to 20 people.
Bay Retreat Villas
St Merryn 2 miles. Perfectly located for touring Cornwall's dramatic north coast and its world-class beaches, these stylish villas are set within the St Merryn Holiday Park near St Merryn, just three miles from Padstow. As soon as you enter the villas you are immediately impressed by the spaciousness the open-plan living area has to offer. After a day spent exploring, you can return to this social space and relax together while cooking dinner and reminiscing the day’s adventures. With a comfortable open plan living area downstairs and two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs, you have everything you need for a Cornish getaway in this contemporary holiday home. French doors lead out on to the back garden and decked patio, perfect for a drink at the end of the day spent on the beach. A short drive away, St Merryn has a good choice of restaurants and pubs, the most famous being The Cornish Arms, of which the landlord is none other than Rick Stein. Beach lovers are spoilt for choice here; head north along the coastline to the beautiful estuary beaches of Padstow, Rock, Daymer Bay and Polzeath, or take a drive down the south coast to the famous beaches of Watergate Bay and Fistral Beach, to name but a few. With all these beaches, Cornwall’s main attractions and the stunning South West Coast Path within easy reach, Bay Retreat Villas really are the perfect base for a holiday or a short break, at any time of the year.
About the location
Padstow 2 miles; Wadebridge 10.5 miles; Newquay 11 miles.
St Merryn is a typical Cornish village, located within two miles of the coast and close to the picturesque harbour and fishing port of Padstow. Surrounded by some of Cornwall's best surfing beaches and golf courses, St Merryn is a holidaymaker's dream, offering two pubs, three restaurants, a chinese takeaway, a chip shop, mini markets and a Post Office, yet St Merryn remains within easy reach of the area's visitor attractions. The vibrant town of Newquay is eleven miles down the road, boasting three major beaches, the National Surf Centre and an endless supply of rolling surf, making it a paradise for watersports enthusiasts. Newquay also offers good shopping, a zoo, a Sea Life centre and a variety of nightspots, clubs, pubs and restaurants. Set back from the main holiday crowds, St Merryn is an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding area at your leisure.
View more holiday cottages in St Merryn
Note: Additional units on this site may be available should your preferred dates be taken. Please contact our reservations team on 01244 356666 to discuss further.
The minimum number of nights at this property is 3
This property offers the following short breaks:
- Last minute